DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-19 and 21-22 have been cancelled.
Title Objection
2. Title is objected because it recites “DATA TRANSMISSION METHOD AND
APPARATUS, AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE AND STORAGE MEDIUM” . The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/21/2023. Claims 1-17, 20, and 23-24 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xin et al. (CN 111 510 412 A (ZTE CORP.) 7 August 2020 (2020-08-07)) provided by the applicant (Machine Translation is being used).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Note: Please consider the CN-111510412 Machine Translation in combination with the CN-11510412 for corresponding drawing-drawing is not machine translated.
For claim 1 Xin teaches a data transmission method, comprising: inserting a sequence 1 in front of each first data sequence among L to-be-transmitted first data sequences and inserting a sequence 2 behind each first data sequence to form L second data sequences, wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 2, the sequence 1 comprises M sequences 3, the sequence 2 comprises N sequences 3, each of M and N is an integer greater than 0 (see Fig. 3, claim 1, claim 15, paragraph 10 “the sequence S1 and the sequence S2 are respectively inserted before and after each first data sequence in the L first data sequences to be transmitted, and the sequence NS3 is inserted after the sequence S2 to form L second data sequences; where The sequence NS3 is composed of N sequences S3, L and N are integers, L⟩=2, N⟩=0” ), and a sequence 3 satisfies that KT3 = Tcp wherein T3 denotes a time length of a time domain of the sequence 3, K is an integer greater than 0 and less than or equal to N, and Tc denotes a time length of a cyclic prefix (the Tcp determination does not carry any patentability weight because the cyclic prefix (CP) is not implemented in the claim); and
transmitting the L second data sequences (see claim 1 “the L second data sequences are sequentially transmitted”).
Note: Examine interprets the above method is to determine a length of CP for intended use-since it is not implemented in the claim language. In addition, it interpreted the Tcp is directly proportional to multiple of T3 . With this understanding, examiner believes Huang et al (US 2018/0176057) teaches a similar Tcp determination (see Huang: paragraph 81 “In specific implementation, a quantity of data streams (K) to be sent by the sending device determines a CP length (Tcp). Therefore, the sending device may determine the CP length (Tcp) according to the specific quantity of data streams (K)that are to be transmitted to at least one receiving device. In addition, the CP length is directly proportional to the quantity of to-be-sent data streams”- (Tcp=K(data stream)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art believes that any design parameter α in a corresponding Tcp=K(α) can be used to adjust the Tcp directly proportional to the design parameter α parameter.
For example Memisoglu et al. (2024/0073073 A1) teaches CP lengths are directly proportional to the symbol length that is Tcp=K(Ts) where Ts is symbol length and if K=1, then Tcp= Ts (see Memisoglu: paragraph 34 “The signal mentioned in Step 101 is obtained by collecting OFDM symbols of different numerologies passing through the channel in the method (100). The symbol length of OFDM is also different due to different numerology. The addition of CP is placed in front of the last part of the OFDM symbol, and the CP alignment of different numerologies is different. For example, numerologies with a sub-carrier frequency range such as 15, 30, 60 kHz can be used at the same time in 5G systems. The symbol length is equal to the inverse of the sub-carrier frequency range and the CP lengths are directly proportional to the symbol length”)
For claim 2 Xin teaches the method, wherein transmitting the L second data sequences comprises:
performing a Fourier transform and an inverse Fourier transform on the L second data sequences separately to form L third data sequences (see claim 7 “before the sequentially transmitting the L second data sequences, the method further includes: sequentially performing fast Fourier transform FFT processing, subcarrier mapping, and inverse fast Fourier transform IFFT processing on each of the second data sequences”);
adding a cyclic prefix (CP) to each of the L third data sequences to form L fourth data sequences (see paragraph 42 “when the receiver performs DFT processing, the last segment of the data sequence of the preceding DFT-s-OFDM symbol or data segment can be used as the cyclic prefix (CP) of the following DFT-s-OFDM symbol or data segment” and paragraph 52 “each sequence S1 is preceded by a sequence NS3, which can serve as a cyclic prefix (e.g., S1=CP=NS3) to mitigate the effects of multipath delay channels”); and
transmitting the L fourth data sequences (see claim 1 “the L second data sequences are sequentially transmitted”).
For claim 3 Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein adding the cyclic prefix to each of the L third data sequences comprises:
for each third data sequence adding a rear portion having a length of KT3 in the each third data sequence to a front of the each third data sequence (see Figs 1-3 “ multiple of S3 sequences (each S3 has a T3 length) inserted in S2 sequence”).
For claim 6 Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein a length of a third data sequence among the L third data sequences is a window length for Fourier transform processing, and a length of a fourth data sequence among the L fourth data sequences is a length of a data block (see paragraph 56 “The length of the second data sequence is the length of a data block” the window length for Fourier transform processing is variable that varies based on design requirement) or a length of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol.
For claim 7 Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein a start position of a second data sequence among the L second data sequences is a start position of Fourier transform processing and an end position of a second data sequence among the L second data sequences is an end position of Fourier transform processing (see paragraph 62 “the start and end positions of the second data sequence are the start and end positions of the FFT processing, and the start and end positions of the FFT processing are sequence S1 and sequence NS3, respectively”-design option not inventive feature).
For claim 8 Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein a time domain length of a second data sequence among the L second data sequences is equal to a time domain length of a third data sequence among the L third data sequences, and the time domain length of the second data sequence is a reciprocal of a subcarrier spacing (SP) (see Figs. 2-6 “this feature can be derived from Figs 2-6 in addition the SP is not implemented”-design configuration).
For claim 9 Xin teaches the method, wherein values of M in the L second data sequences are the same, and values of N in the L second data sequences are different (see Fig. 6 “there are 2 S1s in Data1 and Data2 and there are 2 S3s in Data1 and no S3 in Data2).
For claim 10 Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein in a case where values of N in the L second data sequences are different, the L first data sequences have different lengths, the L second data sequences have a same length, the L third data sequences have a same length, and the L fourth data sequences have a same length (as discussed in claim 8).
For claim 11 Xin teaches the method, wherein the L second data sequences are transmitted in a same slot (see paragraph 59 “sequentially transmitting (same slot) the second data sequence”).
For claim 12 Xin teaches the method, wherein transmitting the L second data sequences comprises:
transmitting the L second data sequences in L adjacent data blocks sequentially (see paragraph 59 “sequentially transmitting (same slot) the second data sequence”)..
For claim 13 Xin teaches the method, wherein transmitting the L second data sequences comprises:
transmitting the L second data sequences in L data blocks in adjacent slots (see paragraph 59 “sequentially transmitting (same slot) the second data sequence”).
For claim 14 Xin teaches the method, wherein transmitting the L second data sequences comprises at least one of:
transmitting the L second data sequences in a same slot, wherein sequences 3 in the L second data sequences are the same (see paragraph 59 “sequentially transmitting (same slot) the second data sequence” and Fig. 5 “S3 are the same); or
For claim 15 Xin teaches the method, wherein each of the sequence 1 and the sequence 2 is a reference sequence (see paragraph 112 “the sequences S1, S2 and S3 are reference sequences”), wherein the reference sequence comprises at least one of or a sequence already known by a receiving end (see paragraph 44 “the sequences S1, S2 and S3 are reference sequences, that is, sequences known to the receiving end. For example, the sequences S1, S2 and S3 may include, but are not limited to, π/2BPSK (Binary Phase Shift Keying) modulated data sequences, ZC
(Zadoff-chu) sequences, Golay sequences, etc.”).
For claim 16 Xin teaches the method, wherein the first data sequence comprises data modulated (see claim 3 “modulated data sequence”) by a constellation point and P pieces of reference sequence data , wherein P is greater than or equal to 0 (see claim 3 “BPSK (modulation by constellation point) modulated data sequence”-wherein P is greater than or equal to 0 is design choice).
For claim 17 Xin teaches the method, further comprising:
transmitting control information, wherein indication information indicating a value of N is carried in the control information (see claim 12 “the control information carries indication information for indicating the value of N, and the control information is transmitted” and claim 14 “he control information is transmitted through the downlink or uplink control channel, or the control information is transmitted through the downlink or uplink radio resource control RRC signaling”);
wherein transmitting the control information comprises:
transmitting the control information through a downlink control channel or an uplink control channel or transmitting the control information through downlink radio resource control (RRC) signaling or uplink radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see claim 14 “he control information is transmitted through the downlink or uplink control channel, or the control information is transmitted through the downlink or uplink radio resource control RRC signaling”).
For claim 20 Xin teaches the method, wherein at least one of the sequence 1 or the sequence 2 is a data sequence modulated by π/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK) (see claim 3 “wherein the sequence S1, sequence S2, and sequence S3 comprise at least one of the following sequences: π/2 binary phase shift keying BPSK modulated data sequence”).
For claim 23 Xin teaches an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor (see claim 16 “a processor”); and
a memory configured to store at least one program; wherein when executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform steps (see claim 16 “a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and running on the processor, wherein the processor executes the program when the program is executed as any of claims 1-14 One of the data modulation methods”), wherein the steps comprises:
inserting a sequence 1 in front of each first data sequence among L to-be-transmitted first data sequences and inserting a sequence 2 behind each first data sequence to form L second data sequences, wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 2, the sequence 1 comprises M sequences 3, the sequence 2 comprises N sequences 3, each of M and N is an integer greater than 0, and a sequence 3 satisfies that KT3 = Tcp wherein T3 denotes a time length of a time domain of the sequence 3, K is an integer greater than 0 and less than or equal to N, and T, denotes a time length of a cyclic prefix (as discussed in claim 1); and
transmitting the L second data sequences (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 24 Xin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, steps are performed, wherein the steps comprises:
inserting a sequence 1 in front of each first data sequence among L to-be-transmitted first data sequences and inserting a sequence 2 behind each first data sequence to form L second data sequences, wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 2, the sequence 1 comprises M sequences 3, the sequence 2 comprises N sequences 3, each of M and N is an integer greater than 0, and a sequence 3 satisfies that KT3 = Tcp wherein T3 denotes a time length of a time domain of the sequence 3, K is an integer greater than 0 and less than or equal to N, and T, denotes a time length of a cyclic prefix (as discussed in claim 1); and
transmitting the L second data sequences (as discussed in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin in view of Ferdinand et al. (US 2021/0099330 A1).
For claim 4 Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein performing the Fourier transform and the inverse Fourier transform on the L second data sequences (see claim 7 “before the sequentially transmitting the L second data sequences, the method further includes: sequentially performing fast Fourier transform FFT processing, subcarrier mapping, and inverse fast Fourier transform IFFT processing on each of the second data sequences”) separately comprises:
Xin does not explicitly teach performing the Fourier transform on the L second data sequences, and then performing a frequency domain spectrum shaping (FDSS) operation on the L second data sequences after the Fourier transform in a frequency domain; and
performing the inverse Fourier transform on the L second data sequences subjected to the frequency domain spectrum shaping (FDSS) operation.
However, Ferdinand teaches performing a Frequency Domain Spectral Shaper (FDSS) 206 operation after Fourier Transform 204 and before Inverse Fourier Transform (see Ferdinand: Fig. 2A). in addition, Ferdinand teaches a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform
may be used in an effort to increase the power amplifier's efficiency over the OFDM waveform. Other techniques may be used in conjunction with such a waveform to further reduce the PAPR of the uplink channel. One such method is through the application of Frequency Domain Spectrum Shaping (FDSS), which changes the typical sine pulse produced by the DFT-s-OFDM waveform into one with a lower Peak to Average Power Ratio-PAPR (see Ferdinand: paragraph 47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Ferdinand in the data modulation method of Xin in order to reduce the PAPR of the uplink channel (see Ferdinand: paragraph 47).
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin in view of Madaiah et al. (US 2017/0019282 A1).
For claim 5 Xin does not explicitly teach the method according to claim 2, wherein a number of operation points of the inverse Fourier transform is greater than a number of operation points of the Fourier transform.
However, Madaiah teaches wherein, at the transmitter, the M-point (samples) DFT operation is implemented as an M-point (samples) Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), and wherein the N-point IDFT operation is implemented as an N-point Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), and wherein N>=M (see Madaiah: claim 14).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Madaiah in the data modulation method of Xin in order to produce more precise (more samples) data at the output of transmitter (see Ferdinand: paragraph 47).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Huang et al (US 2018/0176057), Memisoglu et al. (2024/0073073 A1), Wu et al. (US 2017/0311340 A1) (see Fig. 1 “A indicates a first sequence, B indicates a second sequence”) and Bui (US 2009/0296645 A1) (see paragraph 10 “It would be desirable not to multiplex the MBMS signal and unicast signal in the same OFSE. If it is not possible, it would be desirable to provide a method of enabling a cyclic prefix length to be determined in an OFDM communication system in which the cyclic prefix length can vary dynamically. It would also be desirable to provide a method of enabling a cyclic prefix length to be determined in an OFDM communication system that ameliorates or overcomes one or more disadvantages or inconveniences of know cyclic prefix length determination methods”).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415