DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 2, 2024, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
3. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingber et al. (WO 2014014788).
Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277), as in claim 1.
Concerning claim 2, Ingber discloses the article comprises an antimicrobial peptide (paragraph 148).
Concerning claim 5, Ingber discloses solid substrates (non-porous) (paragraph 74) comprising polyethylene terephthalate (paragraph 77).
Concerning claim 7, Ingber discloses the article comprises an antimicrobial peptide (paragraph 148).
Concerning claim 8, Ingber discloses the lubricant layer can include perfluorotributylamine (paragraph 8277).
Concerning claim 9, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277).
Concerning claim 10, Ingber discloses solid substrates (paragraph 74) comprising polyethylene terephthalate (paragraph 77).
Concerning claim 11, Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces include polystyrene (paragraph 8077).
Concerning claim 12, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77).
Concerning claim 13, Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces include polystyrene (paragraph 8077).
Concerning claim 23, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277). Ingber discloses the slippery surface of the article can include a siloxane (claims 10-11 of Ingber).
Concerning claim 25, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 3-4, 6, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO 2014014788).
Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277). Ingber does not appear to explicitly teach the liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the liquid repellant surfaces is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the liquid repellant surfaces discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle, as in claim 3.
Concerning claim 4, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277).
Concerning claim 6, Ingber discloses the surfaces that can be functionalized for liquid repellency include polystyrene (paragraph 8077).
Concerning claim 27, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277). Ingber does not appear to explicitly teach the liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the liquid repellant surfaces is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the liquid repellant surfaces discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle.
Concerning claim 28, Ingber discloses surfaces modified according to the present disclosure are capable of repelling and/or selectively binding particles in suspension or solution without causing surface adhesion, surface-mediated clot formation, coagulation, fouling, or aggregation (antifouling) (paragraph 8289).
Concerning claim 29, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277). Ingber does not appear to explicitly teach the liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the liquid repellant surfaces is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the liquid repellant surfaces discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle.
Ingber does not appear to explicitly teach the lubricant impregnated into the polymer layer increases the liquid repellent slippery properties; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the liquid repellant surfaces is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the liquid repellant surfaces discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed the liquid repellent slippery properties.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 24, 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited liquid repellent slippery surface further including where the monomer precursor is provided to be octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited liquid repellent slippery surface further including where the lubricant is provided to be a low molecular weight oligomer formed from the same monomer precursor which forms the polymer layer.
The prior art does not teach motivation or suggestion for modification to make the invention as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781