DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 8-9, Deficiencies in the Rejection of Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 103, filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered.
Examiner response to applicant argument for non-final office action (12/29/2025) of claims 46-49, and 55.
Claim 45 is rejected under MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in further view of Si.
Claim 46 which dependent on claim 45, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in further view of Si do not disclose claim 46. Examiner relied on Fakkorian (US-20220116904-A1) to teach the said features in claim 46. The citations and motivation provided from Fakkorian in NFAO were correctly applied. The header, see page 11, paragraph 23 of NFAO, should have been Fakkorian (US-20220116904-A1) not Fischer (US-20220373636-A1). The quotes are correctly applied on pages 11-12, paragraph 24 of NFOA.
Claim 47 is rejected MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Si in further view of Fakoorian. Manokalos'896 discloses the claim 47 limitations.
Claim 48 depends on claim 47. Manolakos'896 disclose parts of the limitation, and Li disclose another part of the limitation as cited in NFAO. However, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Si in further view of Fakoorian do not disclose "wherein the LPP request location information message includes a downlink…". Examiner relied on Fischer (US-202203733636-A1) to teach the said limitation. The header, see page 14, paragraph 27 of NFAO, should have Fakkorian (US-20220116904-A1) before Fischer (US-20220373636-A1). The quotes are applied correctly, including the motivation.
Claim 49 is not disclosed by MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Si in view of Fakoorian in further view of Fischer. Examiner relied on MANOLAKOS'272. Again, the header, see page 17, paragraph 29 of NFAO, should have Fakkorian (US-20220116904-A1) before Fischer (US-20220373636-A1).
Examiner also points to the first sentence of the obvious statement of rejections claim 46, claim 48, and 49 for proper fourth, fifth, and sixth reference combinations in NFAO.
Applicant's arguments, see page 9, Deficiencies in the Rejection of Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 103, second paragraph, filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant amendment the parent claim 41, and 51 bringing claims 42, 44, 52, 54, and added new limitations to the respective independent claims, thus argument against Fakkorian is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed, see pages 9-15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues (03/11/2026, page 11):
“The Office Action cites to Li paragraphs [0035] et seq. Li describes determining whether first positioning assistance information is available and using the first positioning assistance information when available, respectively at paragraph [0036] and [0042]. However, Li does not specify when during a positioning procedure the availability determination occurs relative to other operations. Paragraph [0038] describes that determining availability can be achieved by detecting whether the terminal device is out of a specific area or by determining whether a time point is out of a specific time period, but does not identify what event triggers this determination or when the determination occurs in the positioning message flow. Paragraph [0083] discusses receiving a message that triggers the terminal device to use the first positioning assistance information, such as receiving a location information request message. However, the context of this paragraph addresses determining whether the network device sends second positioning assistance information for applying the current positioning technology. Paragraph [0089] then describes that when first positioning assistance information is consistent with second positioning assistance information, the first positioning assistance information or the second positioning assistance information is used. This describes checking for newly provided assistance data sent with the request message, not checking validity of previously received pre-configured assistance data.”
Examiner Answer:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues “However, Li does not specify when during a positioning procedure the availability determination occurs relative to other operations.” Examiner points to Fig.2, paragraph 35, the determination of the validity is happing before the UE perform measurement. As shown in Fig.2:S1, par.32 the UE receives pre-configured first positioning assistance information, and par.35 discloses it can be received in part with LPP or through broadcasting, at Fig.2:S2, par.36-38, the UE is checking if the pre-configurable data is valid, and if it is, Fig.2:S3, par.41-42 disclose using the data to perform positioning measurement as par.42 discloses “it is determined whether the first positioning assistance information is available. When the first positioning assistance information is available, the first positioning assistance information is used,”. Examiner modified MANOLAKOS'896 Fig.5:530 to have the LMF provide pre-configured assistance data, and furthermore, using the Fig.2 of Li, the UE performs a check if the pre-configured assistance data is valid and uses the data for positioning measurement.
Applicant Argues (03/11/2026, page 11-12):
“Claim 41, however, specifies what triggers validity determination and where this determination occurs as a gate to conditional measurement execution, represents an architectural…The before relationship ensures that no measurement resources are committed until validity is confirmed, preventing scenarios where measurements begin with data that is discovered mid-measurement to be invalid.”
Examiner Answer (03/11/2026, page 12):
See examiner answer on page 4, paragraph 6 of this office action. Li reference teaches the check of the validity happens right before measuring the pre-configurable data as disclosed in Li Fig.2, paragraphs 30-42.
Applicant Argues:
“The Office Action does not explain why a skilled artisan would modify the sequential procedure of Manolakos to insert a validity determination gate between request reception and measurement performance, or why validity checking would be triggered specifically by request message reception rather than by other events such as data reception, area changes, or periodic timers.”
Examiner Answer:
Li discloses of the validity checking in fig.2. The motivation is provided in Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103.
Applicant Argues (03/11/2026, pages 12-15):
“Claim 41 also recites that using the pre-configured assistance data comprises using configuration information for the multiple transmission points to identify which of the multiple transmission points transmitted which of the downlink positioning reference signals…”
Examiner Answer:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant Argues (03/11/2026, page 15-16):
“Claim 43 recites that the processing circuitry is further configured to select, from multiple instances of pre-configured assistance data, where each instance is applicable to a different area within the network and includes validity data indicating the different network area, one of the multiple instances applicable to a current network area in which the UE is located for performing the TDOA measurements. Si teaches automatic state-flag toggling managed through activation and deactivation states, rather than an active selection operation to choose one instance among multiple instances based on determining a current network area in which the UE is located. The distinction between state management systems where Boolean flags automatically toggle versus selection systems where current location is actively evaluated and an applicable instance selected represents different architectural approaches to multi-area data management…”
Examiner Answer:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues “Si teaches automatic state-flag toggling managed through activation and deactivation states, rather than an active selection operation to choose one instance among multiple instances based on determining a current network area in which the UE is located” however, that is a form of selection. The UE is selecting a particular pre-configurable data to use for a particular location. The UE is disabling one of the pre-configurable data and enabling the other as the other pre-configurable data is relevant for location determination.
Applicant further argues “…Si instead uses abstract area labels (area A, area B)…” examiner points to par.67 to par.71, wherein the area is cell. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “different network area” are the different cells, thus when one configurable data is valid for one cell, and the other pre-configurable assistance data is valid for another read on claim 43 limitations.
Applicant Argues (page 16):
“Regarding claim 45, Li teaches that when first positioning assistance information is determined to be invalid and unavailable, a request message for positioning assistance information is sent to the LMF device to request the LMF device to reconfigure positioning assistance information, SO that the pre-configured first positioning assistance information is no longer used and the reconfigured positioning assistance information requested by the terminal device may be applied. This describes replacing invalid pre-configured data with on-demand reconfigured data generated in response to the request, implementing a data flow from static pre-configured to dynamic on-demand. Claim 45 recites replacing a first instance with a second instance of the multiple instances, where both instances are pre-configured assistance data maintained in storage, implementing a data flow that stays within the pre-configured domain. Si teaches state changes…”
Examiner Answer:
Applicant amended claim 45 is not limited to the argument described in page 16, for example, “Claim 45 recites replacing a first instance with a second instance of the multiple instances, where both instances are pre-configured assistance data maintained in storage, implementing a data flow that stays within the pre-configured domain”. In amended claim 43 recites “where each instance is applicable to a different area within the network” and amended claim 45 recites “determine that a first instance…has become invalid based on at least one of: … the time period of the first instance expiring”. There is a scenario wherein the time period is expired but the UE has not moved and therefore the other instances are not valid to use, therefore to only way to get a valid instance or “a second instance” is to ask the network device or LMF which is described in Si paragraphs 59 and 157.
Applicant Argues (pages 17):
“Regarding claim 46, the combination of Li, Si, and Fakoorian does not teach requesting pre- configured assistance data when no applicable instance is available in stored instances. As noted above, Fakoorian at paragraph [0161] describes prior art background explaining what is currently determined in the 3GPP standard regarding LPP Request Assistance Data messages, which is not a teaching of Fakoorian but rather Fakoorian characterization of the problem it seeks to solve…”
Examiner Answer:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant Argues (pages 17-18):
“Regarding claim 49, none of the references teach time windows in LPP Request Location Information messages. Manolakos teaches that the Request message includes information elements defining location information type, desired accuracy, and response time, but response time represents a maximum duration by which the UE must respond (a deadline), not one or more time windows specifying when measurements should be performed (a schedule). The distinction between response time (by when to complete) and time windows (when to execute) is significant because response time allows the UE to perform measurements at any time before the deadline expires, whereas time windows constrain measurements to specific temporal periods, potentially requiring the UE to defer measurements until a specified time window arrives or to complete measurements before a time window closes.”
Examiner Answer:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The distinction that is provided in the argument is not clear in claim 49. A POSITA can interpret “one or more time windows during which the UE is requested to perform…measurement…” as a schedule the UE is provided in order to report measurement as described in Manolakos’272 paragraph 89 discloses multiple “deadlines” for the UE to report.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 57 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 57, line 1 recites, “The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 54,” is indefinite because the depending claim 54 is cancelled. It is unclear the claim dependency, and for examination purposes claim 57 will depend on claim 55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS'896 (US-20240323896-A1) in view of Li (US-20240306118-A1) in further view of Dong (US-20230224848-A1).
Regarding Claim 41, MANOLAKOS'896 discloses A user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
decode, from a Location Management Function (LMF) in a network, (paragraph [0140], Fig.5:530 "In some implementations, the LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530 may be sent by the LMF 570 to the UE 504 in response to an LPP Request Assistance Data message sent by the UE 504 to the LMF 570 (not shown in FIG. 5). An LPP Request Assistance Data message may include an identifier of the UE's 504 serving TRP and a request for the positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration of neighboring TRPs." (i.e., UE receiving assistance data as shown in Fig.5:530.)),
the (paragraph [0140], Fig.5:530 "An LPP Request Assistance Data message may include an identifier of the UE's 504 serving TRP and a request for the positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration of neighboring TRPs." (i.e., UE receiving assistance data as shown in Fig.5:530.));
decode, from the LMF, a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) Positioning Protocol (LPP) Request Location Information message after reception of the pre-configured assistance data (paragraph [0127], Fig.5:540, "At stage 540, the LMF 570 sends a request for location information to the UE 504. The request may be an LPP Request Location Information message. This message usually includes information elements defining the location information type, desired accuracy of the location estimate, and response time (i.e., desired latency)." (i.e., The LPP Request is after the UE receives LPP Provided Assistance Data as shown in Fig.5:530, 540. "pre-configured assistance data" will be mapped by a different prior art.)),
the LPP Request Location Information message requests Time Difference of Arrival (TDOA) measurements (paragraph [0138], Fig.5, "The capabilities indicated in the LPP Provide Capabilities message may, in some aspects, indicate the type of positioning the UE 504 supports (e.g., DL-TDOA, RTT, E-CID, etc.) and may indicate the capabilities of the UE 504 to support those types of positioning." and paragraph [0139], "Upon reception of the LPP Provide Capabilities message, at stage 520, the LMF 570 determines to use a particular type of positioning method (e.g., DL-TDOA, RTT, E-CID, etc.) "(i.e., The UE sends DL-TDOA of supporting positioning, therefore the LMF will only ask to perform the DL-TDOA.));
perform the TDOA measurements using the pre- configured assistance data to measure time differences between downlink positioning reference signals received from the multiple transmission points by using configuration information for the multiple transmission points to identify which of the multiple transmission points transmitted which of the downlink positioning reference signals (paragraph [0143], Fig.5:550, "At stage 550, the UE 504 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 530 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 540 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS, transmission of UL-PRS, etc.) for the selected positioning method." and paragraph [0145], "The LMF 570 computes an estimated location of the UE 504 using the appropriate positioning techniques (e.g., DL-TDOA, RTT, E-CID, etc.) based, at least in part, on measurements received in the LPP Provide Location Information message at stage 560." (i.e., UE performs measurement using the assistance data.));
and report the location measurements to the LMF in a LPP Provide Location Information message (paragraph [0144], Fig.5:560, "At stage 560, the UE 504 may send an LPP Provide Location Information message to the LMF 570 conveying the results of any measurements that were obtained at stage 550 (e.g., time of arrival (ToA), reference signal time difference (RSTD)," (i.e., Reporting to the UE.)).
However, MANOLAKOS'896 does not disclose pre-configured assistance data, the pre-configured assistance data including validity data that indicates a condition under which the pre-configured assistance data is valid, the condition includes a network area for which the pre-configured assistance data is valid, validity of the pre-configured assistance data associated with a time period, the pre-configured assistance data identifying multiple transmission points in the network area; the pre-configured assistance data identifying multiple transmission points in the network area; determine, in response to the LPP Request Location Information message and before performing location measurements, that the UE remains within the network area and that the time period has not expired; in response to a determination that the UE remains within the network area and that the time period has not expired.
Li discloses pre-configured assistance data, the pre-configured assistance data including validity data that indicates a condition under which the pre-configured assistance data is valid (paragraph [0035], "receiving the first positioning assistance information sent by an LMF device through a Long Term Evolution Positioning Protocol (LPP) message, or receiving the first positioning assistance information sent by a network device through broadcasting, the first positioning assistance information being provided by the LMF device." and paragraph [0037], Fig.2, "The pre-configured first positioning assistance information includes a timeliness indicator, and has a timeliness characteristic. For example, the pre-configured first positioning assistance information is valid in a specific area or within a specific time period." (i.e., The pre-configured assistance data has a timeless characteristics such as valid for specific area or time period.)),
the condition includes a network area for which the pre-configured assistance data is valid (paragraph [0037], "The pre-configured first positioning assistance information includes a timeliness indicator, and has a timeliness characteristic. For example, the pre-configured first positioning assistance information is valid in a specific area or within a specific time period." and paragraph [0057], "That is, the first positioning assistance information is valid in a specific area and/or within a specific time period."(i.e., a specific area is reading on "a network area.")),
validity of the pre-configured assistance data associated with a time period (paragraph [0037], "The pre-configured first positioning assistance information includes a timeliness indicator, and has a timeliness characteristic. For example, the pre-configured first positioning assistance information is valid in a specific area or within a specific time period." and paragraph [0057], "That is, the first positioning assistance information is valid in a specific area and/or within a specific time period."(i.e., paragraph 57 indicating a time period and a specific area.)),
determine, in response to the LPP Request Location Information message and before performing location measurements, that the UE remains within the network area and that the time period has not expired (paragraph [0036], "S2: it is determined whether the first positioning assistance information is available." and paragraph [0039], "it is identified whether the first positioning assistance information is available. In detail, this can be achieved by detecting whether the terminal device is out of a specific area of the timeliness characteristic of the first positioning assistance information, or by determining whether a time point of using the first positioning assistance information is out of a specific time period of the timeliness characteristic of the first positioning assistance information, or the terminal device being unable to measure a positioning reference signal PRS (PRS) based on the first positioning assistance information." and paragraph [0041], "S3: the first positioning assistance information is used when the first positioning assistance information is available." and paragraph [0057], "That is, the first positioning assistance information is valid in a specific area and/or within a specific time period." (i.e., paragraph 35 discloses the pre-configurable assistance data is received as with LPP or a broadcast such as MANOLAKOS'896 Fig.5:530. Examiner points to Fig.2:S2 wherein before using the pre-configurable assistance data it would check if the user is in the location and the time is not expired, if the time or location is not valid then the UE would ask for a replacement as indicated in paragraph 73, and 75. When the pre-configurable assistance data is good, the UE will go the S3 to use the pre-configurable assistance data to measure the location. Paragraph 57 is to show the UE is checking for both the location and time validity.));
in response to a determination that the UE remains within the network area and that the time period has not expired (paragraph [0036], "S2: it is determined whether the first positioning assistance information is available." and paragraph [0041], "S3: the first positioning assistance information is used when the first positioning assistance information is available." and paragraph [0042], "it is determined whether the first positioning assistance information is available. When the first positioning assistance information is available, the first positioning assistance information is used, to ensure that the terminal device can accurately locate the terminal device and obtain a relatively accurate terminal device position when actually using the pre-configured first positioning assistance information."(i.e., When the pre-configurable assistance data is available or valid, then the measurement is performed.)).
MANOLAKOS'896 and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Locating users or terminals for network management purposes, e.g. mobility management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MANOLAKOS'896 assistance data to pre-configured assistance data in order to provide the data in advanced in order to reduce the time to send location measurement from the UE to the LMF and enables the UE to determine the location when no positioning assistance information is sent to the terminal device (Li, paragraph [0004], “In the related art, it is proposed to pre-configure positioning assistance information for the terminal device. When the terminal device needs to be located, no positioning assistance information is sent to the terminal device. The terminal device can directly use the pre-configured positioning assistance information.”).
However, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li do not explicitly disclose the pre-configured assistance data identifying multiple transmission points in the network area.
Dong discloses the pre-configured assistance data identifying multiple transmission points in the network area (paragraph [0236], "The network (LMF) sends the broadcast assistance information (NRPPa message) required for UE positioning to the base station/TRP. The broadcast assistance information pre-configures a plurality of sets of downlink PRS configurations of multiple TRPs for the UE. Specifically, the plurality of sets of downlink PRS configurations can be configured for multiple base stations/TRPs in the NR downlink positioning reference signal assistance information (nr-DL-PRS-Assistance Data)" (i.e., providing pre-configured assistance data with multiple TRP for the UE.)).
MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li and Dong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Locating users or terminals for network management purposes, e.g. mobility management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MANOLAKOS'896 to implement the system of Dong as providing pre-configured TRP for the UE to perform positioning measurement in order to reduce overhead (Dong, paragraph [0058], “Since a plurality of sets of PRS configurations are sent simultaneously, when performing the positioning, the set of PRS configurations that meets a current positioning requirement can be selected to ensure that the positioning requirement are met while reducing signaling overheads as much as possible.”).
Regarding Claim 51, which is similar in scope to claim 41, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 43, 45, 50, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS'896 (US-20240323896-A1) in view of Li (US-20240306118-A1) in view of Dong (US-20230224848-A1) in further view of Si (US-20240155542-A1).
Regarding Claim 43, MANOLAKOS in view of Li in further view of Dong discloses all the limitations as claim 41.
However, MANOLAKOS in view of Li in further view of Dong do not disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select, from multiple instances of network and includes validity data indicating the different network area, one of the multiple instances applicable to a current network area in which the UE is located for performing the TDOA measurements.
Si discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select, from multiple instances of network (paragraphs [0067] to [0071], "Optionally, the valid area includes at least one of the following:" [0068] "an area corresponding to a cell list, where the cell list includes at least one cell, which can be represented by a cell ID such as a physical cell identifier (Physical Cell Identification, PCI) or an NR cell global identifier (NR Cell Global Identifier, NCGI); optionally, the cell list includes a current serving cell or camp-on cell of the UE;" [0069] "a specific area, such as a specific area in a cell, or an area according to area division specified by the protocol, or an area associated with an SSB index (index) (that is, different SSB indexes may correspond to different preconfigured assistance data);" (i.e., "area" is related to either different cells or different part of the cell. Thus, when the claim states each instance is applicable to a different area within the network it is reading as different cells.))
and includes validity data indicating the different network area (paragraph [0059] "a valid time of the preconfigured positioning assistance data; where for example, a valid time length (or valid timer, valid timer) of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is T1; after the UE receives the configuration, the preconfigured positioning assistance data is valid within a time T1…" and paragraph [0060], "a valid area associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data…" (i.e., there is a time and area validity.)),
one of the multiple instances applicable to a current network area in which the UE is located for performing the TDOA measurements (paragraph [0157], "In an embodiment of this application, when the UE moves from area A to area B, preconfigured assistance data corresponding to area A changes from activated to deactivated, and the preconfigured assistance data for area B changes from deactivated to activated. In another embodiment, the network configures multiple groups of preconfigured positioning assistance data, such as group 1 corresponding to area A and group 2 corresponding to area B. The UE is currently in area A, and the preconfigured positioning assistance data needs to be activated immediately. At that time, an (initial) state of preconfigured assistance data for group 1 is “activated” and an initial state for group 2 is “deactivated”. As the UE moves, for example, the UE moves from area A to area B, the state for group 1 becomes “deactivated” and the state for group 2 becomes “activated”." (i.e., By having the UE activating and deactivating, it is a form selecting one of the multiple instances to perform measurements.)).
MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in further view of Dong and Si are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Locating users or terminals for network management purposes, e.g. mobility management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MANOLAKOS'896 to not only provide pre-configured assistance data for a single area to the UE but to also provide multiple instances of pre-configured assistance data to multiple areas in order to reduce signaling between the UE and the LMF and enables the UE to become flexible to able to move from different area and provide accurate positioning measurement without updating the pre-configurable assistance data based on the new area (Si, paragraph [0051], “the terminal receives the preconfigured positioning assistance data, and when it is determined that the UE needs to perform positioning measurement and/or position estimation, positioning measurement and/or position estimation can be directly performed based on the preconfigured positioning assistance data, with no need to interact with a network-side device for positioning assistance data, thereby reducing a corresponding delay.”).
Regarding Claim 45, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si discloses all the limitations as claim 43.
Si further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine that a first instance of the multiple instances has become invalid based on at least one of: the UE moving outside the network area of the first instance and the time period of the first instance expiring (paragraph [0059], "a valid time of the preconfigured positioning assistance data; where for example, a valid time length (or valid timer, valid timer) of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is T1; after the UE receives the configuration, the preconfigured positioning assistance data is valid within a time T1, and the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes no longer valid after the time T1…" and paragraph [0060], "a valid area associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data, indicating a valid area for the preconfigured positioning assistance data; where beyond the valid area, the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes invalid;" (i.e., paragraph 59, and 157 discloses multiple instances. Paragraph 59 discloses when the timer is expired, the UE can request to replace the first instance with another instance of positioning assistance data.));
and in response to a determination that the first instance of the multiple instances has become invalid, replace the first instance with a second instance of the multiple instances that is applicable to a current network area in which the UE is located (paragraph [0059], "…request to newly configure the preconfigured positioning assistance data. Certainly, a specific fallback behavior that the UE uses can be specified by the protocol, indicated by the network, and autonomously selected by the UE;" and paragraph [0157], "The UE is currently in area A, and the preconfigured positioning assistance data needs to be activated immediately. At that time, an (initial) state of preconfigured assistance data for group 1 is “activated” and an initial state for group 2 is “deactivated”. As the UE moves, for example, the UE moves from area A to area B, the state for group 1 becomes “deactivated” and the state for group 2 becomes “activated”." (i.e., By having the UE activating and deactivating, it is a form selecting one of the multiple instances to perform measurements.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 50, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si discloses all the limitations as claim 45.
MANOLAKOS'896 further discloses wherein newly received pre-configured assistance data is transmitted from the LMF without the UE transmitting a measurement report prior to receiving the newly received pre-configured assistance data (paragraph [0138], Fig.5:510, "Initially, the UE 504 may receive a request for its positioning capabilities from the LMF 570 at stage 510 (e.g., an LPP Request Capabilities message)." and paragraph [0139], "At stage 530, the LMF 570 sends an LPP Provide Assistance Data message to the UE 504 identifying the set of TRPs." (i.e., Li discloses "the pre-configured assistance data" and Saha discloses the data can be sent or initiated by the LMF.)).
Li further discloses pre-configured assistance data (paragraph [0032], Fig.2:1, "S1: pre-configured first positioning assistance information is received." and paragraph [0035], "It can be understood that the terminal device may receive the pre-configured first positioning assistance information in various ways, such as: receiving the first positioning assistance information sent by an LMF device through a Long Term Evolution Positioning Protocol (LPP) message," (i.e., the assistance data is pre-configured assistance data. Also Fig.2 shows the UE receiving the pre-configured data as in initiated.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 53, which is similar in scope to claim 43, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 46-48, 55, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS'896 (US-20240323896-A1) in view of Li (US-20240306118-A1) in view of Dong (US-20230224848-A1) in view of Si (US-20240155542-A1) in further view of Rao (US-20230379860-A1).
Regarding Claim 46, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si discloses all the limitations as claim 45.
Li further discloses further discloses wherein: the determination that the first instance has become invalid comprises determining that the first instance is insufficient for at least one of a predetermined positioning accuracy (paragraph [0038], “It can be understood that the first positioning assistance information of the terminal device is pre-configured, for example, pre-configured at time point T1. When positioning the terminal device, the terminal device uses the first positioning assistance information at time point T2. There is a time difference between time point T1 and time point T2, which may cause the pre-configured first positioning assistance information to become invalid when positioning the terminal device, thus leading to inaccurate positioning of terminal device.” and paragraph [0048], “the LMF device in the embodiment of the disclosure reconfigures the positioning assistance information to the terminal device, which can be implemented by reconfiguring the positioning assistance information to the terminal device through a Long Term Evolution Positioning Protocol (LPP) message, or by providing positioning assistance information to the network device again and reconfiguring the positioning assistance information to the terminal device by broadcasting of the network device.”(i.e., having invalid time period means leads to inaccurate positioning of UE.));
Si further discloses and when none of the multiple stored instances is applicable to the current network area, the processing circuitry is configured to encode, for transmission to the LMF, a request for the new pre-configured assistance data applicable to the current network area (paragraph [0059], “Optionally, after the UE receives the preconfigured positioning assistance data and after T1 time elapses, the preconfigured positioning assistance data all becomes invalid regardless of whether the preconfigured positioning assistance data is activated or deactivated. Optionally, the valid time of the preconfigured positioning assistance data may alternatively be specified by the protocol, or indicated by the UE or the location server (for example, being indicated in request information for the preconfigured positioning assistance data). After the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes invalid, the UE can report information about configuration invalidation to a serving base station (gNB) or the location server, for example, reporting an identifier of invalid preconfigured positioning assistance data, an invalidation cause (for example, expiration of a valid time, or exceeding a valid area), and so on. After the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes invalid, the UE can perform positioning measurement and/or position estimation (fallback behavior) based on the ordinary positioning assistance data, or stop using the preconfigured positioning assistance data for positioning measurement and/or position estimation, or use specific positioning assistance data for measurement, or request to newly configure the preconfigured positioning assistance data.” (i.e., The UE requesting new configured preconfigured positioning assistance data based on invalid time or old assistance data that would lead to inaccuracy as described in LI, location server is reading as LMF.)).
However, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si do not disclose wherein: the determination that the first instance has become invalid comprises determining that the first instance is insufficient for at least one of a .
Rao discloses the determination that the first instance has become invalid comprises determining that the first instance is insufficient for at least one of a predetermined positioning accuracy and positioning latency (paragraph [0513], “Alternatively, the WTRU may include in the RRCResumeRequest the cause value indicating the expiry and/or release of the previous assistance data/configurations for requesting the new assistance data. In response to the request, the WTRU may either receive new assistance data, an activation indication for a preconfigured assistance data (i.e., for preconfigured PRS/SRSp configuration),” and paragraph [0514], “The WTRU may receive minimum accuracy or latency requirements from the network (e.g., LMF, gNB) associated with PRS configurations the WTRU receives from the network.” And paragraph [0517], “Threshold for latency: The WTRU may receive an indication from the network that the PRS configuration and measurement reporting configuration satisfies the indicated accuracy requirement. For example, the WTRU may receive multiple PRS configurations from the LMF with the number of PRS resources 3, 6 and 9. The WTRU may receive latency requirements associated with respective number of resources, 100 ms, 200 ms, 400 ms, indicating that measurements of 3, 6 and 9 PRS resources yields latency under 100 ms, 200 ms and 400 ms, respectively.” And paragraph [0522], “Alternatively, on the condition that none of the (pre)configured PRS configurations are able to satisfy the minimum accuracy (and/or latency) requirement and/or results in a measurement report the payload size of which is less than or equal to the SDT data volume threshold, the WTRU may send an indication to the gNB (e.g., in a RRCResumeRequest message) requesting to transition the WTRU to RRC CONNECTED state. This would enable for the WTRU to perform measurements using a suitable PRS configuration (e.g., a PRS configuration that satisfies minimum accuracy/latency requirements) and send the measurement report to the network when operating in CONNECTED state.” (i.e., there is a level accuracy or latency required when using the preconfigured data and request for new assistance data when the assistance data is not satisfied as disclosed in Si. Examiner notes Rao is used in combination with Si to teach of determining the first instance does not satisfy a predetermined accuracy or latency to ask location server for updated pre-configured assistance data.)).
MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si and Rao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Locating users or terminals for network management purposes, e.g. mobility management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MANOLAKOS'896 to implement the system of Rao of having a predetermine accuracy or latency requirement in order to maximize the location of the terminal device and additionally enable the terminal device to perform high accuracy while in IDLE or INACTIVE state thus reducing power consumption (Rao, paragraph [0210], “the WTRU may start the positioning process during IDLE or INACTIVE mode, allowing the WTRU to reduce power consumption while achieving high accuracy in positioning.” and paragraph [0233], “the WTRU can send the measurement reports to the server during IDLE or INACTIVE mode, allowing the WTRU to reduce power consumption while achieving high accuracy in positioning.”).
Regarding Claim 47, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in view of Si in further view of Rao discloses all the limitations as claim 46.
MANOLAKOS'896 further discloses wherein: the LPP Request Location Information message further requests multi-round trip time (RTT) measurements (paragraph [0129], “NR supports a number of cellular network-based positioning technologies, including downlink-based, uplink-based, and downlink-and-uplink-based positioning methods. Downlink-based positioning methods include observed time difference of arrival (OTDOA) in LTE, downlink time difference of arrival (DL-TDOA) in NR, and downlink angle-of-departure (DL-AoD) in NR. In an OTDOA or DL-TDOA positioning procedure, a UE measures the differences between the times of arrival (ToAs) of reference signals (e.g., positioning reference signals (PRS)) received from pairs of base stations, referred to as reference signal time difference (RSTD) or time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements, and reports them to a positioning entity. More specifically, the UE receives the identifiers (IDs) of a reference base station (e.g., a serving base station) and multiple non-reference base stations in assistance data.” and paragraph [0132], “Downlink-and-uplink-based positioning methods include enhanced cell-ID (E-CID) positioning and multi-round-trip-time (RTT) positioning (also referred to as “multi-cell RTT” and “multi-RTT”). In an RTT procedure, a first entity (e.g., a base station or a UE) transmits a first RTT-related signal (e.g., a PRS or SRS) to a second entity (e.g., a UE or base station), which transmits a second RTT-related signal (e.g., an SRS or PRS) back to the first entity…RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy.” (i.e., Paragraph 132 states multiple positioning techniques can be combined such as RTT and TDOA for locating the terminal device.));
and the processing circuitry is configured to perform the TDOA measurements and the RTT measurements using the pre-configured assistance data (paragraph [0129], and paragraph [0132], and paragraph [0143], Fig.5, “At stage 550, the UE 504 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 530 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 540 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS, transmission of UL-PRS, etc.) for the selected positioning method.” (i.e., UE performs measurement as requested by the LMF. Examiner notes “measurement using the pre-configured assistance data” was disclosed in Li see Fig.2, paragraph 41.)).
Regarding Claim 48, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in view of Si in further view of Rao discloses all the limitations as claim 47.
Dong further discloses wherein the pre-configured assistance data each of the multiple transmission points (paragraph [0208], Fig.4E, “At block S710, a positioning assistance message including first configuration information is received. A plurality of sets of PRS configurations correspond to one base station or one TRP, and each set of PRS configurations is configured for positioning measurement of the UE.” and paragraph [0212], “At block S720, a positioning request message is received. The positioning request message includes: a trigger command for triggering UE positioning and first indication information.” and paragraph [0213], “At block S730, according to the first indication information, a set of PRS configurations for this positioning is selected from the plurality of sets of PRS configurations.” And paragraph [0214], “At block S740, positioning measurement is performed according to the trigger command and the set of PRS configurations for the current positioning.” and paragraph [0236], “Specifically, the plurality of sets of downlink PRS configurations can be configured for multiple base stations/TRPs in the NR downlink positioning reference signal assistance information (nr-DL-PRS-Assistance Data)” (i.e., pre-configured data has DL-PRS for the terminal device to use for measurement.)),
and the TDOA measurements and the RTT measurements are performed for all transmission points identified in the pre-configured assistance data (paragraph [0214], 4E, “At block S740, positioning measurement is performed according to the trigger command and the set of PRS configurations for the current positioning.” (i.e., using the selected PRS to perform measurement as disclosed in Fig.4E)).
MANOLAKOS'896 discloses TDOA measurement and the RTT measurement (paragraph [0129], and paragraph [0132], and paragraph [0143], Fig.5, “At stage 550, the UE 504 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 530 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 540 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS, transmission of UL-PRS, etc.) for the selected positioning method.”).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 55, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si discloses all the limitations as claim [[52]53.
Si further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configured the one or more processors to: determine that a first instance of the multiple instances has become invalid based on at least one of: the UE moving outside the network area of the first instance and the time period of the first instance expiring (paragraph [0059], "a valid time of the preconfigured positioning assistance data; where for example, a valid time length (or valid timer, valid timer) of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is T1; after the UE receives the configuration, the preconfigured positioning assistance data is valid within a time T1, and the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes no longer valid after the time T1…" and paragraph [0060], "a valid area associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data, indicating a valid area for the preconfigured positioning assistance data; where beyond the valid area, the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes invalid;" (i.e., paragraph 59, and 157 discloses multiple instances. Paragraph 59 discloses when the timer is expired, the UE can request to replace the first instance with another instance of positioning assistance data.));
in response to a determination that the first instance of the multiple instances has become invalid, replace the first instance with a second instance of the multiple instances that is applicable to a current network area in which the UE is located (paragraph [0059], "…request to newly configure the preconfigured positioning assistance data. Certainly, a specific fallback behavior that the UE uses can be specified by the protocol, indicated by the network, and autonomously selected by the UE;" and paragraph [0157], "The UE is currently in area A, and the preconfigured positioning assistance data needs to be activated immediately. At that time, an (initial) state of preconfigured assistance data for group 1 is “activated” and an initial state for group 2 is “deactivated”. As the UE moves, for example, the UE moves from area A to area B, the state for group 1 becomes “deactivated” and the state for group 2 becomes “activated”." (i.e., By having the UE activating and deactivating, it is a form selecting one of the multiple instances to perform measurements.)),
and when none of the multiple stored instances is applicable to the current network area, encode, for transmission to the LMF, a request for new pre-configured assistance data applicable to the current network area (paragraph [0059], “Optionally, after the UE receives the preconfigured positioning assistance data and after T1 time elapses, the preconfigured positioning assistance data all becomes invalid regardless of whether the preconfigured positioning assistance data is activated or deactivated. Optionally, the valid time of the preconfigured positioning assistance data may alternatively be specified by the protocol, or indicated by the UE or the location server (for example, being indicated in request information for the preconfigured positioning assistance data). After the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes invalid, the UE can report information about configuration invalidation to a serving base station (gNB) or the location server, for example, reporting an identifier of invalid preconfigured positioning assistance data, an invalidation cause (for example, expiration of a valid time, or exceeding a valid area), and so on. After the preconfigured positioning assistance data becomes invalid, the UE can perform positioning measurement and/or position estimation (fallback behavior) based on the ordinary positioning assistance data, or stop using the preconfigured positioning assistance data for positioning measurement and/or position estimation, or use specific positioning assistance data for measurement, or request to newly configure the preconfigured positioning assistance data.” (i.e., The UE requesting new configured preconfigured positioning assistance data based on invalid time or old assistance data that would lead to inaccuracy as described in LI, location server is reading as LMF.)).
Li further discloses further discloses the determination that the first instance has become invalid comprises determining that the first instance is insufficient for at least one of a predetermined positioning accuracy (paragraph [0038], “It can be understood that the first positioning assistance information of the terminal device is pre-configured, for example, pre-configured at time point T1. When positioning the terminal device, the terminal device uses the first positioning assistance information at time point T2. There is a time difference between time point T1 and time point T2, which may cause the pre-configured first positioning assistance information to become invalid when positioning the terminal device, thus leading to inaccurate positioning of terminal device.” and paragraph [0048], “the LMF device in the embodiment of the disclosure reconfigures the positioning assistance information to the terminal device, which can be implemented by reconfiguring the positioning assistance information to the terminal device through a Long Term Evolution Positioning Protocol (LPP) message, or by providing positioning assistance information to the network device again and reconfiguring the positioning assistance information to the terminal device by broadcasting of the network device.”(i.e., having invalid time period means leads to inaccurate positioning of UE.));
However, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si do not disclose wherein: the determination that the first instance has become invalid comprises determining that the first instance is insufficient for at least one of a .
Rao discloses the determination that the first instance has become invalid comprises determining that the first instance is insufficient for at least one of a predetermined positioning accuracy and positioning latency (paragraph [0513], “Alternatively, the WTRU may include in the RRCResumeRequest the cause value indicating the expiry and/or release of the previous assistance data/configurations for requesting the new assistance data. In response to the request, the WTRU may either receive new assistance data, an activation indication for a preconfigured assistance data (i.e., for preconfigured PRS/SRSp configuration),” and paragraph [0514], “The WTRU may receive minimum accuracy or latency requirements from the network (e.g., LMF, gNB) associated with PRS configurations the WTRU receives from the network.” And paragraph [0517], “Threshold for latency: The WTRU may receive an indication from the network that the PRS configuration and measurement reporting configuration satisfies the indicated accuracy requirement. For example, the WTRU may receive multiple PRS configurations from the LMF with the number of PRS resources 3, 6 and 9. The WTRU may receive latency requirements associated with respective number of resources, 100 ms, 200 ms, 400 ms, indicating that measurements of 3, 6 and 9 PRS resources yields latency under 100 ms, 200 ms and 400 ms, respectively.” And paragraph [0522], “Alternatively, on the condition that none of the (pre)configured PRS configurations are able to satisfy the minimum accuracy (and/or latency) requirement and/or results in a measurement report the payload size of which is less than or equal to the SDT data volume threshold, the WTRU may send an indication to the gNB (e.g., in a RRCResumeRequest message) requesting to transition the WTRU to RRC CONNECTED state. This would enable for the WTRU to perform measurements using a suitable PRS configuration (e.g., a PRS configuration that satisfies minimum accuracy/latency requirements) and send the measurement report to the network when operating in CONNECTED state.” (i.e., there is a level accuracy or latency required when using the preconfigured data and request for new assistance data when the assistance data is not satisfied as disclosed in Si. Examiner notes Rao is used in combination with Si to teach of determining the first instance does not satisfy a predetermined accuracy or latency to ask location server for updated pre-configured assistance data.)).
MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in further view of Si and Rao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Locating users or terminals for network management purposes, e.g. mobility management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MANOLAKOS'896 to implement the system of Rao of having a predetermine accuracy or latency requirement in order to maximize the location of the terminal device and additionally enable the terminal device to perform high accuracy while in IDLE or INACTIVE state thus reducing power consumption (Rao, paragraph [0210], “the WTRU may start the positioning process during IDLE or INACTIVE mode, allowing the WTRU to reduce power consumption while achieving high accuracy in positioning.” and paragraph [0233], “the WTRU can send the measurement reports to the server during IDLE or INACTIVE mode, allowing the WTRU to reduce power consumption while achieving high accuracy in positioning.”).
Regarding Claim 57, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in view of Si in further view of Rao discloses all the limitations as claim 55. (Examiner changed dependency for examination purposes to claim 55 as claim 54 is cancelled.).
MANOLAKOS'896 further discloses wherein newly received pre-configured assistance data is transmitted from the LMF without the UE transmitting a measurement report prior to receiving the newly received pre-configured assistance data (paragraph [0138], Fig.5:510, "Initially, the UE 504 may receive a request for its positioning capabilities from the LMF 570 at stage 510 (e.g., an LPP Request Capabilities message)." and paragraph [0139], "At stage 530, the LMF 570 sends an LPP Provide Assistance Data message to the UE 504 identifying the set of TRPs." (i.e., Li discloses "the pre-configured assistance data" and Saha discloses the data can be sent or initiated by the LMF.)).
Li further discloses pre-configured assistance data (paragraph [0032], Fig.2:1, "S1: pre-configured first positioning assistance information is received." and paragraph [0035], "It can be understood that the terminal device may receive the pre-configured first positioning assistance information in various ways, such as: receiving the first positioning assistance information sent by an LMF device through a Long Term Evolution Positioning Protocol (LPP) message," (i.e., the assistance data is pre-configured assistance data. Also Fig.2 shows the UE receiving the pre-configured data as in initiated.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claim(s) 49, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS'896 (US-20240323896-A1) in view of Li (US-20240306118-A1) in view of Dong (US-20230224848-A1) in view of Si (US-20240155542-A1) in view of Rao (US-20230379860-A1) in further view of Manolakos'272 (US-20240276272-A1).
Regarding Claim 49, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in view of Si in further view of Rao discloses all the limitations as claim 48.
However, MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in view of Si in further view of Rao do not explicitly disclose wherein the LPP Request Location Information message includes one or more time windows during which the UE is requested to perform the TDOA measurements and the RTT measurements.
Manolakos'272 discloses wherein the LPP Request Location Information message includes one or more time windows during which the UE is requested to perform the TDOA measurements and the RTT measurements (paragraph [0089], Fig.13, "The LMF 120 may also provide a LPP Request Location Information message including the time window information during a positioning preparation phase 1016." (i.e., Providing a time window in LPP Request location information message.)).
MANOLAKOS'896 in view of Li in view of Dong in view of Si in further view of Rao and Manolakos'272 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Locating users or terminals for network management purposes, e.g. mobility management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MANOLAKOS'896 to implement a time window in the LPP assistance message in order to help with the UE power management as to have the UE only power during the time window to provide measurement report and also reduces the chances of collision of signals by coordinating other measurement report with their own time windows.
Regarding Claim 56, which is similar in scope to claim 49, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERKIN S. ABDULLAEV
Examiner
Art Unit 2648
/ERKIN ABDULLAEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2648