DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, 7-12, in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Election of species of immune checkpoint inhibitors is acknowledged.
Claims 9-16 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1 and adds functional limitation of formulation of claim 1 activity. Such functional limitation does not affect the structure of formulation of claim 1, but simply recites the way of activity of such formulation. Thus, claim 2 does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stanford et al (US 2019/0151428, May 2019).
Concerning claims 1-3, 7-8 Stanford disclose vaccine for treatment of cancer comprising poly(I:C) (see paragraphs [0009-0010]), which can further comprise lipopeptides such as Pam3Cys-SKKKK (instant SEQ ID NO: 1) (see paragraphs [0110, 0112]) and antibodies targeting PD-1 or PD-L1, immune checkpoint inhibitors (see paragraphs [0165, 0261]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (KR20140119362, October 2014, cited from IDS, citations are from machine translation) and in further view of Waele et al (Oncoimmunology, 2018, vol.7, no.3, e1407899: 1-15, cited from IDS).
Sun teach vaccine adjuvant comprising lipopeptide and poly(I:C) for cancer treatment (see page 3 of machine translation). The ratio of lipopeptide and poly(I:C) in an aqueous solution can be 1:1 and 2:1 (see page 4). The lipopeptide to use can be Pam3Cys-SKKKK (instant SEQ ID NO: 1) (see pages 4-5).
Sun do not teach inclusion of anti-PD-L1 antibodies in such vaccine.
Waele teach combination treatment of cancer (glioblastoma) with poly(I:C) and anti-PD-L1 antibody (see Abstract, page 11).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add anti-PD-L1 antibody to a vaccine taught by Sun based on teachings of Waele arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because both Sun and Waele teach compounds for cancer treatment, lipopeptide and poly(I:C) in case of Sun and poly(I:C) and anti-PD-L1 antibody in case of Waele, thus providing motivation to combine such compounds in one composition comprising lipopeptide, poly(I:C) and anti-PD-L1 antibody.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8,216,595 in view of Waele, above. Claims from ‘595 teach vaccine adjuvant for treatment of cancer comprising Pam3Cys-SKKKK lipopeptide and poly(I:C). Claims do not recite further inclusion of anti-PD-L1 antibody into such vaccine. Teachings of Waele are discussed above. It would have been obvious to further include anti-PD-L1 antibody into vaccine of ‘595 to further improve such vaccine based on teachings of Waele.
Claims 1-5, 7-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,612,650 in view of Waele, above. Claims from ‘650 teach vaccine adjuvant comprising Pam3Cys-SKKKK lipopeptide and poly(I:C). Claims do not recite further inclusion of anti-PD-L1 antibody into such vaccine. Teachings of Waele are discussed above. It would have been obvious to further include anti-PD-L1 antibody into vaccine of ‘650 to further improve such vaccine based on teachings of Waele.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637