DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Of these, claims 11 and 18-20 are withdrawn as directed to a nonelected invention. Therefore, claims 1-10 and 12-17 are under consideration on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2023 was filed prior to the mailing date of a first Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it was considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-17, is acknowledged. The election having been made without traverse, the election requirement is still considered proper and is made FINAL.
Applicant’s election of the following species is acknowledged:
The election having been made without traverse, the election of species requirement is still considered proper and is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Anzai et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2014/0172117; of record in IDS) in view of Jaffer et al. (Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis, 13 (Suppl. 1): S72-S81 (2015)).
As to claims 1-10 and 12-17, Anzai discloses an antithrombotic coating layer on a medical device of claim 17 (paragraphs 2, 50), and exemplifies a coating layer comprising a polymer comprising monomers of 2-acrylamide-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid (AMPS) (a polymer having a plurality of hemocompatible groups that is the elected species, i.e., sulfonic acid of claims 1 and 4, and which comprises the elected species of formula (A-1) of claims 5-10 wherein P1 is a divalent methylpropyl group which reads on Applicant’s election of P1 as comprising a C1-10 alkylene group)(paragraphs 22, 73, 77, 81). Anzai further teaches that acrylic acid monomers (a species of formula B-1 of claims 12-15 that differs from the elected species of B-1 only in that Rc is H instead of C1-C6 alkyl) can be incorporated into the polymer to form an AMPS-acrylic acid copolymer (claim 16), which advantageously allows for fixing the polymer to the medical device via a chemical bond (a “conjugation” of claim 2).
As to claims 1-10 and 12-17, Anzai does not further expressly disclose a base layer comprising a protein on which the polymer layer is disposed as recited by claim 1 and which is albumin (claim 3).
Jaffer discloses that medical devices that contact blood may fail as a result of thrombus formation (Summary on page S72). Jaffer discusses methods to prevent thrombosis on such devices by rendering their surfaces less thrombogenic (paragraph bridging pages S74 and S75) and teaches that albumin has been used as an inert thromboresistant coating on medical devices because it induces less platelet adhesion (page S75, 2nd paragraph of right column).
As to claims 1-10 and 12-17, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the medical device coating of Anzai by incorporating a base layer comprising albumin over which the polymer layer is disposed, because Jaffer teaches that albumin coatings are useful in imparting thromboresistance to medical devices, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that an albumin base layer would advantageously impart additional antithrombogenic properties to the medical device of Anzai.
It further would have been prima facie obvious to select the elected methacrylic species of formula (B-1) due to the very close structural similarity with the acrylic acid monomer taught by Anzai differing only by one additional C1 alkyl group, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected them to have similar properties when incorporated into the Anzai polymer. Similar properties may normally be presumed when compounds are very close in structure. Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Grabiak, 769 F.2d 729, 731, 226 USPQ 870, 871 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (“When chemical compounds have ‘very close’ structural similarities and similar utilities, without more a prima facie case may be made.”). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). Prior art structures do not have to be true homologs or isomers to render structurally similar compounds prima facie obvious. In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 203 USPQ 245 (CCPA 1979) (Claimed and prior art compounds were both directed to heterocyclic carbamoyloximino compounds having pesticidal activity. The only structural difference between the claimed and prior art compounds was that the ring structures of the claimed compounds had two carbon atoms between two sulfur atoms whereas the prior art ring structures had either one or three carbon atoms between two sulfur atoms. The court held that although the prior art compounds were not true homologs or isomers of the claimed compounds, the similarity between the chemical structures and properties is sufficiently close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the claimed compounds in searching for new pesticides.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over all claims of U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 17/779,788 and in view of Anzai et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2014/0172117) where indicated below.
The teachings of the cited secondary references are relied upon as discussed above.
The reference claims recite a coating for a medical device and a medical device having a surface coated with the coating, the coating comprising a base layer comprising a protein such as albumin which is covalently conjugated to a surface layer comprising a plurality of sulfonic acid groups and a plurality of hemocompatible groups represented by formula B-1 corresponding to formula A-1 of the present claims.
Although the reference claims do not expressly recite the elected species of formula (A-1) nor the presence of the elected species of formula (B-1) of the present claims so as to form a copolymer, it would have been prima facie obvious to select the elected species of (A-1) and to incorporate a methacrylic monomer to form a copolymer in light of Anzai’s express teaching that the elected species and acrylic monomers are suitable monomers for use in an antithrombotic copolymer coating and due to the very close structural similarity between acrylic and methacrylic monomers such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected them to function similarly in the copolymer. Similar properties may normally be presumed when compounds are very close in structure. Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Grabiak, 769 F.2d 729, 731, 226 USPQ 870, 871 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (“When chemical compounds have ‘very close’ structural similarities and similar utilities, without more a prima facie case may be made.”).
Conclusion
/GAREN GOTFREDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600