Double Patenting
Claims 1-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/562989. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the claims of SN 18/562989.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/208008 A1 in view of WO 2019/110269 A1, for the reasons given in the last Office Action. In addition, WO 2020/208008 A1 discloses on page 14, lines 19 and 20 that parallel reverse water gas shift reactors are conceivable.
Regrading claim 34, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that the process of WO 2020/208008 A1 could be carried out free of an autothermal reactor, since the necessary heat could be supplied from one of the reverse water gas shift reactors.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/208008 A1 in view of WO 2019/10269 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moore et al (US 10,894,244) for the reasons given in the last Office Action.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/208008 A1 in view of WO 2019/10269 A1, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of WO 2021/098980, for the reasons given in the last Office Action.
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/208008 A1 in view of WO 2019/10269 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CA 3,103,347, for the reasons given in the last Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that WO 2020/208008 A1 does not disclose that at least a portion of the first product stream is arranged to be fed to a heating side of the HER such that heat from the first product stream is transferred to the process side of the HER, thereby allowing the conversion of the second feed to a second product stream comprising CO in the process side of the HER, and providing a cooled product stream, is not convincing. One of the parallel rWGS reactors disclosed in WO 2020/208008 A1 is considered to constitute a heat exchange reactor (HER), as recited in applicant’s claims. It would have been obvious to provide heat from the first parallel wWGS reactor to the heating side of the second rWGS reactor in the system of WO 2020/208008 A1, since WO 2020/208008 A1. Discloses on page 14, lines 27-32 that heating may be provided by a stream comprising hydrogen, with a further disclosure that the effluent from the rWGS reactor unit can be 400-900 C. One would have appreciated that such effluent would be a useful source of heat for the second rWGS reactor. Applicant’s argument, that the temperature of 400-900C might be the case of the effluent of the ATR reactor of WO 2020/208008 A1, but is not the effluent of the rWGS reactor, is not convincing, since WO 2020/208008 A1 teaches on page 14, lines 30-32 that the effluent from the rWGS unit can be 400-900C. Applicant’s claims 1-33 do not exclude the inclusion of an autothermal reactor (ATR) in the system.
Regarding claim 34, WO 2020/208008 A1 teaches on page 8, lines 17-21 that the ATR section can be a partial oxidation section or a catalytic partial oxidation section. Accordingly the system of WO 2020/208008 A1 does not require an ATR.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736