DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 November 2023 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “upper rod” and “the rod” as claimed in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 1-2: “1.) " “COMPRESSION TOOL COUPLABLE TO A BATTERY-POWERED IMPACT WRENCH”, characterized in that it comprises” should read:
-- 1. A compression tool coupled to a battery-powered impact wrench, characterized in that the compression tool comprises --
In claims 2-7, lines 1-2: “COMPRESSION TOOL COUPLABLE TO A BATTERY-POWERED IMPACT WRENCH",” should read:
-- The compression tool coupled to a battery-powered impact wrench, --
In claim 1, line 15: “an applicator body (A)” should read -- the applicator body (A) --
Appropriate correction is required.
The claims 1-7 are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spacing for all claims are required, see claims 3-5 and 7. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the applicator body (A)” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 1, the limitation “such as an impact tip” and “such as an engagement tip” render the claim indefinite because the metes and bounds are not clear. It is unclear whether the recited “impact tip” and the “engagement tip” are part of the claimed invention or merely for illustrative purpose.
In claim 1, the limitation in lines 9-10 “two holes (2C) symmetrically aligned on the upper and lower faces of the front recess (2B)” renders claim indefinite because, line 6 recites “a front recess (2B) of cylindrical shape” (emphasis added). If the front recess is a cylindrical shape, it is unclear where the upper and lower faces of the front recess (2B) are.
In claim 2, the limitation “the locking of the lead screw (2) on the applicator body (A) is effected by the parallel contact of the rear flange (3A) on the rear face of the applicator body (A)” is confusing. What does “the applicator body (A) is effected by the parallel contact” mean?
In claim 5, the limitation, “a hole (4A) arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically on the side face of said support tip (4)” renders claim indefinite because, see line 2 recites “cylindrical support tip (4)”, which deemed to read the support tip is cylindrical. If so, it is unclear where the “side face” of the support tip is.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “the upper rod” in line 13 and “the rod” in line 18. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
In claim 6, the limitations “two semicircular lateral projections (9B), arranged parallel and symmetrically centered on the lateral faces of the upper rod of said compression die (9),” and “a threaded hole (9E), horizontally, perpendicularly and symmetrically centered on the rear face of the rod of the compression die (9)” are confusing. What does hole (9E) “horizontally, perpendicularly and symmetrically centered” mean.
Claims 2-7 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-7 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chadbourne (US 20090223042) in view of Haytayan (US 20050235779).
[AltContent: textbox (cylindrical block)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (rear recess)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (applicator)][AltContent: textbox (lead screw)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (front recess)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (support tip)]
Annotated Fig. 2, Chadbourne.
Regarding claim 1, Chadbourne teaches, a compression tool (connecting tool 10, Fig. 2) couplable to a battery-powered impact wrench (hydraulic impact wrench, para. [0007-0008]), characterized in that it comprises a cylindrical lead screw (2) (screw ram 32, see annotated Fig. 2 and Fig. 4) with an external thread (see Figs. 2 to 4), horizontally and symmetrically arranged along the upper part of the applicator body (A) (frame 20, see Figs. 2 and 3) of the compression tool (1) (connecting tool 10), having a rear recess (2A) (rear end, para. [0006], see annotated Fig. 2) of cylindrical shape symmetrically arranged around the rear end of the lead screw (2), a front recess (2B) (front end, para. [0006], see Fig. 2) of cylindrical shape and symmetrically arranged around the front end of the lead screw (2);
a support tip (4) (see Fig. 4, front end 34 forms a general round, spherical or ball shaped tip, para. [0020]), such as an impact tip, of cylindrical shape and symmetrically fitted into the front recess (2B) of said lead screw (2);
a rear engagement (5) (tool body 24, Fig. 2), such as an engagement tip, of a cylindrical shape, symmetrically fitted into the rear recess (2A) of said lead screw (2), and a hole (5A) with a square section of the built-in sock coupling type and arranged centered along the inside of said rear engagement (5) for fitting a battery-powered impact wrench (B) (rear end 36 has a general keying shape…the keying shape is a cross sectional hexagon shape. However, any suitable keying shape could be provided, para. [0020]); and
an applicator body (A) (see frame 20) comprising a rear block (6A) (support sleeve 28) arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the rear end of said applicator body (A), with a cylindrical threaded hole (7) (threaded aperture 29) horizontally and symmetrically centered and passing through said rear block (6A) of the upper-rear part of said applicator body (A) for crossing/fixing the lead screw (2) (see Figs. 2 and 3), and a front block (6B) (anvil section 21, Figs. 2 and 3) arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the front end of said applicator body (A);
wherein the lead screw (2) is fitted into the applicator body (A) by screwing through the threaded hole (7) of the rear block (6A) of said applicator body (A) (see Figs. 2 and 3, tool body 24 is screwed into the threaded aperture of the support sleeve 28 to position the powder ram 22 along the longitudinal axis of the tool, para. [0018]).
Chadbourne does not teach, two holes (2C) symmetrically aligned on the upper and lower faces of the front recess (2B). However, Haytayan teaches, a fastening tool in Fig. 1, including a cylindrical lead horizontally and symmetrically arranged along the upper part of the applicator body having a rear recess symmetrically arranged around the rear end and a front recess symmetrically arranged around the front end, and two holes symmetrically aligned on the upper and lower faces of the front recess (see Fig. 19). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Haytayan, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify compression tool of Chadbourne and to include two symmetrical holes so that it enables fastening supports to the tool. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised with the holes. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 3, Chadbourne in view of Haytayan teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chadbourne further teaches, "COMPRESSION TOOL COUPLABLE TO A BATTERY-POWERED IMPACT WRENCH", according to claim 1, characterized in that the front block (6B) of said applicator body (A) comprises internal steps for fitting/locking (see the anvil section 21, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Chadbourne in view of Haytayan teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chadbourne further teaches, "COMPRESSION TOOL COUPLABLE TO A BATTERY-POWERED IMPACT WRENCH", according to claim 1, characterized in that it further comprises a cylindrical lock (5B) (see annotated Fig. 2) arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically inside the rear engagement (5) for coupling the driver of the battery-powered impact wrench (B).
Regarding claim 7, Chadbourne in view of Haytayan teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chadbourne further teaches, "COMPRESSION TOOL COUPLABLE TO A BATTERY-POWERED IMPACT WRENCH", according to claim 1, characterized in that said compression tool (1) can be actuated by an impact wrench (B) having a driving force generated by power from the mains or battery or even manually (para. [0020-0022]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chadbourne in view of Haytayan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pedreira BR 102014031771, one of the prior arts listed in 11/21/2023 IDS)
[AltContent: textbox (support tip)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (applicator)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (lead screw)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 1C, Pedreira.
Regarding claim 2, modified Chadbourne does not teach the recited limitations. However, Pedreira teaches, a compression tool (see annotated Fig. 1C above) including a cylindrical lead screw with an external thread, horizontally and symmetrically arranged along the upper part of the applicator body of the compression tool; a support tip of cylindrical shape and symmetrically fitted into the front recess the lead screw; a rear engagement, symmetrically fitted into the rear recess; and an applicator body (terminal fitting 8, Fig. 1C) comprising a rear block arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the rear end of said applicator body, with a cylindrical threaded hole horizontally and symmetrically centered and passing through said rear block of the upper-rear part of said applicator body (see Fig. 1C), and a front block arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the front end of said applicator body; wherein the lead screw is fitted into the applicator body by screwing through the threaded hole of the rear block of said applicator body, in which, "COMPRESSION TOOL COUPLABLE TO A BATTERY-POWERED IMPACT WRENCH", according to claim 1, characterized in that it further comprises a cylindrical bushing (3) (sleeve 8D, Fig. 4G), with an internal thread and arranged parallel and symmetrically threaded on the lead screw (2) and having a rear flange (3A) of annular shape and arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the rear end of said bushing (3), and a front recess (3B) of cylindrical shape and symmetrically arranged around the front end of the bushing (3), in which the locking of the lead screw (2) on the applicator body (A) is effected by the parallel contact of the rear flange (3A) on the rear face of the applicator body (A) (head adaptation sleeve (8D) similar to a flat "T" and circular cross-section and arranged horizontally and symmetrically seated in the hollow (8B), Page 5). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Pedrera, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify compression tool of Chadbourne and to include a cylindrical sleeve 8D as Pedrera disclosed in Fig. 4G so that it enables symmetrical seating inside the support sleeve of Chadbourne.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 would be allowable for disclosing a compression tool couplable to a battery-powered impact wrench, characterized in that the cylindrical support tip (4), symmetrically centered around the front recess (2B) at the front end of the lead screw (2) comprises a hole (4A) arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically on the side face of said support tip (4) for fitting a locking pin (4B); an inner cutout (4C) of cylindrical shape and symmetrically arranged at the inner end of the support tip (4); and the locking pin (4B) passing symmetrically through the hole (4A) to lock the lead screw (2) in the applicator body (A).
Claim 6 would be allowable for disclosing a compression tool couplable to a battery-powered impact wrench, further comprises a rectangular central base (8A), having two side cutouts (8B), and two side projections (8C); and two compression dies (9), each having two curved lower flanges (9A), arranged parallel and symmetrically spaced under the lateral ends of the base of the compression die (9) for fitting/sliding on the central base (8A), two semicircular lateral projections (9B), arranged parallel and symmetrically centered on the lateral faces of the upper rod of said compression die (9), two front chamfers (9C) symmetrically arranged at the anterolateral ends of the base of said compression die (9), a central recess (9D) with a semi-hexagonal internal section, vertically, parallel and symmetrically centered on the front face of the rod of said compression die (9), and a threaded hole (9E), horizontally, perpendicularly and symmetrically centered on the rear face of the rod of the compression die (9) and in the alignment of the lead screw (2) with its support tip (4).
Though, prior art of record Chadbourne teaches, a compression tool couplable to a battery-powered impact wrench, including a cylindrical support tip (4), symmetrically centered around the front recess (2B) at the front end of the lead screw (2), Chadbourne fails to teach, the support tip comprises a hole (4A) arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically on the side face of said support tip (4) for fitting a locking pin (4B); an inner cutout (4C) of cylindrical shape and symmetrically arranged at the inner end of the support tip (4); and the locking pin (4B) passing symmetrically through the hole (4A) to lock the lead screw (2) in the applicator body (A); or two compression dies (9) vertically, parallel and symmetrically aligned on the base (8A), fitted through the two side cutouts (8B) and locked by the two side projections (8C), each having two curved lower flanges (9A), arranged parallel and symmetrically spaced under the lateral ends of the base of the compression die (9) for fitting/sliding on the central base (8A), two semicircular lateral projections (9B), arranged parallel and symmetrically centered on the lateral faces of the upper rod of said compression die (9), two front chamfers (9C) symmetrically arranged at the anterolateral ends of the base of said compression die (9), a central recess (9D) with a semi-hexagonal internal section, vertically, parallel and symmetrically centered on the front face of the rod of said compression die (9), and a threaded hole (9E), horizontally, perpendicularly and symmetrically centered on the rear face of the rod of the compression die (9) and in the alignment of the lead screw (2) with its support tip (4).
Though, prior art of record Pedreira teaches, a compression tool couplable to a battery-powered impact wrench, including a cylindrical support tip (4), symmetrically centered around the front recess (2B) at the front end of the lead screw (2); and a rectangular central base (8A), arranged parallel and symmetrically centered on the applicator body (A); and two compression dies (9) vertically, parallel and symmetrically aligned on the base (8A), Pedreira fails to teach, the support tip comprises a hole (4A) arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically on the side face of said support tip (4) for fitting a locking pin (4B); an inner cutout (4C) of cylindrical shape and symmetrically arranged at the inner end of the support tip (4); and the locking pin (4B) passing symmetrically through the hole (4A) to lock the lead screw (2) in the applicator body (A); or two semicircular lateral projections (9B), arranged parallel and symmetrically centered on the lateral faces of the upper rod of said compression die (9), two front chamfers (9C) symmetrically arranged at the anterolateral ends of the base of said compression die (9), a central recess (9D) with a semi-hexagonal internal section, vertically, parallel and symmetrically centered on the front face of the rod of said compression die (9), and a threaded hole (9E), horizontally, perpendicularly and symmetrically centered on the rear face of the rod of the compression die (9) and in the alignment of the lead screw (2) with its support tip (4).
Therefore, claims 5-6 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prio art Itrich (US 20040177495) teaches, a compression tool including, a cylindrical lead screw with an external thread; a support tip of cylindrical shape and symmetrically fitted into the front recess the lead screw; a rear engagement, symmetrically fitted into the rear recess; and an applicator body comprising a rear block arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the rear end of said applicator body, with a cylindrical threaded hole horizontally and symmetrically centered and passing through said rear block of the upper-rear part of said applicator body, and a front block arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the front end of said applicator body; wherein the lead screw is fitted into the applicator body by screwing through the threaded hole of the rear block of said applicator body.
Prior art Shi (US 20180219344) teaches, a compression tool comprising a cylindrical lead screw with an external thread; a support tip of cylindrical shape and symmetrically fitted into the front recess the lead screw; a rear engagement, symmetrically fitted into the rear recess; and an applicator body comprising a rear block arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the rear end of said applicator body; wherein the lead screw is fitted into the applicator body by screwing through the threaded hole of the rear block of said applicator body.
Prior art Vallette (US 20130174405) teaches, a compression tool comprising a cylindrical lead screw with an external thread; a support tip of cylindrical shape and symmetrically fitted into the front recess the lead screw; a rear engagement, symmetrically fitted into the rear recess; and an applicator body comprising a rear block arranged perpendicularly to and symmetrically centered on the rear end of said applicator body; wherein the lead screw is fitted into the applicator body by screwing through the threaded hole of the rear block of said applicator body.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729