DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33, 35 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 33, the limitation “the at least one input device” lacks proper antecedent, thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
In claim 50, the limitation “wherein 5 to 9 but preferably 7 panoramic cameras” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite for creating ambiguity. Use of the phrase "but preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the elements following "preferably" are mandatory or optional limitations, thereby failing to explicitly define the exact metes and bounds of the claimed matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wardle (US 20150183498 A1).
Wardle discloses an underwater probe [100] that is capable of being used, and therefore usable, in a network of underwater probes. The underwater probe comprises: a submersible body having: an elongated body [105] with a substantially hydrodynamic effective shape for travel in at least one longitudinal direction; a power system [175] for allowing the controllable driving of the submersible body in the at least one longitudinal direction; and a visual image capture system including a plurality of optical cameras [125] located on or at the surface of the elongated body (see ¶0122, last 5 lines) which are capable of allowing usage in one or more of: navigation; visual capture; visual mapping; and knitting of a composite visual image. The elongated body, as seen relative to person [10] riding a surfboard [20] in Fig 1, is considered to be substantially in the range of 1 to 5 meters long, which would allow for easy maneuverability in small spaces. The probe is remotely controlled by wireless connection [200] in real time for navigational control of the probe for easy maneuverability in small spaces.
Re claim 30, the image data captured by the optical cameras is considered capable of and allowable for use in providing a localized panorama, as well as in a navigation system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wardle (US 2015/0183498 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 10,322,782 B1).
Wardle discloses an underwater probe, as described above, but is silent on an active ballast system with a ballast controller.
Brown et al. discloses an underwater vehicle comprising an active ballast system with a ballast controller wherein the active ballast system is remotely controllable through a wireless connection to the ballast controller to allow controlled changing of the depth of the probe (see col. 3, lines 33-52).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the underwater probe of Wardle with an active ballast system with a ballast controller, as taught by Brown et al. Having such a modification would have allowed the probe of Wardle to easily and efficiently operate at different depths.
Claims 19, 43 and 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wardle (US 2015/0183498 A1).
Wardle discloses an underwater probe comprising a plurality of optical cameras [125] (see ¶0122, last 5 lines), as described above, but is silent on the camera being one of a monoscopic camera and a stereoscopic camera.
However, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the camera as a monoscopic camera. Having such an arrangement would have provided a simple and inexpensive image capture system.
Re claims 48-49, it is noted that the preceding claim 43 sets forth an option of using only one of a monoscopic camera and a stereoscopic camera. Because the use of a stereoscopic camera has not been considered in claim 43, any further characterization of the stereoscopic camera in claims 48-49 has not been given any patentable weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 57 is allowed.
Claims 7, 12, 15, 25-27, 31 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stone at al. (US 9873495 B2) shows an underwater probe with multiple cameras 16 and 154 (Fig 16) and having a length of about 4 meters (see col. 2, line 20).
Christ et al. (US 11465718) disclose an AUV used for providing underwater mapping data.
NO 20161239 discloses an underwater probe having two or more cameras that are synchronized for providing 3D images.
CN 112298506 shows an underwater probe having two cameras [3] mounted on a nose cone (Fig 1).
CN 112519992 shows an underwater probe having two cameras [5] mounted on a nose cone (Fig 2).
WO 2020210918 shows an underwater probe having two cameras [16, 18] mounted on a opposing ends.
WO 2017220601 shows an underwater scanning device with cameras for generating underwater maps.
/AJAY VASUDEVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615