DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as fig. 1 includes two instances of reference numerals 115-1 and 125.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 7 – “antenna” (line 14) and “antenna element” (line 16) have the same reference numeral (110).
Page 9 – “shorting sheet” has reference numeral (177) in line 2, and reference numeral (197) in line 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 includes the reference numeral 125 which should be deleted for consistency.
Claim 19 (final line) should be amended to “the antenna via a second circuit path of the circuit path”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an intermediate structure operative to modify a phase of first wireless signals”. However, it is not clear how the intermediate structure modifies the phase of the first wireless signals. Details of the features of the intermediate structure which carry out phase modification of the first wireless signals are not specified in the claim. Also, as phase is a relative measure, it is unclear exactly how the phase of the signal is being modified. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite and is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim 2 (lines 4-5) recites “the phase modified first wireless signals”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the first wireless signals pass through the intermediate structure”, but then goes on to recite that “the phase modified first wireless signals are reflected off a surface”. It is unclear if the first wireless signals that pass through the intermediate structure have a modified phase and if they are the phase modified first wireless signals recited in lines 4-5.
Claim 2 also recites “wherein the intermediate structure is operative to receive and modify a phase of reflected signals”. As for claim 1, it is not clear how the intermediate structure modifies the phase of reflected signals and how the phase is modified.
Claim 2 is therefore indefinite and interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim 2 further recites (lines 4-5) “the phase modified first wireless signals reflected off a surface”. It is not clear if this surface is the ground plane of claim 1, or if it is another surface. The Examiner interprets this limitation as “reflected off the ground plane”.
Claim 10 recites “the intermediate structure operative to modify a phase of the third wireless signals”. As for claim 1, it is not clear how the intermediate structure is operative to modify the phase of reflected signals as the structural details of the intermediate structure are missing, and it is not clear how the phase is modified. Claim 10 is therefore indefinite and is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim 10 further recites (line 3) “reflected from a surface”. It is not clear if this surface is the ground plane of claim 1, or if it is another surface. The Examiner interprets this limitation as “reflected from the ground plane”.
Claim 12 recites “at least one component operative to modify the phase of the first wireless signals”. However, it is not clear how the at least one component is operative to modify the phase of the first wireless signals, and how the phase is modified. Claim 12 is therefore indefinite and is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim 18 (line 5) recites “reflected off a surface”. However, it is not clear what this surface is, and whether it is the ground plane recited in claim 17 on which claim 18 depends. The Examiner interprets this limitation as “reflected off the ground plane”.
Claims 3-9 and 11 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2022/0352644 A1; hereinafter Chen).
Claim 1: As best understood, Chen discloses (see fig. 2 above) “An antenna element (200) comprising:
an antenna (radiating element 230, 220);
a circuit path (feedstalks 222, 232) operative to convey energy from a feed source (not shown) to the antenna (220, 230); and
an intermediate structure (periodic surface 212/AMC plane), the intermediate structure operative to modify a phase of first wireless signals emitted in a first direction from the antenna element towards a ground plane (conductor plane 211) (fig. 6 and ¶7, “the AMC plane is configured to reflect the first electromagnetic radiation substantially in phase and to reflect the second electromagnetic radiation substantially in antiphase”, therefore, it modifies the phase of a wireless signal)”.
Chen does not explicitly disclose “a feed source, the intermediate structure is disposed between the feed source and the antenna, and a feed source associated with the ground plane. However, Chen teaches (¶5) “it should be understood that although not shown, the antenna assembly 100 may further include additional mechanical and electronic components, such as one or more of connectors, cables, phase shifters, remote electronic tilt (RET) units, duplexers, and the like, arranged on a rear side of the reflector 110”.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a feed source is necessary to feed the antenna element via the ground stalk, and that this feed source can be located under the ground plane (and therefore the ground plane is associated with the feed source), as taught by Chen.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna element of Chen to include a feed source associated with a ground plane in order to feed the antenna element.
Claim 2: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
As best understood, Chen discloses (¶33) “wherein the first wireless signals pass through the intermediate structure (AMC plane 212); and wherein the intermediate structure (212) is further operative to receive and modify a phase of reflected signals, the reflected signals being the phase modified first wireless signals reflected off the ground plane (ground plane 211), the reflected signals traveling in a second direction (away from the ground plane 211), the second direction being opposite the first direction (¶33, the reflector 210 can reflect the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the radiating element 220 in the low frequency band substantially in phase (for example, such that the resonance frequency of the AMC in the AMC plane 212 is substantially the same as the center frequency of the operating frequency band of the radiating element 220) and reflect the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the radiating element 230 in the high frequency band substantially in antiphase, so that the radiator 221 can be positioned closer to the reflector 210 than the radiator 231.)”.
Claim 6: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly disclose, in the embodiment shown in fig. 2 (hereinafter embodiment one), “wherein the circuit path extends through an opening of the intermediate structure”.
However, Chen teaches in the embodiment shown in fig. 4 (hereinafter embodiment two), “wherein the circuit path (feed stalk) extends through an opening of the intermediate structure (340) (a lower portion of the feed stalk extends through the 340, and so there must be an opening in the intermediate structure)”.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as the intermediate structure is placed above the ground plane, the circuit path must pass through the intermediate structure in order to feed the antenna.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify embodiment one of Chen wherein the circuit path extends through an opening of the intermediate structure, in order to feed the antenna so that it can radiate at the desired frequency.
Claim 9: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
Chen discloses “wherein the intermediate structure does not substantially attenuate the first wireless signals as the first wireless signals pass through the intermediate structure (¶36, the ground plane 211 reflects signals which, at certain frequencies determined by the resonance frequency of AMC plane 212, pass through the intermediate structure 212. Therefore, the intermediate structure does not substantially attenuate the first wireless signals”)”.
Claim 10: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
As best understood, Chen discloses “wherein the first wireless signals passing through the intermediate structure (periodic surface 212/AMC plane) are reflected from the ground plane (211) back through the intermediate structure as third wireless signals, the intermediate structure operative to modify a phase of the third wireless signals (the direction of the third wireless signals is different to the direction of the first wireless signals, and therefore the third wireless signals have a different phase)”.
Claim 11: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 10.
Chen discloses “wherein the antenna (230) outputs second wireless signals in a direction substantially opposite (antenna radiates signals upwards, away from conductor plane 211) a travel direction of the first wireless signals (from the antenna element towards conductor plane 211)”.
Claim 15: Chen discloses (fig. 2) “A system comprising: multiple instances of the antenna element of claim 1 disposed in an antenna array”.
Claim 16: Chen discloses “a method comprising: fabricating the antenna element of claim 1 (the fabricated antenna element is shown in fig. 2)”.
Claim 17: Chen discloses (fig. 2) “A method comprising:
receiving energy from a feed signal (antenna element 200 has feed stalks 222, 232);
via a circuit path, conveying the energy from the feed source to an antenna (feedstalks 222, 232); and
via an intermediate structure (periodic surface 212/AMC plane), modifying a phase of first wireless signals emitted in a first direction from the antenna element towards a ground plane (fig. 6 and ¶7, “the AMC plane is configured to reflect the first electromagnetic radiation substantially in phase and to reflect the second electromagnetic radiation substantially in antiphase”, therefore, it modifies the phase of a signal)”.
Chen does not explicitly disclose “a feed source, the intermediate structure disposed between the feed source and the antenna, and a feed source associated with the ground plane. However, Chen teaches (¶5) “it should be understood that although not shown, the antenna assembly 100 may further include additional mechanical and electronic components, such as one or more of connectors, cables, phase shifters, remote electronic tilt (RET) units, duplexers, and the like, arranged on a rear side of the reflector 110”.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a feed source is necessary to feed the antenna element via the ground stalk, and that this feed source can be located under the ground plane (and therefore the ground plane is associated with the feed source), as taught by Chen.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen to include a feed source associated with a ground plane in order to feed the antenna element.
Claim 18: Chen discloses the method as in claim 1.
Chen discloses (¶33) “wherein the first wireless signals pass through the intermediate structure (AMC plane 212); and via the intermediate structure, receiving and modifying a phase of reflected signals, the reflected signals being the phase modified first wireless signals reflected off the ground plane (ground plane 211), the reflected signals traveling in a second direction (away from the ground plane 211), the second direction being opposite the first direction (¶33, the reflector 210 can reflect the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the radiating element 220 in the low frequency band substantially in phase (for example, such that the resonance frequency of the AMC in the AMC plane 212 is substantially the same as the center frequency of the operating frequency band of the radiating element 220) and reflect the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the radiating element 230 in the high frequency band substantially in antiphase, so that the radiator 221 can be positioned closer to the reflector 210 than the radiator 231.)”.
Claims 3, 7-8, 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Grange et al. (US 2013/0285858A1; hereinafter Grange).
Claim 3: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
Chen does not disclose, in embodiment one, “wherein the circuit path passes through the intermediate structure; wherein the circuit path includes a first conductive path operative to convey the energy from the feed source to the antenna; and wherein the circuit path includes a second conductive path operative to provide a ground reference to the intermediate structure and the antenna”.
Chen teaches, in embodiment two, (fig. 4) “wherein the circuit path (feed stalk of antenna 330) passes through the intermediate structure (340) (a lower portion of the feed stalk extends through the 340, and so there must be an opening in the intermediate structure); wherein the circuit path (feed stalk) includes a first conductive path operative to convey the energy from the feed source to the antenna (330)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify embodiment one of Chen wherein the circuit path passes through the intermediate structure; wherein the circuit path includes a first conductive path operative to convey the energy from the feed source to the antenna, in order to feed the antenna so that it can radiate at the desired frequency.
Chen is silent regarding “wherein the circuit path includes a second conductive path operative to provide a ground reference to the intermediate structure and the antenna”.
However, Grange teaches that an intermediate structure (fig. 2, magnetic conductor 6) can be coupled to a ground reference via a dielectric material (¶76, “Each resonant element 14 [of magnetic conductor 6] is also inductively coupled to the ground plane 12. Here, this inductive coupling is made through the dielectric layers 16). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the circuit path can be provided by any element in antenna (2) shown in fig. 1 which can convey energy from a feed source to the antenna (figs. 1-3, radiant conductor 4). Grange therefore teaches “wherein the circuit path includes a second conductive path operative to provide a ground reference to the intermediate structure (6) and the antenna (4)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Grange to the antenna element of Chen, wherein the circuit path includes a second conductive path operative to provide a ground reference to the intermediate structure and the antenna. Doing so provides a single ground plane for the intermediate structure and the antenna, allowing for a smaller antenna element.
Claim 7: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the intermediate structure includes a patch fabricated from metal material”.
Grange teaches a frequency selective surface that can be used to modify the phase of a wireless signal that includes a patch fabricated from metal material (fig. 2, and ¶78, “each resonant element 14 is produced in a conductive material”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Grange to the antenna element of Chen, wherein the intermediate structure includes a patch fabricated from metal material. Doing so provides an intermediate structure with a reduced footprint that can be utilized with a miniaturized antenna (¶¶16-18 of Grange).
Claim 8: the modified Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 7.
Chen does not disclose “wherein the patch is coupled to a ground reference provided by the circuit path”.
However, Grange teaches that a patch (fig. 2, resonant element 14) can be coupled to a ground reference via a dielectric material (¶76, “Each resonant element 14 is also inductively coupled to the ground plane 12. Here, this inductive coupling is made through the dielectric layers 16). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the circuit path can be provided by any element in antenna (2) shown in fig. 1 which can convey energy from a feed source to the antenna (radiant conductor 4). Grange therefore teaches “wherein the patch is coupled to a ground reference provided by the circuit path”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Grange to the antenna element of Chen, wherein the patch is coupled to a ground reference provided by the circuit path. Doing so allows for an intermediate structure that does not require the use of vias directly connecting some or all of the patches to a ground plane (¶77 of Grange).
Claim 12: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the intermediate structure includes at least one component thereon fabricated from metal, the at least one component operative to modify the phase of the first wireless signals”.
Grange teaches “wherein the intermediate structure (fig. 2, magnetic conductor 6) includes at least one component (fig. 2, 14) thereon fabricated from metal (¶78, “each resonant element 14 is produced in a conductive material”; ¶131, “the resonant elements are only produced using a metal layer such as copper”), the at least one component (14) operative to modify the phase of the first wireless signals (¶¶129-131 and fig. 5, which shows the trend of the phase of the coefficient of reflection of four different intermediate structures/AMCs as a function of the frequency of incident electromagnetic waves)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Grange to the antenna element of Chen, wherein the intermediate structure includes at least one component thereon fabricated from metal, the at least one component operative to modify the phase of the first wireless signals. Doing so allows for the metal components to be formed by deposition on a dielectric material, allowing for the precise and cost-effective construction of the metal components (¶128 of Grange).
Claim 13: the modified Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 12.
Chen does not disclose “wherein the intermediate structure includes a non-electrically conductive substrate on which the at least one component is fabricated”.
Grange teaches “wherein the intermediate structure (fig. 2, magnetic conductor 6) includes a non-electrically conductive substrate (fig. 2 and ¶77, “the resonant elements 14 are electrically insulated from the ground plane 12 by the dielectric layers 16”) on which the at least one component is fabricated (¶128, “The radiant elements 14 are, for example, fabricated by deposition on the dielectric layer 20, 22 or 24 of the thin sublayers one after the other”)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Roy to the antenna element of Chen, wherein the intermediate structure includes a non-electrically conductive substrate on which the at least one component is fabricated. Doing so allows for the metal components to be formed by deposition on a dielectric material, allowing for the precise and cost-effective construction of the metal components (¶128 of Grange).
Claim 19: Chen discloses the method as in claim 17.
Chen does not disclose, in embodiment one, “wherein the circuit path passes through the intermediate structure, the method further comprising: conveying the energy from the feed source to the antenna via a first conductive path of the circuit path; and providing a ground reference to the intermediate structure and the antenna via a second conductive path of the circuit path”.
Chen teaches, in embodiment two, (fig. 4) “wherein the circuit path (feed stalk of antenna 330) passes through the intermediate structure (340), the method further comprising: conveying the energy from the feed source to the antenna (330) via a first conductive path (feed stalk)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify embodiment one of Chen wherein the circuit path passes through the intermediate structure, the method further comprising: conveying the energy from the feed source to the antenna via a first conductive path of the circuit path, in order to feed the antenna so that it can radiate at the desired frequency.
Chen is silent regarding “providing a ground reference to the intermediate structure and the antenna via a second conductive path of the circuit path”.
However, Grange teaches that an intermediate structure (fig. 2, magnetic conductor 6) can be coupled to a ground reference via a dielectric material (¶76, “Each resonant element 14 is inductively coupled to the ground plane 12. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the circuit path can be provided by any element in antenna (2) shown in fig. 1 which can convey energy from a feed source to the antenna (figs. 1-3, radiant conductor 4). Grange therefore teaches “providing a ground reference to the intermediate structure and the antenna via a second conductive path of the circuit path”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Grange to the method of Chen, including providing a ground reference to the intermediate structure and the antenna via a second conductive path of the circuit path. Doing so provides a single ground plane for the intermediate structure and the antenna, allowing for a smaller antenna element.
Claims 4-5, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Grange, and further in view of Novak et al. (WO 2020/101783; hereinafter Novak).
Claim 4: the modified Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 3.
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the circuit path is a transmission line”.
Novak teaches (fig. 3A and p. 9, final para. to p. 10, first para.) a dipole antenna (200) wherein the circuit path is a transmission line (microstrip line 325 which is connected to a signal feed 310).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Novak to the antenna element of Chen in view of Grange, wherein the circuit path is a transmission line. Doing so allows for impedance matching while providing a feed that has a low profile and is easy to manufacture.
Claim 5: the modified Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 4.
Chen does not disclose “wherein the first conductive path tapers along at least a portion of its length from the feed source to the antenna”.
Novak teaches (fig. 3A) “wherein the first conductive path (microstrip line 325) tapers along at least a portion of its length from the feed source (signal feed 310) to the antenna (200)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Novak to the antenna element of Chen in view of Grange and Novak, wherein the first conductive path tapers along at least a portion of its length from the feed source to the antenna. Doing so allows for impedance matching while providing a feed that has a low profile and is easy to manufacture.
Claim 14: Chen discloses the antenna element as in claim 1.
Chen does not disclose, in embodiment one, “wherein the intermediate structure includes a first opening through which the circuit path passes, the circuit path extending between the feed source and the antenna; and wherein the intermediate structure includes a second opening to receive a ground reference from the antenna element”.
Chen teaches, in embodiment two (fig. 4), “wherein the intermediate structure (340) includes a first opening through which the circuit path (feed stalk of antenna 330) passes (a lower portion of the feed stalk extends through the 340, and so there must be an opening in the intermediate structure), the circuit path extending between the feed source (not shown) and the antenna (330)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify embodiment one of Chen wherein the intermediate structure includes a first opening through which the circuit path passes, the circuit path extending between the feed source and the antenna. Doing so positions the intermediate structure below the antenna element so that the first wireless signals can be reflected and the gain of the antenna increased.
Chen is silent regarding “wherein the intermediate structure includes a second opening to receive a ground reference from the antenna element”.
Grange teaches wherein the intermediate structure receives a ground reference from the antenna element (¶76, “Each resonant element 14 [of magnetic conductor 6] is also inductively coupled to the ground plane 12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Grange to the method of Chen, wherein the intermediate structure receives a ground reference from the antenna element. Doing so provides a single ground plane for the intermediate structure and the antenna, allowing for a smaller antenna element.
Grange is silent regarding “wherein the intermediate structure includes a second opening to receive the ground reference”.
However, Novak teaches (fig. 3A and p. 9, final para.) a dipole antenna that is coupled to a ground plane (215) via a grounding post (320). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the intermediate structure would need to have a second opening to receive the grounding post (320), as the grounding post (320) and the antenna feed (325) are separate components.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Novak to the method of Chen in view of Grange, wherein the intermediate structure includes a second opening to receive the ground reference. Doing so allows for a separate feed and ground connection which can advantageously modify the antenna element’s impedance and bandwidth.
Claim 20: the modified Chen discloses the method as in claim 19.
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the circuit path is a transmission line”.
Novak teaches (fig. 3A and p. 9, final para. to p. 10, first para.) a dipole antenna (200) wherein the circuit path is a transmission line (microstrip line 325 which is connected to a signal feed 310).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Novak to the method of Chen in view of Grange, wherein the circuit path is a transmission line. Doing so allows for impedance matching while providing a feed that has a low profile and is easy to manufacture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Varnoosfaderani et al. (US 2023/0104131) disclose a frequency selective surface between an antenna and a ground plane, the frequency selective surface modifying the phase of a signal.
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845