DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract must be as concise as the disclosure permits, not to exceed 150 words in length . A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the method steps of figures 3 and 4 only provide blank boxes. The empty boxes should be provided with descriptive text labels to clearly indicate the steps/decisions being illustrated.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the slope/shape of the active balancing time function of the curve/graph of claim 5. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites determining a health indication based on a “slope” and a “shape” of a curve. It is unclear from the disclosure how the “slope” or “shape” is presented and evaluated to trigger an indication or maintenance function and what specific “slope” or “curve” constitutes a failing module/unit vs a normal one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beaston US 20170040646 (hereinafter Beast).
With regards to claims 1, 10, and 15 Beast discloses, a system comprising:
a plurality of energy storage units [fig 2 battery module], each energy storage unit being capable of selectively being charged with electrical energy supplied to the energy storage unit and to discharge electrical energy stored in the energy storage unit [abstract discloses charging and discharging], each energy storage unit being associated with a threshold voltage level;
at least one sensing unit [fig 4 voltage test resistor 415] configured to sense a voltage of each of the energy storage units;
at least one voltage balancing unit [fig 1c balancing charger 132] each voltage balancing unit being associated with at least one of the energy storage units, the at least one voltage balancing unit being connected to the energy storage units [figs 1-2] and when activated is configured to, on a condition that the voltage of at least one of the energy storage units associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit exceeds the threshold voltage level, reduce the voltage of at least the one(s) of the energy storage units having a voltage that exceeds the threshold voltage level so as to become equal to or smaller than the threshold voltage level [¶27 balance voltage to a target voltage]; and
at least one control and/or processing unit [fig 1c controller 134/fig 2 controller 210/fig 4 processor 405] configured to, if the at least one voltage balancing unit is activated and the voltage of at least one of the plurality of energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit exceeds the threshold voltage level, monitor an amount of time during which the at least one voltage balancing unit is or has been activated [abstract and ¶70].
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 2 and 11 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one control and/or processing unit is configured to, for each voltage balancing unit, provide an indication that the at least one of the energy storage units with which the voltage balancing unit is associated requires maintenance or replacement based at least on the amount of time during which the voltage balancing unit has been activated [¶71 maintenance/replacement based on operating time].
Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 3 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one control and/or processing unit is configured to, for each voltage balancing unit, provide the indication based on at least one of:
a determination that the amount of time during which the voltage balancing unit has been activated exceeds a threshold amount of time [¶68-¶71 discloses the balancing time being exceeded]; and
a comparison between the amount of time during which the voltage balancing unit has been activated and the amount of time during which at least one of the other voltage balancing unit has been activated [¶68-71 discloses time that the balancing has been activated between the different battery modules].
With regards to claim 4 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one control and/or processing unit is configured to, for each voltage balancing unit:
determine a difference between the amount of time during which the voltage balancing unit has been activated and the amount of time during which at least one other voltage balancing unit has been activated [¶68-71 reasonably discloses the timing of the balancing of the modules];
determine whether the difference exceeds a threshold difference [¶70-71 discloses the timing threshold]; and
provide the indication based on the determination whether the difference exceeds the threshold difference [¶71 alert is issued].
With regards to claim 6 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 1, wherein, for each energy storage unit, the threshold voltage can vary and comprises or consists of a difference between the voltage of the energy storage unit and an average voltage of the voltages of the energy storage units [¶28 discloses voltage target adjustments based on the battery pack 100 which reasonably reads on the varying voltage threshold, also where different battery units/modules are known to have slightly varying manufacturing tolerances in their voltage values].
With regards to claim 7 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 1, wherein, for each energy storage unit, the threshold voltage is fixed and comprises or consists of an upper voltage limit of the voltage of the energy storage unit [¶27-28 reasonably read on the threshold voltage being fixed, where the controller would receive an initial target value and use that value as the “fixed” value which would be the upper voltage limit of the unit in order to maximize the capabilities of the system].
With regards to claims 8 and 16 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one control and/or processing unit is configured to activate the at least one voltage balancing unit or keep the at least one voltage balancing unit activated if the voltage of at least one of the energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit exceeds the threshold voltage level [¶28 discloses adjusting each of the modules to the target which reasonably reads on the balancing unit being activated, where the unit will ensure that each of the modules reaches the target voltage before turning off], and
deactivate or not activate the at least one voltage balancing unit if the voltage of none of the energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit exceeds the threshold voltage level [¶28 reasonably reads on the deactivation where once each module reaches the target voltage the system will stop the balancing process].
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 12 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 1, wherein each of the energy storage units comprises one or more of at least one capacitor and at least one battery [fig 2 battery modules].
With regards to claim 13 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 12, wherein the at least one sensing unit is configured to, for each of the energy storage units, sense a voltage across the at least one capacitor and/or the at least one battery of the energy storage unit [fig 2 BMCs 220-260 and ¶27].
With regards to claim 14 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of energy storage units are connected in series [fig 2 connected in series].
With regards to claim 18 Beast discloses, a computer program comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors comprised in a control and/or processing unit, cause the control and/or processing unit to perform the method of claim 15 [¶43,44,89 application/computer program].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beaston US 20170040646 (hereinafter Beast) in view of Furukawa US 20230104680 (hereinafter Furu).
With regards to claim 5 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one control and/or processing unit is configured to, for each voltage balancing unit,
determine time during which the at least one voltage balancing unit is or has been activated [¶71 discloses the balancing unit and a time that it has been active].
Beast fails to disclose a curve of the time as a function of time and provide the indication based on at least one of: a slope of the curve at a point on the curve; and a shape of the curve.
However, Furu discloses, a curve of the time as a function of time and provide the indication based on at least one of: a slope of the curve at a point on the curve; and a shape of the curve [fig 6 which discloses a curve of time as a function of time that has a slope/shape].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the active balancing detection time/data of Beast with the plotting/graphing of the time of Furu in order to provide a better visual representation of the time data for the user.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beaston US 20170040646 (hereinafter Beast) in view of Eguchi at al. US 5547775 (hereinafter Eg).
With regards to claims 9 and 17 Beast discloses, a system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one control and/or processing unit is configured to activate the at least one voltage balancing unit or keep the at least one voltage balancing unit activated if the voltage of at least one of the energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit exceeds the threshold voltage level, and, otherwise deactivate or not activate the at least one voltage balancing unit [Beast ¶28 reasonably discloses the activation when a module exceeds the threshold].
Beast fails to disclose, if none of the energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit has a voltage exceeding the threshold voltage level: keep the at least one voltage balancing unit activated or activate the at least one voltage balancing unit if the voltage of at least one of the energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit is within a selected voltage range below the threshold voltage level and otherwise deactivate or not activate the at least one voltage balancing unit.
However, Eg discloses, if none of the energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit has a voltage exceeding the threshold voltage level: keep the at least one voltage balancing unit activated or activate the at least one voltage balancing unit if the voltage of at least one of the energy storage unit(s) associated with the at least one voltage balancing unit is within a selected voltage range below the threshold voltage level and otherwise deactivate or not activate the at least one voltage balancing unit and otherwise deactivate or not activate the at least one voltage balancing unit [fig 4 discloses a voltage range below the threshold voltage where the balancing is still activated and then when not in that range the balancing is deactivated].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery charging systems of Beast with Eg to include a voltage threshold below the target which keeps the unit active in order to improve the cycling life of the system which prevents rapid flipping on/off of the components and prevents potential damage to the components.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 9 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859