DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0000436) in view of Smith et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0146644) and Partain (US Pub No. 2011/0182402).
With regards to claim 1, Shimada et al. disclose an imaging device for x-ray imaging a breast of a standing or a sitting patient, the imaging device comprising:
a vertically extending frame (30b) (paragraph [0042], referring to the elongated cylindrical portion (30b) which is moved by the up/down driving unit (116) up and down with respect to the support leg portion (40); Figures 4-6);
a rotatable body (38) having a rotation axis, which rotatable body (38) has a first end (i.e. top half) and a second end (i.e. bottom half), said rotatably body is operatively connected to the vertically extending frame (30b), the rotatable body comprising a radiation source (10) arranged at a proximity of the first end (i.e. top half) and an image detector (12) at a proximity of the second end (bottom half) thereof (paragraph [0039], referring to the ring-shaped rotating frame (38) for rotating the radiation generation unit (10) and the radiation detection unit (12) facing each other; paragraphs [0050]-[0051], referring to the breast imaging apparatus (100) being provided with the radiation generation unit (10) which generates radiation and the radiation detection unit (12) which detects the radiation generated by the radiation generation unit (10); Figures 1-5, 7);
a compression plate (14) optionally removably connected to the rotatable body (38) between the radiation source (10) and the image detector (12) and arranged movable alongside the rotatable body (paragraphs [0025], [0027], referring to the compression plate (14) being moved up and down, and thus is arranged movable alongside at least one surface region of the rotatable body (38); paragraph [0034], referring to the compression plate driving unit (114) which moves the compression plate (14) up and down; Figures 1-5, 7);
a control system (110) (paragraph [0035], referring to the control unit (110) which controls the radiation generation unit (10), the radiation detection unit (12), the rotation driving unit (112), the compression plate driving unit (114), and the up/down driving unit (116); Figure 5),
characterized in that the rotatable body (38) comprises a connection structure (i.e. either the front cover (26) or the inherent connection structure required for the alternative connection of the breast holding portion (34) to the fixed frame (30a) of the gantry (30)) between the first end (i.e. top half) and the second end (i.e. bottom half) thereof to removably receive a breast positioning structure (34), wherein the breast positioning structure (34) comprises a first component (34) in form of an elongated support element having a first end (i.e. end that connects to the front cover (26) or the fixed frame (30a)) and a second end (i.e. end opposite the first end) and extending in a first direction (i.e. a direction extending from the first end to the second end) and having at its first end a connecting means compatible with said connection structure at said rotatable body, said elongated support element comprising for at least part of its length a tubular breast positioning surface (i.e bowl-shaped surface which is tubular in shape as depicted in Figures 4 and 9) (paragraphs [0084]-[0090], referring to the breast holding portion (34) being a holding stand for holding the breast inserted from the opening (20) providing in the front cover, wherein the breast holding portion (34) is detachably attached to the front cover (26) and is connected along the periphery of the opening (20) of the front cover (26) and thus the first end of the breast holding portion(34) inherently has a connecting means compatible with the opening (20) of the connection structure (26); further, in particular see paragraph [0090], referring to, that as an alternative to having the breast holding portion (34) being connected along the periphery of the opening (20) of the front cover (26), the breast holding portion (34) may be connect to the fixed frame (30a) alternatively, wherein such a connection would inherently require the connection structure and connecting means compatible with said connection structure in order to provide the connection; Figures 2-4, 8-9); and
wherein the imaging device further comprises a second component in form of a protective cover (i.e. either flat edge around the periphery of the first end of the breast holding portion (34) or referring to the protective cover (34b); see below annotated Figure 9) comprising a primary surface extending on a plane in a second direction which is at right angles to the first direction (see below annotated Figure 9), and wherein the protective cover comprises an opening (i.e. 34c or the opening formed by the bowl-shaped surface of the protective cover (34b)) at least partly uniting to the breast positioning surface (paragraphs [0103]-[0108]; Figure 9), and
wherein the control system comprises different modes of operation for imaging, to be used in conventional 2D mammography and, on the other hand, in computed tomography (paragraphs [0163]-[0165], referring to the control unit (110) generating a mammogram image and the control unit generating a CT image).
Annotated Figure 9:
However, Shimada et al. do not specifically disclose that the rotatable body is specifically an “elongated rotatable arm”.
Further, Shimada et al. do not specifically disclose that the computed tomography mode comprises adjusting distance from the radiation source to the image detector to be in a range of 1-100 mm longer than in the 2D mammography mode.
Smith et al. disclose a multi-mode system and method for imaging a patient’s breast with x-rays in one or more of a CT mode, a narrow-angle tomosynthesis mode, a wide angle tomosynthesis mode, and a mammography mode, wherein the system includes a gantry (106) which rotates and carries at one end an x-ray source (108) and at the other end an imaging x-ray receptor (112; i.e. image detector) (Abstract; paragraphs [0020]-[0021]; Figures 1-2, 7). As depicted in Figures 1-4, the gantry (106) is in the form of an elongated rotatable arm (see Figures 1-4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotatable body of Shimada et al. to be an elongated rotatable arm, as taught by Smith et al., as Shimada et al. requires a rotatable body to rotate the radiation source and the image detector and Smith et al. teaches a known technique for rotating the radiation source and the image detector using a rotatable body in the form of an elongated rotatable arm. That is, using the known technique for rotating the radiation source and the image detector, as desired by Shimada et al., by using a rotatable body in the form of an elongated rotatable arm, as taught by Smith et al., would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the computed tomography mode comprises adjusting distance from the radiation source to the image detector to be in a range of 1-100 mm longer than in the 2D mammography mode.
Partain discloses a radiation system, wherein the distance between a radiation source and a detector may be adjusted in order to provide proper positioning and/or alignment of the source and the detector with respect to the small region of interest and provide for a proper magnification ratio (Abstract; paragraph [0022]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the computed tomography mode of the above combined references comprises adjusting distance from the radiation source to the image detector, as taught by Partain, in order to provide proper positioning and/or alignment of the source and the detector with respect to a small region of interest and provide for a proper magnification ratio (Abstract; paragraph [0022]).
Though the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the adjustment of the distance is specifically in a range of 1-100 mm longer than in a 2D mammography mode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine optimization/experimentation, to adopt such a distance in order to determine the optimal distance for providing a desired alignment or proper magnification ratio. See MPEP 2144.05, Section IIA.
With regards to claim 2, Shimada et al. disclose that the elongated support element (34) is for a part (i.e. bottom portion) of its length tubular and for another part (i.e. upper portion) tubular but open as for its upper part (see Figures 3-4, 9).
With regards to claim 3, Shimada et al. disclose that the breast positioning structure (34 and/or 26) is configured to be coaxially rotatable with the rotatable body (38) in a direction opposite to direction of rotation of the rotatable body (38) (paragraph [0028], referring to the rotating frame (38); paragraph [0088], referring to the breast holding portion (34) being detachably attached to the front cover (26), and therefore, in the detached situation, the breast positioning structure (34) is capable of rotating in any direction, including coaxially rotatable with the rotatable body (38) and in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotatably body; paragraph [0078], Figure 8A,B, wherein the front cover (26) is detachably attached to the gantry (30), and thus, similar to the detachable breast holding portion (34), is capable of rotating as claimed).
With regards to claim 4, Shimada et al. disclose that the image detector is arranged movable relative to the rotatable body (38) so as to locate at different distances from the radiation source (paragraph [0165], referring to implementing the CT imaging and mammographic imaging using one set of radiation generation unit and radiation detection unit, wherein during the CT imaging, a moving mechanism moves the radiation generation unit to the position 10a and moves the radiation detection unit to the position 12a as depicted in Figure 3, and during the mammographic imaging, the radiation generation unit is moved to the position 10b and the radiation detection unit is moved to the position 12b, wherein, as depicted in Figure 3, the radiation detection unit in position 12a is at a different distance from the radiation generation unit when the radiation detection unit is in position 12b; Figure 3).
With regards to claim 7, Shimada et al. disclose that the rotatable body (38) is configured to rotate over an angular range of more than 180 degrees (paragraph [0077], referring to the rotating frame (38) being rotated “at least 180 degrees”).
With regards to claim 9, Shimada et al. disclose that the protective cover has a width which is substantially greater than the width of a patient’s breast and a height adapted to extend to the proximity (i.e near) of the radiation source (paragraphs [0103], wherein the protective cover (34b) protects the breast and thus encloses the breast [see Figure 9], which inherently requires that the protective cover width is greater than the width of the breast; Figures 4 and 9, wherein, as depicted in Figure 4, the structure 34 which includes the protective cover (34b) is near/in the proximity of the radiation source (10a)).
With regards to claim 10, Shimada et al. disclose that the breast positioning structure has a protection part (i.e. top portion of protective cover 34b) which extends from a lower end of the plate like protection cover in the same direction (i.e. horizontal direction) of the elongated support element (see Figure 4 and 9).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. in view of Smith et al. and Partain as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stango et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0113169).
With regards to claim 8, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the elongated support element is made of carbon fiber.
Stango et al. disclose a curved compression element for a breast compression paddle, wherein the breast compression element (300) may be made from a material designed to cause minimal interference with the radiation beam passing through the breast compression element (300) (Abstract; paragraph [0045]; Figures 1 and 3). For example, the breast compression element (300) may be made from a carbon fiber material (paragraph [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the elongated support element of the above combined references be made of carbon fiber, as taught by Stango et al., in order to minimize interference with the radiation beam passing through the elongated support element (paragraph [0045]).
Claim(s) 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. in view of Smith et al..
With regards to claims 19 and 24, Shimada et al. disclose an imaging device for x-ray imaging a breast of a standing or a sitting patient, the imaging device comprising:
a vertically extending frame (30b) (paragraph [0042], referring to the elongated cylindrical portion (30b) which is moved by the up/down driving unit (116) up and down with respect to the support leg portion (40); Figures 4-6);
a rotatable body (38) having a rotation axis, which rotatable body (38) has a first end (i.e. top half) and a second end (i.e. bottom half), said rotatably body is operatively connected to the vertically extending frame (30b), the rotatable body comprising a radiation source (10) arranged at a proximity of the first end (i.e. top half) and an image detector (12) at a proximity of the second end (bottom half) thereof (paragraph [0039], referring to the ring-shaped rotating frame (38) for rotating the radiation generation unit (10) and the radiation detection unit (12) facing each other; paragraphs [0050]-[0051], referring to the breast imaging apparatus (100) being provided with the radiation generation unit (10) which generates radiation and the radiation detection unit (12) which detects the radiation generated by the radiation generation unit (10); Figures 1-5, 7);
a compression plate (14) (removably) connected to the rotatable body (38) between the radiation source (10) and the image detector (12) and arranged movable alongside the rotatable body (paragraphs [0025], [0027], referring to the compression plate (14) being moved up and down, and thus is arranged movable alongside at least one surface region of the rotatable body (38), wherein such a mechanical connection that allows the compression plate to be adjusted in an up and down manner also allows the compression plate to be capable of being removed to the rotatable body (38); paragraph [0034], referring to the compression plate driving unit (114) which moves the compression plate (14) up and down; Figures 1-5, 7);
a control system (110) (paragraph [0035], referring to the control unit (110) which controls the radiation generation unit (10), the radiation detection unit (12), the rotation driving unit (112), the compression plate driving unit (114), and the up/down driving unit (116); Figure 5),
characterized in that the rotatable body (38) comprises a connection structure (i.e. either the front cover (26) or the inherent connection structure required for the alternative connection of the breast holding portion (34) to the fixed frame (30a) of the gantry (30)) between the first end (i.e. top half) and the second end (i.e. bottom half) thereof, a breast positioning structure (34) engaging the connection structure, the breast positioning structure (34) comprises a first component (34) comprising a support element having a first end (i.e. end that connects to the front cover (26) or the fixed frame (30a)) and a second end (i.e. end opposite the first end) and extending in a first direction (i.e. a direction extending from the first end to the second end), a connecting means compatible with said connection structure at the first end, said breast positioning structure further including a breast receiving cup component (i.e bowl/cup-shaped surface as depicted in Figures 4 and 9) (paragraphs [0084]-[0090], referring to the breast holding portion (34) being a holding stand for holding the breast inserted from the opening (20) providing in the front cover, wherein the breast holding portion (34) is detachably attached to the front cover (26) and is connected along the periphery of the opening (20) of the front cover (26) and thus the first end of the breast holding portion(34) inherently has a connecting means compatible with the opening (20) of the connection structure (26); further, in particular see paragraph [0090], referring to, that as an alternative to having the breast holding portion (34) being connected along the periphery of the opening (20) of the front cover (26), the breast holding portion (34) may be connect to the fixed frame (30a) alternatively, wherein such a connection would inherently require the connection structure and connecting means compatible with said connection structure in order to provide the connection; Figures 2-4, 8-9); and
wherein the imaging device further comprises a second component in form of a protective cover (i.e. either flat edge around the periphery of the first end of the breast holding portion (34) or referring to the protective cover (34b); see below annotated Figure 9) comprising a primary surface extending on a plane in a second direction which is at right angles to the first direction (see below annotated Figure 9), and wherein the protective cover comprises an opening (i.e. 34c or the opening formed by the bowl-shaped surface of the protective cover (34b)) at least partly exposing the breast positioning surface and the breast receiving cup component (paragraphs [0103]-[0108]; Figure 9), and
characterized in that the control system comprises different modes of operation for imaging, to be used in conventional 2D mammography and, on the other hand, in computed tomography (paragraphs [0163]-[0165], referring to the control unit (110) generating a mammogram image and the control unit generating a CT image).
Annotated Figure 9:
However, Shimada et al. do not specifically disclose that the rotatable body is specifically an “elongated rotatable arm”.
Smith et al. disclose a multi-mode system and method for imaging a patient’s breast with x-rays in one or more of a CT mode, a narrow-angle tomosynthesis mode, a wide angle tomosynthesis mode, and a mammography mode, wherein the system includes a gantry (106) which rotates and carries at one end an x-ray source (108) and at the other end an imaging x-ray receptor (112; i.e. image detector) (Abstract; paragraphs [0020]-[0021]; Figures 1-2, 7). As depicted in Figures 1-4, the gantry (106) is in the form of an elongated rotatable arm (see Figures 1-4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotatable body of Shimada et al. to be an elongated rotatable arm, as taught by Smith et al., as Shimada et al. requires a rotatable body to rotate the radiation source and the image detector and Smith et al. teaches a known technique for rotating the radiation source and the image detector using a rotatable body in the form of an elongated rotatable arm. That is, using the known technique for rotating the radiation source and the image detector, as desired by Shimada et al., by using a rotatable body in the form of an elongated rotatable arm, as taught by Smith et al., would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regards to claim 20, Shimada et al. disclose that the breast positioning structure (34 and/or 26) is arranged above the image detector (12/12a,b) and connected to the connection structure in a manner to be coaxially rotatable with the rotatable body (38) in a direction opposite to direction of rotation of the elongated rotatable arm/body (38) (paragraph [0028], referring to the rotating frame (38); paragraph [0088], referring to the breast holding portion (34) being detachably attached to the front cover (26), and therefore, in the detached situation, the breast positioning structure (34) is capable of rotating in any direction, including coaxially rotatable with the rotatable body (38) and in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotatably body; paragraph [0078], Figures 3,4, 8A,B, 12, wherein the front cover (26) is detachably attached to the gantry (30), and thus, similar to the detachable breast holding portion (34), is capable of rotating as claimed; note in Figures 3, 4 and 12 that the breast positioning structure (34/26) is above the image detector (12/12a,b)).
With regards to claim 21, Shimada et al. disclose that the protective cover (34b) is adapted to extend from edges of the opening over the patient’s chest (i.e. 34c and/or the opening formed by the bowl-shaped surface of the protective cover (34b) (paragraphs [0103]-[0108]; Figure 9).
With regard to claim 22, Shimada et al. disclose that the protective cover includes a connecting means compatible with said connection structure (i.e. either the front cover (26) or the inherent connection structure required for the alternative connection of the breast holding portion (34) to the fixed frame (30a) of the gantry (30)) (paragraphs [0084]-[0090], referring to the breast holding portion (34) being a holding stand for holding the breast inserted from the opening (20) providing in the front cover, wherein the breast holding portion (34) is detachably attached to the front cover (26) and is connected along the periphery of the opening (20) of the front cover (26) and thus the first end of the breast holding portion(34) inherently has a connecting means compatible with the opening (20) of the connection structure (26); further, in particular see paragraph [0090], referring to, that as an alternative to having the breast holding portion (34) being connected along the periphery of the opening (20) of the front cover (26), the breast holding portion (34) may be connect to the fixed frame (30a) alternatively, wherein such a connection would inherently require the connection structure and connecting means compatible with said connection structure in order to provide the connection; Figures 2-4, 8-9).
With regards to claim 23, Shimada et al. discloses that a lower portion of the protective cover includes a protection part (i.e. top portion of protective cover 34b) which extends from a lower end of the plate like protection cover in the same direction (i.e. horizontal direction) of the elongated support element (see Figure 4 and 9).
With regards to claim 25, Shimada et al. disclose that the protective cover (34b) extends to a greater extent above the opening (i.e. 34c or the opening formed by the bowl-shaped surface of the protective cover (34b)) than below the opening (see Figure 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to Shimada, Applicant asserts that Shimada teaches away from the present invention as Shimada puts a CT apparatus and a mammography apparatus back to back with both apparatus keeping the same operative construction they have when being physically separate, whereas Applicant’s invention provides “mammography and CT functions using a single radiation source and detector”. Applicant further asserts that a skilled person learns nothing from Shimada which would have suggested or motivated utilizing the breast holding portion 34 from the CT side on the mammography side thereof.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the claims (i.e. claim 1, 19 and 24) do not require a “single” radiation source and detection. With regards to the different modes of operation, the claims set forth a control system comprising “different modes of operation for imaging, to be used in conventional 2D mammography and, on the other hand, in computed tomography”. The claims, however, do not set forth how the 2D mammography or computed tomography imaging are carried out, whether it be using a “single” radiation source and detector or more than one radiation source and/or detector and/or how the control system controls any of the elements, including the breast positioning structure, when operating in the mammography mode vs. in the computed tomography imaging mode. As such, Shimada does not appear to teach away from the present invention as claimed.
With regards to the combination of Shimada and Smith, Applicant argues that nothing in Smith suggests a suitable modification as the CT imaging side of Shimada already includes a rotating gantry (30) and a known technique is not motivation to change from the gantry to a rotating arm. As such, there is no reason for the skilled artisan to arrive at an elongated rotatable arm with a connection structure between the first end and the second end thereof to receive a breast positioning structure.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to MPEP 2143, I., which sets forth examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness. One of the examples is “(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”. As set forth in the above rejection, Shimada et al. requires a rotatable body to rotate the radiation source and the image detector and Smith et al. teaches a known technique for rotating the radiation source and the image detector using a rotatable body in the form of an elongated rotatable arm. That is, using the known technique for rotating the radiation source and the image detector, as desired by Shimada et al., by using a rotatable body in the form of an elongated rotatable arm, as taught by Smith et al., would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The “known technique” rationale is consistent with the rationale as set forth in MPEP 2143, I., and therefore there is motivation to change the gantry of Shimada to a rotating arm.
With regards to Partain, Applicant argues that the claimed invention establishes a relationship between computed tomography mode and 2D mammography mode, wherein Partain does not provide a teaching on both modes. As such, there is no motivation to even consider adjusting a computed tomography mode relative to a 2D mammography mode and if there is no motivation to consider such an adjustment, there is no motivation to conduct routine experimentation. Additionally, there is nothing in the prior art suggesting the claimed relationship is a result effective variable.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and first notes that the limitation that Partain is used to teach is specifically that “the computed tomography mode comprises adjusting distance from the radiation source to the image detector to be in a range of 1-100 mm longer than in the 2D mammography mode”. It is noted that the combined references of Shimada and Smith do teach the radiation source and further teaches both a computed tomography mode as well as a 2D mammography mode (See rejection of claim 1). Partain is solely relied upon to teach that the computed tomography mode comprises adjusting distance from the radiation source to the image detector. Examiner emphasizes that Partain does disclose a computed tomography mode (i.e. see paragraphs [0003] and [0018] of Partain which refers to the use of computed tomography imaging). Though Partain may not disclose the use of a 2D mammography mode, this is not necessary as Partain is solely relied upon to teach that the computed tomography mode comprises adjusting distance from the radiation source to the image detector. To meet the limitation of the adjusted distance to be specifically in the range of 1-100 mm longer than in the 2D mammography mode, the rejection sets forth “Though the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the adjustment of the distance is specifically in a range of 1-100 mm longer than in a 2D mammography mode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine optimization/experimentation, to adopt such a distance in order to determine the optimal distance for providing a desired alignment or proper magnification ratio. See MPEP 2144.05, Section IIA.”. Further, Partain does suggest that modifying the distance is a result effective variable as they set forth in the Abstract and in paragraph [0022] that the adjustment of the distance provides for a proper magnification ratio.
Further with regards to claim 9, Applicant argues that nothing in Shimada teaches or suggests the claimed size and/or shape of Applicant’s breast positioning structure or Applicant’s protective cover.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and emphasizes that Figure 9 of Shimada does depict the protective cover (34b) as enclosing the breast and therefore, in order to enclose the breast, the protective cover (34b) must have a width which is greater than the width of a patient’s breast.
The claims therefore remain rejected under the previously applied prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798