DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0368183).
Regarding claim 1, Adams discloses a screed plug (20, Figs. 1-6) for placement in an open end of a conduit (10), the screed plug comprising a rigid top plate (26, Fig. 3); a second surface (approximate 40); and at least one side wall (surface of 30) extending between the top plate and the second surface; a recess (51a, 51b, 51c) formed in the top plate; and a handle (50a, 50b, 50c) for manipulating the screed plug, the handle being houseable within the recess and being reversibly movable from at least a first position within the recess and a second position projecting from the recess (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Adams discloses at least a part of the at least one side wall comprises a resiliently deformable material for engaging an internal wall of the conduit to hinder movement of the screed plug relative to the conduit (Para [0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Adams discloses the resiliently deformable material hinders movement of the screed plug relative to the conduit due to an interference fit between the at least one side wall and the internal wall of the conduit (Para [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Adams discloses a body (30) bounded at least partially by the top plate (26), the second surface (approximate 40) and at least a part of the at least one side wall (surface of 30).
Regarding claim 5, Adams discloses the body comprises a resiliently deformable material (Para [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Adams discloses the resiliently deformable material is formed from rubber (Para [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Adams discloses the handle is in the form of a screw having a head and a shaft and the handle is moved from the first position to the second position by rotating the handle (50a, 50b, 50c; Fig. 3, Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Adams discloses a receiving member (53a, 53b, 53c) into or onto which the shaft of the handle is reversibly screwed (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Adams discloses a bottom plate (40), a bottom surface (approximate 40) of the bottom plate forming part of the second surface (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Adams discloses a screed plug (20, Figs. 1-6) for placement in an open end of a conduit (60), the screed plug comprising a rigid top plate (26); a second surface (approximate 40); and at least one side wall (approximate 30) extending between the top plate and the second surface; a recess (51a-c) formed in the top plate; a body (30) bounded at least partially by the top plate, the second surface and at least a part of the at least one side wall, and a handle (50a-c) for manipulating the screed plug, the handle being houseable within the recess and being reversibly movable from at least a first position within the recess and a second position projecting from the recess (Figs. 1 and 3, Para [0029]), wherein at least a part of the at least one side wall comprises a resiliently deformable material (Para [0041]) for engaging an internal wall of the conduit to hinder movement of the screed plug relative to the conduit.
Regarding claim 27, Adams discloses a screed plug (20, Figs. 1-6) for placement in an open end of a conduit (60), the screed plug comprising a rigid top plate (26); a second surface (approximate 40); and at least one side wall (approximate 30) extending between the top plate and the second surface; a recess (51a-c) formed in the top plate; a handle (50a-c) for manipulating the screed plug, the handle being houseable within the recess and being reversibly movable from at least a first position within the recess and a second position projecting from the recess (Figs. 1 and 3, Para [0029]), and a body (30) bounded at least partially by the top plate, the second surface and at least a part of the at least one side wall, wherein the handle is in the form of a screw having a head and a shaft and the handle is moved from the first position to the second position by rotating the handle (Para [0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633