DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. In particular, this Application is the national stage application of an international application that claims foreign priority to a Japanese application filed on 25 May 2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements, submitted on 21 Nov 2023 and 8 Aug 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated below in this section of the Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. This claim limitations are “a communication unit” and “a control unit” in claim 1.
According to paragraph 22 of the disclosure, “the communication unit 131 is implemented, for example, by a processor such as a CPU or a logic circuit (hardware) formed on an integrated circuit (an IC chip) or the like.” Spec., ¶22. And similarly, in paragraph 20 of the disclosure, “[t]he control unit 111 is implemented, for example, by a processor such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU) or a logic circuit (hardware) formed on an integrated circuit (an Integrated Circuit (IC) chip) or the like.” Spec., ¶20. As a result, the disclosure sufficiently defines the structure of both means-plus-function limitations of claim 1 as a processor or integrated circuit.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 5 recite, in part, [a] “detect a received level of each of the plurality of beams, [b] “the detected received level,” and [c] “a received level of each of the plurality of beams.” It is unclear how many “receive levels” are required by the claimed invention and if each recitation of a “receive level” refers to the same claim element. In limitations [a] and [c], because a plurality of beams are required and “each” has a receive level, limitations [a] and [c] seem to require multiple receive levels. In contrast, limitation [b] is singular and therefore seems limited to only one receive level. Additionally, the recitation of “a receive level of each of the plurality of beams” in limitations [a] and [c] results in confusion as to whether the receive levels in limitation [c] are different from those in limitation [a] because there is a lack of antecedent basis between the limitations.
Claims 2-4 are indefinite due to their dependence upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20240230816).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Wang teaches a communication terminal and a method of controlling a communication terminal, where the communication terminal is configured to communicate with a base station, the communication terminal (Wang, figure 8) comprising:
an antenna configured to transmit and/or receive a plurality of beams having directivity in different directions (Wang, figure 2 and ¶36 – user terminal is able to communicate, via its quantity of antenna elements, using any one of three beams with different directions);
a communication unit configured to communicate with the base station through the plurality of beams by using the antenna and detect a received level of each of the plurality of beams (Wang, figure 4 and ¶¶39-40 – in step s401, user terminal receives a transmit beam using its plurality of receive beams, and determines the RSRP of each of the plurality of receive beams); and
a control unit configured to signal an indication prompting to change an orientation of the communication terminal based on the detected received level and directivity data indicating a received level of each of the plurality of beams in a corresponding plurality of directions. Wang, figure 4 and ¶¶47, 50 (in steps s402-s404, the user terminal determines (1) the optimal receive beam and (2) the rotation angle and rotation direction of the terminal device that are required to form an optimal receive beam. The user terminal also prompts the user to change the location, angle, and rotation of the terminal such that the user terminal is aligned in the peak direction for the optimal receive beam).
Regarding claim 2, Wang also teaches wherein the control unit determines whether there is a beam among the plurality of beams whose received level is improved over a beam currently used for communication in a case that the orientation of the communication terminal is changed (Wang, ¶¶41-44 - terminal device determines optimal beam of all receive beams and then, based on the relative location of the peak direction beam, the rotation angle and rotation direction that are required to align the peak direction beam so that it is perpendicular to the antenna panel of the network device); and signals an indication prompting to change the orientation of the communication terminal in a case that the control unit determines that there is the beam whose received level is improved. Wang, ¶47, 50 (terminal device displays prompt information to assist the user in adjusting the terminal such that the peak direction beam is used to receive the transmit beam).
Regarding claim 3, Wang also teaches wherein the control unit displays an orientation of the communication terminal where the received level is improved on a display unit in a case that the control unit determines that there is the beam whose received level is improved. Wang, figure 5 and ¶¶47-48 (terminal device displays rotation angle and direction in its notification bar or popover to put the terminal device in peak beam position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (of record) in view of Agarwal (US 20230025445).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the communication terminal according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach its control unit “audibly outputs an indication prompting to change the orientation of the communication terminal through an audio output unit.” However, Agarwal teaches a beam alignment controller that provides audio instructions to the user for changing the orientation of the UE. Agarwal, ¶65. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to audibly prompt the user, as taught by Agarwal, when the terminal device needs adjusted for ideal beam alignment, as taught by Wang, in order to guide the user to change the orientation of the terminal device (Agarwal, ¶120), such that a maximum data rate is obtained. Agarwal, ¶88.
Conclusion
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461