DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed March 28, 2026.
Claim 23 and 25 were amended, claims 9-13 and 24 were cancelled, rendering claims 1-8, 23 and 25-29 pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 2, 2024, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
4. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingber et al. (WO 2014014788).
Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277), as in claim 1.
Concerning claim 2, Ingber discloses the article comprises an antimicrobial peptide (paragraph 148).
Concerning claim 5, Ingber discloses solid substrates (non-porous) (paragraph 74) comprising polyethylene terephthalate (paragraph 77).
Concerning claim 7, Ingber discloses the article comprises an antimicrobial peptide (paragraph 148).
Concerning claim 8, Ingber discloses the lubricant layer can include perfluorotributylamine (paragraph 8277).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3-4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO 2014014788).
Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277). Ingber does not appear to explicitly teach the liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the liquid repellant surfaces is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the liquid repellant surfaces discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed liquid contact angle hyteresis value or liquid sliding angle, as in claim 3.
Concerning claim 4, Ingber discloses repellant surfaces comprising a substrate and a lubricating layer immobilized over the substrate surface having a lubricating liquid, where the lubricating layer and the substrate form a slippery or repellent surface (abstract). Ingber discloses the substrate may be a solid crosslinked polymer (paragraph 73). Ingber discloses the substrate surfaces can be functionalized for liquid repellency and can include polyethylene terephthalate (aromatic-aliphatic polyester) (paragraph 77). Ingber discloses the lubricating layer can include hydrocarbon oils (aliphatic compound) (paragraph 277).
Concerning claim 6, Ingber discloses the surfaces that can be functionalized for liquid repellency include polystyrene (paragraph 8077).
Allowable Claims
7. Claims 23 and 25-29 are allowed. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited liquid repellent slippery surface further including where the monomer precursor is provided to be octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited liquid repellent slippery surface further including
Where the liquid repellent slippery surface further includes a lubricant formed concurrently with the polymer layer.
The prior art does not teach motivation or suggestion for modification to make the invention as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s argument of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingber et al. (WO 2014014788) has been considered; however, is unpersuasive. Applicant argues Ingber does not disclose a lubricant impregnated into the polymer layer, since the lubricant layer of Ingber is a separate layer from the substrate. In response to Applicant’s argument, Ingber discloses a substrate with a microporous structure having the ability to retain a lubricating liquid and the lubricating liquid can mix with the crosslinked polymer of the substrate (paragraph 73 of Ingber).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Applicant’s argument of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO 2014014788) has been considered; however, is unpersuasive. Applicant argues Ingber does not disclose a lubricant impregnated into the polymer layer, since the lubricant layer of Ingber is a separate layer from the substrate. In response to Applicant’s argument, Ingber discloses a substrate with a microporous structure having the ability to retain a lubricating liquid and the lubricating liquid can mix with the crosslinked polymer of the substrate (paragraph 73 of Ingber).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781