Claim Objections
Claim 4, 9, and 14 objected to because of the following informalities: these claims state “shedder” which appear to be a typo. Appropriate correction is required. For interpretation purposes “shedder” is interpreted as “shredder”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “ determining the optimal thickness of material for placement in the input entrance”- is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example the language in the context of this claim encompasses that the user mentally could make a decision, observation, and calculation. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements- “a thickness sensor to sense the thickness of material placed in the input entrance, a bin level sensor, a motor temperature sensor, a controller for receiving inputs from the thickness sensor, the bin level sensor, and the motor temperature sensor, the controller being in communication with the status display”, and “the status display communicating whether the material placed in the input tray is of an optimal thickness for shredding” which are simply insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering and transmission by outputting data and information, the claim also recites elements- : “A shredder having an input entrance for inputting material for shredding” , “a bin for receiving shredded material”, “a machine status display located proximate to the input entrance”, and “the controller” which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Accordingly these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “A shredder having an input entrance for inputting material for shredding” , “a bin for receiving shredded material”, “a machine status display located proximate to the input entrance”, and “the controller”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. The additional element of - “wherein the display communicates a first signal to indicate the material is of a less than optimal thickness, communicates second signal to indicate the material is of an optimal thickness, and communicates a third signal to indicate the material is in excess of an optimal thickness” which are simply insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering and transmission by outputting data and information. Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. The additional element of “ the display pulsing to indicate the material is of optimal thickness”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f) -considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Additionally the claim recites- “wherein the display is an array of LEDs arranged parallel to the input entrance” which falls under field of use and technological environment- see MPEP 2106.05(h) Parker v. Flook ("Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable"). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. The additional element of “wherein the display pulses to communicate the shedder is operating at optimal efficiency”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f) -considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. The additional element of “the LEDs lighting sequentially in sequences to communicate to the operator whether the material is of an optimal thickness”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f) -considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Additionally the claim recites- “wherein the display is an array of LEDs arranged in parallel to the input entrance” which falls under field of use and technological environment- see MPEP 2106.05(h) Parker v. Flook ("Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable"). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. The additional element of “wherein the display lights an increasing number of LEDs as the thickness of material increases to the optimal thickness”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f) -considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. The additional element of - “the shredder including a proximity sensor to sense when an operator is in proximity of the shredder, the proximity sensor communicating with the controller, the controller waking the shredder for operation when an operator is sensed by the proximity sensor, the controller communicating with the display to communicate with the operator that the shredder is ready for receiving material” which are simply insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering and transmission by outputting data and information. Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. The additional element of “wherein the controller communicates with the display to signal to the operator to reduce the thickness of material when the motor temperature sensor exceeds a threshold level”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f) -considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C for similar reason as claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C for similar reason as claim 2, 3, & 6.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C for similar reason as claim 3.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. Additionally the claim recites- “where the third sequence of signals is a progression of lighted LEDs changing from a first color to a second color” which falls under field of use and technological environment- see MPEP 2106.05(h) Parker v. Flook ("Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable"). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. Additionally the claim recites- “where the first signal is a lighted LED, the LED lighted in a third color” which falls under field of use and technological environment- see MPEP 2106.05(h) Parker v. Flook ("Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable"). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C for similar reason as claim 1.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C for similar reason as claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. Additionally the claim recites- “the first display pattern including a plurality of LEDs lighting in the color blue in an increasing number, the pattern repeating when the number reaches five” which falls under field of use and technological environment- see MPEP 2106.05(h) Parker v. Flook ("Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable"). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. Additionally the claim recites- “the second display pattern including a plurality of lighted segments, the number of segments lighted increasing in number as an amount of material placed in the input slot nears the optimal amount of material” which falls under field of use and technological environment- see MPEP 2106.05(h) Parker v. Flook ("Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable"). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits the mental abstract idea from claim 1. Additionally the claim recites- “the third display pattern including a plurality of lighted segments, the lighted segments pulsing” which falls under field of use and technological environment- see MPEP 2106.05(h) Parker v. Flook ("Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable"). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “evaluating inputs from the motor temperature sensor and the thickness sensor to select the display pattern to display” which is a mental abstract idea. The additional element of “the controller”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f) -considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “evaluating inputs from the bin level sensor, the thickness sensor and the motor temperature sensor in determining an optimal thickness of material the shredder should accept” which is a mental abstract idea. The additional element of “the controller”, which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f) -considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thickness" (lines 3-4), “the optimal thickness” (lines 8-9), “the input tray (line 9)”, and “the status display” (lines 7 & 8-9). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “a thickness”, “an optimal thickness”, “the input entrance”, and “the machine status display”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the display” (line 1), “optimal thickness” (line 2), “an optimal thickness” (line 5). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “the machine status display”, “the optimal thickness”, “the optimal thickness”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the display” (line 1), “optimal thickness” (line 3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “the machine status display”, “the optimal thickness”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the display” (line 1). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “the machine status display”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the display” (line 1), “the operator” (line 3), “an optimal thickness” (line 4). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “the machine status display”, “an operator”, “the optimal thickness”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the display lights” (line 1). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “display lights”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “an operator (line 2)”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “the operator”.
Claim 9, recites the limitation “the shedder status” (line 4), “an operator” (line 5) “an optimal thickness” (lines 10-11 & 12). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “a shedder status”, “the operator”, “the optimal thickness”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the number” (line 3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “a number”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the shedder status” (line 4), “an operator” (line 8). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “a shedder status”, “the operator”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the feed slot” (line 2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “the input slot”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the color blue” (line 2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “a color blue”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the number” (line 2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For interpretation purposes this is interpreted as “a number”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Romanovich (US20110290924).
Regarding claim 1, Romanovich teaches A shredder having an input entrance for inputting material for shredding (Fig. 1 14 [0023] The shredder housing 12 comprises at least one input opening 14 on an upper side 24 (or upper wall or top side or top wall) of the housing 12 for receiving materials to be shredded), a bin for receiving shredded material, a machine status display located proximate to the input entrance, a thickness sensor to sense the thickness of material placed in the input entrance, a bin level sensor (Fig. 2, [0033] position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device, [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition)), a motor temperature sensor, a controller for receiving inputs from the thickness sensor, the bin level sensor, and the motor temperature sensor, the controller being in communication with the status display, the controller determining the optimal thickness of material for placement in the input entrance, the status display communicating whether the material placed in the input tray is of an optimal thickness for shredding (Fig. 2, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10, [0079] the indicators may be provided on a display device such as an LCD screen or other device. In another embodiment, the indicator(s) are configured to display a number of sheets present in the throat 14 of the shredder, [0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator) .
Regarding claim 2, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 1, wherein the display communicates a first signal to indicate the material is of a less than optimal thickness, communicates second signal to indicate the material is of an optimal thickness, and communicates a third signal to indicate the material is in excess of an optimal thickness ([0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator, [0041] At 70 it is determined if the detected thickness is equal to or greater than a predetermined maximum threshold. If the detected thickness of the article is equal to or greater than the threshold, the motor of the shredder mechanism 20 is prevented or stopped from driving the cutter elements (21) in the shredding direction, as shown at 72. However, if the detected thickness of the article inserted in the throat is not equal to or greater than the threshold (i.e., the thickness of the article is less than the threshold), the motor is operated (continuously or started) to drive the cutter elements in the shredding direction, as shown at 74, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37…one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 3, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 2, wherein the display is an array of LEDs arranged parallel to the input entrance, the display pulsing to indicate the material is of optimal thickness (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition) .
Regarding claim 4, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 1, wherein the display pulses to communicate the shedder is operating at optimal efficiency (Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37…one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 5, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 1, wherein the display is an array of LEDs arranged in parallel to the input entrance, the LEDs lighting sequentially in sequences to communicate to the operator whether the material is of an optimal thickness (Fig. 1 & 3, [0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator. Examples of audible signals include, but are not limited to, beeping, buzzing, and/or any other type of signal that will alert the user via sound(s) that the article or document that is about to be shredded is above a predetermined maximum thickness threshold, and may cause the shredder mechanism 20 of the shredder 10 to jam. This gives the user the opportunity to reduce the thickness of the article, or to reconsider forcing the article into the throat 14 and through the shredder, knowing that any such forcing may jam and/or damage the shredder, [0078] one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached)
Regarding claim 6, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 5, wherein the display lights an increasing number of LEDs as the thickness of material increases to the optimal thickness (Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0078] one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached) .
Regarding claim 7, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 3, the shredder including a proximity sensor to sense when an operator is in proximity of the shredder, the proximity sensor communicating with the controller, the controller waking the shredder for operation when an operator is sensed by the proximity sensor, the controller communicating with the display to communicate with the operator that the shredder is ready for receiving material ([0033] Such a position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device. The switch 35 may also be moved to an off position (e.g., contacts in the switch module are opened to disable the delivery of electric power to the motor 34), which causes the controller 42 to stop operation of the motor 34. Alternatively, the switch may be coupled to a controller, which in turn controls a relay switch, TRIAC, etc., for controlling the flow of electricity to the motor 34, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate).
Regarding claim 8, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 7, wherein the controller communicates with the display to signal to the operator to reduce the thickness of material when the motor temperature sensor exceeds a threshold level ([0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10).
Regarding claim 9, Romanovich teaches A shedder for shredding material, the shredder including an input slot for inputting material into the shredder (Fig. 1 14 [0023] The shredder housing 12 comprises at least one input opening 14 on an upper side 24 (or upper wall or top side or top wall) of the housing 12 for receiving materials to be shredded), a plurality of sensors, a controller for receiving inputs from the sensors ([0034] the controller may determine that throat 14 (e.g., via one or more sensors) is not clear of articles, and, thus, operate the motor 34 in a reverse direction (e.g., for a short period of time) so as to clear any remaining articles (or parts thereof) from the throat 14 of the shredder 10), a display in communication with the controller, the display conveying information on the shredder status to an operator (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition), the sensors including a proximity sensor, a bin level sensor, a motor temperature sensor, and a thickness sensor, the controller evaluating the inputs from the plurality of sensors, the display displaying a first signal on the display when an operator is in proximity to the shredder ([0033] Such a position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device. The switch 35 may also be moved to an off position (e.g., contacts in the switch module are opened to disable the delivery of electric power to the motor 34), which causes the controller 42 to stop operation of the motor 34. Alternatively, the switch may be coupled to a controller, which in turn controls a relay switch, TRIAC, etc., for controlling the flow of electricity to the motor 34, [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10r), displaying a first sequence of signals when a less than optimal thickness of material is placed in the input slot, displaying a second sequence of signals when an optimal thickness of material is placed in the input slot, displaying a third sequence of signals when material of a thickness greater than an optimal thickness is placed in the input slot ([0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator, [0041] At 70 it is determined if the detected thickness is equal to or greater than a predetermined maximum threshold. If the detected thickness of the article is equal to or greater than the threshold, the motor of the shredder mechanism 20 is prevented or stopped from driving the cutter elements (21) in the shredding direction, as shown at 72. However, if the detected thickness of the article inserted in the throat is not equal to or greater than the threshold (i.e., the thickness of the article is less than the threshold), the motor is operated (continuously or started) to drive the cutter elements in the shredding direction, as shown at 74, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37…one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 10, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 9 where the display is a plurality of LEDs positioned parallel to the input slot, the first sequence of signals being a progression of lighted LEDs, the number of lighted LEDs increasing as the thickness of material increases (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached) .
Regarding claim 11, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 10 where the second sequence of signals is a pulsing of lighted LEDs (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition).
Regarding claim 12, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 11, where the third sequence of signals is a progression of lighted LEDs changing from a first color to a second color (Fig. 1 indicators 37, and 39, [0078] The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 13, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 12, where the first signal is a lighted LED, the LED lighted in a third color ([0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37…one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 14, Romanovich teaches A shedder for shredding material, the shredder including a input slot for inputting material into the shredder (Fig. 1 14 [0023] The shredder housing 12 comprises at least one input opening 14 on an upper side 24 (or upper wall or top side or top wall) of the housing 12 for receiving materials to be shredded), a plurality of sensors, a controller for receiving inputs from the sensors, a display in communication with the controller ([0034] the controller may determine that throat 14 (e.g., via one or more sensors) is not clear of articles, and, thus, operate the motor 34 in a reverse direction (e.g., for a short period of time) so as to clear any remaining articles (or parts thereof) from the throat 14 of the shredder 10), the display conveying information on the shredder status to an operator, the sensors including a proximity sensor, a bin level sensor, a motor temperature sensor, and a thickness sensor, the controller evaluating the inputs from the plurality of sensors ([0033] Such a position may allow the controller 42 to selectively enable the operation of the shredder mechanism 20 based on the detection of the presence or insertion of at least one article (e.g., paper) in the throat 14 by or based on a waste level or bin full sensing device. The switch 35 may also be moved to an off position (e.g., contacts in the switch module are opened to disable the delivery of electric power to the motor 34), which causes the controller 42 to stop operation of the motor 34. Alternatively, the switch may be coupled to a controller, which in turn controls a relay switch, TRIAC, etc., for controlling the flow of electricity to the motor 34, [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10r), the controller determining display patterns for the display to convey machine state information to an operator, the display patterns including a first display pattern to communicate the shredder is on and ready for input, a second display pattern to communicate the shredder can accept an increase in material in the input slot, a third display pattern to communicate the shredder is receiving an optimal amount of material in the input slot, and a fourth display pattern to communicate the shredder is approaching a shut-down condition ([0078] a visual signal, indicating that an article such as article 122 is too thick, may be provided in the form of a red warning light, which may be emitted from an LED, using indicator 37, for example. It is also contemplated that a green light may also be provided to indicate that the shredder 10 is ready to operate. In an embodiment, an indicator 37 may be used which is a progressive indication system that includes a series of indicators in the form of lights to indicate the thickness of the stack of documents or other article relative to the capacity of the shredder is provided. For example, the progressive indication system may include one or more green lights, a plurality of yellow lights, and one or more red light. The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 15, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, the display patterns being displayed on an LED display located parallel and proximate to the feed slot, the LED display including a plurality of colors (Fig. 1 & 3, ([0036] indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0078] The green light(s) indicate that the detected thickness of the item (e.g. a single paper, a stack of papers, a compact disc, a credit card, etc.) that has been placed in the throat 14 of the shredder 10 is below a predetermined thickness and well within the capacity of the shredder. The yellow lights provide a progressive indication of the thickness of the item. In an embodiment, a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time. The red light(s) indicate that the detected thickness is at or above the second predetermined thickness, which may be the same as the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, thereby warning the user that this thickness has been reached).
Regarding claim 17, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 15, the second display pattern including a plurality of lighted segments, the number of segments lighted increasing in number as an amount of material placed in the input slot nears the optimal amount of material (Fig. 1 indicators 37 & 39, [0078] a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time).
Regarding claim 18, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, the third display pattern including a plurality of lighted segments, the lighted segments pulsing [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition, [0036] indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition) ).
Regarding claim 19, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, the controller evaluating inputs from the motor temperature sensor and the thickness sensor to select the display pattern to display (Fig. 1 indicators 37 & 39, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor).
Regarding claim 20, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 14, the controller evaluating inputs from the bin level sensor, the thickness sensor, and the motor temperature sensor in determining an optimal thickness of material the shredder should accept (Fig. 2, [0081] In addition to the thickness detector 120 or 44, the shredder 10 may also include a sensor (not shown) for sensing a performance characteristic of the motor 34. This sensor may be a motor temperature sensor to detect the temperature of the motor and/or a motor current sensor to detect the current drawn by the motor. Monitoring such performance characteristics is generally known in the art and therefore is not explained in detail herein. However, it is noted that by monitoring these type of performance characteristics, the predetermined maximum thickness threshold can be altered (e.g., reduced) to reflect any loss in shredder capability over time. If present, the controller 42 may be configured to alter or adjust such thresholds related to thickness based on temperature, flutter, current flow, and/or other known events that may affect the performance of the shredder 10, [0077] upon detecting that the article(s) inserted into the throat 14 exceed the predetermined maximum thickness threshold, the controller 42 may communicate with an indicator such as indicator 37 or 39 (shown in FIG. 1) to provide a warning or alarm signal to the user. This signal may be an audible signal in which the controller 42 sounds an audible alarm and/or a visual signal, wherein the controller 42 may illuminate a visual indicator, [0036] Any of the conditions could also be signaled by lights, on a display screen, or otherwise… indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams. In an embodiment, indicator 39 may comprise a number of indicators corresponding to functions of the shredder, such as, but not limited to: overheating, bin open, bin full, paper jam, and flashing indicators (such as when the shredder has stopped or sensed a condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanovich (US20110290924), in view of Barthel et al. (US20140263773, herein Barthel).
Regarding claim 16, Romanovich teaches The shredder of claim 15, the first display pattern including a plurality of LEDs lighting … in an increasing number, …the pattern (Fig. 1 indicators 37 & 39, [0078] a first yellow light, located next to the green light, would be triggered when the detected thickness is at or above a first predetermined thickness, but below a second predetermined thickness that triggers the red light(s). If there is more than one yellow light, each additional yellow light may correspond to thicknesses at or above a corresponding number of predetermined thicknesses between the first and second predetermined thicknesses. The yellow lights may be used to train the user into getting a feel for how many documents should be shredded at one time, [0036] indicator 37 may comprise a sheet capacity indictor that progressively indicates the thickness of article(s) or document(s) being inserted into the opening 14 so as to prevent overloading and possible jams)
Romanovich does not teach … in the color blue …the pattern repeating when the number reaches five
Barthel teaches in the color blue ([0017] The power/auto control 40 may be illuminated (e.g., blue backlighting) whenever the shredder 20 is on (FIG. 3))…the pattern repeating when the number reaches five ([0022] the controller 60 repeats the reverse prompt, reverse running for a predetermined time, followed by the forward prompt, and forward running until clear or another jam. The controller 60 may be configured to prompt only a predetermined number of reverse-forward cycles (e.g., 3-5 cycles) by the user before ceasing and indicating that the jam should be cleared manually. For example, the jam icon 58 may be illuminated, steadily or flashing, without illumination of either of the reverse and forward direction controls 42, 44 as shown in FIG. 6. The jam icon 58 may be illuminated in a different color to indicate that the jam requires manual clearing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Romanocivh’s teaching of a jam proof sensor for a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors green, yellow, and red with Barthel’s teaching of using a blue colored backlight on the shredder. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a jam proof sensor for a shredder communicating using LED light indicators with the colors that include blue. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve usability of the shredder.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Jensen (US20100090039) discloses shredder with light emitting diode sensors.
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117