DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulze Selting et al. (US 20180368320 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schulze Selting discloses a multi-segment header (2) of an agricultural harvester (combine harvester; see Schulze Selting [0001]) comprising:
a chassis (6)
a multi-segment auger (16, 18) supported by the chassis (6), the multi-segment auger including a first auger segment (16) and a second auger segment (18); and
a drive assembly (28) centrally located with respect to the chassis (6) the rotatably drives the multi-segment auger (16, 18), the drive assembly including:
a housing (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below) between the first and second auger segments (16, 18),
a motor (34) spaced from the multi-segment auger (16, 18), and
a driven shaft (32) operatively engaged with the motor (34), and the first (16) and second auger segments (18);
The slider pins 32 are explicitly described as shaft stubs and are configured to transmit torque-proof, interlocked connection with the auger segments (See Schulze Selting [0042]). As such, these elements function as portions of a driven shaft under broadest reasonable interpretation, as they transmit rotational motion from the motor-driven components to the auger segments.
wherein the driven shaft (32) extends laterally outwardly from opposed first (left side of 28; See Schulze Selting Fig. 5) and second sides (right side of 28; See Schulze Selting Fig. 5) of the housing (via 28; See Schulze Selting Fig. 5) in rotationally driving the first and second auger segments (16, 18);
wherein a first portion of the driven shaft (32; left side of 28; See Schulze Selting Fig. 5) extends laterally outwardly from the first side of the housing (via left side of 28; See Schulze Selting Fig. 5) and directly engages the first auger segment (16); and
wherein a second portion of the driven shaft (32; right side of 28; See Schulze Selting Fig. 5) extends laterally outwardly from the second side of the housing (via 28; See Schulze Selting Fig. 5) and directly engages the second auger segment (18).
Regarding claim 10, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 1, wherein the motor (34) is a hydraulic motor (See Schulze Selting [0041], line 1), a pneumatic motor, or an electric motor.
Regarding claim 11, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 1, wherein the motor (34) is positioned posteriorly and spaced from a longitudinal centerline of the multi-segment auger (16, 18). (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 2 below)
Regarding claim 17, Schulze Selting discloses an agricultural harvester (combine harvester; see Schulze Selting [0001]) comprising the multi-segment header (2) of claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 8, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Schulze Selting et al. (US 20180368320 A1) in view of Remillard (US 20160309651 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 1, wherein the drive assembly (28) further comprises:
However, Schulze Selting fails to disclose the first and second sprockets housed within the housing; and an endless belt extending between the first and second sprockets; and wherein the motor is adjacent a posterior end of the housing, and the driven shaft is operatively engaged with one of the first and second sprockets.
Remillard teaches first (42) and second (43) sprockets housed within the housing (31); and an endless belt (44) extending between the first (42) and second (43) sprockets; and wherein the motor (38) is adjacent a posterior end of the housing (31), and the driven shaft (33) is operatively engaged with one of the first (42) and second (43) sprockets. (See Remillard annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the multi-segment header as taught by Schulze Selting with the first and second sprocket and endless belt as disclosed by Remillard to transmit rotational power from the motor to the driven shaft in a compact, protected, and mechanically efficient manner.
Regarding claim 3, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 2.
However, Schulze Selting fails to disclose wherein the drive assembly further comprises a belt tensioner for adjusting a tension of the endless belt.
Remillard teaches wherein the drive assembly (30) further comprises a belt tensioner (49) for adjusting a tension of the endless belt (44).
Remillard states, "The cam 46 carries a ratchet 49 which rotates with the cam relative to a pawl 50 which can be released by a finger lever 51. In order to allow the movement to release the tension therefore the pawl is lifted and the cam rotated to drive movement of the plate 45." (Remillard [0050])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the multi-segment header as taught by Schulze Selting with the belt tensioner and endless belt as disclosed by Remillard to maintain proper belt tension and prevent premature wear or failure during operation.
Regarding claim 8, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 2, wherein the driven shaft (32) includes a shoulder (36) for axially securing the driven shaft in a fixed position. (See Schulze Selting [0042], line 2)
Regarding claim 12, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 2, wherein the drive assembly (28) further comprises a mounting plate (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below) for mounting the motor (34) to the housing (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 13, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 12, wherein the mounting plate (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below) is adjustably movable relative to the housing (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 14, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 12, wherein the mounting plate (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below) includes an elongated slot (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below) for receiving a fastener (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 15, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 14, wherein the mounting plate (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below) is movable relative to the fastener (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below) along a length of the elongated slot (See Schulze Selting annotated Fig. 4 below).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze Selting et al. (US 20180368320 A1) in view of Remillard (US 20160309651 A1) as applied to
claims 2-4, 8-9, and 12-15 above, and further in view of Nelson (US 6381937 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 2.
However, Schulze Selting fails to disclose wherein the driven shaft is axially secured to one of the first and second sprockets with a hex clamp.
Remillard teaches wherein the driven shaft (33) is axially secured to one of the first (42) and second sprockets (43). (See Remillard annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the multi-segment header as taught by Schulze Selting with the first and second sprockets as disclosed by Remillard to transmit rotational power from the motor to the driven shaft in a compact, protected, and mechanically efficient manner.
Nelson teaches a hex clamp (38).
Nelson states, "The sprocket and bearing spacers (38) are bolted (39) to the shafts (28) between components on the shafts to prevent lateral movement of any component on the shaft." (Nelson Col. 15, lines 65-67).
Nelson also states, "The paddle chain frame (6) consists of bar metal welded together to form a rigid structure that supports the lower idler shaft bearings (5) and idler sprockets (27) on a one-inch hex shaft." (Nelson Col. 13, lines 61-64). Thus, the sprocket and bearing spacers are mounted on and fixed relative to the hexagonal shaft, the spacers necessarily include a hexagonal engagement surface corresponding to the hex shaft profile.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the multi-segment header as taught by Schulze Selting with the sprocket and bearing spacers as disclosed by Nelson to prevent relative rotation and axial displacement.
Regarding claim 7, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 2.
However, Schulze Selting fails to disclose wherein the drive assembly further comprises an idler sprocket for adjusting tension of the endless belt.
Nelson teaches wherein the drive assembly (6) further comprises an idler sprocket (27) for adjusting tension of the endless belt (8).
Nelson states, "This allows the paddle (9) to be in position to enter the cotton stripping process in a vertical stance, i.e. parallel to the cotton stalks as the paddles travel around the front idler sprocket (27)." (Nelson Col. 11, lines 48-52)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the multi-segment header as taught by Schulze Selting with the idler sprocket as disclosed by Nelson to maintain proper belt tension, reduce belt slack, and improve operational reliability of the belt driven system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze Selting et
al. (US 20180368320 A1) in view of Remillard (US 20160309651 A1) as applied to claims 2-4, 8-
9, and 12-15 above, and further in view of Oswald et al. (US 4572311 A).
Regarding claim 6, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 2.
However, Schulze Selting fails to disclose the housing comprises a removable plug for removing debris from an interior of the housing.
Oswald teaches wherein the housing comprises a removable plug for removing debris from an interior of the housing.
Oswald states, "Drain plugs 14 and 16 are located at the bottom and outside surfaces, respectively, of frame 12 to facilitate draining or replenishing of lubricants therein." (Oswald Col. 3, lines 65-68)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the multi-segment header as taught by Schulze Selting with the drain plugs as disclosed by Oswald to replenish lubricants and remove any contaminants. Thus, increasing service life of moving parts.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze Selting et
al. (US 20180368320 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Schulze Selting discloses the multi-segment header of claim 1 including first (16) and second (18) auger segments arranged on opposite sides of a central drive assembly (28), such that harvested material is conveyed inwardly toward a central region of the header (2).
While Schulze Selting fails to specifically disclose wherein a medial end of the first auger segment is spaced from a medial end of the second auger segment about 2 to 7 inches, Schulze Selting does illustrate a central drive region disposed between the auger segments, thereby requiring a spacing between the inwardly facing ends of the auger segments to accommodate the drive assembly.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the multi-segment header so as to select the spacing between the medial ends of the first and second auger segments to be about 2 to 7 inches, since the precise spacing between opposing auger segments adjacent a central drive assembly is a matter of routine design choice dependent on header width, drive assembly size, and desired crop flow clearance, and selecting a spacing within this range would have provided predictable results. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Schulze Selting does not disclose the claimed housing. This is not persuasive. The drawings of Schulze Selting show a structural enclosure for drive 28 positioned between auger segments 16 and 18, which corresponds to the claimed housing under broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim does not require any particular housing terminology or configuration. Accordingly, Schulze Selting teaches the claimed housing positioned between the first and second auger segments.
Applicant further argues that the slider pin 32 does not constitute the claimed driven shaft and does not rotationally drive both auger segments. This is not persuasive. Selting discloses that drive force from the motor-driven central screw conveyor segment 18 is transmitted to the lateral segment 16 via the universal joint 24 and slider pins 32, which are expressly described as shaft stubs in a torque-proof connection. These components form a continuous torque-transmitting shaft extending between and into both auger segments, thereby defining portions of the shaft that extend toward respective sides. The presence of a universal joint does not negate “direct engagement,” as it is part of the shaft and merely facilitates transmission of rotation. Applicant’s arguments improperly require a single-piece shaft or exclude intermediate components, which are not recited in the claims. Accordingly, Schulze Selting teaches the claimed driven shaft.
Other References Considered
Additionally, US 20210092902 A1 further illustrates that a solid driven shaft in between two auger segments is well-known feature in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671