DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 1 line 12, the acronym PE should read protective earth (PE) in parentheses.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 11 line 2, the word “PE” should read --protective earth (PE)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holger (DE19945317A1).
With regard to claim 1, Holger teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 4 lines 1-15: “A contact insert 1, 2, 3, and 4 for an industrial plug connector, the contact insert comprising: a connection side 2 for the connection of individual conductors (wires connecting to the right end of 4 in figure 1)… and a contact side 1 for electrical connection to a mating plug connector or a socket (contact part counterpart, as described on page 4 lines 1-4), wherein, on the connection side 2, n connection openings (where 4 extend into 2 in figure 1) are provided for the conductors… wherein, on the contact side 1, m contact openings (where 4 are received in 1 in figure 1) are provided to allow access to a mating contact element of the mating plug connector or the socket (contact part counterparts as described on page 4 lines 9-15), wherein n and m are natural numbers and m is greater than n”.
Holger does not specifically teach the individual conductors being of a multi-strand cable. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use individual conductors strands from a multi-strand cable in order to keep the conductors close before connecting to the contact insert. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
With regard to claim 2, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 4 lines 1-15: “wherein the contact insert comprises at least one contact element 4 having a connection region for electrical connection to a conductor of the… cable and a contact region for electrical contacting of the mating contact element of the mating plug connector or the socket, wherein the connection region of the contact element 4 is arranged in one or the connection openings on the connection side 2 of the contact insert and the contact region of the contact elements is arranged in one of the contact openings on the contact side 1 of the contact insert”.
With regard to claim 3, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 2, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the contact element 4 is designed as a socket contact”.
With regard to claim 5, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 4 lines 1-15: “wherein the contact insert has a bridge contact 3 having exactly one connection region (roughly upper-right side of 3 in figure 1) for electrical connection to a conductor of the cable… and at least two contact regions (left side of 4 in figure 1) for respective electrical contacting of a respective mating contact element of the mating plug connector or the socket”.
With regard to claim 6, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 4 lines 1-15: “wherein the bridge contact 3 has at least three contact regions for respective electrical contacting of the respective mating contact element of the mating plug connector or the socket”.
With regard to claim 7, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 4 lines 1-17: “wherein the bridge contact 3 is formed from a metal plate wherein at least two contact regions are attached on one side (left side in figure 1) of the metal plate, and wherein exactly one connection region is attached on an other side (right side in figure 1) of the metal plate, so that the contact regions and the one connection region are electrically conductively connected to one another via the metal plate”.
With regard to claim 11, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 1 last 3 lines: “wherein the contact insert has a PE contact (taught on page 1 last 3 lines)”.
With regard to claim 12, Holger teaches: “…and a contact insert according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “A system, comprising: a plug connector housing 1 and 2”.
With regard to claim 13, Holger teaches: “The system according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Holger does not teach: “wherein the plug connector housing comprises plastic”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention form the plug connector housing since plastic is well-known in the art for making insulating housings and enables forming the housings into specific shapes. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holger (DE19945317A1) in view of Frey (2,769,965).
With regard to claim 4, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 2, as shown above.
Holger does not specifically teach: “wherein the connection region is designed as a crimp connection”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use crimp connections to connect to wire strands since crimping is a well-known method and would enable the contact to hold electrical connection to the wire strand (see e.g., Frey, figures 1-4 and column 1 lines 16-25).
Claims 8-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holger (DE19945317A1) in view of Takeshi et al. (WO0128041A1).
With regard to claim 8, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 7”, as shown above.
Holger does not teach: “wherein the contact regions are riveted to the metal plate”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Takeshi teaches, as shown in figure 8 and taught in the Abstract: “wherein the contact regions 30 are riveted to the metal plate 40”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Takeshi with the invention of Holger in order to hold the contact onto the plate (Takeshi, Abstract).
With regard to claim 9, Holger teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 7”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 4 lines 1-17: “wherein the connection region of the bridge contact 3 comprises a pin contact 4… and a socket contact element (wires connecting to the right end of 4 in figure 1) plugged onto the pin contact 4”.
Holger does not teach the pin contact “riveted to the metal plate”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Takeshi teaches, as shown in figures 5-8 and taught in the Abstract, the pin contact 30 “riveted to the metal plate 40”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Takeshi with the invention of Holger in order to hold the contact onto the plate (Takeshi, Abstract).
With regard to claim 10, Holger as modified by Takeshi teaches: “The contact insert according to claim 9”, as shown above.
Holger also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 4 lines 1-17: “wherein the socket contact element of the bridge contact 4 is identical to the remaining contact elements 4 of the contact insert”.
With regard to claim 14, Holger teaches: “…a system according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Holger does not teach: “A module for modular plug connectors, comprising… wherein the module can be inserted into a module holding frame that can be mounted in a modular manner”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Takeshi teaches, as shown in figures 6-7: “A module 21 for modular plug connectors 30 and 40, comprising… wherein the module 21 can be inserted into a module holding 20 frame that can be mounted in a modular manner”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Takeshi with the invention of Holger in order to hold multiple plug connectors together.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831