DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 16-30 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the request for reconsideration filed on July 6, 2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 16, 18, 21-26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moller et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,936,188).
4-1. Regarding claims 16 and 28, Moller teaches the claim comprising: at least one programmable energy source, by disclosing several sources of energy [column 2, line 63 to column 3, line 2; column 4, lines 36-46] that are used as a first energy asset EA1 and second energy asset EA2 as part of a hybrid power plant [column 10, lines 50-53].
Moller teaches at least one energy storage assembly configured to selectively store or release electrical energy, by disclosing an energy storage unit ESU or system ESS, such as a battery energy storage system BES [column 10, line 65 to column 11, line 6].
Moller teaches a control device configured to: calculate a plant net load reference value on requirements of a grid, by disclosing a power plant controller PPC 200 [column 11, lines 7-9] receives an active power reference [column 11, lines 11-14; fig. 4A, ‘Pset1’].
Moller teaches calculate a required load variation [Fig. 4A, “Pset” after “Pprod_NoCom”] based on the plant net load reference value [Fig. 4A, “Pset”] and based on a current net load to be supplied to a grid [Fig. 4A, “Pprod_NoCom”].
Moller teaches calculate at least one programmable energy source reference load based on the required load variation and taking into account load limits and/or gradient load limits of the at least one programmable energy source, by disclosing calculating set points PS_1 and PS_2 [Fig. 3, “P_S1,” “P_S2,” after Set-Point SPLITTER] based on output from the Active Power Controller [Fig. 4A, “Pset” after “Pprod_NoCom”; Fig. 3] and taking into account load limits of the power generating units [column 9, lines 27-34; fig. 2, “Prefhpp > PavailPGS”].
Moller teaches calculate a reference integrating load so as to obtain the calculated required load variation, when the at least one programmable energy source is not able to satisfy the required load variation, by disclosing calculating Plack to cover lacking power when power from the power generating systems is lacking [column 10, lines 8-22; Fig. 2, “Plack” inside C2a].
Moller teaches control the energy storage assembly so as to selectively release the calculated reference integrating load when the at least one programmable energy source reference load is lower than the plant net load reference value, by disclosing that when power from the power generating systems is lacking [fig. 2, “C1,” “C2a”], then the lacking power will be covered by discharging the ESS to the extent possible [column 10, lines 9-22; fig. 2, “PrefESS = Plack”].
Moller teaches or to store the calculated reference integrating load when the at least one programmable energy source reference load is greater than the plant net load reference value, by disclosing that if excess power from the power generating units is available [fig. 2, “C1,” “C2b”], as much of the excess power as possible will be used to charge the energy storage system ESS [column 9, lines 50-53; Fig. 2, “PrefEss = Pexcess”].
4-2. Regarding claims 18 and 30, Moller teaches all the limitations of claims 16 and 28 respectively, wherein the control device is configured to: calculate the at least one programmable energy source reference load exploiting the maximum gradient reachable by the at least one programmable energy source, by disclosing calculating set points PS_1 and PS_2 [Fig. 3, “P_S1,” “P_S2,” after Set-Point SPLITTER] based on output from the Active Power Controller [Fig. 4A, “Pset” after “Pprod_NoCom”; Fig. 3] and taking into account load limits of the power generating units [column 9, lines 27-34; fig. 2, “Prefhpp > PavailPGS”].
4-3. Regarding claim 21, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 16, comprising: at least one non-programmable energy source, configured to produce a non-predictable load contributing to a current net load supplied to a grid, by disclosing several sources of energy for a hybrid power plant [column 2, line 63 to column 3, line 2].
4-4. Regarding claim 22, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 21, wherein the at least one non-programmable energy source comprises: at least one steam turbine assembly, by disclosing several sources of energy for a hybrid power plant [column 2, line 63 to column 3, line 2].
4-5. Regarding claim 23, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 21, wherein the at least one non-programmable energy source comprises: at least one renewable energy source, by disclosing several sources of energy for a hybrid power plant [column 2, line 63 to column 3, line 2].
4-6. Regarding claim 24, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 16, comprising: auxiliary devices which are supplied electrically and are configured to assist energy production; and wherein the control device is configured to calculate the required load variation also taking into account energy absorbed the auxiliary devices, by disclosing factoring in electrical losses in the hybrid plant [column 11, lines 50-67; figure 4A].
4-7. Regarding claim 25, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 16, wherein the control device is configured to: calculate requirements of a grid by at least one primary module configured to calculate a primary load reference of the plant load based on a grid frequency, by disclosing that the active power reference may be received from a Frequency Controller [column 11, lines 19-23; figure 3, “Pref_freq_ctrl”].
4-8. Regarding claim 26, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 25, wherein the control device is configured to: calculate the requirements of a grid also by a secondary module configured to calculate a secondary load reference of the plant load based on a level signal received by a Transmission System Operator of an electrical grid, by disclosing that the active power reference may be received from a grid operator (TSO) [column 11, lines 19-23; figure 3, “Pref_user”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moller et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,936,188) in view of Wenzel et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,418,833).
6-1. Regarding claims 17 and 29, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 16. Moller does not expressly teach wherein the control device, before calculating a programmable energy source reference load, is configured to: check a storage current load of the energy storage assembly; when the required load variation is greater than zero, and when the storage current load of the energy storage assembly is lower than zero, control the storage assembly so as to release energy until a storage current load equal to zero is reached; when the required load variation is lower than zero, and when the storage current load is greater than zero, control the storage assembly so as to store energy until the storage current load equal to zero is reached; and calculate again the required load variation based on the requirements of the grid and based on the current net load when supplied to the grid. Wenzel discloses a frequency response system configured to add or remove electricity from an energy grid [column 1, lines 20-22]. At the start of each frequency response period, a controller uses a frequency response midpoint to determine optimal battery power setpoints and use the optimal battery power setpoints to control an amount of electric power stored or discharged from a battery during a frequency response period [column 1, lines 48-53; column 8, lines 58-60]. The controller generates a midpoint b that will maintain the battery at a constant state-of-charge (SOC) (i.e., a midpoint that will result in the battery having the same SOC at the beginning and end of the frequency response period) [column 8, lines 60-65]. In other words, the battery will be charged/discharged as necessary to maintain a constant charge (i.e. current load = 0). This would extend battery life. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take appropriate steps to maintain the battery of Moller at a constant state-of-charge during a frequency response period, as taught by Wenzel. This would extend battery life.
7. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moller et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,936,188) in view of McDaniel et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,997,924).
7-1. Regarding claim 19, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 16. Moller does not expressly teach wherein the at least one programmable energy source comprises: a gas turbine assembly. McDaniel discloses a hybrid energy facility that uses gas turbine generator (GTG) [column 1, lines 35-38; column 4, lines 22-26]. This would provide an additional alternate energy source to maintain grid stability when renewable energy generation drops. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, as an energy asset of Moller, a gas turbine assembly to produce energy, as taught by McDaniel. This would provide an additional alternate energy source to maintain grid stability when renewable energy generation drops.
7-2. Regarding claim 20, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 16. Moller does not expressly teach wherein the at least one programmable energy source comprises: an internal combustion engine. McDaniel discloses a hybrid energy facility that uses gas turbine generator (GTG) [column 1, lines 35-38; column 4, lines 22-26]. This would provide an additional alternate energy source to maintain grid stability when renewable energy generation drops. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, as an energy asset of Moller, a gas turbine assembly to produce energy, as taught by McDaniel. This would provide an additional alternate energy source to maintain grid stability when renewable energy generation drops.
8. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moller et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,936,188) in view of Moosvi et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,467,616).
8-1. Regarding claim 27, Moller teaches all the limitations of claim 25. Moller does not expressly teach wherein the control device is configured to: calculate the requirements of the grid also by an energy market module configured to calculate an energy reference load profile based on energy sold on an energy market. Moosvi discloses obtaining various types of input data including market data that describes various market inputs [column 7, lines 1-12]. One or more grid service requests may be determined based on the actual market input data, such as frequency response [column 7, lines 13-19]. The grid service requests can specify a requested amount of power, and specify certain performance parameters (e.g., supplied power should be within a certain frequency range) [column 7, lines 19-24]. This would allow for more precise control over fluctuations in frequency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate requirements of the grid based on market data, as taught by Moosvi. This would allow for more precise control over fluctuations in frequency.
Response to Arguments
9. Regarding independent claims 16 and 28, Applicant alleges that Moller et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,936,188) fails to disclose or suggest “at least one programmable energy source” because Moller’s entire disclosure is directed to controlling a hybrid plant where the primary sources are non-programmable, fluctuating renewables whose available power is weather-dependent and volatile.
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Moller discloses a hybrid power plant connected to an electrical grid for producing power to the electrical grid, the hybrid power plant comprising a plurality of energy assets EA1, EA2, and EA3 [column 10, lines 50-53]. The term ‘hybrid power plant’ is broadly understood as a power plant capable of producing power for the electric grid based on several sources of energy, including, but not limited to, wind energy, solar energy, hydro energy, thermal energy, etc., in the sense that the hybrid power plant has a mixture of energy sources producing power [column 2, line 63 to column 3, line 2]. Thus, one of the energy assets EA1 and EA2 may be hydro energy, which is considered a programmable energy source [see Applicant’s specification page 5, lines 25-27]. Moller also discloses that other energy assets cooperate with the said energy assets, especially energy assets based on fossil fuels (carbon based), such as power generating unit being based on oil, coal, hydrocarbon gas, etc. [column 4, lines 36-46]. These energy sources may also be considered programmable energy sources. Examiner interprets the statement “that other energy assets cooperate with said energy assets” as the other energy assets working together with said energy assets to generate power to the electrical grid. This additional generated power would be another energy asset within the hybrid power plant and would be factored in when calculating whether there is an excess of power or a lack of power from the power generating units to meet the hybrid power plant reference value for frequency control.
Applicant alleges that Moller fails to disclose or suggest the calculation of “a required load variation based on the plant net load reference value and based on a current net load to be supplied to a grid” because Moller does not measure or utilize the actual net load supplied to the grid to calculate its load variation, relying instead on renewable availability estimates, whereas the claim utilizes the actual, current net load supplied to the grid (CNL) as feedback, which physically and in real-time computes the energy absorbed by the auxiliary devices of the plant.
Examiner notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that “a current net load to be supplied to a grid” as claimed utilizes, as feedback, the actual current net load supplied to the grid, which requires physically and in real-time computing energy absorbed by the auxiliary devices of the plant) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Nowhere do the claims recite consideration of the energy absorbed by the auxiliary devices of the plant by physically and in real-time computing such energy when using the current net load in the calculation of the required load variation. Further, the claim recites “current net load to be supplied to a grid” which indicates that the current net load is not the actual, current net load being supplied to the grid, but a future amount that is being considered for supply to the grid.
Contrary to Applicant’s argument, Moller discloses calculating a hybrid power plant reference Prefhpp based on a desired mode of operation like Frequency Control [column 8, line 67 to column 9, line 4]. Prefhpp represents a set point for the hybrid power plant, which dictates how much active power the hybrid power plant must inject into the grid to satisfy grid frequency stability requirements. Prefhpp is calculated based on (1) an active power reference [column 8, line 64 to column 9, line 4] which may be received from a Frequency Controller [column 11, lines 19-23] and represented by Pref_freq_ctrl in [figure 3] and Pset1 in [figure 4A] and (2) an aggregated power production from the plurality of energy assets (see Pproduction as an input to the Active Power Controller in [figure 3] and Ppod_NoCom towards the top of the Active Power Controller in [figure 4A]) that can take into account estimated and measured electrical losses in the hybrid power plant [column 11, lines 50-67]. Thus, Moller is still considered to teach calculating a required load variation based on the plant net load reference value and based on a current net load to be supplied to a grid.
Applicant alleges that Moller fails to disclose or suggest calculating “at least one programmable energy source reference load based on the required load variation and taking into account load limits and/or gradient load limits of the at least one programmable energy source" because Moller does not consider gradient (ramping) limits of a programmable source, nor does it calculate a dynamic integrating load for the storage that is subsidiary to the physical ramping limitations of a programmable source.
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Moller discloses limiting set points for power generating units due to limits on rated power [column 10, lines 41-47]. Additionally, the safety limits of the renewable power generating units are respected and not overruled [column 5, lines 41-45]. Thus, Moller discloses taking into account load limits and/or gradient load limits of the at least one programmable energy source.
Applicant states that dependent claims 17-27 and 29-30 recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding independent claims 16 and 28. However, as discussed above, Moller is considered to teach claims 16 and 28, and consequently, claims 17-27 and 29-30 are rejected.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118