DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/10/24 has the same references as the one filed 11/24/23 so the examiner crossed through the IDS of 5/10/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 13-14, 17-18, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHAMPAIGNE US 5,362,027.
Regarding claim 1, CHAMPAIGNE discloses (see figs. 1-4) a shot peening flow control valve (2) for regulating flow of a ferromagnetic medium (col. 2, lines 36-41) the shot peening flow control valve (2) comprising:
a body (10) enclosing a passage (30) for transferring the ferromagnetic medium from a first end (32) of the passage (30) to a second end (34) of the passage (col. 2, lines 42-55) ; and
at least one core set (20) arranged between the first end (32) and the second end (34), wherein the at least one core set (20) comprises at least one magnetic unit (40; col. 3, lines 1-16) operable to provide a magnetic field (col. 3, lines 54-64) at the passage (30)
Regarding claim 2, the at least one core set comprises:
a housing (56+22+24) for enclosing the at least one magnetic unit, the housing comprising:
a core set top (22) for shielding the at least one magnetic unit from the ferromagnetic medium coming from the first end; and
a first core set side covering (56 on one side) and a second core set side covering (56 on the other side) disposed at sides of the at least one magnetic unit respectively,
wherein at least one of the first core set side covering and the second core set side covering is disposed at a pole of the at least one magnetic unit for shielding the pole and providing magnetic field of the pole at the passage.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the at least one core set is disposed in a middle position of the passage in dividing the passage into a first passage and a second passage (see figure 1; arrows 8).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the at least one magnetic unit comprises a permanent magnet (50) and a first electromagnet (52), and a core (42 or 44) of the first electromagnet is connected to a first end of the permanent magnet (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the permanent magnet is operable to generate a magnetic field at the passage in order to arrest the flow of ferromagnetic medium independently (col. 3. Lines 54-64).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the magnetic unit further comprises: a control unit connected to any of the first and second electromagnets in order to regulate magnetic fields of the first and second electromagnets (implicitly disclosed in col.3, lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 8, wherein a portion (48) of the at least one core set comprises a magnetic field conductor material for conducting magnetic fields around the at least one core set (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, CHAMPAIGNE discloses (figs. 1-4) a shot peening flow control valve (2) for regulating a flow of ferromagnetic medium (col. 2, lines 36-41) the shot peening flow control valve comprising:
a body (10) defining a passage (30) for transferring the ferromagnetic medium from a first end (32) of the passage (30) to a second end (34) of the passage (col. 2, lines 42-55);
at least one core layer (20) arranged between the first end (32) and the second end (34) comprising at least one core line, wherein the at least one core layer (20) is operable to provide a magnetic field (col. 3, lines 54-64) at the passage (30); and
a cover enclosing the at least one core layer (20) ;
wherein the cover comprises:
an inlet flange (16) for transferring the ferromagnetic medium from the first end;
a first side frame (14) and a second side frame (14) disposed at sides of the at least one core layer (20) , respectively;
a first central frame (12) and a second central frame (13) disposed at a front end and a rear end of the at least one core layer (20) ; and
a base diversion block (6) disposed below the at least one core layer (20) the first and the second side frames (14), and the first and the second central frames of the cover (12,13).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the at least one core line comprises: a plurality of core sets connected in with each other, wherein one of the core sets is separated from another core set by a core set splitter; and a plurality of shaft for connecting the plurality of core sets and the core set splitters together (see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 17, wherein at least one of the plurality of core sets comprises: a magnetic unit operable to provide the magnetic field at the passage; a housing (56, 22, 24) for enclosing the magnetic unit, the housing comprising: a core set top (22) for shielding the magnetic unit from the ferromagnetic medium coming from the first end; and a first core set side covering (56) and a second core set side covering (56) disposed at sides of the magnetic unit respectively, wherein the at least one of the first core set side covering and the second core set side covering is disposed at a pole of the magnetic unit for shielding the pole and providing magnetic field of the pole at the passage (Figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the magnetic unit comprises: a permanent magnet (50) and a first electromagnet (52), and a core (42 or 44) of the first electromagnet is connected to a first end of the permanent magnet (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, CHAMPAIGNE discloses (figs. 1-4) a method of regulating flow of ferromagnetic medium (col. 2, lines 36-41), the method comprising:
providing a magnetic field at a passage (col. 3, lines 54-64) ;
transferring the ferromagnetic medium from a first end (32) of the passage (30) to a second end (34) of the passage (30) ; and
providing (col. 3, lines 54-64) a magnetic field at the passage (30) for controlling flow of ferromagnetic medium between the first end (32) and the second end (34).
Regarding claim 27, wherein providing the magnetic field at the passage comprises: generating a magnetic field by a permanent magnet of the at least one magnetic unit, a magnetic field at the passage or arresting the ferromagnetic medium by the magnetic field of the permanent magnet (col. 3, lines 54-64).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the provision of the magnetic field comprises: regulating magnetic fields of a first electromagnet (col. 3, lines 62-64).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-14, 18, 21-22, and 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHENG ET AL US 2019/0337121.
Regarding claim 1, CHENG discloses (see figs. 1-2) a shot peening flow control valve (100) for regulating flow of a ferromagnetic medium (101), the shot peening flow control valve (2) comprising: a body (114) enclosing a passage for transferring the ferromagnetic medium from a first end (120) of the passage to a second end (122) of the passage (paragraphs [0017], [0041]) ; and at least one core set (108, 110) arranged between the first end (120) and the second end (122), wherein the at least one core set (108, 110) comprises at least one magnetic unit (124) operable to provide a magnetic field (paragraphs [0024]- [0025]) at the passage.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the at least one magnetic unit comprises a permanent magnet (136, 138) and a first electromagnet (128, 130), and a core of the first electromagnet is connected to a first end of the permanent magnet (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the permanent magnet is operable to generate a magnetic field at the passage in order to arrest the flow of ferromagnetic medium independently (paragraphs [0017], [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the magnetic unit further comprises: a control unit (104) connected to any of the first and second electromagnets in order to regulate magnetic fields of the first and second electromagnets (paragraphs [0011], [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein a portion (132, 134) of the at least one core set comprises a magnetic field conductor material for conducting magnetic fields around the at least one core set (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the at least one core set comprises a first core set (108) and a second core set (110) that are spaced apart, the first core set and a second core set being operable to work together.
Regarding claim 11, wherein the first core set and the second core set are positioned in parallel such that the first core set and the second core set are at substantially the same distance from the first end (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, CHENG discloses (figs 1-2): A shot peening flow control valve (100) for regulating a flow of ferromagnetic medium (101), the shot peening flow control valve comprising: a body (114) defining a passage for transferring the ferromagnetic medium from a first end (120) of the passage to a second end (122) of the passage (paragraph [0041]) ; at least one core layer (108, 110) arranged between the first end (120) and the second end (122) comprising at least one core line (140, 142), wherein the at least one core layer (108, 110) is operable to provide a magnetic field (paragraphs [0024]-[0025]) at the passage; and a cover (112) enclosing the at least one core layer (108, 110) ; wherein the cover comprises (figure 2 and paragraphs [0058]-[0059]) : an inlet flange (164) for transferring the ferromagnetic medium from the first end; a first side frame (158) and a second side frame (160) disposed at sides of the at least one core layer, respectively; a first central frame (112) and a second central frame (112) disposed at a front end and a rear end of the at least one core layer; and a base diversion block (174) disposed below the at least one core layer (108, 110), the first and the second side frames (158, 160), and the first and the second central frames (112) of the cover.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the at least one core line comprises: a plurality of core sets connected in with each other, wherein one of the core sets is separated from another core set by a core set splitter; and a plurality of shaft for connecting the plurality of core sets and the core set splitters together (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the magnetic unit comprises: a permanent magnet (136, 138) and a first electromagnet (128, 130), and a core of the first electromagnet is connected to a first end of the permanent magnet (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, CHENG discloses (see figs. 1-2) a shot peening machine comprising: a chamber (seen as implicitly disclosed in paragraph [0022], a passage for transferring the ferromagnetic medium onto a surface of at least one component (seen as implicitly disclosed in paragraph [0022]), a shot peening flow control valve (100) for regulating flow of a ferromagnetic medium (101), the shot peening flow control valve (2) comprising: a body (114) enclosing a passage for transferring the ferromagnetic medium from a first end (120) of the passage to a second end (122) of the passage (paragraphs [0017], [0041]) ; and at least one core set (108, 110) arranged between the first end (120) and the second end (122), wherein the at least one core set (108, 110) comprises at least one magnetic unit (124) operable to provide a magnetic field (paragraphs [0024]- [0025]) at the passage and regulate a projection velocity of ferromagnetic medium on the surface of the at least one component (does this).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the at least one magnetic unit comprises a permanent magnet (136, 138) and a first electromagnet (136, 138), and a core of the first electromagnet is connected to a first end of the permanent magnet (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the magnetic unit further comprises: a control unit (104) connected to any of the first and second electromagnets in order to regulate magnetic fields (300) of the first and second electromagnets (paragraphs [0011], [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 25, wherein: the at least one core set comprises a first core set (108) and a second core set (110) that are spaced apart, the first core set and a second core set being operable to work together.
Regarding claim 26, CHENG discloses a method of regulating flow of ferromagnetic medium (paragraphs [0025], [0026]) the method comprising: providing a magnetic field at a passage (paragraphs [0017]) ; transferring the ferromagnetic medium from a first end (120) of the passage to a second end (122) of the passage; and providing (paragraphs [0017]) a magnetic field at the passage for controlling flow of ferromagnetic medium between the first end (120) and the second end (122).
Regarding claim 27, wherein providing the magnetic field at the passage comprises: generating a magnetic field by a permanent magnet of the at least one magnetic unit, a magnetic field at the passage; or arresting the ferromagnetic medium by the magnetic field of the permanent magnet (paragraphs [0017], [0025]).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the provision of the magnetic field comprises: regulating magnetic fields of a first electromagnet and/or a second electromagnet (paragraphs [0011], [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 29, further comprising: detecting (2409) magnetic field strength of the magnetic field by a magnetometer (paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 30, further comprising: measuring, by a mass flowmeter, a flow rate of ferromagnetic medium (paragraph [0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAMPAIGNE US 5,362,027.
Regarding claim 20, CHAMPAIGNE discloses control of the valve (implicitly disclosed in col. 3, lines 62-64) but lacks a central control unit; and a plurality of control units electrically connected with the central control unit, wherein a control unit is connected to any of the first and second electromagnets of respective magnetic unit in order to regulate magnetic fields of the first and second electromagnets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the controlling of the valve of CHAMPAIGNE to be a central control unit; and a plurality of control units electrically connected with the central control unit, wherein a control unit is connected to any of the first and second electromagnets of respective magnetic unit in order to regulate magnetic fields of the first and second electromagnets as a matter of simple substitution of control devices and/or “obvious to try” this with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims 5, 19, and 23 is a shot peening control valve/machine having the combination of a second electromagnet with a core of the second electromagnet is connected to a second end of the permanent magnet in combination with the rest of the device as in claim 4/1 or 18/17/13 or 22/21.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claim 10 is a shot peening control valve having the combination of the first core set and the second core set are serially positioned such that the first core set and the second core set are at different distance from the first end in combination with the rest of the device as in claim 9/1. The primary reason for the allowance of the claim 12 is a shot peening control valve having the combination of a third core set positioned serially with the first core set and the second core set such that the third core set is substantially at different distance from the first end with respect to any of the first core set and/or the second core set in combination with the rest of the device as in claim 11/9/1.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claim 15 is a shot peening control valve having the combination of a central extension guide connecting one core line with another core line in parallel configuration with the central extension guide has a couple of triangular protrusions on both sides for one of the plurality of the core sets located on either side of the central extension guide with the couple of triangular protrusions are pointing towards a single slot with the central extension guide divides a passage between two core lines into two sub-passages in combination with the rest of the device as in claim 14/13.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claim 16 is a shot peening control valve having the combination of a first side extension guide and a second side extension guide disposed at sides of the at least one core layer respectively with the first side extension guide and the second side extension guide comprise a couple of triangular protrusions on an inner surface for one of the plurality of the core sets with the first side extension guide and the second side extension guide form a first outer passage and a second outer passage with the first side frame and the second side frame respectively, and the couple of triangular protrusions are pointing towards each other in combination with the rest of the device as in claim 14/13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Champaigne, Thompson and Ache disclose shot peening with electromagnets.
/John Bastianelli/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
571-272-4921