DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 6/22/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-14, 16-19 are pending. Claims 4,12,15 have been cancelled.
The following rejections are newly applied by amendment.
This action is FINAL.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The objections made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 112b rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robb et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0283797 October 5, 2017).
With regard to claims 1 and 3, Robb et al. teaches a container comprises a klenow and a mesophilic Cas protein (para 152 and 156). The limitation that the kit contains instructions; the inclusion of instructions is not considered to provide a patentable limitation on the claims because the instructions merely represent a statement of intended use in the form of instructions in a kit. See In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 U.S.P.Q.2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (holding that an inventor could not patent known kits by simply attaching new set of instructions to that product). The limitation of “with instructions for …” is considered printed instructions and does not limit the required structures. The term “kit” does not provide any structural limitations other than the structures recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-14, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudna et al. (US Patent No. 10253365 April 9, 2019) in view of Bashikirov et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0360039 November 28, 2019) and Robinson et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0100181 April 12, 2018)
With regard to claims 1-2, 5, Doudna et al. teaches a BSU DNA polymerase and CAS12a (e.g. mesophilic) (para 115-118). Although Dounda et al does not teach that these chemicals are within the same container, it would be obvious that polymerases and Cas proteins can be mixed together in a single tube for analysis. The limitation that the kit contains instructions, the inclusion of instructions is not considered to provide a patentable limitation on the claims because the instructions merely represent a statement of intended use in the form of instructions in a kit. See In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 U.S.P.Q.2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (holding that an inventor could not patent known kits by simply attaching new set of instructions to that product). The limitation of “with instructions for …” is considered printed instructions and does not limit the required structures. The term “kit” does not provide any structural limitations other than the structures recited. However, Doudna et al. does not specifically teach that a klenow fragment.
With regard to claims 6, Doudna et al. teaches the structure of Cas12a (para 105-106). Although Doudna et al. does not teach SEQ ID NO. 10, the structure of the CAS12A protein of Doudna et al. would encompass the sequence.
With regard to claim 7, Doudna et al. teaches a reverse transcriptase (para 116).
With regard to claim 8, Doudna et al. teaches LAMP using primers (para 116).
With regard to claim 9, Doudna et al. teaches that that reagents can be placed on a substrate (e.g. immobilized on a matrix) (para 263).
With regard to claim 10, 17, Doudna et al. teaches a method of combining RNA, BSU, CAS12a, LAMP and reverse transcriptase (para 115-119). However, Doudna et al. does not teach the LAMP temperatures.
With regard to claim 13, Doudna et al. teaches a method of using quencher and fluorophore (para 5).
With regard to claim 14, As Doudna et al. teaches the LAMP assay, Doudna et al. teaches the steps of claim 14.
With regard to claim 16, Doudna et al. teaches 10- or more copies (para 95).
Bashikirov et al. teaches a method of detecting target DNA comprising combining a sample with a reaction mixture with BSU LF and performing LAMP at 20 to 37 C(which is encompassed by the range) and detecting (para 149).
With regard to claims 10-11 and 15-18, Bashikirov et al. teaches use of controls and reaction temperatures of less than 60C (para 149-152).
Bashikirov et al. teaches a method of detecting target DNA comprising combining a sample with a reaction mixture with BSU LF and performing LAMP at 20 to 37 C(which is encompassed by the range) and detecting (para 149). .
Bashikirov et al. teaches a method of detecting target DNA comprising combining a sample with a reaction mixture with BSU LF and performing LAMP at 20 to 37 (which is encompassed by the range) and detecting (para 149).
With regard to claims 1, 3, 10, 15 and 18, Robinson et al. teaches that LAMP assays can be performed using BSsu or Klenow fragments (para 101). Further, Robinson teaches that the sample concentration can be 100 pg (para 6).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method and composition of Doudna et al. to further include the LAMP reaction steps of Bashikirov et al and the fragments of Klenow of Robinson et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to use the temperature reaction steps of Bashikirov et al in order to perform the LAMP method of Doudna et al. Furhtermore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that BSU can be interchanged with Klenow fragments in the LAMP assay based upon the teachings of Robinson.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. The reply asserts that the references do not encompass the temperature steps in a one step reaction (p. 10). These arguetmsn have been reviewed but are not found persuasive. It is noted that the claims are not limited to one step methods. Furhtermore, the temperatures of Bashikirov et al are encompassed in the range of the claims. As such the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682