DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method of manufacturing an electric fireplace, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 15, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on September 15, 2026. is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups share a technical feature. This is not found persuasive because, as established in the mailed restriction requirement, the shared technical feature does not constitute unity of invention because the shared technical feature does not make a contribution over existing prior art as set forth in the restriction requirement mailed on July 16, 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “approximately” in claims 5 and 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Neill (US 2007/01750A1):
Regarding Claim 1: O’Neill teaches an electric fireplace (“simulated fuel effect fires” [0002]) comprising:
a back panel (“screen” [0052] Figure 6 Element 80);
a log assembly (“simulated bark” [0052] Figure 6 Element 20e or “log” [Abstract] gathered on the fuel “bed” [0046] Figure 6 Element 10)) positioned in front of the back panel (Shown in Figure 5), the log assembly defining an assembly opening (“channel” [0052] Figure 6 Element 24) ; and
a flame generator (the flame generator comprises “light source” Figure 6 Element 40 [0049] & “flicker element 60” [0051] and “flame effect element 90a” [0051]) that directs light at the log assembly in both a first direction (toward “the underside of the fuel bed 10 [0049]) and a second direction (toward the “screen” [0047], see dashed arrows in annotated Fig 7 above) that is different from the first direction to generate a three-dimensional simulated flame;
wherein the flame generator includes a generator light (“light source” Figure 6 Element 40 [0049]) source that generates flame light, and
a reflective element (“flicker element” Figure 6 Element 60[0051] and “flame effect element 90a” [0051] with “reflective areas” [0049]) that alternatively directs the flame light from the generator light source (“light source” Figure 6 Element 40 [0051] “falling on the screen after having been modified by ) in both the first direction (“directing light from the light source onto the underside of the fuel bed 10 [0049]) and the second direction (toward the “screen”[0047] as “The illusion of flames 84 is provided by light from light source 40 falling on the screen 80 after having been modified by flicker element 60 and flame effect element 90a.” [0051]);
and wherein the light being directed in the first direction is directed through the assembly opening (“channel” [0052] Figure 6 Element 24) and through the log assembly,
and the light being directed in the second direction is directed at the back panel (toward the “screen” [0047], [0051]).
Regarding Claim 2: O’Neill further teaches that the log assembly includes at least one simulated log (“simulated bark” [0052] Figure 7 Element 20e, 20e’, 20e’’’).
Regarding Claim 3: O’Neill further teaches that the log assembly includes a plurality of simulated logs (“simulated bark” [0052] Figure 7 Element 20e, 20e’, 20e’’’).
Regarding Claim 4: O’Neill further teaches that the plurality of simulated logs (“simulated bark” [0052] Figure 7 Element 20e, 20e’, 20e’’’). are positioned relative to one another to define the assembly opening (“Channel” See Figure 6 and 7 Element 24).
Regarding Claim 9: O’Neill further teaches the reflective element (Figure 6 Element 60“flicker element” [0051]) is rotated (“flicker element comprises a number of strips of reflective material extending outwardly (e.g. radially) from a shaft. The shaft is rotated about its axis and the light from the light source is reflected by the strips of reflective material onto parts of the ember bed” [0040]) with an element mover (“shaft” [0040]) to alternatively direct the flame light from the generator light source (“light source” Figure 6 Element 40 [0051]) in both the first direction (toward the log assembly) and the second direction (toward the screen element 80).
Regarding Claim 10: O’Neill further teaches that the reflective element (Figure 6 Element 60) includes a substantially cylindrical tube-shaped base (See Figure 6 as annotated “Base” which is a “shaft” [0040]).
Regarding Claim 11: O’Neill further teaches that the reflective element (Figure 6 Element 60) includes a plurality of reflective surfaces (“flicker element comprises a number of strips of reflective material extending outwardly (e.g. radially) from a shaft. The shaft is rotated about its axis and the light from the light source is reflected by the strips of reflective material” [0040]).
Regarding Claim 12: O’Neill further teaches a grate (“fuel bed comprises an ember bed 10” [0038]]) that is configured to support the log assembly (“fuel bed comprises an ember bed 10” [0038] which supports one or more simulated fuel elements” [0038]), wherein the grate defines at least a portion of the assembly opening (“Channel” See Figure 6 and 7 Element 24).
Regarding Claim 13: O’Neill further teaches that the flame generator is incorporated into the grate (“this detail is omitted from Fig 6, but in the related embodiment of Fig 4, the flame generator 40, 60 and the grate 10 are incorporated together in an external casing.”).
Regarding Claim 14: O’Neill further teaches that the log assembly is fixedly secured to the grate (the log assembly may have a “fixing” [0057] …to retain the fuel element” [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neill (US 2007/01750A1):
Regarding Claim 5: O’Neill teaches the electric fireplace of Claim 4 (on which Claim 5 depends) with an assembly opening (“channel” [0052] Figure 6 Element 24) which directs light in a first direction (“directing light from the light source onto the underside of the fuel bed 10 [0049]).
O’Neil does not explicitly teach that the assembly opening is configured such that the first direction includes an angular range of between approximately 15 degrees and 45 degrees within which the light is directed through the assembly opening.
However, O’Neil does disclose a structure wherein the angular range is inherently limited in the respective directions in which the light is emitted toward the opening which may be varied depending on the aesthetic preference of the simulated light pattern. The instant specifications ascribe no significance nor criticality to the particular angular range within which the light is emitted toward the opening. This position is supported by paragraph [0099] of applicant’s specifications which states that “a first angular range of greater than approximately 45 degrees or less than approximately 15 degrees.” Furthermore, MPEP 2144.04 describes “various common practices which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients.” Among these are aesthetic design changes and changes in shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric fireplace of O’Neill such that the assembly opening is configured such that the first direction includes an angular range of between approximately 15 degrees and 45 degrees because matters relating to ornamentation (in this case, angle variation in order to achieve a particular “realistic” flame image or end design) only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art, see MPEP 2144.04 and because the shape and resulting angle of the directed light is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is signification.
Regarding Claim 6: O’Neill further teaches that the log assembly further defines at least a portion of a second assembly opening (See Figure 6 as annotated “Second Assembly Opening”); and wherein the light being directed in the second direction (Toward the screen Element 80) includes light being directed through the second assembly opening (Shown in Figure 6 and 7 as annotated where light is directed toward element 80).
Regarding Claim 7: O’Neill further teaches the limitations of Claim 6 on which Claim 7 depends wherein the invention has a second assembly opening (See Figure 6 as annotated “Second Assembly Opening”) which directs light in a second direction (toward element 80)
O’Neill does not explicitly teach that the second assembly opening is configured such that the second direction includes a second angular range of between approximately 25 degrees and 80 degrees within which the light is directed through the second assembly opening.
However, this modification is an obvious matter of design choice for the same reasons described above with reference to Claim 5. This position is supported by the applicant’s specification paragraph [0100] which states that “the simulated flame 318 can be projected through the second assembly opening 319B at a second angular range of greater than approximately 80 degrees or less than approximately 25 degrees [0100]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neill (US 2007/01750A1) in view of Li (US2017/0307223A1):
Regarding Claim 15: O’Neill does not teach the electric fireplace of claim 9 further comprising a controller including a processor that is configured to control operation of the flame generator; wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of a timing, a pulsing and a magnitude of the light being directed by the flame generator.
However, Li teaches an electric fireplace of claim 9 further comprising a controller (“light engine driver 40” Figure 8[0075]) including a processor (“microprocessor” [0075]) that is configured to control operation of the flame generator; wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of a timing, a pulsing and a magnitude of the light being directed by the flame generator (the light engine driver will “allow the generation of control signals, pulses and appropriate waveforms for driving the light sources” [0075]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of O’Neill such that it incorporates the controller as taught by Li in order to allow the user more control over the operation of the invention as well as “provide additional functionalities such as dimming, power-factor correction, or radio interference suppression.” [0075]
Conclusion
/SOLAN OLIVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761