DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2015/0108449) (hereafter “Huang”).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-11, Huang teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0051]-[0058]) (claims 7-9 and 11). Huang teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (paragraph [0055]) (claims 9 and 10). Huang teaches that the host material can be
,
, and
are few examples (paragraphs [0016] and [0021]) (claims 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al. (US 2011/0240983) (hereafter “Sekiguchi”) in view of Begley et al. (US 2009/0108734) (hereafter “Begley”).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 11, Sekiguchi teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and cathode (paragraphs [0131]-[0141]) (claims 7, 8, and 11). Sekiguchi teaches that the light emitting layer can comprise a fluoranthene compound (paragraphs [0028] and [0137]) (claims 1-6). Sekiguchi teaches that the fluoranthene compound can have the following structure,
(paragraph [0028]) (claims 1-6). Sekiguchi teaches that the fluoranthene compound can be further substituted (paragraphs [0016]-[0019]). Sekiguchi teaches benzoflouranthene compounds with additional substitution,
and
(paragraph [0028]).
Sekiguchi does not specifically teach a compound that meets the applicant’s claimed compound.
Begley teaches substituted fluoranthene for use in electroluminescent devices (paragraph [0049]). Begley teaches that the fluoranthene compound can have the following substitution,
(paragraph [0049]). Begley teaches that the 7,10-diphenyl-fluoranthene compounds show better properties than the corresponding benzofluoranthene compounds (paragraphs [0024]-[0028] and [0337]-[0352]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Sekiguchi, so the compound is substituted at the 7 and 10 position with phenyl groups, as taught by Begley. The motivation would have been to improve operational stability. This would lead to applicant’s compound 115J.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al. (US 2015/0236273) teaches compounds that meet the applicant’s claimed formula.
Wu et al. (WO 2015/061074) teaches compounds that meet the applicant’s claimed formula.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759