DETAILED ACTION
This office action follows a reply filed on August 13, 2026. Claims 1, 6-7 and 11-12 have been amended. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and under examination.
All previous rejections are withdrawn, as applicants have amended to limit the structure of the phenol antioxidant, the limitations which were not previously required; however, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection has been set forth below.
The texts of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code are not included in this section and can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Please amend claim 3 to specify that the claimed diameter of the continuous filament, for example, “…wherein the continuous filament has an average diameter of 1.55 to 1.95 mm.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 06-16928; however, for convenience, the machine translation will be cited below.
JP ‘928 exemplifies a compositions comprising 100 parts nylon 6, 1 part (A) Sumilizer GA-80 and 1 part (B) Sumilizer P-16 (Example 2), the structures of which are shown below and meet applicants’ formulae (A-1) and (2), respectfully:
.
JP ‘928 does not teach the composition as suitable for use in additive manufacturing by fused deposition modeling, as claimed; however, consider the following:
During examination, statements reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP 2111.02 (II).
The intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed resin composition and that of JP ‘928; therefore, the composition is inherently suitable for use in manufacturing by fused deposition modeling, as claimed.
JP ‘928 anticipates instant claims 1 and 4-6.
Claim 8 can be rejected as it only limits antioxidant (C) when it has formula (3); however, that of formula (2) is claimed as an alternative and is disclosed by JP ‘928. Alternatively, note that JP ‘928 discloses the following compound as a suitable phosphorus antioxidant, which meets the limitations of formula (3):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann (US 2022/0332922) in view of JP 06-16928. For convenience, the machine translation of JP ‘928 will be cited below.
McCann teaches a flame retardant polyamide-based 3D printing extrusion material where fused filament fabrication is listed as a suitable 3D printing method, the material comprising (A) at least one polyamide…(B) a non-halogenated flame retardant, (C) a particulate flame retardant, (D) optional reinforcing or filler materials, and up to 2 wt% (E) one or more stabilizers having a CAS number specifically listed to include 31570-04-4 and 90498-90-1, among others. 31570-04-4 is known as tris(2,4-di-tert-butylpheny)phosphite, and meets applicants’ formula (2) when R21 and R22 are alkyl groups with 4 carbon atoms. 90498-90-1 is known as 2,4,8,10-Tetraoxaspiro[5.5]undecane-3,9-diylbis(2-methylpropane-2,1-diyl) Bis[3-[3-(tert-butyl)-4-hydroxy-5-methylphenyl]propanoate], which meets applicants’ formula (A-1) when R11 is methyl, R12 is H, Y9 and Y10 are C(CH3)2, R1 and Y5 are CH2, Y2 and Y4 are O, and Y1 and Y5 are C2H4.
McCann teaches that the compositions include at least one stabilizer, suggesting a combination of such can be used, but gives no direction or preference to the claimed combination.
JP ‘928 teaches that by combining the two antioxidants described above, a polyamide composition can be obtained that has high aging resistance.
While McCann seems to prefer tetrakis(2,4-di-tert-butylphenyl)-4,4-biphenyldiphosphonite, JP ‘928 shows that the claimed combination has heat resistance which is superior to that over the preferred antioxidant described by McCann, as shown below:
Each of the compositions above also include 0.3 phr Irgafos 168, known as tris(2,4-di-tert-butylpheny)phosphite. Comparative Example 2 includes the preferred stabilizer of McCann and Example 1 uses the claimed combination of stabilizers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a combination of 0.3 parts antioxidant, specifically 2,4,8,10-Tetraoxaspiro[5.5]undecane-3,9-diylbis(2-methylpropane-2,1-diyl) Bis[3-[3-(tert-butyl)-4-hydroxy-5-methylphenyl]propanoate] and 0. 3 parts phosphorus based antioxidant, specifically tris(2,4-di-tert-butylpheny)phosphite, as the stabilizer in McCann, as JP ‘928 shows that this combination has heat resistance which is superior to that over the preferred antioxidant described by McCann.
McCann in view of JP ‘928 is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1, 4-6 and 9-12.
As to claims 2-3, McCann teaches that the filament as having any length, preferably greater than 1 m (p. 7, [0166]), where McCann teaches a length of greater than 100 mm is considered continuous (p. 5, [0081]), and a diameter of 0.5-5 mm (p. 7, [0166]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.55-1.95 mm, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
The compound suggested by the claimed substituents of claim 7 is an obvious variant of the antioxidant suggested by McCann and JP ‘928.
Claim 8 can be rejected as it only limits antioxidant (C) when it has formula (3); however, that of formula (2) is claimed as an alternative and is disclosed by JP ‘928. Alternatively, note that JP ‘928 discloses the following compound as a suitable phosphorus antioxidant, which meets the limitations of formula (3):
.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the instant invention have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766