DETAILED ACTIONAcknowledgment is made of applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 11/23/23. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the sentence “A hub is configured to be connected to a support a tool” is unclear. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Force sensor assembly for an articulated mechanism”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 3, “a support a tool” is unclear. In claim 28, line 2, “the wrist device being to the tool” is unclear. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 – 11, 16, 19, 20 and 22 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janik et al. (9,274,014, hereinafter Janik – See IDS dated 11/28/23).
Regarding claim 1, Janik discloses a method and apparatus comprising an annular structure 56 configured for securing a force sensor assembly 52 to a link 40 of a mechanism, a hub 70 configured to be connected to a support 58, branches 78, 164 extending from the hub to the annular structure, the branches defining sensor receiving surfaces; and sensors 158 on the sensor receiving surfaces (See Figs. 1 and 4, Col. 4, lines 13 – 32 and 52 – 67, Col. 5, lines 1 – 43 and Col. 9, lines 3 – 24).
Regarding claim 2, three branches are provided (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, the branches and the hub are generally axisymmetric (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the hub to which the branches connect (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the annular structure to which the branches connect (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, curved surfaces 76 are provided adjacent to flat surfaces 74 at junctions between the branches and the hub (See Col. 5, lines 44 – 49, See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, curved surfaces 76 are provided adjacent to flat surfaces 74 at junctions between the branches and the annular structure (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, the sensor receiving surfaces are flat (See Fig. 4). Regarding claim 11, planes of the sensor receiving surfaces are perpendicular to planes of respective surfaces of the hub to which the branches connect (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, the hub defines a central opening (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, a printed circuit board 184 is connected to the sensors 158 (See Fig. 4, See Col. 9, lines 14 – 19).
Regarding claim 20, at least one post 162 projects from the hub and the printed circuit board is connected to the at least one post (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 22, flexible circuits extend from the sensors to the printed circuit board (See Col. 9, lines 14 – 32). Regarding claim 23, at least one tool support member 54, 138 (See Figs. 3 and 4) is connected to the hub and is configured to interface a tool to the hub (See Col. 4, lines 62 – 67, Col. 5, lines 1 – 15 and Col. 7, lines 42 – 58).
Regarding claim 24, the tool support member 138 has a plate body with an elongated shape, the plate body in planar engagement with a surface of the hub (See Fig. 3). Regarding claim 25, hub connection holes 66 in the tool support member 54 for connection with the hub are inward of tool connection holes 64 in the tool support member for connection with the tool (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 26, clocking features (pins) 122 are present between the tool support member 54 and the hub for providing a unique orientation engagement therebetween (See Fig. 6, See Col. 7, lines 15 – 40).
Regarding claim 27, the tool support member 54 has a central opening in register with a central opening in the hub (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 28, a robot arm (manipulator) 30 is provided that comprises a link having a motorized joint unit and a wrist device 138, the wrist device being the tool and the at least one link 40 being the mechanism (See Fig. 1, See Col. 3, lines 66 – 67, Col. 4, lines 2 – 32 and Col. 7, lines 42 – 57).98. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14, 16, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradford (2017/0205296 – See IDS dated 11/28/23).
Regarding claim 1, Bradford discloses a method and apparatus comprising an annular structure 14 configured for securing a force sensor assembly 10 to a link of a mechanism; a hub 12 configured to be connected to a support, branches 16a – 16c extending from the hub to the annular structure, the branches defining sensor receiving surfaces; and sensors 1 – 6 on the sensor receiving surfaces (See Figs. 1 and 4F, See Pg. 2, Paras. 0025 – 0027 and Pg. 3, Paras. 0028 – 0029).
Regarding claim 2, three branches are provided (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the branches and the hub are generally axisymmetric (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the hub to which the branches connect (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the branches are perpendicular to respective surfaces of the annular structure to which the branches connect (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the sensor receiving surfaces are flat (See Fig. 4F). Regarding claim 11, planes of the sensor receiving surfaces are perpendicular to planes of respective surfaces of the hub to which the branches connect (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, the annular structure is polygonal (See Pg. 6, Para. 0058).
Regarding claim 16, the hub defines a central opening (See Fig. 4F).
Regarding claim 19, a printed circuit board 20 is connected to the sensors (See Fig. 6, See Pg. 4, Para. 0043).
Regarding claim 22, flexible circuits extend from the sensors to the printed circuit board (See Fig. 6). Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (11,650,113) disclose a torque sensor and strain beam structure of the
same. Krippner et al. (8,726,741) disclose a set of multiaxial force and torque sensor and assembling method. Ichige (2006/0037409) discloses a rotary type component force measuring device. Sporer et al. (DE10304359) disclose a torque sensor for an electric motor.11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 11/14/25