DETAILED ACTION
The status of the 09/16/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1, and 8-9 have been amended; and Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210127742) in view of Angell (US 20210378306)
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a vaporizer (vaporizer 130) comprising:
a storage (liquid storage 1300; fig. 1) configured to store an aerosol generating material (liquid composition) (para. 0039); and
a heating chamber (para. 0040; annotated fig. 1) configured to heat the aerosol generating material,
wherein the heating chamber includes:
a wick (liquid delivery element 135; fig. 1) extending in a longitudinal direction and configured to absorb the aerosol generating material (liquid composition) (para. 0039);
a coil (heating element 136; fig. 1) wound around the wick and configured to heat the aerosol generating material absorbed into the wick (para. 0054); and
an accommodation portion (annotated fig. 1) including a top surface (all of enlarged annotated fig. 1 that extends from the horizontal bottom surface) and an accommodation groove (enlarged annotated fig. 1) formed in the top surface (according to attached Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/groove, “groove” is interpreted to mean a depression. The annotated fig. 1 is the groove because it is the depression formed in the top surface of the accommodation portion and is configured to accommodate the liquid delivery element 135 as can be seen in figs. 1-2), the accommodation groove being configured to accommodate the wick (liquid delivery element 135) (para. 0045 and 0058; figs. 1-2. It is noted that the groove as annotated is configured to accommodate the liquid delivery element 135),
wherein the accommodation groove (annotated enlarged fig. 1) formed in the top surface of the accommodation portion has a length and a width that are greater than or equal to a length and a diameter of the wick, respectively, such that the wick is fixed inside the accommodation groove (para. 0045 and 0058; annotated enlarged annotated fig. 1 and also fig. 2).
Kim does not disclose the vaporizer, wherein a diameter of wire of the coil is 0.15 mm to 0.2 mm, the number of turns of the coil is 6 times to 9 times, and an ohmic loss in the coil is less than 8 watts (W).
However, Angell discloses the diameter of wire of the coil is 0.15 mm to 0.2 mm (0.188 mm) (para. 0073; fig. 2), and the number of turns of the coil is 6 times to 9 times (more than 7 complete turns of wire around the wick) (para. 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the wire of the coil of Kim to be 0.15 mm to 0.2 mm as taught by Angell, because it is conventionally known to utilize the wire of the coil having the diameter as indicated to achieve desired heating output in the aerosol generating device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of turns of the coil around the wick to be 6 times to 9 times as taught by Angell, because it is conventionally known to wound the coil around wick as many as 6 to 9 turns to achieve desired heating output to sufficiently generate aerosol in the aerosol generating device according to desired application.
Regarding the limitation “an ohmic loss in the coil is less than 8 watts (W)”, Kim discloses heating element 136/coil has some degrees of ohmic loss because of its inherent properties of resistive heating element.
It have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ohmic loss in the coil to be less than 8 watts, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation is to configure the heating coil to generate sufficient heat to heat the aerosol generating material to generate the aerosol within the aerosol generating device.
Regarding Claim 2, the modification does not disclose an electrical resistance of the coil is 1.1 ohm to 1.25 ohm.
However, Angell further discloses an electrical resistance of the coil (coil) is 1.1 ohm to 1.25 ohm (1.2 ohms) (para. 0091).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical resistance of the coil of Kim to be 1.1 ohm to 1.25 ohm as taught by Angell, because it is conventionally known to utilize the coil having the electrical resistance between 1.1 ohm to 1.25 ohm to ensure the heating coil generates sufficient heat to heat the aerosol generating material to generate the aerosol within the aerosol generating device.
Regarding Claim 5, the modification does not disclose a winding interval of the coil wound around the wick is 0.46 mm to 0.55 mm.
However, Angell further discloses a winding interval of the coil (pitch of the coil) wound around the wick is 0.46 mm to 0.55 mm (more than around 0.5 mm) (para. 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winding interval of the coil of Kim wound around the wick to be 0.46 mm to 0.55 mm as taught by Angell, because it is conventionally known to utilize the coil having the winding interval of the coil wound around the wick as indicated to achieve desired heating output by the heating coil to generate sufficient aerosol according to desired application.
Regarding Claim 6, the modification does not disclose the coil is wound around the wick to have a length of coil of 3 mm to 3.8 mm in a longitudinal direction of the wick.
However, Angell further discloses the coil (coil) is wound around the wick (wick) to have a length of coil of 3 mm to 3.8 mm (more than around 3.5 mm) in a longitudinal direction of the wick (para. 0078-0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coil wound around the wick of Kim to have the length of coil of 3 mm to 3.8 mm in a longitudinal direction of the wick as taught by Angell, because it is conventionally known to utilize the coil wound around the wick to have the length as indicated to achieve desired heating output by the heating coil to generate sufficient aerosol according to desired application.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim does the wick (liquid delivery element 135) is formed of silica (silica) (para. 0019).
Regarding Claim 8, the modification does not disclose the accommodation groove having a length of 10 mm to 13 mm and a width of 2.4 mm to 3.0 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the
time the invention was made to modify the accommodation groove of Kim to have the length of 10 mm to 13 mm and the width of 2.4 mm to 3.0 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation is to ensure the accommodation groove is large enough to support the wick having the suitable size according to desired application.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses an aerosol generating device (aerosol generation device 100; fig. 6) comprising:
the vaporizer (vaporizer 130; fig. 6) (para. 0091);
a battery (battery 110) configured to supply power to the vaporizer (para. 0096); and
a controller (controller 120) configured to control the power supplied to the vaporizer from the battery (para. 0097).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the aerosol generating device (aerosol generation device 100; fig. 6), further comprising:
a housing (cigarette 200; fig. 6) including a space (space within the cigarette to accommodate an aerosol-generating material) in which an aerosol generating article (aerosol-generating material) is accommodated (para. 0118); and
a heater (heater 140) configured to heat the aerosol generating article accommodated in the housing (para. 0099).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Kim (US 20210127742) and Angell (US 20210378306) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Tasselli (US 20240008536)
Regarding Claim 3, the modification does not disclose the wick has a length of 8.3 mm to 9.7 mm.
However, Tasselli discloses the wick (wick) has a length of 8.3 mm to 9.7 mm (at least 5 mm) (para. 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wick of Kim to have the length of 8.3 mm to 9.7 mm as taught by Tasselli, because it is conventionally known to have the wick having the indicated length in the aerosol generating device to ensure the aerosol generating material is conveyed along the length of the wick from one end of the wick to the other end of the wick.
Regarding Claim 4, the modification does not disclose an uncompressed diameter of the wick is 2.4 mm to 2.6 mm, and a compression diameter of the wick is 1.85 mm to 2.15 mm.
However, Tasselli discloses an uncompressed diameter of the wick (wick) is 2.4 mm to 2.6 mm (0.5 mm to 10 mm) (para. 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wick of Kim to have the diameter of 2.4 mm to 2.6 mm as taught by Tasselli, because it is conventionally known to have the wick having the indicated diameter in aerosol generating device according to desired application.
Regarding the limitation “a compression diameter of the wick is 1.85 mm to 2.15 mm”, Tasselli discloses the wick having the diameter 0.5 mm to 10 mm i.e. 2.5 mm. Upon a small amount of force being applied to the wick, the wick is compressed to a slightly smaller diameter i.e. 2.0 mm, which is within the claimed range 1.85 mm to 2.15 mm.
Response to Amendment
With respect to notification of 112f: since amendments made to the claims, therefore the 112f notification are withdrawn.
With respect to claim objections: since amendment made to claim 9, therefore the claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are respectfully considered moot in view of new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761