DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1, 8-13, 15-19, 21-23, and 29-30) in the reply filed on 04 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that serious burden has not been shown to be required to examine all of the claims. This is not found persuasive because a showing of serious burden is not required for unity of invention practice.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 24, 35, and 40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04 February 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of species multi-arm poly(ethylene glycol)-maleimide polymer backbone and ethylene glycol bis(mercaptoacetate) first crosslinker in the reply filed on 04 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that serious burden has not been shown to be required to examine all of the species. This is not found persuasive because a showing of serious burden is not required for unity of invention practice.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Species other than those elected are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04 February 2026.
Claims 1, 8-13, 15-19, 21-23, and 29-30 are under current consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-13, 15-19, 21-23, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott et al. (WO 2020/247776 A1; published 10 December 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Ott et al. discloses hydrogel microparticles fabricated from polymer precursors such as polyethylene glycol maleimide or multi-arm varieties thereof (page 8 lines 26-33) wherein the polymer is crosslinked with crosslinking agents such as ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate (claim 4). Although Ott et al. does not disclose a particular embodiment comprising all such elements, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. with multi-arm polyethylene glycol maleimide polymer and with ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate crosslinking agent, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed hydrogel comprising the elected polymer backbone of multi-arm poly(ethylene glycol)-maleimide crosslinked with the elected first crosslinker of ethylene glycol bis(mercaptoacetate).
Regarding dependent claims 8-13 and 15-16, such claims merely further limit the polymer backbone and/or first crosslinker, and the teachings of Ott et al. read on such claims as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 17-19, Ott et al. discloses that the polymer can be crosslinked with combinations of crosslinking agents including dithiothreitol (claim 4), and thus it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow such suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. as discussed above further crosslinked with a second crosslinker of dithiothreitol (i.e., a hydrolytically stable crosslinker), with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed polymer backbone further crosslinked with a second crosslinker which is hydrolytically stable comprising dithiothreitol.
Regarding dependent claim 21, Ott et al. discloses that the hydrogel microparticles a for delivery at a site of implantation (abstract), and thus it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow such suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. as discussed above implantable, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed hydrogel being implantable.
Regarding dependent claim 22, Ott et al. discloses hydrogel microparticles (abstract), which reads on the claimed hydrogel being in the form of a microparticle.
Regarding dependent claim 23, Ott et al. discloses that the hydrogel microparticles comprise a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein (abstract), and thus it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow such suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. as discussed above with a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed hydrogel further comprising at least one cell.
Regarding dependent claims 29-30, Ott et al. discloses compositions containing the hydrogel microparticles which comprise a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein (abstract), and thus it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow such suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make compositions containing the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. as discussed above with a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed therapeutic delivery composition comprising the hydrogel and one or more therapeutic agents such as cells.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617