Non-Final Rejection
The Status of Claims:
Claims 1-12, 15, 18-19, 23, 25, 27 and 33 are pending.
Claims 1-12, 15, 18-19, 25, 27 and 33 are rejected.
Claims 1-2, 4-7,10-11,15,18-19 and 23 are objected.
DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-12, 15, 18-19,23, 25, 27 and 33 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Priority
2. It is noted that this application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/021531 05/26/2022 has a foreign priority document ,JAPAN JP2021-088034 05/26/2021.
Drawings
3. None.
IDS
4. The IDS filed on 2/15/24, 2/20/24, 1/07/25,4/16/25, 12/15/25 are reviewed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-7,10-11,15,18-19 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims, there are some parentheses “(…. )” present. These parentheses can be confusing. The examiner recommends to remove them from the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 15, 18-19, 25, 27 and 33 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex Parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and /or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons :
In claims 1, a compound of formula (1) :
1) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein R is optionally-substituted C6-io aromatic carbocyclyl group, optionally-substituted 5- to 10-membered aromatic heterocyclyl group, optionally-substituted C3-6 saturated carbocyclyl group, optionally-substituted 4- to 6-membered saturated heterocyclyl group, or cyano; Li is single bond, methylene (which may be optionally substituted with the same or different one or more Ci-6 alkyl groups), -NR6-, SO-, -So2-, -S-, or oxygen atom;L2 is single bond, methylene (which may be optionally substituted with the same or different one or more Ci-6 alkyl groups), -NR6-, -C(=0)-, -OC(=0)-, -SO-, -So2-, -S-, or oxygen atom;R2 is hydrogen atom, hydroxy group, halogen atom, cyano, optionally-substituted Ci-6 alkyl, optionally-substituted Ci-6 alkoxy, C(=0)NR3R4 or C(=0)O-R5;R3, R4, R5 and R6 are each independently hydrogen atom or optionally-substituted Ci-6 alkyl;ring E is optionally-substituted 5- to 10-membered aromatic heterocyclyl group or optionally-substituted [[4-]]6- to 10-membered saturated heterocyclyl group[[;]], wherein in ring E, the optional substituent of 5- to 10-membered aromatic heterocyclyl group and 6- to 10- membered saturated heterocyclyl group is each independently one or more substituents selected from the group consisting of halogen atom, C1-6 alkyl (which may be optionally substituted withthe same or different one or more substituents selected from halogen atom, hydroxy group, Ci-6 alkoxy or C3-7 cycloalkyl), C6-io aromatic carbocyclyl group (which maybe optionally substituted with the same or different one or more substituents selected from halogen atom,hydroxy group, Ci-6 alkyl, Ci-6 alkoxy or C3-7 cycloalkyl), Ci-6 alkoxy (which may be optionally substituted with the same or different one or more substituents selected from halogen atom,hydroxy group or C3-7 cycloalkyl), C1-6 alkylamino (the alkyl group of which may be optionally substituted with halogen atom, hydroxy group or C3-7 cycloalkyl), C3-7 cycloalkyl (which may be optionally substituted with the same or different one or more substituents selected from halogen atom, hydroxy group, Ci-6 alkyl, Ci-6 alkoxy or C3-7 cycloalkyl), and C3-7 cycloalkoxy (which may be optionally substituted with the same or different one or more substituents selected from halogen atom, hydroxy group, Ci-6 alkyl, Ci-4 alkoxy or C3-7 cycloalkyl), or when there are plural optional substituents, two of them may be taken together via Ci-6 alkylene to forma chemically- possible bicyclic structure selected from a fused ring or bridged ring;ring G is optionally-substituted C6-io aromatic carbocyclyl group, optionally-substituted 5- to 10-membered aromatic heterocyclyl group, optionally-substituted C3-6 saturated carbocyclyl group, or optionally-substituted 4- to 10-membered saturated heterocyclyl group; andA is oxygen atom or sulfur atom.
The variables of R1, G, and E in the formula I are described in the followings:
R1 is at least the following formula (1a-1) to (1a-6) and (1a-21) to (1a-25):
wherein the ring G is at least the following formula (1b-1) to (1b-7):
, wherein the ring E is at least the following formulas:
.
From the above, it is estimated that the R1 contains at least 11 different compounds; G contains at least 7 different compounds, and E rings contains at least 8 different compounds in combination with their various corresponding substituents in combination with variables R2-R6 which contain numerous substituents of groups; the claim 1 does read on an extremely high number of possible species due to all the permutations and combinations in terms of mathematically speaking. There is no substantial structural feature (for example a common core) shared by all species; furthermore, there is no indication that the species share a specific common on utility.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claims to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims in a fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10, 25, 27 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Fusimoto et al (JP 2010-155827 A).
Fusimoto et al discloses the compounds in the followings:
.
(see page 75 , a p aragraph#0339)
(see page 206, a paragraph#1199, compound#334)
(see page 228, a paragraph#1360, compound#386)
(see page 233, a paragraph#1399, compound#399)
(see page 265 , a paragraph#1671, comopound#486)
(see page 265 , a paragraph#1671, compound# 486)
(see page 267 , a paragraph#1681, compound# 489)
(see page 267 , a paragraph#1684, compound# 490)
(see page 267 , a paragraph#1687, compound# 491)
(see page 268 , a paragraph#1690, compound# 492)
(see page 268 , a paragraph#1693, compound# 493)
(see page 269 , a paragraph#1696, compound# 494)
(see page 267 , a paragraph#1699, compound# 495) and their pharmaceutical compositions. These are useful in treating, preventing, relieving,
regulating, or reducing the risk of various neurological and psychiatric disorders associated with orexin receptors, including one or more of the following symptoms or diseases, such as idiopathic insomnia, sleep problems,insomnia, hypersomnia, idiopathic hypersomnia, recurrent hypersomnia, essential hypersomnia, nalcolepsy, intermittent sleep, sleep apnea, wakefulness, nocturnal clonicmuscle spasms, REM sleep interruption, jet lag, sleep disorders in shift workers (see page 110, lines 5-8).
These are identical with the claims.
6. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 10, 25, 27 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Bergman et al (WO 2006/1275550 A1).
Bergman et al discloses the following compounds:
(see page 64, the last compound)
(see page 65, compounds)
(see page 66 , the second, fourth, fifth, and sixth compounds)
(see page 67, the third and fourth compounds)
(see page 68, the first compound)
(see page 73, the first compound) and their pharmaceutical compositions.
These compounds can be used to treat sleep apnea; narcolepsy; insomnia; parasomnia (see page 2 ,lines 6-7). These are identical with the claims.
7. Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Urbanski et al (WO 02/055514 A1).
Urbanski et al discloses the following compounds:
(see page 97,, compound#49)
(see page 98, compound#62)[AltContent: rect]
(see page 110, compound#127)
(see page 117, compound#162) and their pharmaceutical compositions. These compounds can be used to treat the disorders of sleep and other circadian rhythms(see page 8, lines 29-30). These are identical with the claims.
8. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10,25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Basson et al (WO 2019/199353 A1).
Basson et al discloses compounds and their pharmaceutical compositions in the followings:
(see pages 9-11, compounds# III-VI, page 27 table 1 ). These are identical with the claims.
9. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Harris et al (US 2008/0070892 A1).
Harris et al discloses a compound and its pharmaceutical compositions in the following:
IT 1025045-10-6PRL: PAC (Pharmacological activity); SPN (Synthetic preparation); THU(Therapeutic use); BIOL (Biological study); PREP (Preparation); USES(Uses)(prepn. of spiro(azetidine-piperidine) derivs. as GPR119 modulatorsuseful in the treatment of diabetes, pain and lipid metab. disorders)RN 1025045-10-6 HCAPLUS CN 2,7-Diazaspiro[3.5]nonane-2-carboxamide,N-[1,1'-biphenyl]-2-yl-7-[(4-methyl-1,2,3-thiadiazol-5-yl)carbonyl]-1-phenyl- (CA INDEX NAME) (see abstract page ). These are identical with the claims.
10. Claim(s) 1. 2. 4-7. 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Mandelkow et al l (WO 2006/007864 Al).
Mandelkow et al discloses the following compound.
(see page 76, compound#272) This is identical with the claims.
11. Claim(s) 1,2, 5,9,11, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Wang et al (ACS Medicinal Chemistry Letters. 16 February 2021. vol. 12. no. 3. pp. 356-364).
Wang et al discloses compounds and their pharmaceutical composition thereof n the followings:
These are identical with the claims.
12. Claim(s) 1-2,4-5, 9-10, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Ko et al (WO 00/35877).
Ko et al discloses compounds and their pharmaceutical composition in the followings:
(see page 138, table 1)
(see page 138, entry# 1-11)
(see page 139, entry# 38-49)
(see page 140, entry#87-98). These are identical with the claims.
13. Claim(s) 1-2,4-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by CAS (RN#275810-68-9, enter date on July 10, 2000).
CAS (RN#275810-68-90) discloses the following compound:
This is identical with the claims.
14. Claim(s) 1-2,4-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by CAS (RN#275810-67-8, enter date on July 10, 2000).
CAS (RN#275810-67-8) discloses the following compound:
This is identical with the claims.
15. Claim(s) 1-2,4-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by CAS (RN#275810-69-0, enter date on July 10, 2000).
CAS (RN#275810-69-0) discloses the following compound:
This is identical with the claims.
16. Claim(s) 1-2,4-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by CAS (RN#275810-64-5, enter date on July 10, 2000).
CAS (RN#275810-64-5) discloses the following compound:
This is identical with the claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12, 15, 18-19, 25, 27 and 33 are rejected.
Claims 1-2, 4-7,10-11,15,18-19 and 23 are objected.
/TAYLOR V OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625 4/12/2026