DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 6/10/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 6/10/2024 is acknowledged and has been considered except where lined through.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavion (WO2020/072773A1, 2020-04-09, IDS).
Cavion teaches methods and materials for treating mammals having or at risk of developing, one or more movement disorders (e.g. essential tremor, epilepsy, and/or Parkinson’s disease), as well as, compositions including one or more T-type calcium channel antagonist (e.g. one or more Cav3 antagonist such as CX-8998) for use in methods of administering such compositions to mammals having, or at risk of developing one or more movement disorders (e.g. essential tremor, epilepsy, and/or Parkinson’s disease) to treat the mammal (Abstract). With regards to the mammals, Cavion teaches that the mammal is in a fasting state and a human such as an adult (page 55, lines 7-10, 15-20 and 28-29). With regards to the administration timing, Cavion teaches that the composition is administered within about 4 hours of waking and can range in duration from several days to several years (page 57, lines 17-19 and page 62, lines 4-30). With regards to the compositions, Cavion teaches compositions comprises a unit dosage of the Cav3 antagonist which can be administered once a day or more than once a day and includes amounts including, but not limited to, 3mg to 30 mg or 5 mg to 25mg (page 32, lines 19-20). In particular, Cavion teaches the dose can be increased over time, wherein a dose can be titrated up to a final dose over a period of time (e.g. 1 week, 2 weeks, 3 weeks or 4 weeks) (page 60, lines 25-27). Cavion further provides the outcome of what appears to be a Clinical trial referred to as T-CALM in patients having ET (essential tremor) including both moderate and severe ET patients (Example 14). Specifically, Cavion teaches T-CALM employed the following dose titration scheme of CX-8998: Week 1 at 4 mg BID (8 mg/day), Week 2 at 8 mg BID (16mg/day) and weeks 3 and 4 at 10 mg BID (20 mg/day), wherein adverse event reports decrease after the first week of dosing despite the fact that dose was being increased at the beginning of weeks 2 and 3 showing that patients tolerate quickly to CX-8998 releated CNS and psychiatric adverse events (page 102, lines 4-8). Regarding the adverse events, Cavion teaches that adverse events include, but are not limited to, headache, dizziness, somnolence and insomnia (see Table 14 for a full listing of adverse events). Lastly, Cavion provides numerous clinical trials which have been completed, are ongoing and planned, many of which involve dose-titration or rising doses (Table 17).
Thus, while the prior art teaches treating patients having ET (essential tremor), comprising administering the following dose titration scheme of CX-8998: Week 1 at 4 mg BID (8 mg/day), Week 2 at 8 mg BID (16mg/day) and weeks 3 and 4 at 10 mg BID (20 mg/day), the prior art does not specifically teach a dose titration scheme of CX-8998: Week 1 at 5 mg QD/day, Week 2 at 10 mg QD/day, optionally, week 3 at 20 mg QD/day and optionally, week 4 at 30 mg QD/day.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the titration protocol taught by Cavion to encompass the protocol as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Cavion appears to indicate that this is a routing practice in the art since many of the clinical trials provided by Cavion contains either rising-dosing or dose titration studies.
Moreover, Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8-10 and 19-20, the limitations recited in the instant claims appear to be outcomes upon administration of the dosing-titration. Accordingly, since the obviousness rejection is based on the optimization of the dosing-titrations of the prior art it would appear that these outcomes would be achieved upon.
Note: The instant specification provides a phase 2b study to assess the safety and efficacy of CX-8998 in the treatment of adults with moderate to severe essential tremor using the instantly claimed dosing-titration protocol (Example 1). While the study provides the protocol, patient population and exclusion criteria, the study does not appear to provide any results. As such, it is unclear whether there are any unexpected/superior results with the claimed method vs. the dosing titration protocols of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 51-70 of copending Application No. 19/184847 in view of Cavion (WO2020/072773A1, 2020-04-09, IDS).
The copending application claims a method of treating a movement disorder, said method comprising administering once daily to said human an oral dosage form, wherein the oral dosage form comprises a Cav3 antagonist, wherein the Cav3 antagonist is CX-8998. Moreover, the copending application claims that the oral dosage form comprises from about 0.5 mg to about 20 mg of CX-8998 (claim 70).
The copending application differs from the instant claims in that it does not specifically claim a dose titration scheme of CX-8998: Week 1 at 5 mg QD/day, Week 2 at 10 mg QD/day, optionally, week 3 at 20 mg QD/day and optionally, week 4 at 30 mg QD/day.
Cavion teaches methods and materials for treating mammals having or at risk of developing, one or more movement disorders (e.g. essential tremor, epilepsy, and/or Parkinson’s disease), as well as, compositions including one or more T-type calcium channel antagonist (e.g. one or more Cav3 antagonist such as CX-8998) for use in methods of administering such compositions to mammals having, or at risk of developing one or more movement disorders (e.g. essential tremor, epilepsy, and/or Parkinson’s disease) to treat the mammal (Abstract). With regards to the mammals, Cavion teaches that the mammal is in a fasting state and a human such as an adult (page 55, lines 7-10, 15-20 and 28-29). With regards to the administration timing, Cavion teaches that the composition is administered within about 4 hours of waking and can range in duration from several days to several years (page 57, lines 17-19 and page 62, lines 4-30). With regards to the compositions, Cavion teaches compositions comprises a unit dosage of the Cav3 antagonist which can be administered once a day or more than once a day and includes amounts including, but not limited to, 3mg to 30 mg or 5 mg to 25mg (page 32, lines 19-20). In particular, Cavion teaches the dose can be increased over time, wherein a dose can be titrated up to a final dose over a period of time (e.g. 1 week, 2 weeks, 3 weeks or 4 weeks) (page 60, lines 25-27). Cavion further provides the outcome of what appears to be a Clinical trial referred to as T-CALM in patients having ET (essential tremor) including both moderate and severe ET patients (Example 14). Specifically, Cavion teaches T-CALM employed the following dose titration scheme of CX-8998: Week 1 at 4 mg BID (8 mg/day), Week 2 at 8 mg BID (16mg/day) and weeks 3 and 4 at 10 mg BID (20 mg/day), wherein adverse event reports decrease after the first week of dosing despite the fact that dose was being increased at the beginning of weeks 2 and 3 showing that patients tolerate quickly to CX-8998 releated CNS and psychiatric adverse events (page 102, lines 4-8). Regarding the adverse events, Cavion teaches that adverse events include, but are not limited to, headache, dizziness, somnolence and insomnia (see Table 14 for a full listing of adverse events). Lastly, Cavion provides numerous clinical trials which have been completed, are ongoing and planned, many of which involve dose-titration or rising doses (Table 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the method claimed by the copending application to encompass the protocol as claimed in view of the teachings of Cavion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Cavion appears to indicate that this is a routing practice in the art since many of the clinical trials provided by Cavion contains either rising-dosing or dose titration studies.
Moreover, Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626