Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Mitsubishi (JP H07 223589 A; cited by Applicant). With respect to claim 1, Mitsubishi discloses the underwater charging arrangement with first and second connectors, the first connector 37 coupled to a daughter craft 31 and the second connector 16 coupled to a mother craft 1, the first and second connectors arranged to couple underwater to facilitate the transfer of energy from the mother ship to the daughter ship. With respect to claims 2, 6, 8, note Mitsubishi, Figure 1.
Claim(s) 3-7, 12-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubishi (JP H07 223589 A; cited by Applicant) in view of Clabburn et al (WO 2022/254184 A1; cited by Applicant). With respect to claims 3-7, 12-14,16-19, Mitsubishi does not disclose a tether. Clabburn et al show a tether and drogue (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mitsubishi with a tether deployed from the mother craft and drogue as taught by Clabburn et al with a high likelihood of success for ease of remote connection. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive underwater marine systems would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious. With respect to claims 5, 7, note Clabburn et al, Figure 7.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubishi (JP H07 223589 A; cited by Applicant) in view of Coats et al (US 2010/0010703). With respect to claim 9, Mitsubishi does not disclose sonar. Coats et al teach sonar (paragraph 0017). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mitsubishi with a sonar system as taught by Coats et al with a high likelihood of success for ease of connection. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive underwater marine systems would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubishi (JP -H07 223589 A; cited by Applicant) in view of Phielipeit-Spiess et al (WO 2017/153580). With respect to claims 10-11, Mitsubishi does not disclose an actuator and wet mate connector. Phielipeit-Spiess et al teach an actuator and wet mate connectors (paragraph 0027). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mitsubishi with an actuator and wet mate connector as taught by Phielipeit-Spiess et al with a high likelihood of success for ease of connection. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive underwater marine systems would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubishi (JP -H07 223589 A; cited by Applicant) in view of Apostolides (EP 2972170). With respect to claim 15, Mitsubishi does not disclose an oil purge connector. Apostolides teaches an oil purge connector (column 2, line 31). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mitsubishi with an oil purge connector as taught by Apostolides with a high likelihood of success for ease of connection. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive underwater marine systems would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubishi (JP H07 223589 A; cited by Applicant) in view of Clabburn et al (WO 2022/254184 A1; cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Coats et al (US 2010/0010703). With respect to claim 20, Mitsubishi does not disclose sonar. Coats et al teach sonar (paragraph 0017). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mitsubishi with a sonar system as taught by Coats et al with a high likelihood of success for ease of connection. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive underwater marine systems would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huntsman (US 2003/0167998) show an underwater vehicle.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615