DETAILED ACTIONAcknowledgment is made of applicant’s amendment filed 4/2/26. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (KR20120119172). Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses an apparatus comprising an annular structure 131 configured for securing a force sensor assembly to a link of a mechanism; a hub 132 configured to be connected to support a tool; branches (spokes) 133a, 133b, 133c extending from the hub to the annular structure, the branches each defining at least two adjacent sensor receiving surfaces; and respective sensors 151a, 151b on the at least two adjacent sensor receiving surfaces of at least one of the branches (See Fig. 4, See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 9).
Regarding claim 2, three branches are provided (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, the branches and the hub are generally axisymmetric (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the hub to which the branches connect (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the annular structure to which the branches connect (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, the sensor receiving surfaces are flat (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, the hub defines a central opening (See Fig. 5).
5. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradford et al. (10,067,019, hereinafter Bradford). Regarding claim 1, Bradford discloses an apparatus comprising an annular structure 54 configured for securing a force sensor assembly to a link of a mechanism; a hub 52 configured to be connected to support a tool; branches (beams) 56a – 563 extending from the hub to the annular structure, the branches each defining at least two adjacent sensor receiving surfaces; and respective sensors 58l, 58s on the at least two adjacent sensor receiving surfaces of at least one of the branches (See Figs. 5 and 6, See Col. 5, lines 36 – 63).
Regarding claim 2, three branches are provided (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, the branches and the hub are generally axisymmetric (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the hub to which the branches connect (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the annular structure to which the branches connect (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the sensor receiving surfaces are flat (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, the hub defines a central opening (See Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8. Claims 14, 19, 22, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradford et al. (10,067,019, hereinafter Bradford 019’) in view of Bradford (2017/0205296).
Regarding claim 14, Bradford 019’ discloses an apparatus comprising an annular structure 54 configured for securing a force sensor assembly to a link of a mechanism; a hub 52 configured to be connected to support a tool; branches (beams) 56a – 563 extending from the hub to the annular structure, the branches each defining at least two adjacent sensor receiving surfaces; and respective sensors 58l, 58s on the at least two adjacent sensor receiving surfaces of at least one of the branches (See Figs. 5 and 6, See Col. 5, lines 36 – 63).
Bradford 019’ fails to disclose that the annular structure is polygonal. However, Bradford discloses an apparatus comprising a polygonal annular structure 10 (See Pg. 6, Para. 0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bradford 019’ according to the teachings of Bradford for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device provides a compact and ease of access components (See Pg. 5, Para. 0056). Regarding claim 19, Bradford 019’ fails to disclose a printed circuit board connected to the sensors. However, in Bradford, a printed circuit board 20 is connected to the sensors (See Fig. 6, See Pg. 4, Para. 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bradford 019’ according to the teachings of Bradford for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device provides a compact and ease of access components (See Pg. 5, Para. 0056). Regarding claim 22, Bradford 019’ fails to disclose flexible circuits extending from the sensors to the printed circuit board. However, in Bradford, flexible circuits extend from the sensors to the printed circuit board (See Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bradford 019’ according to the teachings of Bradford for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device provides a compact and ease of access components (See Pg. 5, Para. 0056). Regarding claim 23, Bradford 019’ fails to disclose a tool support member connected to the hub and configured to interface a tool to the hub. However, in Bradford, the hub 12 is connected to a tool using a mechanical coupling (See Pg. 1, Para. 0003 and Pg. 4, Para. 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bradford 019’ according to the teachings of Bradford for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device provides a compact and ease of access components (See Pg. 5, Para. 0056). Regarding claim 28, Bradford 019’ fails to disclose a robot arm comprising at least one link having a motorized joint unit; a wrist device; and the force sensor assembly between the motorized joint unit and the wrist device, the wrist device being connected to the tool and the at least one link being the mechanism. However, in Bradford, the hub is connected to a robotic tool or robotic arm having a wrist (See Pg. 1, Para. 0003, Pg. 2, Para. 0025 and Pg. 4, Para. 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bradford 019’ according to the teachings of Bradford for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device provides a compact and ease of access components (See Pg. 5, Para. 0056). Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 8, 9, 20, 24 – 26, 32 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments, on Pg. 7, lines 5 – 14 and Pg. 8, lines 5 – 13, with respect to these claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. With respect to Bradford (2017/0205296), it is the Examiner’s position that Bradford discloses a polygonal annular structure 10 amongst other features as provided, thus the reference stands.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (10,520,380) disclose a small six-dimensional force and torque sensor.
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented
in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 7/22/26