DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hasler (GB 1145871) in view of Moore (US 2017/0360174).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Hasler teaches a dielectric heating appliance comprising: a pair of electrodes (Figs 1, 2, electrodes 2 and 3, Pg 1, Col 2); and a drive unit (valve oscillator circuit 7, Pg 1, Col 2) for applying an alternating voltage (Pg 2, Col 1, Lines 10-15, alternating voltage) to the electrodes to heat dielectrically a material located between the electrodes (Pg 1, Col 2, Lines 68-71), the drive unit comprises mutually coupled inductors having a coupling coefficient (choke coil 12, coil 14, Pg 2, Col 1) that varies in response to changes in a spacing of the electrodes (Pg 2, Col 1, Lines 34-60). Hasler discloses the claimed invention except for the dielectric heating appliance is a hair styling appliance.
However, Moore discloses the dielectric heating appliance is a hair styling appliance (0004, 0005, the invention uses dielectric heating to manipulate the shape of hair) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the dielectric heating device of Hasler silent to hair with the dielectric heating appliance is a hair styling appliance of Moore for the purpose of adapting the appliance to similar materials, providing for an appliance that prevents excessive heating and improves safety (0005).
With respect to the limitations of claims 2 and 3, Hasler teaches the coupling coefficient decreases in response to an increase in the spacing (Pg 2, Col 1, Lines 34-60);
the coupling coefficient is no greater than 0.5 (Pg 2, Col 1, Lines 34-60).
With respect to the limitations of claims 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14, Hasler in view of Moore discloses the appliance comprises a pair of arms having an open position and a closed position, the arms gripping the hair when in the closed position (Moore, Fig 1, hair styler 1, first movable arm 4a, second movable arm 4b, 0053);
the electrodes (Figs 1, 2, electrodes 25a, 25b, 0061) have a spacing no greater than 10 mm when the arms are in the closed position (0053).
at least one of the arms (4a, 4b) is moveable relative to the electrodes (25a or 25b);
at least one of the arms comprises a gripping portion for gripping the hair (Fig 1, plates 6a, 6b, 0065, 0066), the gripping portion being formed of a resiliently deformable material (0066, plastic);
the electrodes are coated with or housed within a thermally insulating material (0066).
Hasler in view of Moore discloses the claimed invention except for the electrodes have a spacing no less than 1 mm when the arms are in the closed position. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the electrodes have a spacing no less than 1 mm when the arms are in the closed position, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable spacing ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hasler (GB 1145871) in view of Moore (US 2017/0360174) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Walter (US 4,499,355).
With respect to the limitations of claims 4 and 5, Hasler in view of Moore discloses the claimed invention except for the drive unit comprises an inverter for generating the alternating voltage, and the inverter comprises one or more resonant networks; the inverter comprises a single pair of switches that are switched to generate the alternating voltage.
However, Walter discloses the drive unit comprises an inverter for generating the alternating voltage, and the inverter comprises one or more resonant networks (Figs 1, 6, resonant circuit 6, inverter, Col 4, Lines 56-65); the inverter comprises a single pair of switches (silicon controlled rectifiers, Col 4, Lines 56-65) that are switched to generate the alternating voltage is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the hair styling appliance of Hasler in view of Moore having a drive unit silent to an inverter with the drive unit comprises an inverter for generating the alternating voltage, and the inverter comprises one or more resonant networks; the inverter comprises a single pair of switches that are switched to generate the alternating voltage of Walter for the purpose of providing a known inverter configuration that is suitable for supplying a suitable power level to the appliance.
Claims 6, 7 and 8 are also rejected because they are dependent upon claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/4/2026