DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “though an aperture” in line 8 which appears to be a typographical error and should be replaced with –through an aperture--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “coil adjustment mechanism arranged to move the movable carrier along the receptacle” in claim 6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the corresponding structure to a “coil adjustment mechanism” is identified as “an actuator 165 configured to drive the carrier 161, and thereby the coil arrangement 117, to move along the axis 102. Examples of suitable actuators include, but are not limited to; screw mechanisms, rack and pinion arrangements, telescoping linear actuators, magnetic drives, and push-pull actuators. The actuator may comprise the rail e.g. as a rack in a rack and pinion arrangement. The actuator may comprise one or more electric motors” (Specification page 14, lines 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 20, 22, 23, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista et al. (WO 2021037826A1) in view of Aoun et al. (US 2021/0137167).
Claim 1. Batista et al. discloses an aerosol-generating device 10 comprising a cavity 12 (receptacle) for receiving an aerosol-generating article comprising aerosol-forming substrate. The device further comprises an induction heating arrangement. The induction heating arrangement comprises a susceptor arrangement 14 and an induction coil 16. The induction coil 16 is arranged at least partly surrounding the susceptor arrangement 14. The induction coil 16 is arranged axially movable along the susceptor arrangement 14. The induction heating arrangement comprises a guiding element 42 configured to guide the axial movement of the induction coil 16 (coil is movable in the housing) (Abstract; Figures 1 and 2 where the cavity 12 (receptacle) extends through the coil 16).
Batista et al. discloses that the induction coil(s) may be a planar coil disposed around part of the circumference of the cavity or fully around the circumference of the cavity. As used herein a "planar coil" means a spirally wound coil having an axis of winding which is normal to the surface in which the coil lies. The planar coil may lie in a flat Euclidean plane (Page 11, lines 3-8). Batista et al. does not explicitly disclose that the receptacle extends through the flat spiral induction coil through an aperture defined by the flat spiral induction coil.
Aoun et al. discloses an induction coil arrangement for use with an apparatus for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material. The induction coil arrangement includes a plate having opposite first and second sides, a first flat spiral coil of electrically-conductive material mounted on the first side of the plate, and a second flat spiral coil of electrically-conductive material mounted on the second side of the plate (Abstract; Figure 1). The system comprises an elongate heating zone 110 for receiving an article 70 comprising smokable material 72. The magnetic field generator 120 comprises a plurality of flat spiral coils 21-22 of electrically-conductive material arranged sequentially and in respective planes along a longitudinal axis H-H of the heating zone 110. More specifically, the magnetic field generator 120 of the apparatus 100 comprises the structure 50 of FIGS. 3 and 4, whereby the plurality of flat spiral coils 21, 22 of the magnetic field generator 120 are the respective pairs of coils 21, 22 of the induction coil arrangements 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d, 1e (Figure 5; [0067]-[0071]).
Aoun et al. teaches that when observed from one side of the induction coil arrangement 1, the first flat spiral coil 21 follows a clockwise path from the radially-inner end 21a of the first flat spiral coil 21, and the second flat spiral coil 22 follows an anti-clockwise path from the radially-inner end 22a of the second flat spiral coil 22. In this configuration, the magnetic fields generated by the coils 21, 22 in use reinforce each other, effectively doubling the inductance of the coils 21, 22 and doubling the magnetic field along the coil axes ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the induction coil 16 of Batista et al. be replaced with the flat spiral coils 21, 22 mounted on opposite sides of a plate as taught by Aoun et al. in order to effectively double the inductance of the coils and double the magnetic field along the coil axes as taught by Aoun et al.
Claim 3. Modified Batista et al. discloses that to facilitate movement of the induction coil 16, a guiding element 42 (movable carrier) is provided. The guiding element 42 is engaged with a guiding slot 44 of the housing 24 of the aerosol generating device. The guiding element 42 partly surrounds the induction coil 16. The induction coil 16 is mounted on the guiding element 42. The guiding element 42 is movable within the guiding slot 44. Movement of the guiding element 42 within the guiding slot 44 results in a movement of the induction coil 16 from the position shown in Figure 1 to the position shown in Figure 2 (Batista Page 20, lines 9-15; Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 4. Modified Batista et al. discloses that guiding element 42 (movable carrier) comprises a plate and the induction coil 16 is inside (on a first side) of the plate (Batista Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 6. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the aerosol-generating device may further comprise a motor (coil adjustment mechanism) for moving the induction coil. The aerosol-generating device may be configured to automatically move the induction coil between the first heating position and the second heating position. The motor may be an electric motor (Batista Page 3, lines 32-35).
Claim 7. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the cavity 12 (receptacle) is elongate and the induction coil 16 is movable in a longitudinal direction along the cavity 12 (receptacle) (Batista Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 8. Modified Batista et al. discloses that control of the motor may be facilitated by a controller as described herein. The controller may be configured to control the operation of the motor depending upon an operation time of the induction coil. If the induction coil is placed in a specific position such as the first heating position and operated for a time exceeding a predetermined threshold, the controller may control the motor to move the induction coil towards a further position such as the second heating position (Batista Page 4, lines 6-11). The susceptor arrangement 14 comprises multiple susceptors in figure 1, in which three susceptors are depicted. Apart from the first susceptor 22, a second susceptor 30 and a third susceptor 34 are depicted. The induction coil 16 is configured to be movable between different heating positions (pre-defined positions). Each heating position of the induction coil 16 corresponds to a position surrounding a susceptor 22, 30, 34 (Batista Page 19, lines 8-21; Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 10. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the controller may be configured to control the supply of power to the induction coils from the power supply. The controller may comprise a microprocessor, which may be a programmable microprocessor, a microcontroller, or an application specific integrated chip (ASIC) or other electronic circuitry capable of providing control. The controller may comprise further electronic components. The controller may be configured to regulate a supply of current to the induction coils. Current may be supplied to one or both of the induction coils continuously following activation of the aerosol-generating device or may be supplied intermittently, such as on a puff by puff basis (Batista Page 8, lines 3-11).
Claims 11 and 13. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the induction heating arrangement may be configured to generate heat by means of induction. The induction heating arrangement comprises an induction coil and a susceptor arrangement (heating element). The susceptor arrangement may comprise blade shaped susceptors. The blade shaped susceptors may be arranged inside of the cavity (protrudes in the receptacle). The blade shaped susceptors may be arranged for holding the aerosol-generating article, when the aerosol-generating article is inserted into the cavity (Batista Page 5, line 34 – Page 6, line 21). The susceptor arrangement is a conductive element that heats up when subjected to a changing magnetic field (Batista Page 9, lines 34-35). The susceptor arrangement may be formed from any material that can be inductively heated to a temperature sufficient to aerosolise an aerosol-forming substrate. Suitable materials for the susceptor arrangement include graphite, molybdenum, silicon carbide, stainless steels, niobium, aluminium, nickel, nickel containing compounds, titanium, and composites of metallic materials. Preferred susceptor arrangements comprise a metal or carbon. Advantageously the susceptor arrangement may comprise or consists of a ferromagnetic material, for example, ferritic iron, a ferromagnetic alloy, such as ferromagnetic steel or stainless steel, ferromagnetic particles, and ferrite. A suitable susceptor arrangement may be, or comprise, aluminium (Batista Page 12, lines 27-35).
Claim 14. Modified Batista et al. discloses that inside of the cavity, a susceptor arrangement 14 is arranged. The inner diameter of the susceptor arrangement 14 may correspond or may be slightly smaller than the outer diameter of the aerosol-generating article 12. The aerosol-generating article 12 may be held by the susceptor arrangement 14 after insertion of the aerosol-generating article 12 into the cavity. Alternatively, the inner diameter of the susceptor arrangement 14 may be larger than the outer diameter of the aerosol-generating article 12. The susceptor arrangement 14 may have a tubular shape (Batista Page 18, lines 21-27).
Claim 16. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the susceptor arrangement 14 (heating element) may have a tubular shape (Batista Page 18, lines 26-27).
Claim 17. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the susceptor arrangement 14 comprises multiple susceptors in figure 1, in which three susceptors are depicted. Apart from the first susceptor 22, a second susceptor 30 and a third susceptor 34 are depicted. The induction coil 16 is configured movable between different heating positions. Each heating position of the induction coil 16 corresponds to a position surrounding a susceptor 22, 30, 34 (Batista Page 19, lines 8-21; Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 20. Batista et al. discloses an aerosol-generating device 10 comprising a cavity 12 (receptacle) for receiving an aerosol-generating article comprising aerosol-forming substrate. The device further comprises an induction heating arrangement. The induction heating arrangement comprises a susceptor arrangement 14 and an induction coil 16. The induction coil 16 is arranged at least partly surrounding the susceptor arrangement 14. The induction coil 16 is arranged axially movable along the susceptor arrangement 14. The induction heating arrangement comprises a guiding element 42 configured to guide the axial movement of the induction coil 16 (coil is movable in the housing) (Abstract; Figures 1 and 2 where the cavity 12 (receptacle) extends through the coil 16). The induction heating arrangement may be configured to generate heat by means of induction. The induction heating arrangement comprises an induction coil and a susceptor arrangement (heating element) (Page 5, line 34 – Page 6, line 21). The susceptor arrangement is a conductive element that heats up when subjected to a changing magnetic field (Page 9, lines 34-35). The susceptor arrangement may be formed from any material that can be inductively heated to a temperature sufficient to aerosolise an aerosol-forming substrate (Page 12, lines 27-35).
Batista et al. discloses that the induction coil(s) may be a planar coil disposed around part of the circumference of the cavity or fully around the circumference of the cavity. As used herein a "planar coil" means a spirally wound coil having an axis of winding which is normal to the surface in which the coil lies. The planar coil may lie in a flat Euclidean plane (Page 11, lines 3-8). Batista et al. does not explicitly disclose that the receptacle extends through the flat spiral induction coil through an aperture defined by the flat spiral induction coil.
Aoun et al. discloses an induction coil arrangement for use with an apparatus for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material. The induction coil arrangement includes a plate having opposite first and second sides, a first flat spiral coil of electrically-conductive material mounted on the first side of the plate, and a second flat spiral coil of electrically-conductive material mounted on the second side of the plate (Abstract; Figure 1). The system comprises an elongate heating zone 110 for receiving an article 70 comprising smokable material 72. The magnetic field generator 120 comprises a plurality of flat spiral coils 21-22 of electrically-conductive material arranged sequentially and in respective planes along a longitudinal axis H-H of the heating zone 110. More specifically, the magnetic field generator 120 of the apparatus 100 comprises the structure 50 of FIGS. 3 and 4, whereby the plurality of flat spiral coils 21, 22 of the magnetic field generator 120 are the respective pairs of coils 21, 22 of the induction coil arrangements 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d, 1e (Figure 5; [0067]-[0071]).
Aoun et al. teaches that when observed from one side of the induction coil arrangement 1, the first flat spiral coil 21 follows a clockwise path from the radially-inner end 21a of the first flat spiral coil 21, and the second flat spiral coil 22 follows an anti-clockwise path from the radially-inner end 22a of the second flat spiral coil 22. In this configuration, the magnetic fields generated by the coils 21, 22 in use reinforce each other, effectively doubling the inductance of the coils 21, 22 and doubling the magnetic field along the coil axes ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the induction coil 16 of Batista et al. be replaced with the flat spiral coils 21, 22 mounted on opposite sides of a plate as taught by Aoun et al. in order to effectively double the inductance of the coils and double the magnetic field along the coil axes as taught by Aoun et al.
Claims 22 and 23. Modified Batista et al. discloses that inside of the cavity, a susceptor arrangement 14 is arranged. The inner diameter of the susceptor arrangement 14 may correspond or may be slightly smaller than the outer diameter of the aerosol-generating article 12. The aerosol-generating article 12 may be held by the susceptor arrangement 14 after insertion of the aerosol-generating article 12 into the cavity. Alternatively, the inner diameter of the susceptor arrangement 14 may be larger than the outer diameter of the aerosol-generating article 12. The susceptor arrangement 14 may have a tubular shape (Batista Page 18, lines 21-27).
Claim 25. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the induction heating arrangement may be configured to generate heat by means of induction. The induction heating arrangement comprises an induction coil and a susceptor arrangement (heating element). The susceptor arrangement may comprise blade shaped susceptors. The blade shaped susceptors may be arranged inside of the cavity (protrudes in the receptacle). The blade shaped susceptors may be arranged for holding the aerosol-generating article, when the aerosol-generating article is inserted into the cavity (Batista Page 5, line 34 – Page 6, line 21).
Claim 26. Modified Batista et al. discloses that the susceptor arrangement 14 comprises multiple susceptors in figure 1, in which three susceptors are depicted. Apart from the first susceptor 22, a second susceptor 30 and a third susceptor 34 are depicted. The induction coil 16 is configured movable between different heating positions. Each heating position of the induction coil 16 corresponds to a position surrounding a susceptor 22, 30, 34 (Batista Page 19, lines 8-21; Figures 1 and 2).
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista et al. (WO 2021037826A1) in view of Aoun et al. (US 2021/0137167) and further in view of Zuber (US 2016/0295926).
Claim 19. Modified Batista et al. discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the susceptor arrangement 14 is arranged inside the cavity (Batista Page 18, lines 21-27) but does not disclose wherein the receptacle is free of heating material that is heatable by penetration with a varying magnetic field.
Zuber discloses an aerosol-generating rod which may comprise one or more susceptor elements for inductive heating. Such susceptor elements may be incorporated into the aerosol-generating rod as threads or wires of suitable susceptor material. Such susceptor elements may be incorporated on or in the sheet of non-tobacco material, for example susceptor elements may be printed onto a surface of the sheet of non-tobacco material ([0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the device of Batista et al. use an aerosol-generating rod with susceptor elements incorporated in the rod instead of a susceptor element located within the cavity in order to limit use of the device to specific aerosol-generating rods (aerosol-generating rods without incorporated susceptor elements could not be used).
Claim 21. Modified Batista et al. discloses the system of claim 20 wherein the susceptor arrangement 14 is arranged inside the cavity (Batista Page 18, lines 21-27) but does not disclose wherein the article comprises the heating element.
Zuber discloses an aerosol-generating rod which may comprise one or more susceptor elements for inductive heating. Such susceptor elements may be incorporated into the aerosol-generating rod as threads or wires of suitable susceptor material. Such susceptor elements may be incorporated on or in the sheet of non-tobacco material, for example susceptor elements may be printed onto a surface of the sheet of non-tobacco material ([0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the device of Batista et al. use an aerosol-generating rod with susceptor elements incorporated in the rod instead of a susceptor element located within the cavity in order to limit use of the device to specific aerosol-generating rods (aerosol-generating rods without incorporated susceptor elements could not be used).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments concern claim amendments that are addressed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE A WILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747