DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-7, 13), species 4 (Fig. 4), subspecies E, subspecies 2 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 with traverse is acknowledged. Claims 6, 8-12, 14, 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, species, or subspecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the applicant alleges (p. 7) that “there is no basis for restriction of” a process and an apparatus under Article 13. This is not found persuasive because the allegation is false and there is no exclusion of a lack of unity merely on the statutory class of the claimed groups. This is also not found persuasive because “the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features”. The lack of unity dated 9/17/2025 demonstrated that the claims did not share a special technical feature and therefore the requirement is proper. Further, the prior art rejection below also demonstrates that claim 1 has no special technical feature and therefore the lack of unity is further supported.
The traversal is further (page 7) that there is no search burden. In response the applicant is mistaken, a lack of unity requirement does not have any requirement to show search burden under PCT article 13. Rather, lack of unity is shown by the showing with prior art that the common technical features are not a special technical feature.
The traversal is a base allegation (page 7) that the species are not mutually exclusive because, Fig. 4 “share all elements of Fig. 2” but adds features not in fig. 2. In response, the applicant’s representation of what mutually exclusive means is entirely incorrect. Mutually exclusive does not mean that the species must have no similarities. The species are mutually exclusive because they are alternatives to one another. Ignoring the alternative features of the species is not a persuasive argument. For example, the methodology of Fig. 2 requires no pressure drop measurement, while Fig. 4 does require pressure drop measurement. The lack of unity requirement does not need to name or identify every single alternative feature to be proper. The applicant’s disclosure explicitly discloses the identified species as alternatives and separate embodiments (spec. page 11, first embodiment, second embodiment, etc.).
The traversal is an allegation (page 8) that the subspecies 1 and 2 are not mutually exclusive. The examiner agrees that subspecies 1 and 2 are describing the same subspecies alternative and hereby combines subspecies 1 and 2. But the examiner maintains the requirement that subspecies 3 is a mutually exclusive alternative and will remain non-elected.
The requirement is otherwise still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Examiner Request
The applicant is requested to provide line numbers to each claim in all future claim submissions to aide in examination and communication with the applicant about claim recitations. The applicant is thanked for aiding examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, the recitation, “cryogenic fluid stream” is indefinite inasmuch as the recitation is interpreted as requiring a particular temperature. It is noted that the term is relative, just as the term cold, hot, and ugly are relative terms and are not discernible except in relation to or relative to something else. There is no way to determine what temperature the fluid stream must be at.
The recitation, “of the closed refrigeration loop” (line 5) is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis as there is only a closed refrigeration cycle recited previously. Consistency is required.
The recitation, “to indirectly exchange heat with the cryogenic fluid” (line 5) is indefinite for improperly reintroducing indirectly exchanging heat anew when such was already previously introduced and it is unclear if this is the same heat exchange or not.
The recitation, “being an indicator of the risk of freezing” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis for “risk” and for improperly reintroducing anew “freezing” and it is unclear if this is the same or other freezing. Further, the recitation is indefinite since it is not clear what makes a property an “indicator of” a risk of the freezing, since it is unclear what properties are included and excluded (see discussion below) and it is unclear what qualifies as a risk, and how high the risk must be to be considered as qualifying.
The recitation, “if there is a risk of freezing” is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “a risk” and “freezing” and it is unclear if this is the same or other risk and if this is the same or other freezing. Further, and most importantly, it is entirely unclear what level of risk qualifies. It is unclear how high the risk must be to be determined as qualifying. Therefore it is impossible to determine what qualification must occur.
The recitation, “if the risk of freezing” is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “freezing” and it is unclear if this is the same or other freezing.
The recitation, “increasing the temperature of the first refrigerant stream” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis for “the temperature”.
The recitation, “indirectly exchange heat” (in the last line of the claim) is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “heat” and it is unclear if this is the same or other heat.
Lastly, concerning the recited “physical property”, the specification appears to redefine term (spec. page. 3-4) contrary to the general excepted meaning.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “physical property” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean something else that is not clear at this time, while the accepted meaning is “a characteristic of matter” which is far ranging and very inclusive.
The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. This can lead to serious inconsistencies and misunderstanding and requires the specification provide a very clear redefinition. However, the definition provided is inconclusive. The specification says that the property is to be “a property for the measurement of which an exhaustive determination of the chemical composition of the fluid is not necessary” and being “different from the chemical analysis of the fluid” and being a measure which is “an indirect indicator” where an increase thereof reflects an increase in “the concentrations of ethane, propane, and butane” in the LNG (see pages 3-4). However, earlier in the specification the disclosure appears to include benzene, carbon dioxide, and water as components that may freeze. And it is entirely unclear if the physical property definition includes benzene, carbon dioxide, and water or is only limited to properties indicative of ethane, propane, and butane. Therefore the recitation is unclear since there is no way to discern what properties are and are not included by the definition and it is even unclear what properties are sufficiently “indirect” to be included and yet still be indicative of some vague notion of risk associated with some unknown freezable component.
In regard to claim 2, the recitation, “the risk of freezing” is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “freezing” and it is unclear if this is the same or other freezing.
The recitation, “indirectly exchange heat” (in the last line of the claim) is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “heat” and it is unclear if this is the same or other heat.
The recitation, “if the transmitted measurement is within a freezing range calculated by the computing means at the temperature of the first refrigerant stream” is indefinite as it is unclear what is at the temperature of the first refrigerant - the computing means or something else. Further, the transmitted measurement is of the vaporized partial stream of the cryogenic fluid stream and not of the first refrigerant and it is entirely unclear what relationship must exist with the temperature of the first refrigerant stream. There is no way to make any sense of this recitation. Further, the recitation is indefinite since the disclosed measurements are not a temperature (spec. page 15) and it is unclear what exactly would make the measurement within a “freezing range”.
In regard to claim 4, the recitation, “indirectly exchange heat” (see both recitations) is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “heat” and it is unclear if this is the same or other heat.
The recitation, “the mass flow” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis.
In regard to claim 5, the recitation, “indirectly exchange heat” is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “heat” and it is unclear if this is the same or other heat.
The recitation, “the speed” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis.
The recitation, “in particular” is indefinite since it is unclear if this is optional or not.
In regard to claim 7, the recitation, “the pressure drop” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis.
The recitation, “the side” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis.
The recitation, “the risk of freezing” is indefinite for improperly reintroducing anew “freezing” and it is unclear if this is the same or other freezing.
The recitation, “heat-exchanger” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitation “expansion means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph and is interpreted as a turbine (spec. page 14, line 12) or its equivalents including at least expansion valves.
Claim limitation “computing means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph and is interpreted as a computer (spec. page 14, line 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kaminsky (US 2021/0063083)(provided by the applicant) in view of Schreiner (WO 2018/185007).
See the 112 rejections and note that the prior art teaches the claimed features as far as can be interpreted. Further note the interpretation of the claim language as outlined in the rejection below.
In regard to claim(s) 1, 3, Kaminsky teaches a method for avoiding freezing of at least one component (para. 31) of a cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas being liquefied) inside a cryogenic heat exchanger (see 130, 231, HX2, HX3, hereafter 130, 231 for simplicity) indirectly exchanging heat with a first refrigerant stream (of 240) circulating inside a closed refrigeration loop (240) and entering the cryogenic heat exchanger (130, 231) after expansion through at least one expansion means (251) of the closed refrigeration loop (240) to indirectly exchange the heat with the cryogenic fluid (para. 32-33), the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas) being a different composition from the first refrigerant stream (para. 30, 32), and comprising the steps of:
measuring at least one physical property (para. 40 see composition) of a portion of the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas), the at least one physical property measured being an indirect indicator (see that the amount of CO2 present is an indirect indicator of whether CO2 may freeze) of a risk of the freezing of the at least one component (para. 39-40 carbon dioxide) of the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas) inside the cryogenic heat exchanger (130, 231);
- transmitting a measurement of the at least one physical property (interpreted as a property of matter) (the measurement of composition is sent to the “control system” for monitoring, para. 39-40) to computing means (“control system”, para. 39);
- determining by the computing means (control system) if there is the risk of the freezing of the at least one component of the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas) inside the cryogenic heat exchanger (130, 231) based on the transmitted measurement (para. 39-43; “predicts the onset of CO2 precipitation”);
- if the risk of the freezing is confirmed (para. 39-43 due to amount of CO2 detected), increasing a temperature (para. 43 maintaining temperature above CO2 freezing; para. 39 maintaining the temperature of the natural gas so as to prevent freez-out and blockages) of the first refrigerant stream (para. 39-43, by controlling the speed of the compressor) entering the heat exchanger (130, 231) to indirectly exchange the heat with the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas).
Kaminsky does not explicitly teach withdrawing and vaporizing a partial stream of the cryogenic fluid stream prior to the heat exchanger (130, 231) to make the measurement above and Kaminsky does not appear to explicitly teach measuring thermal conductivity to determine a composition of the natural gas. However, official notice is taken that withdrawing a sample of a fluid to determine its properties is routine and ordinary; additionally Schreiner teaches it is well known to determine a composition of natural gas (page 10) with a sensor (100) from a measure of thermal conductivity (page 10) of at least a portion of natural gas (page 1 “natural gas”) and that this permits more affordable determination of the composition (page 1-2 “selective measurement is very difficult…often correlative techniques are applied”, page 3 - so as to permit decisions to be made concerning use of the natural gas). Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kaminsky with withdrawal and vaporization of a portion of the liquefying natural gas to permit measurement of a correlative parameter, including thermal conductivity, as taught by Schreiner, for the purpose of making it easer to determine a calorific value of the natural gas and to make it easier to determine the composition the natural gas and to permit more accurate operational decisions concerning unsafe levels of carbon dioxide or other freezable constituents.
In regard to claim 2, Kaminsky, as modified, teaches that the risk of the freezing of the at least one component (CO2 freezeout, para. 39) of the cryogenic fluid (natural gas) is confirmed if the transmitted measurement is within a determined value (para. 39-43; also see Schreiner’s parameters correlate with the presence of freezable components in natural gas) calculated by the computing means (control system as modified).
In rehearsed regard to claim 3, see that Schreiner teaches the measurement of thermal conductivity (page 3, para. 5) and additionally of a wobbe index (page 5, para. 6).
In regard to claim 4-5, Kaminsky teaches that the temperature of the first refrigerant stream (from 251) entering the cryogenic heat exchanger (130, 231) to indirectly exchange the heat with the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas) is increased (see temperature is increased to maintain temperature above CO2 freezing, para. 43) by decreasing a mass flow of the first refrigerant stream circulating within the closed loop (240) by decreasing a speed (compressor speed, para. 43) of at least one refrigerant compressor (C2, para. 43).
In regard to claim 7, Kaminsky teaches a pressure drop (para. 41, “pressure drop”) across the cryogenic heat exchanger (130, 231) on a side of the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas) is measured (para. 41), transmitted to the computing means (control system) and used for determining the risk of the freezing (para. 41 “in addition…to ensure detection and reduction of solids build-up in the heat exchangers”) of the at least one component (CO2) of the cryogenic fluid stream (natural gas) inside the cryogenic heat exchanger (130, 231).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kaminsky (US 2021/0063083) in view of Schreiner (WO 2018/185007) and Hutchinson (US 2019/0024847). See the 112 rejections and note that the prior art teaches the claimed features as far as can be interpreted. Further note the interpretation of the claim language as outlined in the rejection below.
Kaminsky, as modified, appears to teach most of the claim limitations as best understood, but does not appear to explicitly state that the method is used onboard a sea-going LNG carrier. However, Hutchinson teaches that such LNG carriers are routine and ordinary and that subcooling of LNG is routine and ordinary with refrigeration loops (see Fig. 4-5). Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide Kaminsky as modified upon an LNG ship for the purpose of providing the ability to protect the heat exchangers of Hutchinson from CO2 freezing during its cooling operations so as to extend the benefits of Kaminsky, as modified, to sea going vessels thereby providing the improved freeze protection to the heat exchangers of LNG carriers as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on the 892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN F PETTITT whose telephone number is (571)272-0771. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 9-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR): http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN F PETTITT, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
JFPIII
December 12, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763