Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, parenthesis in the limitation “(in the formula (1), each R is independently selected from the group consisting of a hydrogen atom, halogen atoms, a nitro group, a cyano group, an amino group, alkyl groups having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, and alkoxy groups having 1 to 6 carbon atoms and may be identical or different, and the dipicolylamine structure may form a complex with a metal M)” should be removed to avoid any confusion as to whether the limitations within parenthesis are for reference only or are required.
In claim 3, parenthesis in the limitation “(in the formula (3), n is an integer of 1 or more, and X is a functional group which binds to a carboxyl group) should be removed to avoid any confusion as to whether the limitations within parenthesis are for reference only or are required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “may form a complex with a metal M” in last line renders the claim indefinite because the phrase does not clearly state whether the dipicolylamine structure forms a complex with a metal M.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Contsantopoulos et al. (WO2011/088505), in view of Yamamoto et al. (WO 2019/230543, refer attached English language machine translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 1, Constantopoulos teaches a reverse osmosis composite membrane (refer Page 3 – lines 7-12 disclosing the composite membrane having a porous support, polyamide layer, and antifouling coating, page 18 – line 1 disclosing the membrane to be RO membrane) is obtained by chemically modifying a surface thereof (refer page 3 – lines 11-12 disclosing anti-fouling coating) with a compound that has an amino group (refer page 3 – line 15 disclosing providing a filtration membrane having amine or hydroxy functionality on a surface thereof). Constantopoulous also teaches adding tris(2-pyridylmethyl)amine to the composition while making the membrane (refer page 14 - lines 3-4 and page 16 - lines 27 through page 17 – line 3). Tris(2-pyridylmethyl)amine comprises three pyridine rings.
Constantopoulous does not teach modifying the amino group with two molecules of a-picolyl group and has a dipicolylamine structure represented by the following formula (1), the compound that has the amino group being the compound in a monomeric form,
in the formula (1), each R is independently selected from the group consisting of a hydrogen atom, halogen atoms, a nitro group, a cyano group, an amino group, alkyl groups having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, and alkoxy groups having 1 to 6 carbon atoms and may be identical or different, and the dipicolylamine structure may form a complex with a metal M).
Yamamoto teaches a polymer having antimicrobial activity (refer [0007]), the polymer an amino group and having a dipicolylamine structure represented by the following formula (1), wherein the amino group is modified with two molecules of α-picolyl group:
In the above formula (1), R is independently selected from the group consisting of a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, a nitro group, a cyano group, an alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, and an alkoxy group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms. And may be the same or different, and the dipicolylamine structure may form a complex with the metal M. (refer [0008]-[0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the membrane of Constantopoulous to modify the amino group with two molecules of a-picolyl group and has a dipicolylamine structure to provide antimicrobial property as taught by Yamamoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the antimicrobial properties taught by Yamamoto would aid in preventing biofouling by removing bacterial activities.
Regarding claim 3, modified Constantopoulos teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Yamamoto further teaches (refer [0072]) that the compound is represented by formula
Wherein, in formula (3), n is an integer arbitrarily selected, X is a linear alkyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and Y is a dipicolylamine structure represented by formula (1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Constantopoulos teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Yamamoto further teaches that the DPA structure represented by the formula (1) preferably forms a complex with the metal M (refer [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Constantopoulos teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Yamamoto further teaches that the polymer according to an embodiment of the present invention can obtain a desired effect without forming a complex with the metal M (refer [0054]). Therefore, selecting whether to form a complex with the metal M or not would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2023/0028028 to Bogels et al. teaches a porous membrane comprising a ligand group that can bind to target biomelcules or metal atoms, wherein the ligand group comprises pyridyl groups (refer abstract, [0038], [0047]).
/PRANAV N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777