DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the ground of rejection applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the separate trip trays” is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the separate trip trays” is interpreted to the coffee drip tray and the steam drip tray.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 20210169265) in view of Antrag (DE 102013010110).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson teaches a coffee machine (beverage dispensing apparatus 100) comprising:
a coffee extraction module with a dispensing spout (dispensing outlet 204) and a supporting body (housing 110);
a platform (movable support member 202) for detachable connection with the supporting body (housing 110) at a plurality of different spacings beneath the dispensing spout (dispensing outlet 204) (See figs.15-18);
a coffee drip tray (base member 201) positionable beneath the dispensing spout (dispensing outlet 204), the coffee drip tray (base member 201) having a support surface (surface of cover 206);
wherein the support surface of the coffee drip tray is configured to receive the platform (movable support member 202) such that the support surface and the platform are substantially co-planar (See figs.1-3, movable support member 202 and surface of cover 206 are substantially co-planar.) ,
wherein the platform (movable support member 202) and the coffee drip tray (base member 201) are configured to engage and disengage from the supporting body via horizontal relative movement (See figures, operator can engage and disengage base member 201 and movable support member 202 from the housing 110).
Thompson does not explicitly teach a steam module for frothing milk, the steam module having a steam wand; and a steam drip tray positionable beneath the steam wand, and wherein the coffee drip tray is separately formed from the steam drip tray and movable relative to the steam drip tray, allowing the separate trip trays to be individually emptied and cleaned.
However, Antrag teaches in the same field of endeavor of a coffee machine, comprising a steam module for frothing milk, the steam module having a steam wand (steam wand; see the annotation of fig.1); and a steam drip tray (steam drip tray; see the annotation of fig.1) positionable beneath the steam wand (steam wand), and a coffee drip tray (drip tray 6) is separately formed from the steam drip tray (steam drip tray) and movable relative to the steam drip tray (steam drip tray) (drip tray 6 is capable to separate from steam drip tray and movable relative to steam drip tray.), allowing the separate trip trays to be individually emptied and cleaned [Examiner’s note: the stream drip tray and the coffee drip can be individually emptied and cleaned by operator.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify coffee drip tray of Thompson by adding a steam wand and a steam drip that capable to separate from a coffee drip tray as taught by Antrag, in order to froth milk to provide better flavor to the drink and reduce risk of soiling.
Regarding claim 2, Thompson teaches the support surface of the coffee drip tray is adapted to receive a receptacle [Examiner’s note: This is an intended function of the support surface. The surface of cover 206 is capable to receive a receptacle.], the support surface having apertures (apertures 208) and a reservoir (cavity 294) for collecting liquid draining through the apertures (see figs).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson teaches the platform (movable support member 202) is adapted to support the receptacle beneath the dispensing spout [Examiner’s note: This is an intended function of the platform. movable support member 202 is capable to support a receptacle beneath the dispensing outlet 204.]
Regarding claim 4, Thompson teaches the platform (movable support member 202) is a movable cup support configured to detachably engage the coffee drip tray (base member 201) (See fig.4).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson teaches the supporting body (housing 110) of the coffee extraction module has a series of connection points for detachable inter-engagement with the cup support (movable support member 202) to provide the plurality of different spacings beneath the spout (See figures and para.[0073] “the engagement of the anti-rotation feature 331 in the vertically extending recess 101 (or guide track) prevents rotation of the outer telescoping element 212 and restricts its movement path to a purely vertical translation, preventing rotation.” The recess 101 of housing 110 has a series of connection points that capable to detachable inter-engagement with the movable support member 202.)
Claims 6-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Thompson and Antrag in view of Luippold (US 2011/0259200).
Regarding claims 6-7, the modification of Thompson and Antrag does not explicitly teach the connection points are sockets in the supporting body, wherein the cup support has a protrusion shaped for insertion in any of the sockets such that the platform is substantially horizontal; wherein the sockets include a lower socket disposed adjacent a lower surface of the supporting body, and wherein the protrusion of the cup support is horizontally slidable into the lower socket.
However, Luippold teaches in the same field of endeavor of a coffee machine, comprising a supporting body (housing region 2) has a series of connection points (openings 9 and 9′) that are sockets in the supporting body (see fig.4), wherein a cup support (support assembly 4) has a protrusion (bracket 8) shaped for insertion in any of the sockets such that the platform is substantially horizontal (See fig.4); wherein the sockets (openings 9 and 9′) include a lower socket (openings 9′) disposed adjacent a lower surface of the supporting body (housing region 2), and wherein the protrusion of the cup support is horizontally slidable into the lower socket (See fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the coffee machine of the modification of Thompson and Antrag by replacing the supporting body and cup support with a supporting body has a series of sockets and a cup support has a protrusion shaped for insertion in any of the sockets as taught by Luippold, in order to easily adapt drinks vessels of different sizes, and therefore significantly reducing risk of soiling (para.[0007] of Luippod).
Regarding claim 12, Thompson and Antrag teaches the coffee drip tray (base member 201 of Thompson) is detachably engageable with a platform (movable support member 202 of Thompson) (see fig.4 of Thompson), but does not explicitly teach the coffee drip tray and the platform are both positionable at the plurality of different spacings beneath the spout.
However, Luippold teaches in the same field of endeavor of a coffee machine, comprising the coffee drip tray (collection device 7) and the platform (rest surface 5) are both positionable at the plurality of different spacings beneath the spout (see fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the coffee machine of Thompson and Antrag by replacing the coffee drip tray and platform with a supporting body has a series of sockets and a cup support has a protrusion shaped for insertion in any of the sockets as taught by Luippold, in order to easily adapt drinks vessels of different sizes, and therefore significantly reducing risk of soiling (para.[0007] of Luippold).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761