Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramsden (U.S. 2,965,661).
Ramsden teaches in Example 29 the synthesis of tetravinyl tin which anticipates Claim 1, Claim 2, Claim 3 and Claim 11 as the preamble imparts no additional structure on the claimed compound and is also considered future intended use. There is nothing of record that reasonably suggest the known tetravinyl tin compound is not capable of being used as an additive and/or a crosslinking auxiliary.
Claims 1-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (U.S. 2,985,631).
Jones teaches crosslinking agent compositions comprising tetravinyl tin and tetra allyl silane in 50/50 amounts with respect to each other. See Example XXV table. The allyl group on the silane anticipates an unsaturated group on the crosslinking auxiliary of Claim 4. The 50/50 amount anticipates Claim 5. Tetravinyl tin which anticipates Claim 1, Claim 2, Claim 3 and Claim 11 as the preamble imparts no additional structure on the claimed compound and is also considered future intended use. There is nothing of record that reasonably suggest the known tetravinyl tin compound is not capable of being used as an additive and/or a crosslinking auxiliary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakojiri (U.S. 20110168262) in view of Koch (U.S. 20100269890) and Lei (CN112940376; reference made to included English machine translation).
Sakojiti teaches EVA compositions for solar modules (¶[0003]) which comprise EVA 100 parts, crosslinker (3 parts, TEBC ¶[0074] reads over peroxide of Claim 8 and Claim 9), Crosslinking auxiliary (2 TAIC parts reads over Claim 4 and Claim 6), and silane coupling agent (3-methacryloxypropyl trimethoxy silane (MEMO), 0.5 parts reads over Claim 10). See Table 1.
Sakojiri does not teach or suggest a tetravinylic tin compound such as tetravinyl tin or Formula 1 (which is met with tetravinyl tin).
Sakojiri is directed to crosslinking EVA ¶[0025] for adhesion and durability reasons.
Koch teaches crosslinking of EVA in solar modules increase the heat resistance (i.e. creep resistance) ¶[0004] Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested that changing the crosslink density (or amount of crosslinking) has an effect on the adhesion, durability and heat resistance of the underly EVA.
Lei teaches in ¶[0022] the use of organotin in EVA resins (EVA is one of the resins the organo tin is compounded into) improves the crosslinking degree. Tetravinyl tin is a preferred organo tin ¶[0016] and the amount used is taught as is 0.1 wt% - 0.15 wt% of the total resin added in the example (See ¶[0009] for instance)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention Sajokiti, in particular that of the Examples of Table 1 discussed above, by adding an organotin as an additive related to improving crosslink density because Koch and Sakojiri suggest the crosslinking density affects the adhesion, durability and heat resistance of EVA and Lei teaches organo tin compounds improve crosslink density in resins such as EVA as discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose tetravinyl tin as the organo tin as Lei prefers it in ¶[0016]. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use 0.1 wt% - 0.15of the EVA resin as the tetravinyl tin additive in the composition because Lei also exemplifies this amount.
The above composition of TAIC, TEBC and tetravinyl tin reads over Claim 1, Claim 2, Claim 3, Claim 4 and Claim 6, along with Claim 7-10 for the above reasons and Claim 11 as the tetravinyl tin is an additive in the compositions.
With respect to the compositional amount limitation of Claim 5 and Claim 12, the resulting crosslinking composition is 3 TEBC, 2 TAIC, 0.5 silane and 0.1 tetravinyl tin for a total of 5.6 parts. Scaling up to 100 parts, the amount of tetravinyl tin is 0.1 / 5.6 * 100 = x = 1.7 parts tetravinyl tin which meets the range of this compound in Claim 12. The TEBC (crosslinking agent) is ~ 54 parts which meets the range of said component of Claim 12. The silane coupling agent is 8.9 parts which also meets the limitation of Claim 12.
For Claim 5, the amount of tetravinyl tin : crosslinking auxiliary (TAIC) is 0.1-0.15:2 (or 1-1.5:20) which does not meet range of claim 5.
The exemplified TAIC of Sajokiri is not disclosed well by Sajokiri but it is reasonably suggested to be one of the additional additives broadly taught by Sajokiri in ¶[0030] and included in the teachings of ¶[0034] and amounts of these compounds in ¶[0035] as this is the only other mention of isocyanurate compounds in Sajokiri.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Sajokiri such that the amount of TAIC was between 0.5 and 5 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of EVA because Sajokiri teaches this range is reasonably suggested to be applicable for this TAIC component as discussed as above.
Considering 0.1 : 0.5 tetravinyl tin:TAIC gives a ratio of 1:5 against the claimed ratio of 1:4 (reduced).
Considering 0.15 : 0.5 tetravinyl tin : TAIC gives a ratio of 1:3.33 which meets the claimed ratio 1:4 to 4:1.
Therefore, the modified amounts of tetravinyl tin and TAIC as discussed above present n overlapping range of the ratio of Claim 4 reading over it.
Absent a showing of criticality, it is well settled that where prior art describes components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05. In re Harris, 409, F3.d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 3d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d, 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549,553 (CCPA 1974).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-14 of copending Application No. 18/285441. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the comprising language of the instant claims is read over by the copending 18/285441 which contains additional elements for the following reasons.
The preamble in these claims does not impart any structure onto the claims as as-filed specification does not define compositions or additives as any thing reasonably suggested to be different than their plain meanings in the art. Further, these claimed components in a larger composition would also be capable of performing their recited preamble functions as there is no evidence of record to reasonably suggest otherwise.
18/285441 Claim 1 and 18/285441 Claim 14 anticipates instant Claim 1 as it recites the same tetraalkyl tin compound.
18/285441 Claim 8 anticipates instant Claim 2 as it recites the same tetraalkyl tin compound.
18/285441 Claim 9 anticipates instant Claim 3 as it recites tetravinyl tin.
18/285441 Claims 11-13 anticipate instant Claims 4-6 as they recite the same auxiliary agents and ratios.
18/285441 Claim 1 anticipates instant Claim 7 as it recites the same tetraalkyl tin composition.
18/285441 Claim 6 anticipates instant Claim 8 and instant Claim 9 as it recites the same peroxide in the composition.
18/285441 Claim 7 anticipates instant Claim 10 as it recites the same silanes in the composition.
18/285441 Claim 7 anticipates instant Claim 10 as it recites the same silanes in the composition.
18/285441 Claim 1 and 18/285441 Claim 14 anticipates instant Claim 11 as it recites the same tetraalkyl tin compound.
18/285441 Claim 10 anticipates instant Claim 12 as it recites the same compositional limits the composition.
MPEP §804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i) cannot be used to overcome the above provisional rejection in future responses as there is no non-statutory double patenting rejection in the copending case at this time.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766