Claim Status
Claims 1-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to amendment filed 08/24/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks which recites:
“Amended claim 1 required the controller to determine an optimal-thickness range based at least in part on inputs from both the bin level sensor and the motor temperature sense, with the range varying in response to sensed bn level or motor temperature. Romanvich paragraph 81 states that a predetermined maximum thickness threshold may be adjusted based on temperature, flutter, current flow, or other performance events. It does not state that a bin-level input participates in determining or varying an optimal-thickness range”
Examiner disagrees and notes that the claim does not require that the bin-level input itself vary the thickness threshold. It only requires both sensor inputs to determine the range, while the range varies in response to “at least one” of those inputs, and Romanovich varies the thickness threshold in response to motor temperature. Romanovich [0081] discloses a motor temperature sensor and based on these monitored performance characteristics the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered, and controller 42 may alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature and other operating conditions.
“The office action’s reliance on Romanovich paragraph 36 for “flashing indicators” also does not disclose pulsing the thickness-indicating LED segments when sensed thickness is within an optimal range. Paragraph 36 lists flashing generally in connection with the shredder having stopped or sensed a condition; paragraph 78 teaches steady green/yellow/red progressive indications relative to thickness thresholds. Neither passage links pulsing to optimal thickness or operating efficiency.”
Examiner disagrees and notes that Romanovich [0036] teaches flashing visual indicators for sensed shredder conditions, while [0078] teaches that sensed material thickness is communicated through the progressive LED indicators, including when thickness is well within shredder capacity. Therefore, the sensed material thickness is communicated through progressive flashing LED indicators.
“Claim 9 independently requires a proximity sensor configured to detect an operator approaching before material is placed in the input slot… detecting paper in the throat is not detecting an approaching operator before material is placed in the slot”
Examiner agrees and has withdrawn the 102 rejection, and based on amendments now rejections independent claim 9 over Romanovich (US20110290924), in view of Matlin et al. (US20060054724, herein Matlin).
“Claim 14 requires the display’s multicolor LED segments to be arranged as one lightbar at the input slot and requires that same lightbar to present four coordinated patterns: a ready pattern; a progressively increasing first color patter approaching variable optimal thickness range, a pulsing first color pattern within a range, and a second color transition as motor temperature approaches thermal cutoff or bin level approaches full.”
Examiner disagrees and notes that Romanovich [0036], [0078], and [0081] teaches light sequences providing different illumination patterns for ready, progressively increasing thickness, flashing, and warning conditions.
Please view the rejection below for mapping of dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Romanovich (US20110290924).
Regarding claim 1, Romanovich teaches A shredder having an input entrance for inputting material for shredding (Fig. 1 14 [0023] The shredder housing 12 comprises at least one input opening 14 on an upper side 24 (or upper wall or top side or top wall) of the housing 12 for receiving materials to be shredded), a bin for receiving shredded material, a cutting mechanism, a motor configured to drive the cutting mechanism ([0005] the shredder mechanism typically has a series of cutter elements that shred articles fed therein and discharge the shredded articles downwardly into the container, [0008] powered motor and cutter elements), a machine status display located proximate to the input entrance, a thickness sensor configured to sense a thickness of material placed in the input entrance, a bin level sensor (Fig. 2, [0033] position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device, [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition)), a motor temperature sensor, and a controller configured to receive inputs from the thickness sensor, the bin level sensor, and the motor temperature sensor and being in communication with the machine status display and the motor, wherein the controller is configured to: determine, based at least in part on the inputs from the bin level sensor and the motor temperature sensor, (Fig. 2, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10, [0079] the indicators may be provided on a display device such as an LCD screen or other device. In another embodiment, the indicator(s) are configured to display a number of sheets present in the throat 14 of the shredder, [0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator) an optimal-thickness range for material placed in the input entrance, the optimal-thickness range varying in response to at least one of a sensed bin level and a sensed motor temperature ([0081] the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor… monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10); cause an increasing number of light-emitting diode (LED) segments of the machine status display to illuminate as the sensed thickness increases toward the optimal-thickness range: cause a plurality of LED segments to pulse when the sensed thickness is within the optimal-thickness range (Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0078] one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached, [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition)) ; and prevent the motor from driving the cutting mechanism when the sensed thickness exceeds an upper-limit threshold (Fig. 4, If the detected thickness of the article is equal to or greater than the threshold, the motor of the shredder mechanism 20 is prevented or stopped from driving the cutter elements (21) in the shredding direction, as shown at 72. However, if the detected thickness of the article inserted in the throat is not equal to or greater than the threshold (i.e., the thickness of the article is less than the threshold), the motor is operated (continuously or started) to drive the cutter elements in the shredding direction)
Regarding claim 2, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 1, wherein the controller causes the machine status display to communicate a first signal when the sensed thickness is less than, he optimal thickness range, a second signal when the sensed thickness is within the optimal-thickness range, and a third signal when the sensed thickness exceeds the optimal-thickness range. ([0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator, [0041] At 70 it is determined if the detected thickness is equal to or greater than a predetermined maximum threshold. If the detected thickness of the article is equal to or greater than the threshold, the motor of the shredder mechanism 20 is prevented or stopped from driving the cutter elements (21) in the shredding direction, as shown at 72. However, if the detected thickness of the article inserted in the throat is not equal to or greater than the threshold (i.e., the thickness of the article is less than the threshold), the motor is operated (continuously or started) to drive the cutter elements in the shredding direction, as shown at 74, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37…one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 3, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 2, wherein the LED segments are arranged in an array parallel to the input entrance, and the controller causes the LED segments to pulse in green as the second signal (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition), [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder ) .
Regarding claim 4, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 1, wherein the controller causes the LED segments to pulse to communicate that the shredder is operating within an optimal-efficiency state (Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37…one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 5, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 1, wherein the LED segments are arranged in an array parallel to the input entrance, and the controller causes the LED segments to illuminate sequentially in respective sequences to communicate to an operator whether the sensed thickness is thickness below, within, or above the optimal-thickness range(Fig. 1 & 3, [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator. Examples of audible signals include, but are not limited to, beeping, buzzing, and/or any other type of signal that will alert the user via sound(s) that the article or document that is about to be shredded is above a predetermined maximum thickness threshold, and may cause the shredder mechanism 20 of the shredder 10 to jam. This gives the user the opportunity to reduce the thickness of the article, or to reconsider forcing the article into the throat 14 and through the shredder, knowing that any such forcing may jam and/or damage the shredder, [0078] one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached)
Regarding claim 6, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 5, wherein the controller causes an increasing number of the LED segments to illuminate green as the sensed thickness increases towards the optimal-thickness range (Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0078] one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached) .
Regarding claim 8, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 7, wherein the controller causes the machine status display to signal the operator to reduce the thickness of material when the sensed motor temperature exceeds a warning threshold that is below a thermal cutoff threshold. ([0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate. In an embodiment, an indicator 37 may be used which is a progressive indication system that includes a series of indicators in the form of lights to indicate the thickness of the stack of documents or other article relative to the capacity of the shredder is provided. For example, the progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 14, Romanovich teaches A shredder for shredding material, comprising: an input slot for receiving material; a cutting mechanism; a motor configured to drive the cutting mechanism (Fig. 1 14 [0023] The shredder housing 12 comprises at least one input opening 14 on an upper side 24 (or upper wall or top side or top wall) of the housing 12 for receiving materials to be shredded), a plurality of ([0034] the controller may determine that throat 14 (e.g., via one or more sensors) is not clear of articles, and, thus, operate the motor 34 in a reverse direction (e.g., for a short period of time) so as to clear any remaining articles (or parts thereof) from the throat 14 of the shredder 10), the sensors including a proximity sensor, a bin level sensor, a motor temperature sensor, and a thickness sensor; a machine status display comprising a plurality of multicolor light-emitting diode (LED) segments arranged as a single lightbar positioned parallel and proximate to the input slot; and a controller in communication with the plurality of sensors, the machine status display, and the motor, wherein the controller is configured to; evaluate inputs from the plurality of sensors; determine, based at least in part on inputs from the bin level sensor and the motor temperature sensor, and cause the single lightbar to display; ([0033] Such a position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device. The switch 35 may also be moved to an off position (e.g., contacts in the switch module are opened to disable the delivery of electric power to the motor 34), which causes the controller 42 to stop operation of the motor 34. Alternatively, the switch may be coupled to a controller, which in turn controls a relay switch, TRIAC, etc., for controlling the flow of electricity to the motor 34, [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10) a first display pattern communicating that the shredder is on and ready for input, a second display pattern comprising an increasing number of LED segments illuminated in first color as an optimal amount of material in the input slot increases toward the optimal-thickness range, a third display pattern comprising a plurality of the LED segments pulsing in the first color when the amount of material is within the optimal-thickness range, and a fourth display pattern comprising at least one LED segment transitioning to communicate a second color as either the sensed motor temperature approaches a thermal cutoff is further configured to prevent the motor from driving the cutting mechanism when a sensed thickness of material exceeds an upper-limit threshold. ([0078] a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate. In an embodiment, an indicator 37 may be used which is a progressive indication system that includes a series of indicators in the form of lights to indicate the thickness of the stack of documents or other article relative to the capacity of the shredder is provided. For example, the progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached, [0036] a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition).
Regarding claim 17, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 15, wherein the second display pattern comprises a plurality of LED segments illuminated in green, a number of the LED segments illuminated in green increasing as the amount of material in the input slot approaches a lower boundary of the optimal-thickness range. (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition), [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder ) .
Regarding claim 18, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, wherein the third display pattern comprises a plurality of the LED segments pulsing synchronously in green (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition), [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder ) .
Regarding claim 19, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, wherein the controller selects the display pattern based jointly on the sensed motor temperature and the sensed thickness of material (Fig. 1 indicators 37 & 39, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor).
Regarding claim 20, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, wherein the controller updates the optimal-thickness range during operation in response to changes in the sensed bin level and the sensed motor temperature ([0081] the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor… monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanovich (US20110290924), in view of Matlin et al. (US20060054724, herein Matlin).
Regarding claim 9, Romanovich teaches A shredder for shredding material comprising: an input slot for receiving material; a cutting mechanism; a motor configured to drive the cutting mechanism; (Fig. 1 14 [0023] The shredder housing 12 comprises at least one input opening 14 on an upper side 24 (or upper wall or top side or top wall) of the housing 12 for receiving materials to be shredded, [0005] the shredder mechanism typically has a series of cutter elements that shred articles fed therein and discharge the shredded articles downwardly into the container, [0008] powered motor and cutter elements), a plurality of sensors, including …a bin level sensor, a motor temperature sensor, a machine status display comprising a plurality of multicolor light-emitting diode (LED) segments positioned parallel and proximate to the input slot; and a controller in communication with the plurality of sensors, the machine status display, and the motor, wherein the controller is configured to: wake the shredder from a sleep state and cause the machine status display to display a ready-state signal in response to the proximity sensor detecting the operator; (Fig. 1 & 3, [0033] Such a position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device. The switch 35 may also be moved to an off position (e.g., contacts in the switch module are opened to disable the delivery of electric power to the motor 34), which causes the controller 42 to stop operation of the motor 34. Alternatively, the switch may be coupled to a controller, which in turn controls a relay switch, TRIAC, etc., for controlling the flow of electricity to the motor 34, [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder, [0078] a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate, [0033] an idle or ready position, which communicates with the control panel. The idle or ready position may correspond to selectively activating the shredder mechanism 20, for example. Such a position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device), determine, based at least in part on inputs from the bin level sensor and the motor temperature sensor, an optimal-thickness range that varies in response to at least one of a sensed bin level and a sensed motor temperature ([0081] the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor… monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10, [0033] detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device); cause the machine status display to display a first sequence of signals when sensed thickness of material is less than the optimal-thickness range a second sequence of signals when the sensed thickness is within the optimal-thickness range, and a third sequence of signals when the sensed thickness exceeds the optimal-thickness exceeds the optimal-thickness range; and prevent the motor from driving the cutting mechanism when the sensed thickness exceeds an upper-limit threshold ([0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator, [0041] At 70 it is determined if the detected thickness is equal to or greater than a predetermined maximum threshold. If the detected thickness of the article is equal to or greater than the threshold, the motor of the shredder mechanism 20 is prevented or stopped from driving the cutter elements (21) in the shredding direction, as shown at 72. However, if the detected thickness of the article inserted in the throat is not equal to or greater than the threshold (i.e., the thickness of the article is less than the threshold), the motor is operated (continuously or started) to drive the cutter elements in the shredding direction, as shown at 74, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37…one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Romanovich does not teach a proximity sensor configured to detect an operator approaching the shredder before material is placed in the input slot,
Matlin teaches before material is placed in the input entrance… present a ready-state animation that begins at a central LED segment and progresses outwardly from the central LED segment ([0006] The proximity sensor is located adjacent the opening and configured to indicate the presence of a person or animal in proximity to the opening)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Romanovich’s teaching of a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors green, yellow, and red with Matlin’s teaching of a proximity sensor indicating the presence of a person. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a shredder using a proximity sensor indicating the presence of a person communicating using LED light indicators . Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve safety as supported by Matlin [0003] It is generally desirable to prevent a person's or animal's body part from contacting these cutter elements during the shredding operation.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Romanovich and Matlin teach The shredder of claim 9, wherein the first sequence of signals comprises a progression of green LED segments, a number of illuminated green LED segments increasing as the sensed thickness increase toward the optimal-thickness range (Romanovich, Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0078] one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached) .
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Romanovich and Matlin teach The shredder of claim 10, wherein the second sequence of signals comprises a plurality of the LED segments pulsing synchronously in green (Romanovich, Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition), [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder ) .
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Romanovich and Matlin teach The shredder of claim 11, wherein the third sequence of signals comprises a progression of the LED segments changing from amber to red as the sensed thickness increases above the optimal-thickness range toward the upper-limit threshold (Romanovich, Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0078] The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanovich (US20110290924), in view of Huizen et al. (US20210146841, herein Huizen).
Regarding claim 15, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, wherein each LED segment of the single lightbar comprises a red-green… tricolor LED. (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3, [0078] a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate. In an embodiment, an indicator 37 may be used which is a progressive indication system that includes a series of indicators in the form of lights to indicate the thickness of the stack of documents or other article relative to the capacity of the shredder is provided. For example, the progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached, [0036] a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition)
Romanovich does not teach -blue
Huizen teaches -blue ([0054] the sequence could start from the outer LEDs and ‘collide’ at the center or from the center out… colored LEDs or an RGB (red-blue-green) LED that can emit different colors for indicating things)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Romanovich’s teaching of a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors green, yellow, and red with Barthel’s teaching of using a blue colored backlight on the shredder. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a jam proof sensor for a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors that include blue. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated enhance feedback to the user and improving aesthetics a shown by Huizen [0051].
Claims 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanovich (US20110290924), in view of Matlin et al. (US20060054724, herein Matlin), and in further view of Huizen et al. (US20210146841, herein Huizen).
Regarding claim 7, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 3, further comprising a proximity sensor configured to sense an operator approaching the shredder, the proximity sensor being in communication with the controller, wherein, responsive to sensing the operator, the controller wakes the shredder from a sleep state and causes the machine status display to ([0033] Such a position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device. The switch 35 may also be moved to an off position (e.g., contacts in the switch module are opened to disable the delivery of electric power to the motor 34), which causes the controller 42 to stop operation of the motor 34. Alternatively, the switch may be coupled to a controller, which in turn controls a relay switch, TRIAC, etc., for controlling the flow of electricity to the motor 34, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate).
Romanovich does not teach before material is placed in the input entrance… present a ready-state animation that begins at a central LED segment and progresses outwardly from the central LED segment
Matlin teaches before material is placed in the input entrance… present a ready-state animation that begins at a central LED segment and progresses outwardly from the central LED segment ([0006] The proximity sensor is located adjacent the opening and configured to indicate the presence of a person or animal in proximity to the opening)
Huizen teaches present a ready-state animation that begins at a central LED segment and progresses outwardly from the central LED segment ([0054] the sequence could start from the outer LEDs and ‘collide’ at the center or from the center out)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Romanovich and Matlin teach The shredder of claim 12, where the ready-state signal comprises (Romanovich, [0078] a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate).
Romanovich does not teach blue animation that begins at a central LED segment and progresses outwardly from the central LED segment
Huizen teaches blue animation that begins at a central LED segment and progresses outwardly from the central LED segment ([0054] the sequence could start from the outer LEDs and ‘collide’ at the center or from the center out… colored LEDs or an RGB (red-blue-green) LED that can emit different colors for indicating things)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Romanovich’s teaching of a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors green, yellow, and red with Barthel’s teaching of using a blue colored backlight on the shredder. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a jam proof sensor for a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors that include blue. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated enhance feedback to the user and improving aesthetics a shown by Huizen [0051].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanovich (US20110290924), in view of Barthel et al. (US20140263773, herein Barthel), in further view of Huizen et al. (US20210146841, herein Huizen).
Regarding claim 16, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 15, wherein the first display pattern comprises an animation … in which an increasing number of the tricolor LEDs illuminate, … the animation … tricolor LEDs have illuminated (Fig. 1 indicators 37 & 39, [0078] a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time, [0036] indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams)
Romanovich does not teach beginning at a central LED segment and progressing outwardly from the central LED segment, … illuminate blue …the animation repeating after five tricolor LEDs have illuminated
Barthel teaches illuminate blue …the animation repeating after five tricolor LEDs have illuminated ([0017] The power/auto control 40 may be illuminated (e.g., blue backlighting) whenever the shredder 20 is on (FIG. 3), [0022] the controller 60 repeats the reverse prompt, reverse running for a predetermined time, followed by the forward prompt, and forward running until clear or another jam. The controller 60 may be configured to prompt only a predetermined number of reverse-forward cycles (e.g., 3-5 cycles) by the user before ceasing and indicating that the jam should be cleared manually. For example, the jam icon 58 may be illuminated, steadily or flashing, without illumination of either of the reverse and forward direction controls 42, 44 as shown in FIG. 6. The jam icon 58 may be illuminated in a different color to indicate that the jam requires manual clearing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Romanocivh’s teaching of a jam proof sensor for a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors green, yellow, and red with Barthel’s teaching of using a blue colored backlight on the shredder. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a jam proof sensor for a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors that include blue. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve usability of the shredder.
Huizen teaches beginning at a central LED segment and progressing outwardly from the central LED segment, ([0054] the sequence could start from the outer LEDs and ‘collide’ at the center or from the center out… colored LEDs or an RGB (red-blue-green) LED that can emit different colors for indicating things)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Davis (US20100181400) teaches bin lights for media shredder.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117