DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO Publication WO 2020/095196 to Clement et al. cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 22 November 2023 (herein Clement).
Regarding claim 1, Clement teaches a method for producing a coated panel (abstract) wherein the panel comprises at least a substrate and a top layer having a décor layer and a wear layer corresponding to the substrate material, decorative layer, and thermosetting resin recited in the instant claims (page 3, lines 1-7). Clement teaches that the wear layer is formed from a thermally cured acrylate resin and/or a thermally cured unsaturated polyester resin (page 3, lines 1-7). Clement teaches that the décor layer comprises a carrier sheet (page 9, lines 27-28) that can be saturated with a polyurethane to improve adhesion (page 12, lines 1-12) wherein the polyurethane corresponds to the adhesive material recited in the instant claims. Clement teaches that the substrate can be made of a synthetic material such as polyvinyl chloride (herein PVC) or polyurethane (page 29, lines 10-15) that can be extruded in-line with the coated panel production process (page 49, lines 1-5). Clement teaches that the joining of the layers can be a continuous process (page 17, lines 27-30).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Clement teaches that the décor layer and the wear layer can be formed and the thermally cured acrylate resin and/or thermally cured unsaturated polyester resin can be at least partially cured by means of hot pressing (page 16, line 23 – page 17, line 3).
Regarding claim 3, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Clement teaches a décor layer and a wear layer wherein the décor layer can be a paper sheet (page 9, lines 27-28).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Clement teaches that the décor layer carrier sheet is saturated with a polyurethane (page 12, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 7, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Clement teaches that the monomers used to form the adhesion promoting polyurethane are absorbed into the substrate (page 14, lines 1-3).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Clement teaches that a polyurethane can be used to improve adhesion (page 12, lines 1-12) and the substrate can be made of a synthetic material such as polyurethane (page 29, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 12, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Figs 1 and 2 of Clement show flooring panels made from the coated panels via separating the coated panel and providing the flooring panels with a mechanical coupling means along the edges (page 44, lines 11-29).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clement.
Regarding claim 13, Clement teaches a coated panel (abstract) wherein the panel comprises at least a substrate and a top layer corresponding to the laminated decorative material recited in the instant claims having a décor layer and a wear layer corresponding to the decorative layer and thermosetting resin recited in the instant claims (page 3, lines 1-7). Clement teaches that the wear layer is formed from a thermally cured acrylate resin and/or a thermally cured unsaturated polyester resin (page 3, lines 1-7). Clement teaches that the décor layer comprises a carrier sheet made from a paper sheet (page 9, lines 27-28) that can be saturated with a polyurethane to improve adhesion (page 12, lines 1-12) corresponding to the polymeric material recited in the instant claims.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clement.
Regarding claim 15¸Clement teaches a method for producing a coated panel (abstract) wherein the panel comprises at least a substrate and a top layer having a décor layer and a wear layer (page 3, lines 1-7). Clement teaches that the wear layer is formed from a thermally cured acrylate resin and/or a thermally cured unsaturated polyester resin (page 3, lines 1-7). Clement teaches that the décor layer comprises a carrier sheet (page 9, lines 27-28) that can be saturated with a polyurethane to improve adhesion (page 12, lines 1-12). Clement teaches that the substrate can be formed from textile layers such as spunbond nonwoven layers and that the coated panel can be produced by hot pressing the substrate, décor layer, and wear layer (page 29, line 29 – page 30, line 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement as applied above.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above
Clement teaches that the substrate can be a composite formed from filled PVC wherein the filler is calcium carbonate wherein the filler content is as much as 80 to 85 wt% of the composite and the plasticizer content of the composite is less than 5 wt%, i.e. the PVC and filler amount to greater than 95 wt% of the substrate, (page 29, lines 10-19) which overlaps the claimed range. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 14, Clement teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above.
Clement teaches that the wear layer has a coating weight of 10 to 300 gsm (page 15, lines 13-15) and the polyurethane adhesion promoter has a coating weight 10 to 20 gsm (page 12, lines 26-29). Combining these two coating weights yields a ratio that overlaps the claimed range. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Contact Information
/ZACHARY M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783