DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on June 25, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, and 15 have been amended.
All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statements filed on May 19, 2026, and July 15, 2026, are acknowledged. Signed copies are attached to this office action.
Withdrawn Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because:
Claim 1 recites “a first coating solution, suspension, or dispersion comprising or consisting of..” in line 9 and “a second coating solution, suspension, or dispersion comprising or consisting of...” in lines 18-19 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim to delete “consisting of” language from the claim;
claim 11 recites “the process according to claim 1, wherein up to 400 % by weight, based on the total weight of the at least one polymer, and of the at least one additive are comprised in the first and/or second coating solution, suspension or dispersion” has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim to recite “the at least one additive is comprised in the first and/or second coating solution, suspension, or dispersion”.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Guha et al. (WO 2019/096833, cited on IDS dated 11-21-2023) in view of Roy et al. (Effect of plasticizers and surfactants on the film forming properties of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose for the coating of diclofenac sodium tablets, Saudi Pharmaceutical Journal (2009) 17, 233-241).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Guha discloses a process for preparing a polymer-coated hard shell capsule, suitable as container for pharmaceutical or nutraceutical biologically active ingredients, wherein the hard shell capsule is comprising a body and a cap, wherein in the closed state the cap overlaps the body either in a pre-locked state or in a final-locked state, wherein the hard shell capsule is provided in the pre-locked state and spray-coated with a coating solution, suspension or dispersion comprising a polymer or a mixture of polymers to create a coating layer which covers the outer surface of the hard shell capsule in the pre-locked state (abstract).
The polymer or polymer mixture comprised in the coating layer are preferably film-forming polymers and may be selected from the groups of anionic polymers, cationic polymers and neutral polymers or any mixtures thereof (page 10, lines 33-35).
The coating layer can optionally comprise excipient (page 18, lines 28-30). Suitable excipients include plasticizers, fillers, glidants, and pigments (page 23-25).
The hard-shell capsules may additionally contain a topcoat. The topcoat comprises a water-soluble polymer such as a polysaccharide or hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (HPMC), as well as optional excipients (page 25, lines 10-30).
The coating amount can be from about 1 to about 8 mg/cm2 (page 17, lines 21-22).
The top coating does not need to be applied in the pre lock state (page 25, lines 11-30), however, there is no direct teaching of it not being applied in the pre lock state.
The top coating may have the function of coloring the pharmaceutical form or protecting from environmental influences (page 25, line 21-23).
Regarding claim 2, the material of the body and cap may be selected from the HPMC, starch, gelatin, pullulan and a copolymer of C1- to C4-alkylester of (meth)acrylic acid and (meth)acrylic acid (page 9, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 3, the polymer or polymer matrix can comprise anionic (meth) acrylate copolymers (page 10, lines 10-12).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, suitable anionic (meth)acrylate copolymers are those polymerized from 40 to 60% by weight methacrylic acid and 60 to 40% by weight methyl methacrylate or 60 to 40% by weight ethyl acrylate (page 11, lines 18-20), for example.
Regarding claim 5, Example 2 discloses the use of Eudragit FS30D and Eudragit L30D-55 which meets the limitation of ii.
Regarding claim 7, suitable polymers for the coating include natural celluloses such as methyl, ethyl, and propyl ethers of celluloses, for example hydropropyl cellulose, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl acetate, and polyvinyl alcohol (page 17, lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 8, as noted above, glidants can added.
Regarding claim 9-10, the coating layer excipients can include glidants, emulsifiers, plasticizers, and flow agents, fragrances, pigments, flavoring agents, flow aids, or stabilizers (page 23, line 7-12), which would be addition additives.
Regarding claim 11, the polymer is recited as the only required component and would therefore comprise 100% of the coating, which reads on the up to 400% recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, it is disclosed the body, and the cap is comprising encircling notches or dimples in the area where the cap overlaps the body, that allow the capsule to be closed by a snap-into-place mechanism either in the pre-locked state or in the final-locked state (claim 11).
Regarding claim 13, the body of the capsule comprises a tapered rim (claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, following the method of instant claim 1 results in a polymer coated hard shell capsule.
Regarding claim 15, the capsule can be used to administer an active pharmaceutical agent within the capsule. The recitation of immediate, delayed, or sustained would encompass all release profiles of capsules.
Regarding claim 16, as noted above, the top coating can comprise HPMC.
While Guha discloses a top coating can be applied to the capsule, he does not disclose the coating comprises a solution, suspension, or dispersion comprising a least one polymer, at least one emulsifier, and at least one plasticizer, as well as optional components.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
*Roy does not put a polymer top coating over a different functional polymer coating as claimed.
Guhu discloses the hard-shell capsules many additionally contain a topcoat comprising water soluble polymer, such as a polysaccharide or hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (HPMC), as well as optional excipients (page 25, lines 10-30). The topcoat is additionally disclosed to have essentially no influence on the release characteristics. Roy is relied on for effects of plasticizers and surfactants to said top coatings. As noted above, plasticizers have a significant effect on the film forming properties of HPMC, being free from major defects like cracking, orange peel, and cracking with good gloss and slight chipping, thus inferring that plasticizers significantly influence that quality of the aqueous film coating. The addition of surfactants (emulsifiers) resulted in bringing uniformity in the spreading efficiency on the substrate surface. It was also determined that use of plasticizers and surfactants resulted in proper erosion and diffusion mechanisms to be operative during drug release from the optimized batch (Results and Discussion). These properties would not influence the release characteristics disclosed by Guhu
*the tablets of Roy perform much differently than the hard-shell capsules of Guha and there is no motivation to modify the top coating layer for use is Guha and the references do not address the problem to be overcome by the present invention of limiting/avoiding the influx of gastic juice.
The prior art need not solve the same problem the instant invention is attempting to solve. Applicants’ attention is directed to MPEP 2144 IV which discloses the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggests the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
As noted above, Guhu discloses a top coating, he does not disclose the coating comprises a plasticizer and emulsifier as claimed. However, their inclusion is rendered obvious by Roy.
Modified and Newly Applied Rejections
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,692 in view of Roy et al. (Effect of plasticizers and surfactants on the film forming properties of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose for the coating of diclofenac sodium tablets, Saudi Pharmaceutical Journal (2009) 17, 233-241). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the patented claims are both drawn to a process of preparing a polymer coated hard shell capsule comprising a coating of at least one polymer. While not claimed, the specification of US Patent No 11,980,692 discloses a top coating can optionally be included, he does however, not disclose the top coating comprises a polymer, plasticizers, and emulsifier. Roy discloses topcoats for pharmaceutical tablets. It is the position of the Examiner that coating tablets and capsules solves the same problem. The use of plasticizers is to ensure spreading and/or film forming capability. The type and concentration of plasticizers can affect the film properties (Introduction).
Roy discloses plasticizers have a significant effect on the film forming properties of HPMC, being free from major defects like cracking, orange peel, and cracking with good gloss and slight chipping, thus inferring that plasticizers significantly influence that quality of the aqueous film coating. The addition of surfactants (emulsifiers) resulted in bringing uniformity in the spreading efficiency on the substrate surface. It was also determined that use of plasticizers and surfactants resulted in proper erosion and diffusion mechanisms to be operative during drug release from the optimized batch (Results and Discussion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the part prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included a plasticizer and an emulsifier as the excipients into the top coating of Guha in order to obtain the properties disclosed by Roy.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent 11,523,992 in view of Roy et al. (Effect of plasticizers and surfactants on the film forming properties of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose for the coating of diclofenac sodium tablets, Saudi Pharmaceutical Journal (2009) 17, 233-241). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the patented claims are both drawn to a process of preparing a polymer coated hard shell capsule comprising a coating of at least one polymer. While not claimed, the specification of US Patent No 11,980,692 discloses a top coating can optionally be included, he does however, not disclose the top coating comprises a polymer, plasticizers, and emulsifier. Roy discloses topcoats for pharmaceutical tablets. It is the position of the Examiner that coating tablets and capsules solves the same problem. The use of plasticizers is to ensure spreading and/or film forming capability. The type and concentration of plasticizers can affect the film properties (Introduction).
Roy discloses plasticizers have a significant effect on the film forming properties of HPMC, being free from major defects like cracking, orange peel, and cracking with good gloss and slight chipping, thus inferring that plasticizers significantly influence that quality of the aqueous film coating. The addition of surfactants (emulsifiers) resulted in bringing uniformity in the spreading efficiency on the substrate surface. It was also determined that use of plasticizers and surfactants resulted in proper erosion and diffusion mechanisms to be operative during drug release from the optimized batch (Results and Discussion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the part prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included a plasticizer and an emulsifier as the excipients into the top coating of Guha in order to obtain the properties disclosed by Roy.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,993 in view of Roy et al. (Effect of plasticizers and surfactants on the film forming properties of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose for the coating of diclofenac sodium tablets, Saudi Pharmaceutical Journal (2009) 17, 233-241). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the patented claims are both drawn to a process of preparing a polymer coated hard shell capsule comprising a coating of at least one polymer. While not claimed, the specification of US Patent No 11,980,692 discloses a top coating can optionally be included, he does however, not disclose the top coating comprises a polymer, plasticizers, and emulsifier. Roy discloses topcoats for pharmaceutical tablets. It is the position of the Examiner that coating tablets and capsules solves the same problem. The use of plasticizers is to ensure spreading and/or film forming capability. The type and concentration of plasticizers can affect the film properties (Introduction).
Roy discloses plasticizers have a significant effect on the film forming properties of HPMC, being free from major defects like cracking, orange peel, and cracking with good gloss and slight chipping, thus inferring that plasticizers significantly influence that quality of the aqueous film coating. The addition of surfactants (emulsifiers) resulted in bringing uniformity in the spreading efficiency on the substrate surface. It was also determined that use of plasticizers and surfactants resulted in proper erosion and diffusion mechanisms to be operative during drug release from the optimized batch (Results and Discussion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the part prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included a plasticizer and an emulsifier as the excipients into the top coating of Guha in order to obtain the properties disclosed by Roy.
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of cop ending Application No. 18/563,517 in view of in view of Roy et al. (Effect of plasticizers and surfactants on the film forming properties of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose for the coating of diclofenac sodium tablets, Saudi Pharmaceutical Journal (2009) 17, 233-241). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the patented claims are both drawn to a process of preparing a polymer coated hard shell capsule comprising a coating of at least one polymer. While not claimed, the specification of US Patent No 11,980,692 discloses a top coating can optionally be included, he does however, not disclose the top coating comprises a polymer, plasticizers, and emulsifier. Roy discloses topcoats for pharmaceutical tablets. It is the position of the Examiner that coating tablets and capsules solves the same problem. The use of plasticizers is to ensure spreading and/or film forming capability. The type and concentration of plasticizers can affect the film properties (Introduction).
Roy discloses plasticizers have a significant effect on the film forming properties of HPMC, being free from major defects like cracking, orange peel, and cracking with good gloss and slight chipping, thus inferring that plasticizers significantly influence that quality of the aqueous film coating. The addition of surfactants (emulsifiers) resulted in bringing uniformity in the spreading efficiency on the substrate surface. It was also determined that use of plasticizers and surfactants resulted in proper erosion and diffusion mechanisms to be operative during drug release from the optimized batch (Results and Discussion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the part prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included a plasticizer and an emulsifier as the excipients into the top coating of Guha in order to obtain the properties disclosed by Roy.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Due to the new grounds of rejection presented in this office action, this action is made Non-Final.
/MELISSA S MERCIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615