DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-7 are pending:
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2021-092755 filed on 06/02/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirozawa (US 2017/0361280).
Regarding claim 1, Hirozawa teaches a filter (separation membrane element, see ABS) comprising a filter element (Figs. 10-12, separation membrane elements 100A-C) having a filter member with a tubular shape disposed on an outer side of a porous tube (Figs. 10-12, water collection tube 6) (see ¶81), wherein the filter member has an embossed portion formed on a surface of the filter member (the separation membrane can include one which is embossed, see ¶36 and ¶107-¶112).
Regarding claim 2, Hirozawa teaches the filter according to claim 1, wherein the filter member is a sheet-like member, and is wound around the porous tube (see Figs. 8 and 10-12 wherein sheets around surrounding water collection tube 6).
Regarding claim 3, Hirozawa teaches the filter according to claim 2, wherein the filter element includes a wound laminated sheet of the filter member and a net-like substrate (the laminate including the porous supporting layer, see ¶71; a member such as a net, see ¶139).
Regarding claim 4, Hirozawa teaches the filter according to claim 2, wherein in the filter element, the filter member is continuously laminated (the separation membrane is continuously formed, see ¶70; the laminate including the porous supporting layer, see ¶71) in a radial direction (see Figs. 8 and 10-12 wherein the separation membrane has a circular or cylindrical membrane which defines a radius extends in a radial direction).
Regarding claim 5, Hirozawa teaches the filter according to claim 2,wherein, in the filter element, a plurality of the filter members having different ventilation resistances are laminated in the radial direction and wound (see ¶41).
Regarding claim 6, Hirozawa teaches the filter according to claim 2, wherein the filter member has pores (the porous sheet having pores, see ¶78).
Regarding claim 7, Hirozawa teaches the filter according to claim 1, wherein the filter member is disposed on the outer side of the porous tube (see Figs. 8 and 10-12 wherein sheets around surrounding water collection tube 6), the filter member being folded into a pleated shape (the separation functional layer has a pleated structure, see ¶43).
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barger (USPN 6,632,357).
Regarding claim 1, Barger teaches a filter (permeable membrane system, see ABS) comprising a filter element (Figs. 1-6, permeable membrane system 10) having a filter member with a tubular shape disposed on an outer side of a porous tube (Figs. 1-6, product tube 30; the product tube 30 receives a plurality of laminated compositions forming a porous structure), wherein the filter member has an embossed portion (Figs. 1-6, projections 24 on outside surfaces 20, 22 defined by a plurality of embossed islands) formed on a surface of the filter member.
Regarding claim 2, Barger teaches the filter according to claim 1, wherein the filter member is a sheet- like member (sheets 14, 16), and is wound around the porous tube (see Figs. 3 and 6 of wound configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Barger teaches the filter according to claim 2, wherein in the filter element, the filter member is continuously laminated in a radial direction (i.e. laminated compositions) (see Figs. 3 and 5 wherein the separation membrane has a circular or cylindrical membrane which defines a radius extends in a radial direction).
Conclusion
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773