DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 7 recite the limitation "the other angle" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0344033 A1, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on April 17, 2026, and hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a tab plate ([0029]-[0031] and Fig. 1, first positive electrode plate and second negative electrode plate 112), comprising a coating area ([0030]-[0031] and see Annotated Fig. 2 below, electrode active material 111a) and an empty foil area ([0061] and see Annotated Fig. 2 below, empty foil area comprising cutting area located on one side of the coating area, wherein the empty foil area comprises a cutting area (see Annotated Fig. 2 below, cutting area) and a reserved area, the reserved area is located between the coating area and the cutting area ([0061] and see Annotated Fig. 2 below, insulation layer 111c), the cutting area is cut to form a plurality of tabs, wherein the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate ([0033] and see Annotated Fig. 3 below, tabs in non-coated part 111b), and ends of the plurality of tabs close to the coating area are connected together through the reserve area (see Annotated Fig. 2 below, tabs connected through insulation layer 111c); a partition line is formed at a connection portion between the cutting area and the reserved area (see Annotated Figs. 2 and 3 below, partition line), each tab comprises a first side and a second side which are oppositely arranged, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the partition line (see Annotated Fig. 3 below, first side and second side), an angle a is formed between the first side and the partition line, the angle a is located within the tab, and the angle a is an acute angle (see Annotated Fig. 3 below, acute angle a).
Park et al. Annotated Fig. 2
Park et al. Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein the tab plate is a positive electrode tab plate or a negative electrode tab plate ([0030]-[0031], [0063], and [0067], first positive electrode plate 111 and second negative electrode plate 112 have the same structure), and a winding direction of the tab plate is the same as an orientation of the angle a ([0045]-[0051] and Fig. 4, winding direction indicated by length L).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein the tab has a quadrilateral structure ([0033] and Figs. 2 and 3, isosceles trapezoidal electrode tabs).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses a wound battery ([0028] and Fig. 1, secondary battery 100), comprising a positive electrode tab plate and a negative electrode tab plate ([0028]-[0031] and Fig. 1, electrode assembly 110 with first positive electrode plate 111 and second negative electrode plate 112), wherein the positive electrode tab plate and the negative electrode tab plate are the tab plate as claimed in claim 1 ([0030]-[0031], [0063], and [0067]).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the limitations of claim 12. Park further discloses wherein the wound battery further comprises a first separator ([0029] and Fig. 1, separator 113), the first separator is sandwiched between the positive electrode tab plate and the negative electrode tab plate ([0034] and Fig. 1), wherein the positive electrode tab plate, the first separator and the negative electrode tab plate are stacked and wound to form a battery cell ([0029]), tabs of the positive electrode tab plate and tabs of the negative electrode tab plate are respectively located at both ends of the battery cell ([0042]-[0043] and Fig. 1, first non-coated part 111b connected to first current collecting plate 141 and second non-coated part connected to second current collecting plate 142, located on opposite ends of secondary battery 100).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Ye (CN 209641733 U, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on April 17, 2026, and machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein a boundary line is formed at the connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area (see Annotated Fig. 2 above, boundary line). Park does not disclose that a distance between the partition line and the boundary line is less than or equal to 5 mm.
Ye discloses a protective strip 2 with width 0.1 mm – 5 mm ([0034] and Fig. 2) that is an insulating layer ([0019] and [0031]).
Park and Ye are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Ye, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would protect the battery separator from puncture, enhance insulation performance, and reduce manufacturing costs ([0019], [0031], and [0034]).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Tanaka (JP 2014022116 A, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the other angle formed between the first side and the partition line is b, the angle b is located outside the tab (see Annotated Fig. 3 above, angle b), and an angle formed between the second side and the partition line is c, the angle c is located outside the tab (see Annotated Fig. 3 above, angle c). Park does not disclose that the angle b and the angle c are rounded.
Tanaka discloses positive electrode tab portions 37 and 39 with rounded obtuse angles ([0035]
and Fig. 4, rounded angles θ1-θ4), and that the positive electrode plate 30 and negative electrode plate 40
have the same configuration ([0031]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress the concentration of stress at the base of the tab, preventing it from bending, cracking, and deforming (Tanaka [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein each tab further comprises a third side, the third side intersects with both the first side and the second side, the third side is arranged opposite to the partition line (see Park Annotated Fig. 3 above, third side). Park does not disclose that an angle formed between the first side and the third side is rounded, and/or an angle formed between the second side and the third side is rounded.
Tanaka discloses positive electrode tab portions 37 and 39 with rounded obtuse angles ([0035]
and Fig. 4, rounded angles θ5-θ8), and that the positive electrode plate 30 and negative electrode plate 40
have the same configuration ([0031]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress deformation of the tip of the electrode tab (Tanaka [0035]).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0295341 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Park discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2, respectively. Park does not disclose wherein a ratio of the length to the width of each tab is (1-4):2.
Kim discloses notching tabs 111a with width 4 mm to 5 mm ([0071] and Figs. 3 and 4) and notching lengths 8 mm to 11 mm ([0080] and Figs. 3 and 4), which corresponds to a ratio of (3.2-5.5):2.
Kim is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Kim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve mechanical strength, prevent deformation, and decrease costs (Kim [0071] and [0080]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Ye (CN 209641733 U) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0295341 A1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 3. Modified Park does not disclose wherein a ratio of the length to the width of each tab is (1-4):2.
Kim discloses notching tabs 111a with width 4 mm to 5 mm ([0071] and Figs. 3 and 4) and notching lengths 8 mm to 11 mm ([0080] and Figs. 3 and 4), which corresponds to a ratio of (3.2-5.5):2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of modified Park with the teachings of Kim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve mechanical strength, prevent deformation, and decrease costs (Kim [0071] and [0080]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Tanaka (JP 2014022116 A) as applied to claims 4 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0295341 A1).
Regarding claims 17, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 4. Modified Park does not disclose wherein a ratio of the length to the width of each tab is (1-4):2.
Kim discloses notching tabs 111a with width 4 mm to 5 mm ([0071] and Figs. 3 and 4) and notching lengths 8 mm to 11 mm ([0080] and Figs. 3 and 4), which corresponds to a ratio of (3.2-5.5):2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of modified Park with the teachings of Kim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve mechanical strength, prevent deformation, and decrease costs (Kim [0071] and [0080]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Xing et al. (CN 104409768 A, machine translation relied upon herein, and hereinafter “Xing”).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the limitations of claim 12, and further discloses flattening the electrode tab during winding and contacting the electrode tab with a current collecting plate [0014]). Park does not disclose wherein a distance of the tabs of the positive electrode tab plate beyond a top end of the first separator after being flattened is 0.5-5 mm, and a distance of the tabs of the negative electrode tab plate beyond a bottom end of the first separator after being flattened is less than 5 mm.
Xing discloses a tab 16 with a bending dimension of 0.3 to 3 mm in the height direction of cell 14
([0030] and Figs. 1 and 6).
Xing is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Xing, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve connection reliability between the tab and the terminal post, suppressing the possibility of breakage during assembly or use (Xing [0030]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima et al. (JP 2014022102 A, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on April 15, 2024, machine translation relied upon herein, and hereinafter “Tajima”) in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tajima discloses a tab plate ([0022], [0056], and see Annotated Fig. 11 below,
positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25), comprising a coating area ([0056] and see Annotated
Fig. 11 below, active material layers 24a and 25a) and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area ([0056] and see Annotated Fig. 11 below, uncoated active material portions 24b and 25b), wherein the empty foil area comprises a cutting area (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, cutting area), the cutting area is cut to form a plurality of tabs, wherein the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, tab and length direction), a partition line, each tab comprises a first side and a second side which are oppositely arranged, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the partition line (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, partition line, first side, and second side), an angle a is formed between the first side and the partition line, the angle a is located within the tab, and the angle a is an acute angle (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, acute angle a). Tajima does not disclose wherein the empty foil area comprises a reserved area, the reserved area is located between the coating area and the cutting area, and ends of the plurality of tabs close to the coating area are connected together through the reserve area; and the partition line is formed at a connection portion between the cutting area and the reserved area
Park discloses wherein the empty foil area comprises a reserved area, the reserved area is located between the coating area and the cutting area ([0061] and see Annotated Fig. 2 above, insulation layer 111c), and ends of the plurality of tabs close to the coating area are connected together through the reserve area (see Annotated Fig. 2 above, tabs connected through insulation layer 111c); and the partition line is formed at a connection portion between the cutting area and the reserved area (see Annotated Figs. 2 and 3 above, partition line).
Tajima is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of Tajima with the teachings of Park, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would prevent deformation of the electrode plate and prevent short circuiting between positive and negative electrode plates (Park [0062]).
Tajima et al. Annotated Fig. 11
Regarding claim 2, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein the tab plate is a positive electrode tab plate or a negative electrode tab plate ([0046], Fig. 6 and 12, and see Annotated Fig. 11 above, positive electrode 44 and negative electrode 45, with the same structure as positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25) and a winding direction of the tab plate is the same as an orientation of the angle a (Fig. 6, winding direction parallel to partition line).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein the other angle formed between the first side and the partition line is b, the angle b is located outside the tab, and the angle b is rounded ([0056] and see Annotated Fig. 11 above, angle b defined by semicircular curve of slits 27); and an angle formed between the second side and the partition line is c, the angle c is located outside the tab, and the angle c is rounded ([0056] and see Annotated Fig. 11 above, angle c defined by semicircular curve of slits 27).
Regarding claim 7, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein the other angle formed between the second side and the partition line is d, the angle d is located within the tab, the angle d is a right angle or obtuse angle, and the sum of the angle a and the angle d is less than or equal to 180° (see Annotated Fig. 11 above, obtuse angle d).
Regarding claim 9, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein the tab has a quadrilateral structure (see Annotated Fig. 11 above, parallelogram tab).
Regarding claim 10, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 9. Tajima further discloses wherein the tab has a parallelogram structure (see Annotated Fig. 11 above, parallelogram tab).
Regarding claim 12, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses a wound battery ([0045] and Fig. 6, wound secondary battery 30), comprising a positive electrode tab plate and a negative electrode tab plate, wherein the positive electrode tab plate and the negative electrode tab plate are the tab plate as claimed in claim 1 ([0046] and Fig. 6, positive electrode 44 and negative electrode 45, with the same structure as positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (JP 2014022102 A) in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ye (CN 209641733 U).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein a boundary line is formed at the connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area (see Park Annotated Fig. 2 above, boundary line). Modified Tajima does not disclose that a distance between the partition line and the boundary line is less than or equal to 5 mm.
Ye discloses a protective strip 2 with width 0.1 mm – 5 mm ([0034] and Fig. 2) that is an insulating layer ([0019] and [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of modified Tajima with the teachings of Ye, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would protect the battery separator from puncture, enhance insulation performance, and reduce manufacturing costs ([0019], [0031], and [0034]).
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (JP 2014022102 A) in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tanaka (JP 2014022116 A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 4, and modified further discloses wherein there is a spacing between every two adjacent tabs ([0056] and see Tajima Annotated Fig. 11 above, slits 27), a radius of the rounded angle b is less than the length of the spacing ([0056], radius of curvature of the curve is preferably 0.25 mm to 10% or less of the spacing between the slits), and a radius of the rounded angle c is less than the length of the spacing ([0056], radius of curvature of the curve is preferably 0.25 mm to 10% or less of the spacing between the slits). Modified Tajima does not disclose that a length of the spacing is 1/10-1/2 of a length of the tab.
Tanaka discloses a slit with width 2 mm between current collector tab portions with width 15 mm
each ([0037], Example 1), and width 20 mm ([0038], Example 2). In Example 1, the length of the spacing
is 1/7.5 of the length of the tab, and in Example 2, the length of the spacing is 1/10 of the length of the
tab.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of modified Tajima with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress deformation of the tab when an external force is applied along the side surface of the tab, preventing bending, cracking, and deforming of the base of the tab (Tanaka [0013]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the length of the spacing is 0.1 mm - 10 mm (Tanaka [0037], slit with width 2 mm).
Regarding claim 8, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein each tab further comprises a third side, the third side intersects with both the first side and the second side, the third side is arranged opposite to the partition line (see Tajima Annotated Fig. 11 above, third side). Modified Tajima does not disclose that an angle formed between the first side and the third side is rounded, and/or an angle formed between the second side and the third side is rounded.
Tanaka discloses positive electrode tab portions 37 and 39 with rounded obtuse angles ([0035]
and Fig. 4, rounded angles θ5-θ8), and that the positive electrode plate 30 and negative electrode plate 40
have the same configuration ([0031]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of modified Tajima with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress deformation of the tip of the electrode tab (Tanaka [0035]).
Claims 11, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (JP 2014022102 A) in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 7 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0295341 A1).
Regarding claim 11, 15, 17, and 20, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claims 1, 2, 4, and 7, respectively. Modified Tajima does not disclose wherein a ratio of the length to the width of each tab is (1-4):2.
Kim discloses notching tabs 111a with width 4 mm to 5 mm ([0071] and Figs. 3 and 4) and notching lengths 8 mm to 11 mm ([0080] and Figs. 3 and 4), which corresponds to a ratio of (3.2-5.5):2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of modified Tajima with the teachings of Kim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve mechanical strength, prevent deformation, and decrease costs (Kim [0071] and [0080]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (JP 2014022102 A) in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) and Ye (CN 209641733 U) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0295341 A1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 3. Modified Tajima does not disclose wherein a ratio of the length to the width of each tab is (1-4):2.
Kim discloses notching tabs 111a with width 4 mm to 5 mm ([0071] and Figs. 3 and 4) and notching lengths 8 mm to 11 mm ([0080] and Figs. 3 and 4), which corresponds to a ratio of (3.2-5.5):2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of modified Tajima with the teachings of Kim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve mechanical strength, prevent deformation, and decrease costs (Kim [0071] and [0080]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (JP 2014022102 A) in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) and Tanaka (JP 2014022116 A) as applied to claims 5-6 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0295341 A1).
Regarding claim 18 and 19, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claims 5 and 6, respectively. Modified Tajima does not disclose wherein a ratio of the length to the width of each tab is (1-4):2.
Kim discloses notching tabs 111a with width 4 mm to 5 mm ([0071] and Figs. 3 and 4) and notching lengths 8 mm to 11 mm ([0080] and Figs. 3 and 4), which corresponds to a ratio of (3.2-5.5):2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of modified Tajima with the teachings of Kim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve mechanical strength, prevent deformation, and decrease costs (Kim [0071] and [0080]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 of copending Application No. 18/561, 745 in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1).
Claim 1 of the instant application claims a tab plate, comprising a coating area and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area, wherein the empty foil area comprises a cutting area and a reserved area, the reserved area is located between the coating area and the cutting area, the cutting area is cut to form a plurality of tabs, wherein the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate, and ends of the plurality of tabs close to the coating area are connected together through the reserve area; a partition line is formed at a connection portion between the cutting area and the reserved area, each tab comprises a first side and a second side which are oppositely arranged, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the partition line, an angle a is formed between the first side and the partition line, the angle a is located within the tab, and the angle a is an acute angle.
Claim 1 of the reference application claims a tab plate, comprising a coating area and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area, a boundary line being formed at a connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area, wherein the empty foil area is cut to form a plurality of tabs, and the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate, four sides of each tab comprise a first side, a second side, and a third side; the first side is arranged opposite to the second side, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the third side, an angle a is formed between the first side and the third side, and the angle a is an acute angle. Claim 1 of the reference application does not disclose wherein the empty foil area comprises a reserved area, the reserved area is located between the coating area and the cutting area, and ends of the plurality of tabs close to the coating area are connected together through the reserve area; and the partition line is formed at a connection portion between the cutting area and the reserved area.
Park discloses wherein the empty foil area comprises a reserved area, the reserved area is located between the coating area and the cutting area ([0061] and see Annotated Fig. 2 above, insulation layer 111c), and ends of the plurality of tabs close to the coating area are connected together through the reserve area (see Annotated Fig. 2 above, tabs connected through insulation layer 111c); and the partition line is formed at a connection portion between the cutting area and the reserved area (see Annotated Figs. 2 and 3 above, partition line).
Tajima is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tab plate of the reference application with the teachings of Park, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would prevent deformation of the electrode plate and prevent short circuiting between positive and negative electrode plates (Park [0062]).
Claim 1 of the reference application further recites the additional limitations of claims 3 and 9 of the instant application. Claims 2, 5, 3, 6 , 9-12, and 18-19 of the reference application further recites the additional limitations of claim 2, 7, 8, 10, 11-14, and 15-16 of the instant application, respectively
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 10 July 2026