DETAILED ACTION
Status
Applicant’s response dated 15 June 2026 to the previous Office action dated 30 March 2026 is acknowledged. Pursuant to amendments therein, claims 1, 8-13, 15, 19, 21-24, 29-30, 35, and 40 are pending in the application.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 made in the previous Office action is withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments, but a new (modified) rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made herein in view of applicant’s claim amendments.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 24, 35, and 40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04 February 2026.
Species other than multi-arm poly(ethylene glycol)-maleimide polymer backbone and ethylene glycol bis(mercaptoacetate) first crosslinker are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04 February 2026.
Claims 1, 8-13, 15, 19, 21-23, and 29-30 are under current consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-13, 15, 19, 21-23, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott et al. (WO 2020/247776 A1; published 10 December 2020; of record).
Regarding claim 1, Ott et al. discloses hydrogel microparticles fabricated from polymer precursors such as polyethylene glycol maleimide or multi-arm varieties thereof (page 8 lines 26-33) wherein the polymer is crosslinked with crosslinking agents such as ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate and dithiothreitol and combinations thereof (claim 4) wherein BMA (ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate) is a hydrolytically degradable crosslinker and DTT (dithiothreitol) is a hydrolytically stable crosslinker (page 46 line 25 to page 47 line 10). Although Ott et al. does not disclose a particular embodiment comprising all such elements, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. with multi-arm polyethylene glycol maleimide polymer and with a combination of hydrolytically degradable ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate and hydrolytically stable dithiothreitol as crosslinking agents, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed hydrogel comprising the elected polymer backbone of multi-arm poly(ethylene glycol)-maleimide crosslinked with the elected first hydrolytically degradable crosslinker of ethylene glycol bis(mercaptoacetate) and second hydrolytically stable crosslinker of dithiothreitol.
Regarding dependent claims 8-13 and 15, such claims merely further limit the polymer backbone and/or first crosslinker, and the teachings of Ott et al. read on such claims as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Ott et al. discloses that the polymer can be crosslinked with combinations of crosslinking agents including dithiothreitol (claim 4) and that dithiothreitol is a hydrolytically stable crosslinker (page 46 line 25 to page 47 line 10), as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 21, Ott et al. discloses that the hydrogel microparticles a for delivery at a site of implantation (abstract), and thus it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow such suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. as discussed above implantable, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed hydrogel being implantable.
Regarding dependent claim 22, Ott et al. discloses hydrogel microparticles (abstract), which reads on the claimed hydrogel being in the form of a microparticle.
Regarding dependent claim 23, Ott et al. discloses that the hydrogel microparticles comprise a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein (abstract), and thus it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow such suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. as discussed above with a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed hydrogel further comprising at least one cell.
Regarding dependent claims 29-30, Ott et al. discloses compositions containing the hydrogel microparticles which comprise a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein (abstract), and thus it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow such suggestions of Ott et al. as discussed above and to make compositions containing the hydrogel microparticles of Ott et al. as discussed above with a therapeutically-effective amount of cells entrapped therein, with a reasonable expectation of success, which reads on the claimed therapeutic delivery composition comprising the hydrogel and one or more therapeutic agents such as cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ott et al. does not consider or exemplify a combination of hydrolytically degradable and hydrolytically stable crosslinker (remarks page 6). In response, Ott et al. specifically claims a crosslinking agent combination that can include dithiothreitol and ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate (claim 4) and discloses that ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate is a hydrolytically degradable crosslinker and dithiothreitol is a hydrolytically stable crosslinker (page 46 line 25 to page 47 line 10).
Applicant argues that the claimed hydrogel has the unexpected advantage of tunability by varying molar ratios of hydrolytically degradable and hydrolytically stable crosslinkers which surprisingly allows the hydrogel to be customized for a specific release profile whereas Ott et al. describes tunability because of core-shell spherification (CSS) (remarks page 7). In response, as discussed above, Ott et al. specifically claims a crosslinking agent combination that can include dithiothreitol and ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate (claim 4) and discloses that ethylene glycol bis-mercaptoacetate is a hydrolytically degradable crosslinker and dithiothreitol is a hydrolytically stable crosslinker (page 46 line 25 to page 47 line 10), and moreover Ott et al. also discloses using species of crosslinkers to control hydrolytic lability and therefore degradation rates (page 47 lines 14-21) and also discloses that the crosslinking is part of the CSS process (page 24 lines 26-30), and thus applicant’s assertion of unexpected advantage does not appear to be unexpected. The burden is on applicant to establish that results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance, per MPEP 716.02(b). Such evidence of unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention per MPEP 716.02(d), and must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art (or closer) per MPEP 716.02(e).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617