DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A drive unit in claim 1 wherein drive is a functional language with the unit being a generic placeholder.
A drive unit is interpreted that applies an alternative voltage which comprises a switch with a DC/DC converter, and a DC/AC inverter as disclosed in the specification (page 8, lines 26-29), or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore et al (US 2017/0360174).
Moore discloses the hair styling appliance as claimed including a first electrode (25a) and a second electrode (25b), a drive unit (see Figure 6) for applying alternating voltages to the electrodes to heat dielectrically hair between the electrodes wherein the drive unit applies a first alternating voltage (e.g., a positive voltage) to the first electrode and a second alternative voltage (e.g., a negative voltage) to the second electrode (also, see Figure 3 wherein the electrodes having an opposite voltage polarity that has a phase angle of 180 degree (ash shown from the positive to negative polarity) to each other.
With respect to claim 2, Moore discloses the alternating voltages being switched at a frequency of at least 10 MHz (see para 0020 and 0094).
With respect to claim 3, Moore discloses a pair of first electrodes and as a second pair of electrodes (also, see Figure 3) wherein the drive unit applies the first alternating voltage (e.g., positive voltage) across the pair of electrodes and the second alternating voltage (e.g., negative voltage) across the pair of second electrodes.
With respect to claims 4 and 6, Moore discloses the drive unit having a first inverter comprising a single pair of switches (shown by element 34) for generating the first alternating voltage and a second inverter (shown by a single pair of switches as shown by element 35) for generating a second alternative voltage. Also, see Figure 6 and para 0094.
With respect to claim 9, Moore discloses the hair appliance comprising a pair of arms (4a, 4b) that is configured to have an open position and a closed position wherein the arms can grip the hair in the closed position.
With respect to claim 12, Moore discloses at least one of the arm is moveable relative to the electrodes as the arms can be in a closed and an open position.
With respect to claim 14, Moore disclose the electrodes that are housed with a thermally insulating material (para 0064) such as a non-conductive plastic material (para 0065).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (US 2017/0360174) in view of Casper (US 2012/0111850).
Moore discloses the hair styling appliance claimed including the inverters (34, 35) but does not show each of the inverters having one or more resonant networks.
Casper discloses it is known to provide an inverter (205) with one or more resonant networks (e.g., capacitor) that is known to create a resonant circuit wherein resonance at a predetermined switching frequency, a maximum transfer of power can be had. Also, see para 0028-0024; and Figures 2 and 9.
In view of Casper, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Moore with each of the inverters having one or more resonant networks (e.g., capacitor) so that an efficient transfer of power can be made through the inverter at the desired switching frequency to effectively apply the respective first and second alternating voltages from the respective first and second inverters of Moore.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (US 2017/0360174).
Moore discloses the hair styling appliance claimed including the electrodes in the closed position having a spacing for heating hair therebetween but Moore does not explicitly disclose for the spacing to be no greater than 10 mm.
Moore however discloses for the electrodes, provided with a heating plate, to be in the closed position to provide a contact surface with hair therebetween (para 0006 and 0026), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt for the spacing between the electrodes to be no greater than 10 mm, as a matter of routine operation and optimization to provide a close contact of the heating plate with hair as the hair is dielectrically heated via the electrodes.
With respect to claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Moore with the spacing between the electrodes to be no less than 1 mm, as a matter of routine operation and optimization, to allow hair or a bundle of hair to be sufficiently and adequately positioned between the electrodes.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (US 2017/0360174) in view of Choi (US 2010/0101599).
Moore discloses the hair styling appliance claimed including the arms but does not show a gripping portion formed of a resiliently deformable material.
Choi shows it is known to provide a hair appliance a pair of arms (1, 2) for gripping the hair in a closed position wherein Choi further shows a gripping portion (40, 40’) formed of a resilient deformable material such as silicone for which allows for hair to be effectively pressed down (para 0030).
In view of Choi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Moore with one of the arms provided with a gripping portion formed of a resiliently deformable material to predictably allow hair to be effectively pressed down as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Piel et al (US 2020/0085084) discloses for an dielectric heating device with an resonant circuit.
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761