DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed November 20, 2025 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 23-24 and 70.
Examiner acknowledges cancelled claims 5-6, 9, 11, 13, 15-18, 25, 27-29, 31-69, 71-74, 76-77 and 79-93.
Examiner acknowledges pending claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 12, 14, 19-24, 26, 30, 70, 75 and 78.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 8, 10, 12, 14, 19-24 and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Grant et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2021/0170715 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s argument.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 12, 14, 19-24,26 and 30 under the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-12, 17-22, 25-28, 30, 37-38 and 41 of co-pending Application No. 18/562,930 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 19-21, 23, 26, 30, 70, 75 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hernandez-Torres et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2013/0334726.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 23, Hernandez-Torres discloses fibrous insulation products [abstract and 0007]. Paragraph 0025 discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight. Paragraph 0033 discloses a density of 0.2 pcf to about 5 pcf [3.2 kg/m3 to 80.1 kg/m3][uncompressed state]. Paragraph 0036 discloses a higher density when the product is compressed. It is disclosed in paragraph 0051 discloses formaldehyde-free binders including monomeric trihydric alcohol [monomeric polyol]. Paragraph 0057 discloses that the binder is cross-linked. Additionally, paragraph 0057 discloses that the polyol is present in the binder in the amount of 1 to about 99% by weight. Example 1 discloses an R-value of 19. Paragraph 0055 discloses that the polyol has two or more hydroxyl groups [which includes four(4)].
Hernandez-Torres teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach a thickness of the fibrous insulation product changes by less than 65% in response to application of 22.2 N on the fibrous product. It is reasonable to presume a thickness of the fibrous insulation product changes by less than 65% in response to application of 22.2 N on the fibrous product is inherent to Hernandez-Torres. Said presumption is based on Hernandez-Torres’ disclosure of fibrous insulation products [abstract and 0007]. Paragraph 0025 discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight. Paragraph 0033 discloses a density of 0.2 pcf to about 5 pcf [3.2 kg/m3 to 80.1 kg/m3][uncompressed state]. Paragraph 0036 discloses a higher density when the product is compressed. It is disclosed in paragraph 0051 discloses formaldehyde-free binders including monomeric trihydric alcohol [monomeric polyol]. Paragraph 0057 discloses that the binder is cross-linked. Additionally, paragraph 0057 discloses that the polyol is present in the binder in the amount of 1 to about 99% by weight. Example 1 discloses an R-value of 19. Paragraph 0055 discloses that the polyol has two or more hydroxyl groups [which includes four(4)]. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, paragraph 0025 discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns.
Regarding claim 10, paragraph 0026 discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight. It is disclosed in paragraph 0051 discloses formaldehyde-free binders including monomeric trihydric alcohol [monomeric polyol]. Paragraph 0057 discloses that the binder is cross-linked.
Regarding claim 12, paragraph 0072 discloses that the cross-linking agent is present in the binder composition in the amount of up to about 50% by weight, based on the total solids content of the binder composition.
Regarding claim 14, paragraph 0015 discloses that the binder can include carbohydrate-based polyhydroxyl compound. Paragraph 0060 discloses that the carbohydrate can include sugar alcohol.
Regarding claim 19, Hernandez-Torres teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach that the aqueous binder composition has a viscosity at 40% solids at 25 ºC of 10 cP to 65 cP. It is reasonable to presume that the viscosity of the aqueous binder composition at 40% solids at 25 ºC of 10 cP to 65 cP is inherent to Hernandez-Torres. Said presumption is based upon Hernandez-Torres’s disclosure of fibrous insulation products [abstract and 0007]. Paragraph 0025 discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight. Paragraph 0033 discloses a density of 0.2 pcf to about 5 pcf [3.2 kg/m3 to 80.1 kg/m3][uncompressed state]. Paragraph 0036 discloses a higher density when the product is compressed. It is disclosed in paragraph 0051 discloses formaldehyde-free binders including monomeric trihydric alcohol [monomeric polyol]. Paragraph 0057 discloses that the binder is cross-linked. Additionally, paragraph 0057 discloses that the polyol is present in the binder in the amount of 1 to about 99% by weight. Example 1 discloses an R-value of 19. Paragraph 0055 discloses that the polyol has two or more hydroxyl groups [which includes four(4)]. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 20, Hernandez-Torres teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach that the aqueous binder composition has a viscosity at 40% solids at 25 ºC of 300 cP to 500 cP. It is reasonable to presume that the viscosity of the aqueous binder composition at 40% solids at 25 ºC of 300 cP to 500 cP is inherent to Hernandez-Torres. Said presumption is based upon Hernandez-Torres’s disclosure of fibrous insulation products [abstract and 0007]. Paragraph 0025 discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight. Paragraph 0033 discloses a density of 0.2 pcf to about 5 pcf [3.2 kg/m3 to 80.1 kg/m3][uncompressed state]. Paragraph 0036 discloses a higher density when the product is compressed. It is disclosed in paragraph 0051 discloses formaldehyde-free binders including monomeric trihydric alcohol [monomeric polyol]. Paragraph 0057 discloses that the binder is cross-linked. Additionally, paragraph 0057 discloses that the polyol is present in the binder in the amount of 1 to about 99% by weight. Example 1 discloses an R-value of 19. Paragraph 0055 discloses that the polyol has two or more hydroxyl groups [which includes four(4)]. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 21, Example 1 discloses an R-value of 19.
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Hernandez-Torres teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the fibrous insulation product has an uncompressed thickness x; wherein the fibrous insulation product recovers to a thickness y after application of 22.2 N on the fibrous insulation product for 60 seconds; and wherein the thickness y is at least 75% of the thickness x. It is reasonable to presume that wherein the fibrous insulation product has an uncompressed thickness x; wherein the fibrous insulation product recovers to a thickness y after application of 22.2 N on the fibrous insulation product for 60 seconds; and wherein the thickness y is at least 75% of the thickness x is inherent to Hernandez-Torres. Said presumption is based upon Hernandez-Torres’s disclosure of fibrous insulation products [abstract and 0007]. Paragraph 0025 discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight. Paragraph 0033 discloses a density of 0.2 pcf to about 5 pcf [3.2 kg/m3 to 80.1 kg/m3][uncompressed state]. Paragraph 0036 discloses a higher density when the product is compressed. It is disclosed in paragraph 0051 discloses formaldehyde-free binders including monomeric trihydric alcohol [monomeric polyol]. Paragraph 0057 discloses that the binder is cross-linked. Additionally, paragraph 0057 discloses that the polyol is present in the binder in the amount of 1 to about 99% by weight. Example 1 discloses an R-value of 19. Paragraph 0055 discloses that the polyol has two or more hydroxyl groups [which includes four(4)]. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 30, paragraph 0025 of Hernandez-Torres discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns.
Regarding claim 70, Hernandez-Torres teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the plurality of batts have a total batt weight; wherein the package, when unopened, has a volume X; wherein the batts assume a volume y within 10 seconds of the package being opened; wherein the ratio of volume y to volume x/total batt weight is 1.3 or greater. It is reasonable to presume that wherein the plurality of batts have a total batt weight; wherein the package, when unopened, has a volume X; wherein the batts assume a volume y within 10 seconds of the package being opened; wherein the ratio of volume y to volume x/total batt weight is 1.3 or greater is inherent to Hernandez-Torres. Said presumption is based upon Hernandez-Torres’s disclosure of fibrous insulation products [abstract and 0007]. Paragraph 0025 discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight. Paragraph 0033 discloses a density of 0.2 pcf to about 5 pcf [3.2 kg/m3 to 80.1 kg/m3][uncompressed state]. Paragraph 0036 discloses a higher density when the product is compressed. It is disclosed in paragraph 0051 discloses formaldehyde-free binders including monomeric trihydric alcohol [monomeric polyol]. Paragraph 0057 discloses that the binder is cross-linked. Additionally, paragraph 0057 discloses that the polyol is present in the binder in the amount of 1 to about 99% by weight. Example 1 discloses an R-value of 19. Paragraph 0055 discloses that the polyol has two or more hydroxyl groups [which includes four(4)]. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 75, paragraph 0025 of Hernandez-Torres discloses that the fibrous products including glass fibers having a diameter ranging from about 2 to about 9 microns.
Regarding claim 78, paragraph 0026 Hernandez-Torres discloses that the binder is applied in an amount of from 1% to 30% by weight.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 12, 14, 19-24, 26, 30, 70,75 and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-6, 10-12, 14, 16, 18, 20-21,25-27 and 29 of U.S. Patent No. 12,297,342. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application and the patented reference recite
A fibrous insulation product comprising: a plurality of glass fibers; and a cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder at least partially coating the fibers, wherein the cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder is formed from an aqueous binder composition comprising 5.0% by weight to 37.0% by weight of at least one monomeric polyol having at least four hydroxyl groups, based on the total solids content of the aqueous binder composition; wherein the quantity of the cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder on the fibers is in the range of 2% to 10% by weight of the fibrous insulation product; wherein the R-value of the fibrous insulation product is in the range of 10 to 54; wherein the glass fibers have an average fiber diameter less than or equal to 3.81 µm; wherein the fibrous insulation product has a density, when uncompressed, in the range of 4.80 kg/m3 to 43.25 kg/m3.
The patented reference teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach but fails to teach a thickness of the fibrous insulation product changes by less than 65% in response to application of 22.2 N on the fibrous product. It is reasonable to presume a thickness of the fibrous insulation product changes by less than 65% in response to application of 22.2 N on the fibrous product is inherent to the patented reference. Said presumption is based on the patented references recitation of A fibrous insulation product comprising: a plurality of glass fibers; and a cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder at least partially coating the fibers, wherein the cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder is formed from an aqueous binder composition comprising 5.0% by weight to 37.0% by weight of at least one monomeric polyol having at least four hydroxyl groups, based on the total solids content of the aqueous binder composition; wherein the quantity of the cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder on the fibers is in the range of 2% to 10% by weight of the fibrous insulation product; wherein the R-value of the fibrous insulation product is in the range of 10 to 54; wherein the glass fibers have an average fiber diameter less than or equal to 3.81 µm; wherein the fibrous insulation product has a density, when uncompressed, in the range of 4.80 kg/m3 to 43.25 kg/m3. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the glass fibers have an average diameter in the range of 2.03 µm to 3.05 µm.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the aqueous binder composition further comprises at least 50.0% by weight of a cross-linking agent comprising a polymeric polycarboxylic acid having at least two carboxylic acid groups, based on the total solids content of the aqueous binder composition; and wherein a ratio of molar equivalents of carboxylic acid groups to hydroxyl groups in the aqueous binder composition is between 0.60/1.0 and 1.0/0.6.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite that the aqueous binder composition has a viscosity at 40% solids and 25 ºC of 10 cP to 65 cP.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite that the aqueous binder composition has a viscosity at 40% solids and 25 ºC of 300 cP to 500 cP.
The patented reference teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the plurality of batts have a total batt weight; wherein the package, when unopened, has a volume X; wherein the batts assume a volume y within 10 seconds of the package being opened; wherein the ratio of volume y to volume x/total batt weight is 1.3 or greater. It is reasonable to presume that the plurality of batts have a total batt weight; wherein the package, when unopened, has a volume X; wherein the batts assume a volume y within 10 seconds of the package being opened; wherein the ratio of volume y to volume x/total batt weight is 1.3 or greater is inherent to the patented reference. Said presumption is based on the patented references recitation of A fibrous insulation product comprising: a plurality of glass fibers; and a cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder at least partially coating the fibers, wherein the cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder is formed from an aqueous binder composition comprising 5.0% by weight to 37.0% by weight of at least one monomeric polyol having at least four hydroxyl groups, based on the total solids content of the aqueous binder composition; wherein the quantity of the cross-linked formaldehyde-free binder on the fibers is in the range of 2% to 10% by weight of the fibrous insulation product; wherein the R-value of the fibrous insulation product is in the range of 10 to 54; wherein the glass fibers have an average fiber diameter less than or equal to 3.81 µm; wherein the fibrous insulation product has a density, when uncompressed, in the range of 4.80 kg/m3 to 43.25 kg/m3. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786