DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,599,971. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a substrate and a α-alumina layer with a portion O1 within 1 µm from the bonding layer which exhibits Schmid factors for the {0001}<11-20> slip system having >90% of an analyzed area being between 0.4-0.5. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘971 patent which recites a cutting tool of a substrate including a Ti(C,N) layer, bonding layer, and Al2O3 layer where the Ti(C,N) layer has a thickness of 3-25 µm being composed of columnar grains with an average size D422 of 25-50 nm as measured and a portion B1 having an average grain size larger than D422 of 140-300 nm within 0.5 µm of the bonding layer.
The claims of the ‘971 patent do not expressly recited the claimed Schmid factor. However, the instant specification states where the α-alumina layer is deposited at 1000 °C and 55 mbar in two steps where the first step uses 1.2 vol.% AlCl3, 4.7 vol.% CO2, 1.8 vol% HCl and balance H2 giving a thickness of about 0.1 µm and the second step uses 1.16 vol.% AlCl3, 4.65 vol.% CO2, 2.91 vol% HCl, 0.58 vol.% H2S, and balance H2 giving a thickness of about 5 µm (Specification p.15, 1st paragraph). This method is substantially identical to that which is disclosed in the ‘971 patent (Column 9 lines 16-23). As such, one would reasonably expect the α-alumina layer of the ‘971 patent to possess the claimed Schmid factor as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.02. As such, the instant claims and those of the ‘971 patent are obvious in view of one another.
Instant claim 2 recites D422 and B1 portion sizes overlapping claim 1 of the ‘971 patent. See MPEP 2144.05. Instant claim 3 recites a TC(0 0 12) range overlapping claim 7 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 4 recites a TC(110) range overlapping claim 8 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 5 recites an average thickness overlapping claim 6 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 6 recites a Kikuchi Diffraction expected to overlap with claim 1 of the ‘971 patent per applicant’s disclosed method of formation on pp. 13-14 of the originally filed specification being substantially identical to that of the ‘971 patent (Tables 1-3). Instant claim 7 recites a thickness of B1 overlapping claim 2 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 8 recites a TC(422) overlapping claim 5 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 9 recites a TC(422) grain size overlapping claim 4 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 10 recites a thickness overlapping claim 10 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 11 recites bonding layer materials overlapping claim 3 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 12 recites a bonding layer thickness overlapping claim 11 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 13 recites an average thickness overlapping claim 12 of the ‘971 patent. Instant claim 14 recites substrate materials overlapping claim 13 of the ‘971 patent.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 12-15 of copending Application No. 18/563,259 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a substrate and a α-alumina layer with a portion O1 within 1 µm from the bonding layer which exhibits Schmid factors for the {0001}<11-20> slip system having >90% of an analyzed area being between 0.4-0.5. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘259 application which recites a cutting tool of a substrate including a Ti(C,N) layer, bonding layer, and Al2O3 layer where the Ti(C,N) layer has a thickness of 3-25 µm being composed of columnar grains with an average size D422 of 25-50 nm as measured and a portion B1 having an average grain size larger than D422 of 130-300 nm.
The claims of the ‘259 application do not expressly recited the claimed Schmid factor. However, the instant specification states where the α-alumina layer is deposited at 1000 °C and 55 mbar in two steps where the first step uses 1.2 vol.% AlCl3, 4.7 vol.% CO2, 1.8 vol% HCl and balance H2 giving a thickness of about 0.1 µm and the second step uses 1.16 vol.% AlCl3, 4.65 vol.% CO2, 2.91 vol% HCl, 0.58 vol.% H2S, and balance H2 giving a thickness of about 5 µm (Specification p.15, 1st paragraph). This method is substantially identical to that which is disclosed in the ‘259 application (specification p.15, 1st paragraph). As such, one would reasonably expect the α-alumina layer of the ‘259 application to possess the claimed Schmid factor as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.02. As such, the instant claims and those of the ‘259 application are obvious in view of one another.
Instant claim 2 recites D422 and B1 portion sizes overlapping claim 1 of the ‘259 application. See MPEP 2144.05. Instant claim 3 recites a TC(0 0 12) range overlapping claim 8 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 4 recites a TC(110) range overlapping claim 9 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 5 recites an average thickness overlapping claim 7 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 6 recites a Kikuchi Diffraction overlapping claim 2 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 7 recites a thickness of B1 overlapping claim 3 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 8 recites a TC(422) overlapping claim 6 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 9 recites a TC(422) grain size overlapping claim 5 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 10 recites a thickness overlapping claim 12 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 11 recites bonding layer materials overlapping claim 4 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 12 recites a bonding layer thickness overlapping claim 13 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 13 recites an average thickness overlapping claim 14 of the ‘259 application. Instant claim 14 recites substrate materials overlapping claim 15 of the ‘259 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 1 recites “the bonding layer” in line 3 of the claim, “the {0001}…with the normal force” in lines 4-5 of the claim (emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations. The issue at line 3 may be overcome by positively reciting a bonding layer. The issue at lines 4-5 may be overcome by amending to “a” for the objected to terms. Claims 2-14 are included in this rejection as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Claim 2 recites “includes… a layer of α-Al2O3…” and it is unclear if this is the same alumina layer recited in claim 1 or a further layer. The claim also recites “the peak” and “the reflection” and these phrases lack antecedent bases. Therefore the public is not appropriately appraised of the scope of the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the portion B1” in line 2 of the claim and “the Ti(C,N) layer” in lines 2 and 4 of the claim and these phrases lack antecedent bases. This may be overcome by amending to depend upon claim 2.
Claim 7 recites “the portion B1” in line 2 of the claim and “the Ti(C,N) layer” in line 2 of the claim and these phrases lack antecedent bases. This may be overcome by amending to depend upon claim 2.
Claim 8 recites “the Ti(C,N) layer” in line 2 of the claim and “the TC(hkl)” in line 3 of the claim and these phrases lack antecedent bases. This may be overcome by amending to positively recite a Ti(C,N) layer and “a TC(hkl).
Claim 9 recites “the grain size D422 of Ti(C,N)” and this phrase lacks antecedent basis. This may be overcome by amending to depend upon claim 2.
Claim 10 recites “the Ti(C,N) layer” and this phrase lack antecedent basis. This may be overcome by amending to depend upon claim 2.
Claims 11-12 recite “the bonding layer” and no bonding layer is positively recited in claim 1 so therefore this lacks antecedent basis. This may be overcome by amending claim 1 to positively recite a bonding layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lindahl et al. (US 2016/0175940).
Considering claim 1, Lindahl teaches a coated cutting tool (abstract) including examples of cemented carbide substrates (Paragraph 31) coated with a first TiN layer and then a MTCVD TiCN layer (Paragraph 32). This is subsequently coated with a bonding layer (Paragraph 33) and then with an α-Al2O3 layer (Paragraph 34). Lindahl does not expressly teach the claimed portion O1 of the α-Al2O3 layer exhibiting the claimed Schmid factor distribution.
However, Lindahl teaches the where the α-alumina layer is deposited at 1000 °C and 55 mbar in two steps where the first step uses 1.2 vol.% AlCl3, 4.7 vol.% CO2, 1.8 vol% HCl and balance H2 giving a thickness of about 0.1 µm α-Al2O3 and the second step uses 1.2-2.3 vol.% AlCl3, 4.5-4.7 vol.% CO2, 2.8-4.2 vol% HCl, 0.34-0.58 vol.% H2S, and balance H2 giving a thickness of about 5 µm (Paragraphs 34-38 and Table 3). These conditions are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicant as forming the claimed α-alumina layer (specification p.15, 1st paragraph). As such, one would reasonably expect the α-alumina layer of Lindahl to possess the claimed Schmid factor distribution as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.02. As such, the coated cutting tool taught by Lindahl is considered to anticipate and/or render obvious the claimed α-alumina coated cutting tool.
Considering claims 2 and 9, Lindahl does not expressly teach the claimed D422. However, Lindahl teaches where the inserts are coated with a first TiN layer of about 0.4 µm thickness and a 7 µm thick TiCN layer with a pressure of 55 mbar, and conditions changing as follows: a H2 volume of 59→81.5%, a N2 volume of 7.8→37.6%, a HCl volume of 0→7.8%, a TiCl4 volume of 2.95→2.38%, and a CH3CN volume of 0.45→0.65% (Paragraph 32; Table 1). These conditions are substantially identical to those which applicant discloses p.12 line 22 – p.13 line 3 and Table 1 of the originally filed specification including process steps X and Z.
As such, one would reasonably expect the coating of Lindahl to possess the claimed grain size D422 of the Ti(C,N) layer and of the B1 portion according to Scherrer’s equation as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.02.
Considering claim 3, Lindahl teaches examples of the α-alumina layer having a TC(00 12) of 7.6-7.7 (Table 4). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 4, Lindahl teaches where the (00 12) of the α-alumina layer is ≥7.2 and ≥7.5 and is calculated using hkl reflections including the (110) reflection (Paragraph 7) and as the TC(00 12) is taught to have an open-ended value greater than 7.2, etc. this is considered to teach where the other reflections used in the calculation may be as minimal as possible (e.g. approaching zero) and therefore is considered to overlap the claimed TC(110). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the α-alumina layer is 2-20 µm (Paragraph 11). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 6-7, Lindahl is silent regarding the portion B1 and <211> orientation and thickness thereof. However, as outlined above, Lindahl teaches a substantially identical coated cutting tool formed by a substantially identical manner as that which is claimed and disclosed and therefore these features are expected to be present, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 21112.
Considering claim 8, Lindahl teaches where the TC(422) of the TiCN layer is ≥3 (Paragraph 15) overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 10, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the Ti(C,N) layer is 4-20 µm (Paragraph 12). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 11, Lindahl teaches where the bonding layer is a titanium carboxide and carboxynitride (Paragraph 13).
Considering claim 12, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the bonding layer is 0.5-2 µm (Paragraph 13). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 13, Lindahl teaches where the thickness of the Ti(C,N) layer is 4-20 µm (Paragraph 12), the thickness of the bonding layer is 0.5-2 µm (Paragraph 13), and where the thickness of the α-alumina layer is 2-20 µm (Paragraph 11) resulting in an overall coating thickness of 6.5-42 µm. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 14, Lindahl teaches where the substrate is cemented carbide, cermet, or ceramic (Paragraph 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ruppi (US 6,221,469), Fukano et al. (US 2006/0222885), and Fukunaga et al. (US 2014/0017469) teach coated cutting tools demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784