DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims received on March 4th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-2 have been amended and claims 15-20 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 4 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Scheuter does not include, inter alia, an "a carrier body configured for being placed inside the tubular core of the reel, wherein the carrier body is rotatably supported on the tubular support member of the base body via one or more bearing members," or "wherein the brake mechanism is arranged radially around the tubular support member of the base body," as recited in independent claim 1. It should be noted that the base body of Scheuter (central part 20) comprises a tubular support member indicated by element 40 in Fig. 2 of the prior art reference. It should also be noted that the brake mechanism of Scheuter is arranged radially around element 40 as depicted in Fig. 2 and in Col. 4, Ln. 26-41. Furthermore, Scheuter discloses the claimed invention with minor differences which are taught by the teaching references provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheuter (US 4,867,389 A) in view of Loffler (US 2007/0102564 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scheuter discloses a clamping device for supporting a reel having a tubular core, the clamping device comprising a base body with a mounting interface for fixing the base body on a machine frame (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 21-32, central part 20 corresponding to a base body), wherein the base body includes a tubular support member (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 26-41, outer part 40 corresponding to a tubular support member), a carrier body configured for being placed inside the tubular core of the reel, wherein the carrier body is rotatably supported on the tubular support member of the base body via one or more bearing members such that the carrier body can rotate with respect to the base body about an axis of rotation (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 26-28, chucks 19 corresponding to a carrier body disposed on bearings 42), wherein the base body acts as an actuation mechanism such that the base body can selectively protrude from the carrier body and selectively be retracted to be at least flush with the outer circumference of the carrier body (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 33-42, central part 20 described as the mechanism which actuates via switch 34), and a brake mechanism being arranged between the base body and the carrier body for selectively decelerating or blocking the rotation of the carrier body with respect to the base body (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 33-42, central part 20 described as the mechanism which actuates via switch 34), wherein the brake mechanism is arranged radially around the tubular support member of the base body (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 26-41, the brake mechanism being disposed radially around outer part 40), and wherein the brake mechanism couples the base body and the carrier body so that the brake mechanism is a functional and structural unit of the clamping device (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 33-42; Col. 4, Ln. 4-25, switch 34, spring 31, and surfaces 35, 36 corresponding to a brake mechanism coupling the chucks 19 and central part 20), but fails to disclose a plurality of clamping elements.
However, Loffler teaches a plurality of clamping elements being coupled with an actuation mechanism such that the plurality of clamping elements can selectively protrude from an outer circumference of the carrier body and selectively be retracted to be at least flush with the outer circumference of the carrier body (Fig. 3; Pg. 4, ¶¶52-53, clamping jaws 26). Both Scheuter and Loffler rely on the braking mechanism being actuated by means of wedging, and therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a plurality of clamping elements being coupled to an actuation mechanism in order to provide an evenly distributed clamping means which ensure proper clamping.
Regarding claim 2, Scheuter discloses wherein the one or more bearing members include two separate roller bearing members spaced axially apart on an exterior of the tubular support member, each bearing member being between the tubular support member and the carrier body (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 26-41, bearings 42).
Regarding claim 3, Scheuter discloses wherein the carrier body is sleeve-shaped or cup-shaped, wherein a portion of the base body extends into an interior of the carrier body (Fig. 2 depicting chuck 19 being sleeve or cup-shaped).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Scheuter discloses adjusting wherein the brake mechanism comprises a loading arrangement for generating and/or adjusting a brake torque to be effective between the base body and the carrier body and wherein the brake mechanism comprises a plurality of disks forming a stack which generally extends along the axis of rotation, wherein the plurality of disks are rotationally fixed on the base body or on the carrier body respectively in an alternating manner (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 4-25, disc springs 31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated torque adjustment capabilities to the brake to provide optimal reel attaching means.
Regarding claim 6, Scheuter discloses wherein the loading arrangement comprises a compression member for compressing the stack of disks in order to generate a brake torque (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 43-54, end face 30 and contact surface 35).
Regarding claim 8, Scheuter discloses wherein a cantilevered end of the carrier body and the loading arrangement are arranged opposite each other (best depicted in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Scheuter fails to disclose the clamping elements, however depicts the element which actuates or protrudes (in this instance it is the central part 20) begins on a cantilever end (Fig. 2, chuck 19 and center part 20). However, Loffler teaches wherein the clamping elements are positioned closer to a first cantilevered end of the carrier body than to a second end of the carrier body, being arranged opposite the first end (Fig. 3, depicting clamping jaws 26 located on a cantilever end). Although the clamping jaws 26 of Loffler are depicted on both ends of the body, it would have still been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated clamping elements positioned to an end of the carrier body in order to provides better gripping means due to principles of leverage and weight distribution, which provide greater stability and control.
Regarding claim 10, Scheuter discloses wherein the actuation mechanism comprises a push member and the clamping elements are arranged between the carrier body and the push member along the axis of rotation, wherein the push member is selectively movable with respect to the carrier body—along the axis of rotation (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 26-41, bearings 42).
Regarding claim 11, Scheuter discloses wherein the carrier body abuts against the push member via respective contact faces which are inclined with respect to the axis of rotation and with respect to a corresponding radial direction such that the carrier body can be pushed radially outward if the push member approaches the carrier body and can be retracted if the push member departs from the carrier body (Col. 3, Ln. 55-68; Col. 4, Ln. 1-25), but fails to disclose wherein the clamping elements abut against the carrier body. However, L teaches wherein each of the clamping elements abuts against the carrier body and the push member via respective contact faces which are inclined with respect to the axis of rotation and with respect to a corresponding radial direction such that the clamping elements can be pushed radially outward if the push member approaches the carrier body and can be retracted if the push member departs from the carrier body (Fig. 3; Pg. 4, ¶¶52-53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the clamping elements to expand and retract from the carrier body to provide a means for ensuring surface connection between the clamping elements and the inner surface of the roll.
Regarding claim 12, Scheuter discloses wherein the actuation mechanism comprises a screw member connecting the carrier body and the push member and generally extending along the axis of rotation in order to selectively move the push member (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 52-54, threaded sleeve 38).
Regarding claim 13, Scheuter discloses wherein the screw member is accessible from an end of the clamping device being opposed to a cantilevered end of the carrier body (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 52-54). While it is not directly disclosed that the threaded sleeve 38 of Scheuter is accessible, it is noted that Scheuter intends for the nuts 37, placed on the threaded sleeve 38, to adjust the member which pushes, in this instance it is the switch 34. It should also be noted that an element is considered “accessible” if it is cable of being used, which is the case for the invention of Scheuter.
Regarding claim 14, Scheuter discloses wherein, along the axis of rotation, a tool interface of the screw member is arranged in an axial section being defined by an axial extension of the brake mechanism (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 52-54, adjusting nuts 37).Regarding claim 19, Scheuter discloses wherein the carrier body is cup-shaped having an open end and a closed end, and wherein the open end is oriented towards the base body such that a portion of the tubular support member is received inside an interior of the carrier body (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 26-41).
Regarding claim 20, Scheuter discloses the mounting interface wherein the mounting interface includes a mounting arm (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Ln. 7-20, mount 15), but fails to disclose wherein the mounting arm comprises two slots. However, Loffler teaches the flange-like mounting arm having a plurality of slots (best depicted in Fig. 3-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a plurality of slots to the mounting arm in order to provide a means for adjusting the positioning of the device relative to the roll for precise grabbing.
Claims 7, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheuter (US 4,867,389 A), in view of Loffler (US 2007/0102564 A1), and in further view of Kofler (US 4,676,448 A).
Regarding claim 7, Scheuter discloses a screw thread cooperating with at least one spring element (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 52-54, threaded sleeve 38) but fails to disclose compression rings. However, Kofler teaches wherein the compression member is a compression ring (Fig. 4; Col. 8, Ln. 26-49, rings 24a-b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated compression rings to the screw and spring assembly to provide additional compression support.
Regarding claim 15, Scheuter discloses wherein the base body includes a ring-shaped member (Fig. 2 depicting a ring shaped member, indicated between where elements 20 and 42 point, being held within a sleeve of the central part 20), but fails to disclose compression rings positioned between the carrier ring body. However, Kofler teaches the loading arrangement includes a compression ring, and wherein the ring-shaped member is axially positioned at least partially between the compression ring and the carrier body (Fig. 4; Col. 8, Ln. 26-49, rings 24a-b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated compression rings onto a ring-shaped body to provide additional compression support by maximizing the contact surface.
Regarding claim 16, Scheuter discloses wherein the loading arrangement comprises a plurality of spring elements equally distributed over a circumferential direction (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 4-25, disc springs 31).
Regarding claim 17, Scheuter discloses the claimed invention except wherein the compression ring and the brake disk are distanced. However, Kofler teaches wherein the axial section is formed between a compression ring and an inner brake disk of the brake mechanism having the biggest distance from the compression ring (Fig. 3-4; Col. 8, Ln. 26-49, rings 24a-b being distanced from brake 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the compression ring and the brake disk distanced from one another to ensure that the compression and braking forces are properly distributed.
Regarding claim 18, Scheuter discloses wherein the base body includes a sleeve member fixedly connected to a ring-shaped member and the tubular support member, and wherein the compression ring cooperates with the sleeve member via the screw thread (Fig. 2 depicting a ring-shaped member, indicated between where elements 20 and 42 point, being held within a sleeve of the central part 20).
Conclusion
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666