Claim Objections
Claims 33 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant is advised that should claim 26 be found allowable, claim 33 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). For examination purposes, claim 33 will be treated as if it depended from claim 27.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a connecting member configured to releasably connect the seat back and the upper cross bar” in claim 19.
“wherein the seat back is connected to the cross bar at an upper end section of the seat back via a reclining member” in claim 27.
“a mating coupling element providing the releasable connection between the seat back and the cross bar” in claim 29.
“The connecting member 11 is attached to the upper end section 10 of the seat back 9a and is a strap connected to a hook member sliding in the cross bar 8” – page 9, lines 27-28 of the subject specification
“The connection member 11 has in this embodiment also the function of a reclining member 15. The reclining member 15 is in this illustration a strap member.” – page 9, lines 18-20 of the subject specification
“The reclining member and the upper end section of the seat back may comprise a respective mating coupling element, such as providing a snap fit connection, or a threaded connection, providing the releasable connection between the seat back and the cross bar." - page 4, line 35 - page 5, line 2 of the subject specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 33 a rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the first seat" and "the first seat back" in claim 26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the first seat", "the first seat back", "second seat" and "second seat back" in claim . There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the first seat", "the first seat back", "second seat" and "second seat back" in claim . There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 20, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20090206566 A1 ("Enserink").
Claim 17: Enserink teaches A bike trailer comprising: a main frame comprising: a lower frame portion (14, 15), a rear frame portion (11), and two side frame portions (19) provided on opposite lateral sides of the lower frame portion (Fig. 7), the main frame defining an accommodation space for a passenger, wherein the bike trailer has an extension in a longitudinal direction, an extension in a transverse direction, and an extension in a height direction (Fig. 7); and a seat structure (16) forming a seating area for the passenger, the seat structure comprising
a seat back and a seat bottom (Fig. 7), wherein the seat back is configured to releasably connect to the bike trailer in a first position (Fig. 7) and in a second position (Fig. 6), the first position providing a first lateral seating area for the passenger (Fig. 7), and the second position providing a centralized seating area for the passenger, as seen in the transverse direction (Fig. 6).
Claim 20: Enserink teaches the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat back and the seat bottom are one integrated unit (16; Fig. 7).
Claim 23: Enserink teaches the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the lower frame portion (14, 15) comprises first (14) and second (15) lower frame side sections, wherein a lower cross bar (17, 18) extends between the first and the second lower frame side sections, and the seat bottom (bottom of 16) is supported by the lower cross bar (Fig. 7).
Claim 25: Enserink teaches the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the bike trailer comprises: a second seat structure forming a seating area for a second passenger (Fig. 7), the second seat structure comprising: a seat back, and a seat bottom, wherein the seat back of the second seat structure is configured to releasably connect to the bike trailer in a third position providing a second lateral seating area for the second passenger (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 19, 21, 22, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090206566 A1 ("Enserink") in view of US 20090026817 A1 ("Britton").
Claim 18: Enserink the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. But does not teach the bike trailer, wherein the rear frame portion comprises an upper cross bar having a central portion and first and second lateral portions provided on opposite sides of the central portion, as seen in the transverse direction, wherein the seat back is configured to releasably connect to the upper cross bar at an upper end section of the seat back, and wherein the seat back is configured to releasably connect to the upper cross bar in a first position and in a second position, the first position being arranged on the first lateral portion of the cross bar, thus forming the first lateral seating area for the passenger, and the second position being arranged on the central portion of the upper cross bar, thus forming the centralized seating area for the passenger.
However, Britton in a similar field of art teaches the bike trailer, wherein the rear frame portion comprises an upper cross bar (5) having a central portion (portion between 22 and 23) and first (22) and second (23) lateral portions provided on opposite sides of the central portion, as seen in the transverse direction (Fig. 1), the bike trailer, wherein the rear frame portion comprises an upper cross bar (5) having a central portion (portion between 22 and 23) and first (22) and second (23) lateral portions provided on opposite sides of the central portion, as seen in the transverse direction (Fig. 1), and wherein the seat back is configured to releasably connect to the upper cross bar in a first position and in a second position, the first position being arranged on the first lateral portion of the cross bar, thus forming the first lateral seating area for the passenger, and the second position being arranged on the central portion of the upper cross bar, thus forming the centralized seating area for the passenger (Britton alone doesn’t show this. But upon modifying Enserink to include the ‘upper cross bar at an upper end section of the seat back’ of Britton, the seat back of Enserink would be connected to the upper cross bar at different positions depending on the seat arrangement). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Britton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Britton teaches “The body receptacle is held by two belts 22, 23 running along its sides, the ends of which are looped around the cross strut 4 and the cross tube 5, respectively, and fastened with buckles 24, 25, 26, 27” (para. 27, lines 3-6).
Claim 19: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 18 as noted above. Britton further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat back or the upper cross bar comprises a connecting member (24, 25) configured to releasably connect the seat back and the upper cross bar (para. 27, lines 1-6), wherein the connecting member is transferable by sliding in or on the upper cross bar between the first position and the second position (belts 22 and 23; Fig. 1; para. 27, lines 1-6).
Claim 21: Enserink teaches the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat bottom (bottom of 16) extends, as seen in the transverse direction, over the first lateral seating area and over the centralized seating area for the passenger (Figs. 6 and 7), but does not teach the seat back is releasably connected to the seat bottom in the first position and in the second position.
However, Britton in a similar field of art teaches the seat back is releasably connected to the seat bottom in the first position and in the second position (connection of 22 and 23 to buckles 26 and 27; Fig. 1; para. 27, lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Britton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Britton teaches “The body receptacle is held by two belts 22, 23 running along its sides, the ends of which are looped around the cross strut 4 and the cross tube 5, respectively, and fastened with buckles 24, 25, 26, 27” (para. 27, lines 3-6).
Claim 22: Enserink teaches the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. But does not teach the bike trailer, wherein the bike trailer comprises a first and a second locking member, wherein the first and second positions are first and second locked positions preventing movement of the seat structure in the transverse direction upon locking of the first and the second locking member.
However, Britton in a similar field of art teaches the bike trailer, wherein the bike trailer comprises a first (33) and a second (34) locking member, wherein the first and second positions are first and second locked positions preventing movement of the seat structure in the transverse direction upon locking of the first and the second locking member (Fig. 1; para. 28, lines 3-4). therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Britton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Britton teaches “The body receptacle is held by two belts 22, 23 running along its sides, the ends of which are looped around the cross strut 4 and the cross tube 5, respectively, and fastened with buckles 24, 25, 26, 27” (para. 27, lines 3-6).
Claim 26: Enserink teaches the limitations of claim 25 as noted above. But does not teach the bike trailer, wherein the bike trailer comprises: a second seat structure forming a seating area for a second passenger, the second seat structure comprising: a seat back, and a seat bottom, wherein the seat back of the second seat structure is configured to releasably connect to the bike trailer in a third position providing a second lateral seating area for the second passenger.
However, Britton in a similar field of art teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat back of the first seat is configured to releasable connect to an upper cross bar of the rear frame at an upper end section of the first seat back (para. 27, lines 1-6), and wherein the seat back of the second seat is configured to releasably connect to the upper cross bar at an upper end section of the second seat back (belts 22 and 23; Fig. 1; para. 27, lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Britton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Britton teaches “The body receptacle is held by two belts 22, 23 running along its sides, the ends of which are looped around the cross strut 4 and the cross tube 5, respectively, and fastened with buckles 24, 25, 26, 27” (para. 27, lines 3-6).
Claims 27-31, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090206566 A1 ("Enserink") in view of US 20090026817 A1 ("Britton") and further in view of US 20190256121 A1 ("Rolicki").
Claim 27: Enserink teaches a bike trailer comprising: a main frame comprising: a lower frame portion (14, 15), a rear frame portion (11), and two side frame portions (19) provided on opposite lateral sides of the lower frame portion (Fig. 7), wherein the main frame defines an accommodation space for a passenger, wherein the bike trailer has an extension in a longitudinal direction, an extension in a transverse direction, and an extension in a height direction (Fig. 7), and a seat structure (16) forming a seating area for a passenger, the seat structure comprising a seat back and a seat bottom (Fig. 7). But does not teach wherein the rear frame portion comprises an upper cross bar extending between the two side frame portions; wherein the seat back is configured to move between an upright position and a reclined position, wherein the seat back is connected to the cross bar at an upper end section of the seat back via a reclining member, wherein the reclining member is transferable between a first configuration in which the seat back is in the upright position, and a second configuration in which the seat back is in the reclined position, and wherein the upper end section of the seat back is a greater distance from the cross bar in the second configuration than in the first configuration.
However, Britton in a similar field of art teaches wherein the rear frame portion comprises an upper cross bar (5) extending between the two side frame portions (22, 23) (Fig. 1); wherein the seat back is connected to the cross bar at an upper end section of the seat back via a reclining member (para. 27, lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Britton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Britton teaches “The body receptacle is held by two belts 22, 23 running along its sides, the ends of which are looped around the cross strut 4 and the cross tube 5, respectively, and fastened with buckles 24, 25, 26, 27” (para. 27, lines 3-6).
However, Rolicki in a similar field of art teaches wherein the seat back is configured to move between an upright position and a reclined position (Fig. 6; para. 74, lines 8-13), and wherein the upper end section of the seat back is a greater distance from the cross bar in the second configuration (reclined position) than in the first configuration (upright position) (para. 74, lines 8-13), wherein the reclining member is transferable between a first configuration in which the seat back is in the upright position, and a second configuration in which the seat back is in the reclined position (Rolicki alone doesn’t show this. But upon modifying Enserink to include the ‘upper cross bar at an upper end section of the seat back’ of Britton, the seat back of Enserink would be connected to the upper cross bar at different positions depending on the reclining seat arrangements of Rolicki). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Rolicki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Rolicki teaches the seats “can be further adjusted with respect to a recline angle of a back of the seat relative to a base of the seat to provide for comfort of the occupant(s) during use of the stroller. Further, the seatback recline angle of the examples seat disclosed herein can be adjusted when two or more seats are coupled to the stroller frame (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2) without interference from the other seat and/or the stroller handle.” (para. 162, lines 7-14)
Claim 28: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 27 as noted above. Britton further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the reclining member is an adjustable strap member (22, 23; para. 27, lines 1-6), a rigid adjustable connector, or a rod.
Claim 29: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 27 as noted above. Britton further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the reclining member and the upper end section of the seat back comprise a mating coupling element (24, 25) providing the releasable connection between the seat back and the cross bar (Fig. 1; para. 27, lines 1-6).
Claim 30: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 27 as noted above. Rolicki further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat back is hingedly connected to the seat bottom, and wherein the seat structure is provided with a spring-biased member (seat mount; para. 82, lines 1-5) which biases the seat back towards the reclined position (para. 74, lines 8-13).
Claim 31: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 27 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the lower frame portion (14, 15) comprises first (14) and second (15) lower frame side sections, wherein a lower cross bar (17, 18) extends between the first and the second lower frame side sections, and wherein the seat bottom (bottom of 16) is supported by the lower cross bar (Fig. 7).
Claim 33: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 27 as noted above. Britton further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat back of the first seat or the upper cross bar comprises a connecting member configured to releasably connect the first seat back and the upper cross bar (para. 27, lines 1-6), and wherein the seat back of the second seat or the upper cross bar comprises a connecting member configured to releasably connect the second seat back and the upper cross bar (belts 22 and 23; Fig. 1; para. 27, lines 1-6).
Claim 34: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 27 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat back of the first seat and the seat bottom of the first seat are one integrated unit (16; Fig. 7), and wherein the seat back of the second seat and the seat bottom of the second seat are one integrated unit (16; Fig. 7).
Claims 24 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090206566 A1 ("Enserink") in view of US 20090026817 A1 ("Britton") and further in view of US 20190256121 A1 ("Rolicki") and further in view of US 20150135443 A1 ("Cortez").
Claim 24: Enserink teaches the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat structure has a structure (20) covering a back side of the seat back and the seat bottom, respectively (para. 6, lines 12-17; Fig. 7). But does not teach the structure is a rigid base structure position.
However, Cortez in a similar field of art teaches structure is a rigid base structure (para. 16, lines 24-41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Cortez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Cortez teaches “the rigid planar material configured to rigidly support the flexible support material to support the infant or the small child, an extension extending from the flexible support material and forming a securing envelope, the securing envelope configured to selectably attach to a child safety seat or a child stroller, and securing straps attached to the flexible support material and configured to attach the flexible support material to a child safety seat or a child stroller” (para. 4, lines 6-13).
Claim 32: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 27 as noted above. Enserink further teaches the bike trailer, wherein the seat structure has a structure (20) covering a back side of the seat back and the seat bottom respectively (para. 6, lines 12-17; Fig. 7). But does not teach the structure is a rigid base structure position.
However, Cortez in a similar field of art teaches structure is a rigid base structure (para. 16, lines 24-41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Enserink with the features of Cortez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Cortez teaches “the rigid planar material configured to rigidly support the flexible support material to support the infant or the small child, an extension extending from the flexible support material and forming a securing envelope, the securing envelope configured to selectably attach to a child safety seat or a child stroller, and securing straps attached to the flexible support material and configured to attach the flexible support material to a child safety seat or a child stroller” (para. 4, lines 6-13).
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614