DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 misspells “tatitanium” and is likely “a titanium”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-14 of copending Application No. 18/563,571 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a substrate coated with a Ti(C,N) layer with a thickness of 3-25 µm composed of columnar grains, a bonding layer, and an Al2O3 layer, where the D422 average grain size of the Ti(C,N) layer of 25-50 nm according to Scherrer’s equation, and a portion B1 adjacent to the bonding layer having an average grain size D422 of 130-300 nm. This is patentably indistinct of claim 2 of the ‘571 application which recites a cutting tool of a substrate coated with a Ti(C,N) layer with a thickness of 3-25 µm composed of columnar grains, a bonding layer, and an α-Al2O3 layer including a portion O1 exhibiting a <001> within 15° ≥80%, where the D422 average grain size of the Ti(C,N) layer of 25-50 nm according to Scherrer’s equation, and a portion B1 adjacent to the bonding layer having an average grain size D422 of 130-165 nm. The instant claims and those of the ‘571 application recite substantially identical cutting tools with overlapping thickness and grain sizes and the courts have held that this establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claim 2 recites a <211> content overlapping claim 6 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 3 recites a thickness of B1 overlapping claim 7 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 4 recites bonding layer materials overlapping claim 11 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 5 recites a grain size overlapping claim 9 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 6 recites a TC(422) overlapping claim 8 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 7 recites an α-Al2O3 thickness overlapping claim 5 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 8 recites TC(0012) overlapping claim 3 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 9 recites a TC(110) overlapping claim 4 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 10 recites a grain size overlapping claim 2 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 11 recites an O1 portion overlapping claim 2 of the ‘571 application. Instant claims 12-14 recites thicknesses claims 10, 12, and 13 of the ‘571 application. Instant claim 15 recites materials overlapping claim 14 of the ‘571 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-14 of copending Application No. 18/563,612 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a substrate coated with a Ti(C,N) layer with a thickness of 3-25 µm composed of columnar grains, a bonding layer, and an Al2O3 layer, where the D422 average grain size of the Ti(C,N) layer of 25-50 nm according to Scherrer’s equation, and a portion B1 adjacent to the bonding layer having an average grain size D422 of 130-300 nm. This is patentably indistinct of claim 2 of the ‘612 application which recites a cutting tool of a substrate coated with a Ti(C,N) layer with a thickness of 3-25 µm composed of columnar grains, a bonding layer, and an α-Al2O3 layer where the D422 average grain size of the Ti(C,N) layer of 25-50 nm according to Scherrer’s equation, and a portion B1 adjacent to the bonding layer having an average grain size D422 of 130-165 nm. The instant claims and those of the ‘612 application recite substantially identical cutting tools with overlapping thickness and grain sizes and the courts have held that this establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claim 2 recites a <211> content overlapping claim 6 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 3 recites a thickness of B1 overlapping claim 7 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 4 recites bonding layer materials overlapping claim 11 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 5 recites a grain size overlapping claim 9 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 6 recites a TC(422) overlapping claim 8 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 7 recites an α-Al2O3 thickness overlapping claim 5 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 8 recites TC(0012) overlapping claim 3 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 9 recites a TC(110) overlapping claim 4 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 10 recites a grain size overlapping claim 2 of the ‘612 application. Instant claims 12-14 recites thicknesses claims 10, 12, and 13 of the ‘612 application. Instant claim 15 recites materials overlapping claim 14 of the ‘612 application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/563,474 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a substrate coated with a Ti(C,N) layer with a thickness of 3-25 µm composed of columnar grains, a bonding layer, and an Al2O3 layer, where the D422 average grain size of the Ti(C,N) layer of 25-50 nm according to Scherrer’s equation, and a portion B1 adjacent to the bonding layer having an average grain size D422 of 130-300 nm. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘474 application which recites a cutting tool of a substrate coated with a Ti(C,N) layer with a thickness of 3-25 µm composed of columnar grains, a bonding layer, and an Al2O3 layer where the D422 average grain size of the Ti(C,N) layer of 25-50 nm according to Scherrer’s equation, and a portion B1 adjacent to the bonding layer having an average grain size D422 of 140-300 nm. The instant claims and those of the ‘474 application recite substantially identical cutting tools with overlapping thickness and grain sizes and the courts have held that this establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claim 3 recites a thickness of B1 overlapping claim 2 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 4 recites bonding layer materials overlapping claim 3 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 5 recites a grain size overlapping claim 4 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 6 recites a TC(422) overlapping claim 5 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 7 recites an α-Al2O3 thickness overlapping claim 6 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 8 recites TC(0012) overlapping claim 7 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 9 recites a TC(110) overlapping claim 8 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 10 recites a grain size overlapping claim 9 of the ‘474 application. Instant claims 12-14 recites thicknesses claims 10-12 of the ‘474 application. Instant claim 15 recites materials overlapping claim 13 of the ‘474 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. While a notice of allowance is in the file wrapper of the ‘474 application, the application has not issued as of the writing of this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lindahl et al. (US 2016/0175940).
Considering claim 1, Lindahl teaches a coated cutting tool for machining of metals (abstract). The cutting tool comprises a substrate coated with a MTCVD TiCN layer of columnar crystals and a thickness of 4-20 µm (Paragraph 12), a bonding layer of a HTCVD coating (Paragraph 13), and a textured α-Al2O3 layer (Paragraphs 6 and 11). Lindahl does not teach the claimed grain size D422 of the Ti(C,N) layer or of the B1 portion according to Scherrer’s equation.
However, Lindahl teaches where the inserts are coated with a first TiN-layer of about 0.4 µm thickness and a 7 µm thick TiCN layer with a pressure of 55 mbar, and conditions changing as follows: a H2 volume of 59→81.5%, a N2 volume of 7.8→37.6%, a HCl volume of 0→7.8%, a TiCl4 volume of 2.95→2.38%, and a CH3CN volume of 0.45→0.65% (Paragraph 32; Table 1). These conditions are substantially identical to those which applicant discloses on pp.12-13 and Table 1 of the originally filed specification including process steps X and Z.
As such, one would reasonably expect the coating of Lindahl to possess the claimed grain size D422 of the Ti(C,N) layer and of the B1 portion according to Scherrer’s equation as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112. As such, Lindahl is considered to anticipate and/or render obvious the instantly claimed cutting tool.
Considering claims 2-3, Lindahl does not teach the claimed <211> orientation or thickness of the B1 portion. However, as outlined above, Lindahl teaches a substantially identical coated cutting tool formed by a substantially identical manner as that which is claimed and disclosed and therefore these are expected to be present, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
Considering claim 4, Lindahl teaches where the bonding layer is TiCN (Paragraph 33).
Considering claim 5, Lindahl does not teach the claimed D422 grain size. However, as outlined above, Lindahl teaches a substantially identical coated cutting tool formed by a substantially identical manner as that which is claimed and disclosed and therefore this is expected to be present, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
Considering claim 6, Lindahl teaches where the TC(422) of the TiCN layer is ≥3 (Paragraph 15) overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 7, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the α-Al2O3 layer is 2-20 µm and preferably 2-10 µm (Paragraph 11). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 8, Lindahl teaches where the TC(0012) of the α-Al2O3 layer is ≥7.2 and ≥7.5 (Paragraph 7). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 9, Lindahl teaches where the TC(0012) of the α-Al2O3 layer is ≥7.2 and ≥7.5 and is calculated using hkl reflections including the (110) reflection (Paragraph 7) and as the TC(0012) is taught to have an open-ended value greater than 7.2, etc. this is considered to teach where the other reflections used in the calculation may be as minimal as possible (e.g. approaching zero) and therefore is considered to overlap the claimed TC(110). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 10-11, Lindahl does not teach the claimed B1 portion grain size or portion O1. However, as outlined above, Lindahl teaches a substantially identical coated cutting tool formed by a substantially identical manner as that which is claimed and disclosed and therefore these are expected to be present, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
Considering claim 12, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the Ti(C,N) layer is 4-20 µm (Paragraph 12). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 13, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the bonding layer is 0.5-2 µm (Paragraph 13). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 14, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the Ti(C,N) layer is 4-20 µm (Paragraph 12), where the thickness of the bonding layer is 0.5-2 µm (Paragraph 13), and where the thickness of the α-Al2O3 layer is 2-20 µm (Paragraph 11) resulting in an overall coating thickness of 6.5-42 µm. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 15, Lindahl teaches where the substrate is a cemented carbide, cermet, or ceramic (Paragraph 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ruppi (US 6,221,469), Fukano et al. (US 2006/0222885), and Fukunaga et al. (US 2014/0017469) teach coated cutting tools demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784