Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "grip accessory" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 depends from claim 1, which does not introduce the grip accessory, so there is no antecedent basis for this feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loh et al (US 10,790,869 B1)
Regarding claim 1, Loh discloses a case for a foldable portable electronic device, the case comprising:
a first case body half; a second case body half, and a hinge covering structure connecting the first case body half to the second case body half, wherein the hinge covering structure is configured to cover and protect at least a portion of a hinge of the foldable portable electronic device, wherein the case is configured to fold along the hinge covering structure from an open position to a folded position. [Col. 7 lines 15-34]
Regarding claim 2, Loh discloses the case of claim 1, wherein the hinge covering structure is essentially flush with the first case body half and the second case body half when the case is in the open position. [Figs 10-11 show that the hinge cover portion 120 is covered by the side portions, making it substantially flush with the body halves]
Regarding claim 3, Loh discloses the case of claim 1, wherein the hinge covering structure separates the first case body half and the second case body half by a distance when the case is in the open position. [Fig. 10 portions of the side halves are separated when the case is open]
Regarding claim 4, Loh discloses the case of claim 1, wherein the first case body half and the second case body are in physical contact when the case is in the open position. [Fig 10-11 portions or the entire side of the side halves are in contact when opened]
Regarding claim 5, Loh discloses the case of claim 4, wherein the hinge covering structure is disposed entirely within the first case body half and the second case body half when the case is in the open position. [Figs. 10-11 show that the hinge cover 120 is concealed when the case is open]
Regarding claim 11, Loh discloses the case of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first case body half and the second case body half comprises a recess for receiving the hinge covering structure. [Figs. 10-11 show that the hinge cover 120 is concealed when the case is open]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Ching (EP 3 759 826 B1)
Regarding claim 6, Loh discloses the case of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose in the first case body half or the second case body half is further configured with a grip accessory. Ching discloses a phone case with an accessory that allow the user to better grip the phone. [Figs 1-3; 0013] Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an grip accessory to allow a user to better hold and safely use a phone and prevent dropping and loss or breakage,
Regarding claim 7, The case of claim 6, wherein the grip accessory is expandable and collapsible. {Fig. 1-3, 0013, the strap expands and collapses}
Regarding claim 8, The case of claim 1, wherein the grip accessory is disposed on a slidable platform configured to be moveable along a length of the case. [Fig. 1-3 , 0013 the strap slides along the length of the case in the accessory holder]
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Le Gette (US 2012/0199501 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Loh discloses the case of claim 1, but does not disclose that a wherein the hinge covering structure is configured to fold away from the case in the open position so as to form a stand that maintains the foldable portable electronic device on a surface in an upright or angled position. Le Gette discloses an analogous phone case wherein a portion of the cover is usable as a kick stand to support an upright or angle position. [0183, Fig. 3A] Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a hinge covering structure is configured to fold away from the case in the open position so as to form a stand that maintains the foldable portable electronic device on a surface in an upright or angled position to allow for hands free use and comfortable viewing.
Regarding claim 10, Loh discloses the case of claim 1,but does not expressly discloses fabric or a flexible strap. Le Gette discloses an analogous phone case wherein the case comprises a flexible strap [03307] and a fabric back cover. [0384]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a strap to help prevent dropping and losing a phone, and to use fabric for aesthetics and/or comfort.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Bergreen (US 2016/0198823 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Loh discloses the case of claim 1, wherein the case comprises a bumper disposed around a periphery of the foldable portable electronic device, [item 74 and others surrounding the device] but does not disclose that the bumper comprises an interlocking ridge having alternating extensions and recesses that interconnect when the case is in the folded position. Bergreen discloses an analogous folding case wherein the edge bumpers comprise an interlocking ridge having alternating extensions and recesses that interconnect when the case is in the folded position. [0026] Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use interlocking ridges and recess that interconnect when folded in order to form a better seal to better protect the phone and potentially keep out water.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for further state of art references related to phone cases and grip accessories.
/LEWIS G WEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699