Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 2 and its dependents are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 2, line 3, the phrase “downstream the air compressor” should be changed to “downstream of the air compressor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ENERGY MANAGEMENT FOR A VEHICLE FUEL CELL SYSTEM USING A COMPRESSOR, AIR HEATING AND FLOW INJECTING ARRAGNEMENT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the gas venturi" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the electric air heating arrangement" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “electric machine” and “electric source” and “air heating arrangement” and “flow injecting arrangement” in claims 1 and 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conley (US 6,508,324).
Claim 1: Conley discloses an energy management system (Figs. 1-4) comprising an electric machine (Figs. 1-2, Examiner considering the overall vehicle broadly as a hybrid electric/pneumatic machine) electrically connected to an electric source (22), an air compressor (70) arranged in an air flow channel of the energy management system (Examiner noting the compressor is arranged within the beginning of the channel/pathway from 70 to 40 to 35 to 24 to 16), the air compressor being configured to receive and pressurize air (Figs. 1-4), wherein the air compressor is mechanically connected to, and operable by, the electric machine (Fig. 2); an air heating arrangement positioned in the air flow channel in fluid communication with the air compressor (Fig. 2, Examiner noting the manifold arrangement between 70 and 40 in which all the compressor outputs into a single line will produce heat as a high pressure/high temperature constriction), wherein the air heating arrangement is arranged to heat air present in the air flow channel (Fig. 2, Examiner noting that this will be the effect of the flow constriction arrangement); and a flow injecting arrangement (40a) positioned downstream the air compressor in the air flow channel, wherein the flow injecting arrangement comprises a portion (note inlet hole of 40a) configured to admit a flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 12, 14-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo (CN109244601A).
Claim 1: Guo discloses an energy management system (Figs. 1-6) comprising an electric machine (note electric vehicle mentioned in paragraph 2) electrically connected to an electric source (note power batter mentioned in paragraph 2), an air compressor (2) arranged in an air flow channel of the energy management system (Examiner noting the compressor is arranged at the beginning of the channel/pathway in Fig. 1), the air compressor being configured to receive and pressurize air (Fig. 1), wherein the air compressor is mechanically connected to, and operable by, the electric machine (Fig. 1); an air heating arrangement positioned in the air flow channel in fluid communication with the air compressor (note “hot air delivery system” discussed in paragraph 69), wherein the air heating arrangement is arranged to heat air present in the air flow channel (Fig. 1, paragraph 69); and a flow injecting arrangement (7) positioned downstream the air compressor in the air flow channel, wherein the flow injecting arrangement comprises a portion (via mixing valve 6) configured to admit a flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Fig. 1).
Claim 6: Guo further discloses that the flow injecting arrangement is positioned downstream the air heating arrangement in the air flow channel (Fig. 1).
Claim 7: Guo further discloses that the flow injecting arrangement is connectable to fluid reservoir (Fig. 1), wherein the admitted flow of fluid is received from the fluid reservoir (Fig. 1).
Claim 8: Guo further discloses that the flow injecting arrangement is a venturi arrangement (7) comprising a constricted portion (note constricted portion of 7) comprises comprising an inlet (note inlet at side of 7) configured to admit the flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Fig. 1).
Claim 9: Guo further discloses that the venturi arrangement comprises a gas venturi (Fig. 1), wherein the inlet arranged in the constricted portion is configured to admit gas into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Fig. 1).
Claim 12: Guo further discloses that a venturi valve (14) connected to the inlet (Examiner noting fluid connection between the valve and the constricted portion) of the constricted portion, the venturi valve being configured to controllably admit the flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (see paragraphs 85 and 93-95).
Claim 14: Guo further discloses that the energy management system further comprises a flow restriction arrangement (note valves 6, 12, 13, 15, 16, etc.) in the air flow channel.
Claim 15: Guo further discloses that the flow restriction arrangement is positioned upstream the flow injecting arrangement (Fig. 1, e.g., 6).
Claim 17: Guo further discloses that the flow restriction arrangement is one of a muffler or a valve (note valves 6, 12, 13, 15, 16, etc.).
Claim 18: Guo further discloses a temperature sensor positioned in the air flow channel, and a control unit (200) connected to the temperature sensor (50), wherein the control unit comprises control circuitry configured to: receive, from the temperature sensor, a signal indicative of a temperature level of the air in the air flow channel, compare the temperature level with a predetermined threshold limit, and control components of the energy management system based on the temperature level (see paragraphs 85 and 93-95).
Claim 19: Guo further discloses that the control unit is connected to the electric machine (Fig. 1), the control circuitry being configured to control the electric machine to reduce a rotational speed of the air compressor when the temperature level is above the predetermined threshold limit (see paragraphs 85 and 93-95).
Claim 20: Guo further discloses that the control unit is connected to the electric air heating arrangement (Fig. 1), the control circuitry being configured to control the electric air heating arrangement to be arranged in an active state to receive electric power from the electric source when the temperature level is below the predetermined threshold limit (see paragraphs 85 and 93-95).
Claim 23: Guo further discloses an electrically propelled vehicle (paragraph 2), comprising the energy management system of claim 1 (Figs. 1-6).
Claim 24: Guo discloses a method of controlling an energy management system (Figs. 1-6), the energy management system comprising an electric machine (note electric vehicle mentioned in paragraph 2) electrically connected to an electric source (note power batter mentioned in paragraph 2), an air compressor (2) arranged in an air flow channel of the energy management system (Examiner noting the compressor is arranged at the beginning of the channel/pathway in Fig. 1), the air compressor being configured to receive and pressurize air (Fig. 1), wherein the air compressor is mechanically connected to, and operable by, the electric machine (Fig. 1), an air heating arrangement positioned in the air flow channel (note “hot air delivery system” discussed in paragraph 69), wherein the air heating arrangement is arranged to heat air present in the air flow channel (Fig. 1), and a flow injecting arrangement (7) positioned downstream the air compressor in the air flow channel (Fig. 1), wherein the flow injecting arrangement comprises a portion comprising an inlet configured to admit, via a valve (14), a flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Fig. 1), wherein the method comprises determining a temperature level (via 50) of the air in the air flow channel comparing the temperature level with a predetermined threshold and controlling at least one of the air compressor, the air hearting arrangement or the valve based on the temperature level (see paragraphs 85 and 93-95).
Claim(s) 1 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuma (US20050118471A1).
Claim 1: Fukuma discloses an energy management system (Figs. 1-2) comprising an electric machine (Figs. 1-3, Examiner considering the overall vehicle broadly as an electric/fuel cell machine) electrically connected to an electric source (Examiner noting that a fuel cell vehicle will have an associated battery for operation), an air compressor (21) arranged in an air flow channel of the energy management system (Examiner noting the compressor is arranged within the beginning of the channel/pathway), the air compressor being configured to receive and pressurize air (Figs. 1-2), wherein the air compressor is mechanically connected to, and operable by, the electric machine (Figs. 1-2); an air heating arrangement positioned in the air flow channel in fluid communication with the air compressor (Fig. 4, Examiner noting the fuel cell will produce water and heat as a waste byproduct), wherein the air heating arrangement is arranged to heat air present in the air flow channel (Fig. 2); and a flow injecting arrangement (30) positioned downstream the air compressor in the air flow channel, wherein the flow injecting arrangement comprises a portion (note inlet hole of 30/32) configured to admit a flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Figs. 2-3).
Claim 22: Fukuma further discloses a fuel cell system comprising a fuel cell stack arrangement comprising an air inlet side for receiving air to the fuel cell stack arrangement via an air inlet conduit (Figs. 1-2); and the energy management system according to any one of the preceding claims of claim 1,wherein the air compressor is arranged in fluid communication with the air inlet conduit (Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerle (US20110125351A1) in view of Lentz (US 3,295,313).
Claim 1: Bauerle discloses an energy management system (Figs. 1-2) comprising an electric machine (Figs. 1-2, Examiner considering the overall vehicle broadly as a hybrid electric machine) electrically connected to an electric source (30), an air compressor (Examiner is viewing apparatus 12 broadly as a device which does, in fact, compressor air, e.g., during an air compression stroke) arranged in an air flow channel of the energy management system (Examiner noting apparatus 12 is arranged within the beginning of the channel/pathway from 12 to 26 to 24), the air compressor being configured to receive and pressurize air (Figs. 1-2), wherein the air compressor is mechanically connected to, and operable by, the electric machine (Figs. 1-2); an air heating arrangement (38) positioned in the air flow channel in fluid communication with the air compressor (Figs. 1-2), wherein the air heating arrangement is arranged to heat air present in the air flow channel (Figs. 1-2).
Bauerle is not explicit about a flow injecting arrangement positioned downstream the air compressor in the air flow channel, wherein the flow injecting arrangement comprises a portion configured to admit a flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor. However, Lentz (Fig. 1) discloses a flow injecting arrangement (15) positioned downstream of an air compressor (11) in an air flow channel, wherein the flow injecting arrangement (Fig. 2) comprises a portion configured to admit a flow of fluid (via 54) into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Figs. 1-2). This arrangement allows for expelled gases to receive additional injected outside air in order to reduce smog producing gases (see col. 1, lines 15-25). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize Lentz’s teachings about a flow injecting arrangement in order to reduce smog producing gases in the exhaust.
Claim 2: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further teaches that the air heating arrangement comprises an electric air heating arrangement (38) positioned downstream the air compressor in the air flow channel (Fig. 1).
Claim 3: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further discloses that the electric air heating arrangement is electrically connected to the electric source (Figs. 1-2).
Claim 4: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further discloses that the electric air heating arrangement is an electric resistor (38).
Claim 5: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further discloses that the electric air heating arrangement comprises an air heater (34) positioned in upstream fluid communication with the air compressor in the air flow channel (Fig. 1).
Claim 6: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further discloses that the flow injecting arrangement is positioned downstream the air heating arrangement in the air flow channel (Examiner notes that the positioning of Lentz’s flow injection arrangement could only be accommodated downstream of the air heating arrangement as can be appreciated from Fig. 1 of Bauerle).
Claim 8: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further teaches (via Lentz, Fig. 2) that the flow injecting arrangement is a venturi arrangement (24) comprising a constricted portion (note constricted portion of 24) comprises comprising an inlet (note inlet near 68) configured to admit the flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (Fig. 2).
Claim 12: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further teaches (via Lentz, Fig. 3) further discloses a venturi valve (77/78) connected to the inlet (Examiner noting fluid connection between the valve and the constricted portion) of the constricted portion, the venturi valve being configured to controllably admit the flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor (see col. 4, lines 1-50).
Claim 13: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle further discloses that the electric machine is arranged in the air flow channel at a position upstream the air compressor (Fig. 1, Examiner noting that the electrical machine could be viewed to constitute the engine casing and outside air intake while the compressor could be viewed more narrowly as a single cylinder/piston arrangement with its own intake/outlet).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerle (US20110125351A1) in view of Lentz (US 3,295,313) and in view of Vrazel (US20100083940A1).
Claim 10: Bauerle and Lentz teach the previous limitations. Modified Bauerle is not explicit about the venturi arrangement comprises a liquid venturi, wherein the inlet arranged in the constricted portion is connectable to a fluid reservoir and configured to admit a flow of liquid fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor. However, Vrazel teaches a modification to a vehicle that pre-cools inlet air to allow more fuel to be burned during each combustion cycle and does so by directing cryogenic liquid from a reservoir (104) into the exhaust flow of the internal combustion engine (see Figs. 1B). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to expel a cryogenic liquid through the venturi of modified Bauerle in order to improve vehicle engine performance.
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN109244601A) in view of Dean (US 7,118,348).
Claims 25-26: Guo teaches the previous limitations. Guo is not explicit about a computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program code means for performing the steps of claim 24 when the program means is run on a computer. However, Dean teaches a compressor arrangement which utilizes a computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program code means for performing associated process steps when the program means is run on a computer (see col. 4, lines 21-46). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a computer program/code to execute the process steps of Guo as implemented by Dean in as such programming can be easily be modified and updated to account for process improvements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 21, the prior art of record further discloses or reasonably teaches in combination the flow injecting arrangement is a venturi arrangement comprising a constricted portion comprising an inlet configured to admit the flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor; further comprising a venturi valve connected to the inlet of the constricted portion, the venturi valve being configured to controllably admit the flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor; however, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the control unit is connected to the venturi valve, the control circuitry being configured to control the venturi valve to be arranged in an open position to admit the flow of fluid into the flow of air exhausted from the air compressor when the temperature level is above the predetermined threshold limit.
Claims 11 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746