Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO2018013057 A1) in view of Albrecht (US2020/0139468 A1) and with supporting evidence from Temperature Gradient Calculator Online.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a system for additive manufacturing [abstract], comprising: an additive manufacturing tooling head (6)
a tooling controller (74) configured direct the tooling head through a sequence of additive manufacturing process actions [0025];
and at least one thermal medium (powder bed (10) and heater (70 that warms powder bed and inert gas [0006])) contained within the chamber (1) and surrounding at least a portion of the workpiece (36/38),
As for the limitation, wherein the at least one thermal medium is different from the heated working material, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon (e.g., thermal medium, heated working material), as per MPEP §2115 nonetheless the workpiece (article 36/38) is different from the thermal medium (powder bed 10, inert gas).
and at least one sensor (72) configured to detect a temperature of the workpiece and a temperature of a portion of the heated material to be deposited [0025-0026];
wherein the tooling controller is further configured to: determine a thermal gradient between the workpiece and the portion of the heated material based on the temperature of the workpiece and the temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited [0029]; and control the temperature of the at least one thermal medium contained within the chamber over time based at least in part on a predetermined thermal gradient range such that a temperature of the workpiece and a temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited are within the predetermined thermal gradient range [0030-0035].
Liu does not explicitly disclose depositing a heated workpiece. However, analogous art, Albrecht discloses a tooling head (18) configured to deposit a heated working material ( to form a workpiece (molten reads on heated material [0022, 0006]). Albrecht also teaches wherein the tooling controller is further configured to: determine a thermal gradient between the workpiece and the portion of the heated material based on the temperature of the workpiece and the temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited [0032]; and control the temperature of the at least one thermal medium contained within the chamber over time based at least in part on a predetermined thermal gradient range such that a temperature of the workpiece and a temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited are within the predetermined thermal gradient range [0034, 0050; claim 6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a tooling head configured to deposit a heated working material as taught by Albrecht into the system taught by Liu for the benefit of reducing thermal gradients and defects in the printed object.
As for the limitation, wherein the determination is calculated by finding a difference between a temperature at a top surface of the workpiece and the temperature of the portion of the heated working material to be deposited, then dividing the difference by a distance between the top surface of the workpiece and the heated working material to be deposited, Applicant is simply defining thermal gradient. According to temperature gradient calculator online, the formula for temperature gradient is simply the difference between the temperature material divided over the length (see NPL) which is the same as Applicant’s formula. Further Liu, discloses using temperature gradients in order to ensure a reduced thermal gradient is induced on the powder bed and thus more reliable manufacture are articles [0014].
Regarding claim 2, Albrecht disclose comprising a temperature and flow regulator for the at least one thermal medium (controller controls temperature and ratio of the droplets and anchor materials [00022,] and deposition rates [0024]), wherein the tooling controller is configured to control an amount of the at least one thermal medium and adjust the temperature of the at least one thermal medium contained within the chamber at a location proximate to the tooling head [0026 -0028].
Liu teaches wherein if the thermal gradient is higher than the predetermined thermal gradient range, the tooling controller cools the thermal medium via the temperature and flow regulator until the temperature of the workpiece is within the predetermined thermal gradient range, and wherein if the thermal gradient is lower than the predetermined thermal gradient range, the tooling controller heats the thermal medium via the temperature and flow regulator until the temperature of the workpiece is within the predetermined thermal gradient range [0025-0026].
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the at least one thermal medium is a first thermal medium and a second thermal medium (Powder bed 10 and inert gas leaving heater 70 [0026]); while Albrecht teaches the system further comprises a first temperature and flow regulator for the first thermal medium and a second temperature and flow regulator for the second thermal medium [0020, (controller controls the temperature and ratio of the droplets and anchor material[0022]); the tooling controller is configured to control an amount of and the temperature of the first thermal medium contained within the chamber using the first temperature regulator [0025]; and the tooling controller is configured to control an amount of and the temperature of the second thermal medium contained within the chamber using the second temperature regulator [0026-0031]. Further Liu teaches controlling the temperature of the powder bed through the inert gas source and heater 0025].
Regarding claim 4, Albrecht teaches wherein the first thermal medium has a density, viscosity, and thermal characteristic different than the second thermal medium ([0023] discloses the material of the anchor material may be different).
Regarding claim 5, Albrecht teaches wherein the tooling controller is further configured to cool or heat the entire workpiece at a controlled rate after the sequence of additive manufacturing process actions to form the work piece [0032].
Regarding claim 6, Albrecht teaches the tooling controller is further configured to regulate a first portion of the at least one thermal medium to a first temperature and to regulate a second portion of the at least one thermal medium to a second temperature [0032-0034].
Albrecht does not explicitly disclose the first temperature is higher than the second temperature however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first temperature higher than the second temperature given the limited number of relationships between the two thermal mediums: the first medium can have a higher temperature, a lower temperature or the same temperature as the second medium. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the first temperature is higher than the second temperature since MPEP 2143 sates obvious to try is a prima facie evidence of obviousness.
As for the limitation, the second portion of the at least one thermal medium is below the first portion of the at least one thermal medium, Liu discloses the gas supply (48) travels above/ through the powder bed 10, so therefore one medium would be below another medium. Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to experiment with various configurations given the limited number of options for the configuration of the two medium: above, or below. MPEP 2144.04 states obvious to try is a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Figure 3 depicts first portion of the at least one thermal medium (powder bed 10) surrounds a location of the workpiece (36/38) while Albrecht depicts proximate to the tooling head (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Albrecht teaches wherein the build surface is adjustable in position within the chamber, and the tooling controller is configured to control a position of the build surface during the sequence of additive manufacturing process actions [0050, claim 5,] and Liu discloses the controller moving the position of the build surface [0015].
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses wherein the build surface is vertically adjustable in position within the chamber, and the tooling controller is configured to control a vertical position of the build surface during the sequence of additive manufacturing process actions [0015].
Regarding claim 10, Albrecht and Liu discloses wherein the tooling controller is further configured to adjust the temperature of the at least one thermal medium such that a temperature of the workpiece and a temperature of the portion of the heated working material to be deposited are within the predetermined thermal gradient range [Albrecht 0033 -0035, Liu 0023-0025].
Regarding claim 25, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon as per MPEP §2115. Nonetheless Liu discloses thermal medium is inert gas [0004].
Regarding claim 27, as for the boundary material, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon as per MPEP §2115.
Regarding claim 28, Liu discloses a system for additive manufacturing [abstract], comprising: an additive manufacturing tooling head (6)
a tooling controller (74) configured direct the tooling head through a sequence of additive manufacturing process actions [0025];
a chamber (4) comprising a build surface (12) to support the workpiece during the sequence of additive manufacturing process actions [0015]
and at least one thermal medium (powder bed (10) and heater (70 that warms powder bed and inert gas [0006])) contained within the chamber (1) and surrounding at least a portion of the workpiece (36/38), wherein the thermal medium is selected from a liquid, gas, or solid [0019]
As for the limitation, wherein the at least one thermal medium is different from the heated working material, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon (e.g., thermal medium, heated working material), as per MPEP §2115 nonetheless the workpiece (article 36/38) is different from the thermal medium (powder bed 10, inert gas).
and at least one sensor (72) configured to detect a temperature of the workpiece and a temperature of a portion of the heated material to be deposited [0025-0026];
wherein the tooling controller is further configured to: determine a thermal gradient between the workpiece and the portion of the heated material based on the temperature of the workpiece and the temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited [0029]; and control the temperature of the at least one thermal medium contained within the chamber over time based at least in part on a predetermined thermal gradient range such that a temperature of the workpiece and a temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited are within the predetermined thermal gradient range [0030-0035].
Liu does not explicitly disclose depositing a heated workpiece. However, analogous art, Albrecht discloses a tooling head (18) configured to deposit a heated working material ( to form a workpiece (molten reads on heated material [0022, 0006]). Albrecht also teaches wherein the tooling controller is further configured to: determine a thermal gradient between the workpiece and the portion of the heated material based on the temperature of the workpiece and the temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited [0032]; and control the temperature of the at least one thermal medium contained within the chamber over time based at least in part on a predetermined thermal gradient range such that a temperature of the workpiece and a temperature of the portion of the heated material to be deposited are within the predetermined thermal gradient range [0034, 0050; claim 6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a tooling head configured to deposit a heated working material as taught by Albrecht into the system taught by Liu for the benefit of reducing thermal gradients and defects in the printed object.
As for the limitation, wherein the determination is calculated by finding a difference between a temperature at a top surface of the workpiece and the temperature of the portion of the heated working material to be deposited, then dividing the difference by a distance between the top surface of the workpiece and the heated working material to be deposited, Applicant is simply defining thermal gradient. According to temperature gradient calculator online, the formula for temperature gradient is simply the difference between the temperature material divided over the length (see NPL) which is the same as Applicant’s formula. Further Liu, discloses using temperature gradients in order to ensure a reduced thermal gradient is induced on the powder bed and thus more reliable manufacture are articles [0014].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO2018013057 A1) in view of Albrecht (US2020/0139468 A1) and with supporting evidence from Temperature Gradient Calculator Online, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Harding (US 2018/0169970 A1),
Regarding claim 9, Albrecht teaches the at least one sensor is a first sensor configured to measure a temperature of the workpiece and a second sensor configured to measure a temperature of a portion of the heated working material to be deposited[0082, 0034, 0050]; and the system further comprises a third sensor configured to measure an amount of the at least one thermal medium in the chamber (claim 6). Liu and Albrecht do not explicitly disclose using a sensor to measure the amount of material. However, analogous art, Harding, discloses sensors used to measure the amount of material [0019]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a measuring sensor as taught by Harding into the system taught by the combination of Liu in order to be more cost effective and less wasteful of material.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO2018013057 A1) in view of Albrecht (US2020/0139468 A1) and with supporting evidence from Temperature Gradient Calculator Online, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fung (US2022/0267630 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon as per MPEP §2115. Nonetheless analogous art, Fung discloses using water since it absorbs energy and converts it to heat [0055]. MPEP 2144.05 states substituting one material for another is within the skillset of one ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize water as a thermal medium since it can absorb energy and convert it into heat.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO2018013057 A1) in view of Albrecht (US2020/0139468 A1) and with supporting evidence from Temperature Gradient Calculator Online, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yuwaki et al (US 2020/0406547 A).
Regarding claim 26, Albrecht and Harding do not explicitly disclose a chamber that is expandable. However, analogous art, Yuwaki et al, discloses the chamber is expandable [0109] for the benefit of separating space in the shaping space [0109]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a chamber that is expandable, as taught by Yuwaki et al into the system taught by Albrecht and Harding in order to separate spaces in the shaping space.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754