DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-12, 19-21, 23, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 2022/0141676 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al (US 2022/0141676 A1) discloses a method for wireless communications (fig. 1, UE 110 that communicates with base station 120, UE-coordination with another UE through one or more local wireless network connections, section 0026-0032) at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1, UE 110 that communicates with base station 120, UE-coordination with another UE through one or more local wireless network connections, section 0026-0032), comprising: receiving (fig. 2, UE with the LTE transceiver 206 and 5N NR transceiver 208 coupled to the base station 252, section 0032-0040, the UE receives signal from the base station, section 0044), from a base station (fig. 1, base station 120 which transmits coordination signal to a set of UEs, section 0043-0044), a beamformed signal via a beam (see, beamforming or Massive-MIMO, section 0043-0044, noted: additionally, the UE receives beam-training signal from the base station, the UE identifies usable beams, section 0019-0022) within a distance threshold (see, threshold distance/location of each UE relative to base station, distance between UEs, section 0043-0044) for multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications from the base station (see, beamforming or Massive-MIMO, UE coordination based on spatial beams, section 0043-0044); and transmitting, to the base station (see, the coordinating UE transmits, coordinated beam information to the base station 120 of the beam IDs and assigned time slots for each UE in the UE-coordination set, section 0084-0085), a report indicating a beam adjustment parameter (section 0084-0085, 0094-0096, see, UECS , beam report information that includes beam quality information) based at least in part on a signal distribution of the beamformed signal at an antenna panel (fig. 2, UE includes an array of multiple antennas, section 0032-0035, noted: the act of transmitting and receiving by the UE and the UB are based on the received information relating to beam, the use of antenna element is implied) of the UE (see, beam report information that includes beam quality information for at least two UEs in the UECS, section 0094-0097).
Regarding claim 5, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a second beamformed signal via a second beam (see, beam-training procedure in which the base station transmits beam search notification to the coordinating UE, the UE evaluates reference signals in the received beams, section 0050-0052) within the near field of the MIMO communications (see, near-field communication in which each UE communicates with multiple base station, section 0026-0027), the second beam based at least in part on the beam adjustment parameter in the transmitted report (see, optimal directions, best beam, assigned of specific beams implicitly based on the beam reports/channel condition, section 0050-0052, 0058).
Regarding claim 6, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 5, wherein a beam width of the second beam (see, indication to direct the UE to use specific beams indicates by one or beam identifies, section 0024-0025, 0068-each beam that is associated with beamwidth) is based at least in part on a value of the beam adjustment parameter (section 0084-0085, 0094-0096, see, UECS , beam report information that includes beam quality information, the specific beams at specific time slots).
Regarding claim 7, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an indication that the UE is located within the distance threshold for MIMO communications from the base station (see, threshold distance/location of each UE relative to base station, distance between UEs, Massive-MIMO section 0043-0044), wherein receiving the beamformed signal is based at least in part on receiving the indication (section 0043-0044-the UE receives beam coordinated indication)
Regarding claim 8, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the report is transmitted in a radio resource control message (see, coordinating , RRC, MAC CE, section 0050, 0093-0097-discloses beam report that is sent by the UE to the base station), a medium access control control element (see, coordinating , RRC, MAC CE, section 0050), a physical layer message, a channel state information message (see, channel conditions of each receives reference singles in the received beams, section 0050), or any combination thereof (section 0032-0040, 0050).
Regarding claim 9, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the beamformed signal comprises a data signal (see, coordinating beam sweeping where the base station sends a message to the UE, the UE send uplink data, section 0073-0076), a reference signal, or both (section 0073-0076, 0093-0096).
Regarding claim 11, Wang ‘676 discloses a method for wireless communications (fig. 1, base station 120 which transmits coordination signal to a set of UEs, section 0043-0044, noted: the base station determines usable beams for communication with one or more of the UEs, section 0020) at a base station (see, the base station transmits beam coordination signal to the UE, section 0020, 0043-0044), comprising: transmitting (see, the base station transmits coordinated beam sweeping indication, section 0024-0025), to a user equipment (UE) (see, the base station transmits beam coordination signal to the UE, section 0043-0044), a beamformed signal via a beam (see, the base station transmits coordinating beam sweeping to the UEs, section 0024-0025) within a distance threshold (see, threshold distance/location of each UE relative to base station, distance between UEs, section 0043-0044) for multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications from the base station (see, beamforming or Massive-MIMO, UE coordination based on spatial beams, section 0043-0044); and receiving, from the UE (see, the coordinating UE transmits, coordinated beam information to the base station 120 of the beam IDs and assigned time slots for each UE in the UE-coordination set, section 0084-0085), a report indicating a beam adjustment parameter (section 0084-0085, 0094-0096, see, UECS , beam report information that includes beam quality information, noted: best beam based on beam measurement, section 0058-0065) based at least in part on a signal distribution of the beamformed signal (see, beam quality information based on set of downlink beam transmissions, section 0024-0025) at an antenna panel (fi fig. 2, UE includes an array of multiple antennas, section 0032-0035, noted: the act of transmitting and receiving by the UE and the UB are based on the received information relating to beam, the use of antenna element is implied)) of the UE (see, beam report information that includes beam quality information for at least two UEs in the UECS, section 0094-0097).
Regarding claim 12, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: generating a second beam (see, beam-training procedure in which the base station transmits beam search notification to the coordinating UE, the UE evaluates reference signals in the received beams, section 0050-0052) based at least in part on the beam adjustment parameter (see, beam ID in the assigned time slot relating to the best beam, section 0079-0080) in the received report (see, optimal directions, best beam, specific beams implicitly based on the beam reports/channel condition, section 0050-0052, 0058) ; and transmitting, to the UE (see, beam-training procedure in which the base station transmits beam search notification to the coordinating UE, the UE evaluates reference signals in the received beams, section 0050-0052), a second beamformed signal via the second beam (see, optimal directions, best beam, specific beams implicitly based on the beam reports/channel condition, section 0050-0052, 0058) within the near field of the MIMO communications (see, near-field communication in which each UE communicates with multiple base station, section 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 19, Wang ‘676 discloses method of claim 11, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE (see, beam-training procedure in which the base station transmits beam search notification to the coordinating UE, the UE evaluates reference signals in the received beams, section 0050-0052),, an indication that the UE is located within the distance threshold for MIMO communications from the base station (see, the base station transmits coordinating beamforming indication in relation to location of the each UE relative to the base station or distance threshold of the particular UE, section 0043-0044), wherein transmitting the beamformed signal is based at least in part on transmitting the indication (see, the base station and the UE communicates, section 0024, 0043-0044).
Regarding claim 20, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the report is received in a radio resource control message (see, coordinating , RRC, MAC CE, section 0050, 0093-0097-discloses beam report that is sent by the UE to the base station), a medium access control control element )see, coordinating , RRC, MAC CE, section 0050), a physical layer message, a channel state information message (see, channel conditions of each receives reference singles in the received beams, section 0050), or any combination thereof (section 0032-0040, 0050), or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 21, Wang ‘676 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the beamformed signal comprises a data signal (see, coordinating beam sweeping where the base station sends a message to the UE, the UE send uplink data, section 0073-0076), a reference signal, or both (section 0073-0076, 0093-0096).
Regarding claim 23, Wang et al (US 2022/0141676 A1) discloses an apparatus (fig. 2, UE 110 that includes multiple antennas, processors 214 coupled to memory//computer-readable storage media in the wireless system 100, section 0032-0042) for wireless communications (fig. 1, UE 110 that communicates with base station 120, UE-coordination with another UE through one or more local wireless network connections, section 0026-0032) at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 2, see, the UE includes a processor 214 and a memory 214 that comprises instructions executable by the processor, section 0021-0022, 0032-0042), comprising: a processor (fig. 2, see, the UE includes a processor 214 and a memory 214 that comprises instructions executable by the processor, section 0021-0022, 0032-0042), a memory (fig. 2, CMR which includes memory/storage device coupled to the processor 214, section 0032-0035) coupled with the processor (fig. 2, see, the UE includes a processor 214 and a memory 214 that comprises instructions executable by the processor, section 0021-0022, 0032-0042); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (fig. 2, see, the UE includes a processor 214 and a memory 214 that comprises instructions executable by the processor, section 0021-0022, 0032-0042) to cause the apparatus to: receive (fig. 2, UE the LTE transceiver 206 and 5N NR transceiver 208 coupled to the base station 252, section 0032-0040, the UE receiver signal from the base station, section 0044), from a base station (fig. 1, base station 120 which transmits coordination signal to a set of UEs, section 0043-0044), a beamformed signal via a beam (see, beamforming or Massive-MIMO, section 0043-0044) within a distance threshold (see, threshold distance/location of each UE relative to base station, distance between UEs, section 0043-0044) for multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications from the base station (see, beamforming or Massive-MIMO, UE coordination based on spatial beams, section 0043-0044); and transmit, to the base station (see, the coordinating UE transmits , coordinated beam information to the base station 120 of the beam IDs and assigned time slots for each UE in the UE-coordination set, section 0084-0085), a report indicating a beam adjustment parameter (section 0084-0085, 0094-0096, see, UECS , beam report information that includes beam quality information) based at least in part on a signal distribution of the beamformed signal at an antenna panel (fi fig. 2, UE includes an array of multiple antennas, section 0032-0035, noted: the act of transmitting and receiving by the UE and the UB are based on the received information relating to beam, the use of antenna element is implied) of the UE (see, beam report information that includes beam quality information for at least two UEs in the UECS, section 0094-0097).
Regarding claim 27, Wang ‘676 discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the base station (see, beam-training procedure in which the base station transmits beam search notification to the coordinating UE, the UE evaluates reference signals in the received beams, section 0050-0052), a second beamformed signal via a second beam (see, beam-training procedure in which the base station transmits beam search notification to the coordinating UE, the UE evaluates reference signals in the received beams, section 0050-0052, noted: second beam identity corresponding to second beam direction, section 0105) within the near field of the MIMO communications (see, near-field communication in which each UE communicates with multiple base station, section 0026-0027), the second beam based at least in part on the beam adjustment parameter in the transmitted report (see, optimal directions, best beam, specific beams implicitly based on the beam reports/channel condition, section 0050-0052, 0058).
Regarding claim 28, Wang ‘676 discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein a beam width of the second beam (see, indication to direct the UE to use specific beams indicates by one or beam identifies, section 0024-0025) is based at least in part on a value of the beam adjustment parameter (section 0084-0085, 0094-0096, see, UECS , beam report information that includes beam quality information, the specific beams at specific time slots).
Regarding claim 29, Wang ‘676 discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the base station (see, the base station transmits coordinating beamforming indication in relation to location of the each UE relative to the base station or distance threshold of the particular UE, section 0043-0044), an indication that the UE is located within the distance threshold for MIMO communications from the base station (see, beamforming or Massive-MIMO in relation to threshold distance, section 0043-0044), wherein receiving the beamformed signal is based at least in part on receiving the indication (see, the base station and the UE communicates, section 0024, 0043-0044).
Regarding claim 30, Wang ‘676 discloses an apparatus (fig. 2, base station 120 coupled to the UE 110, the base station includes LTE transceiver 256 and 5G NR transceiver 258 configured for supporting beamforming such as Massive-MIMO, processors 260 coupled to memory/storage media 262, section 0032-0040) for wireless communications at a base station (fig. 1, base station 120 which transmits coordination signal to a set of UEs, section 0043-0044, noted: the base station determines usable beams for communication with one or more of the UEs, section 0020, comprising: a processor (fig. 2, the base station includes processor 260 coupled to memory/storage device 262, section 0032-0040); memory coupled with the processor (fig. 2, the base station includes processor 260 coupled to memory/storage device 262, section 0032-0040); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (fig. 2, processors 260 coupled to computer-readable storage media, the processor executes instructions, section 0038-0040) to cause the apparatus to: transmit, (see, the base station transmits coordinated beam sweeping indication, section 0024-0025), to a user equipment (UE) (see, the base station transmits beam coordination signal to the UE, section 0043-0044), a beamformed signal via a beam (see, the base station transmits coordinating beam sweeping to the UEs, section 0024-0025) within a distance threshold (see, threshold distance/location of each UE relative to base station, distance between UEs, section 0043-0044) for multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications from the base station (see, beamforming or Massive-MIMO, UE coordination based on spatial beams, section 0043-0044); and receiving, from the UE (see, the coordinating UE transmits, coordinated beam information to the base station 120 of the beam IDs and assigned time slots for each UE in the UE-coordination set, section 0084-0085), a report indicating a beam adjustment parameter (section 0084-0085, 0094-0096, see, UECS , beam report information that includes beam quality information, noted: best beam based on beam measurement, section 0058-0065) based at least in part on a signal distribution of the beamformed signal (see, beam quality information based on set of downlink beam transmissions, section 0024-0025) at an antenna panel (fig. 2, UE includes an array of multiple antennas, section 0032-0035, noted: the act of transmitting and receiving by the UE and the UB are based on the received information relating to beam, the use of antenna element is implied) of the UE (see, beam report information that includes beam quality information for at least two UEs in the UECS, section 0094-0097).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13-16, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2022/0141676 A1) in view of Stirling-Gallacher et al (US 2018/0254922 A1, IDS).
Wang ‘676 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating a set of channel response values, each channel response value associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel, wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on the set of channel response values.
Regarding claim 13, the method of claim 12, wherein a beam weight, a target distance, a beam width, or any combination thereof, of the generated second beam are based at least in part on a value of the beam adjustment parameter.
Regarding claim 14, the method of claim 12, wherein: the beam is generated at a first antenna panel at the base station; and the second beam is generated at a second antenna panel at the base station different from the first antenna panel.
Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 12, wherein: the beam is generated using a first beamforming weight vector; and the second beam is generated using a second beamforming weight vector different from the first beamforming weight vector.
Regarding claim 16, the method of claim 11, wherein the beam adjustment parameter comprises a set of channel response values.
Regarding claim 24, the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: calculate a set of channel response values, each channel response value associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel, wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on the set of channel response values.
Regarding claim 26, the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a signal strength variance based at least in part on a set of received signal strength values, each received signal strength value associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel, wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on the signal strength variance.
However, Stirling ‘676 from a similar field of endeavor (see, the UE selects the best beam based on channel measurements (i.e., highest SNR, SINR , strongest received signal strength), section 0137) discloses: claim 2, the method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating a set of channel response values (see, channel responses, channel quality indicators, CSI, receives signal strength indicators, section 0136-0137), each channel response value (section 0094, 0136-0137) associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel (noted: the measurements on the receives signals are implicitly related to multiple antennas, section 0066, 0158, 0161-0161, moreover, the UE receives signal communication from multiple TRP and then generates feedback accordingly, section 0083-0084), wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on the set of channel response values (see, modified resource relating to channel feedback associated with selected TRP communication beams, the transmit-beam combination that is best available, section 0144, 0137).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and system for generating feedback for transmit beam-receive combinations between a UE and a transmit-receive point (TRP) as taught by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to provide determination of the best uplink beam combination (section 0018).
Regarding claim 13, Wang ‘676 as modified by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 discloses the method of claim 12, wherein a beam weight (Stirling, section 0047-0048, see, beamforming weights in relation to phase shifts for antenna elements), a target distance, a beam width, or any combination thereof, of the generated second beam are based at least in part on a value of the beam adjustment parameter (Wang, see, optimal directions, best beam, specific beams implicitly based on the beam reports/channel condition, section 0050-0052, 0058).
Regarding claim 14, Wang ‘676 as modified by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 discloses the method of claim 12, wherein: the beam is generated at a first antenna panel at the base station (Stirling-Gallacher, noted: TRP informs the UE of indices of TRP beams for which the UE is to determine feedback, section 0074-0078); and the second beam is generated at a second antenna panel at the base station different from the first antenna panel (section 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 15, Wang ‘676 as modified by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 discloses the method of claim 12, wherein: the beam is generated using a first beamforming weight vector (Stirling, section 0047-0048, see, beamforming weights in relation to phase shifts for antenna elements), and the second beam is generated using a second beamforming weight vector different from the first beamforming weight vector (Stirling, section 0047-0048, see, beamforming weights in relation to phase shifts for antenna elements),.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and system for generating feedback for transmit beam-receive combinations between a UE and a transmit-receive point (TRP) as taught by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to provide determination of the best uplink beam combination (section 0018).
Regarding claim 16, Stirling-Gallacher discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the beam adjustment parameter comprises a set of channel response values (section 0144, 0136-0137, the best beam and the modified resource are based on channel responses (e.g., CQI, SNR and SINR)).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and system for generating feedback for transmit beam-receive combinations between a UE and a transmit-receive point (TRP) as taught by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to provide determination of the best uplink beam combination (section 0018).
Regarding claim 24, Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: calculate a set of channel response values (see, channel responses, channel quality indicators, CSI, receives signal strength indicators, section 0136-0137), each channel response value (section 0094, 0136-0137) associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel (noted: the measurements on the receives signals are implicitly related to multiple antennas, section 0066, 0158, 0161-0161, moreover, the UE receives signal communication from multiple TRP and then generates feedback accordingly, section 0083-0084), wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on the set of channel response values (section 0144, 0136-0137, the best beam and the modified resource are based on channel responses (e.g., CQI, SNR and SINR)).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and system for generating feedback for transmit beam-receive combinations between a UE and a transmit-receive point (TRP) as taught by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to provide determination of the best uplink beam combination (section 0018).
Regarding claim 26, Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a signal strength variance (noted: highest channel quality, best SNR SINR, RSSI, section 0055-0056, 0099, 0136-0137) based at least in part on a set of received signal strength values (see, channel responses, channel quality indicators, CSI, receives signal strength indicators, section 0136-0137),, each received signal strength value associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel (noted: the measurements on the receives signals are implicitly related to multiple antennas, section 0066, 0158, 0161-0161, moreover, the UE receives signal communication from multiple TRP and then generates feedback accordingly, section 0083-0084), wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on the signal strength variance (section 0144, 0136-0137, the best beam and the modified resource are based on channel responses (e.g., CQI, SNR and SINR)).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and system for generating feedback for transmit beam-receive combinations between a UE and a transmit-receive point (TRP) as taught by Stirling-Gallacher ‘922 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to provide determination of the best uplink beam combination (section 0018).
Claims 3, 17, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2022/0141676 A1) in view of LIM et al (US 2020/0212988 A1, IDS).
Wang ‘676 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a beam width of the beam based at least in part on a set of received signal strength values, each received signal strength value associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel, wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on a ratio associated with the determined beam width and a target beam width.
Regarding claim 17, the method of claim 11, wherein the beam adjustment parameter comprises a beam width ratio value.
Regarding claim 25, the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a beam width of the beam based at least in part on a set of received signal strength values, each received signal strength value associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel, wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on a ratio associated with the determined beam width and a target beam width.
However, LIM ‘988 from a similar field of endeavor (see, determination of beam directions, beam width, identifying of suitable beam for communication based on SNR, section 0076, 0101-0102, 0112-0114, 0158) discloses: Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a beam width (see, determination of a beamwidth, section 0158-0161) of the beam based at least in part on a set of received signal strength values (see, metrics of measurement signals, see, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, BLER in relation to beams, section 0012-00116), each received signal strength value (see, metrics of measurement signals, see, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, BLER in relation to beams, section 0012-00116 associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel (see, beamwidth based on the number of antenna array, section 0158-0161), wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on a ratio associated with the determined beam width (see, determined beamwidth based on designated angle where the angle satisfies a ratio metric, section 0158-0161) and a target beam width (see, optimal beam (i.e., beam that provides highest communication quality) that is related to the determined beamwidth, section 0158-0161).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the beamwidth determination wireless apparatus and device in which an optimal beam is determined based on channel quality metrics as taught by LIM ‘988 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to provide beam direction based on feedback information (section 0014).
Regarding claim 17, the method of claim 11, wherein the beam adjustment parameter comprises a beam width ratio value (see, determined beamwidth based on designated angle where the angle satisfies a ratio metric, section 0158-0161) .
Regarding claim 25, the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a beam width (see, determination of a beamwidth, section 0158-0161) of the beam based at least in part on a set of received signal strength values (see, metrics of measurement signals, see, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, BLER in relation to beams, section 0012-00116), each received signal strength value (see, metrics of measurement signals, see, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, BLER in relation to beams, section 0012-00116 associated with a respective element of a set of elements at the antenna panel (see, beamwidth based on the number of antenna array, section 0158-0161), wherein the beam adjustment parameter is based at least in part on a ratio associated with the determined beam width (see, determined beamwidth based on designated angle where the angle satisfies a ratio metric, section 0158-0161) and a target beam width (see, optimal beam (i.e., beam that provides highest communication quality) that is related to the determined beamwidth, section 0158-0161).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the beamwidth determination wireless apparatus and device in which an optimal beam is determined based on channel quality metrics as taught by LIM ‘988 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to provide beam direction based on feedback information (section 0014).
Claims 10, 22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2022/0141676 A1) in view of FELLHAUER et al (US 2020/0007219 A1).
Wang ‘676 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein the distance threshold is based at least in part on a size of an antenna panel at the base station, a wavelength associated with the beam, or both.
Regarding claim 22, the method of claim 11, wherein the distance threshold is based at least in part on a size of an antenna panel at the base station, a wavelength associated with the beam, or both.
However, FELLHAUER et al (US 2020/0007219 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein the distance threshold (see, generates beams with adjustable beam width, switching in relation to antenna elements above threshold, antenna spacing, distance between antenna elements, section 0077-0079) is based at least in part on a size of an antenna panel at the base station (see, beam width with antenna size, section 0013-0014), a wavelength associated with the beam (see, wavelength in relation to antenna elements, section 0066-0071), or both.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method of generating beams with adjustable beam width as taught by FELLHAUER ‘219 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to reduce signal overhead and finding the best beam to use (section 0059).
Regarding claim 22, the method of claim 11, wherein the distance threshold (see, generates beams with adjustable beam width, switching in relation to antenna elements above threshold, antenna spacing, distance between antenna elements, section 0077-0079) is based at least in part on a size of an antenna panel at the base station (see, beam width with antenna size, section 0013-0014), a wavelength associated with the beam (see, wavelength in relation to antenna elements, section 0066-0071), or both.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method of generating beams with adjustable beam width as taught by FELLHAUER ‘219 into the beamforming coordination and beam sweeping of Wang ‘676. The motivation would have been to reduce signal overhead and finding the best beam to use (section 0059).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Truong et al (US 2016/0294453 A1) discloses adaptive massive MIMO, MIMO adaptation using beamformers (section 0023, 0048) and average signal strength relative to transmission distances between the base station and UE (section 0023, 0034-0041), selection of active antennas (section 0022, 0025, 0028).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473