Response to Amendment
The amendment received 12/19/25 has been entered in full.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is used which teaches the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the plurality of calculated LPIPS distances" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests amending to “a plurality of calculated LPIPS distances”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piegert et al. US 2022/0174089 (hereinafter “Piegert”) in view of Laidlaw et al. Perceptual Adversarial Robustness: Defense Against Unseen Threat Models (hereinafter “Laidlaw”, included in the IDS).
Piegert discloses a detection device comprising: processing circuitry configured to: (see paragraph 0021 an automated detection system for identifying and classifying adversarial attacks, paragraph 0038 discloses that a processor for carrying out the method)
acquire data to be detected and acquire normal reference data separately from the data to be detected ( see figure 4 S12 and above paragraph 0021 section a) provide a reference image and a potentially manipulated image [the potentially manipulated image here is interpreted as the data to be detected], see also paragraph 0070, an original image captured by a vehicle camera)
classifying the acquired data into either a Clean Sample or an Adversarial Example by using n-metrics
Piegert does not explicitly disclose calculate a Learned Perceptual Image Patch Similarity (LPIPS) distance between the acquired data and the reference data.
Laidlaw proposes an adversarial attack detection model that uses LPIPS distance as part of an improved model for determining adversarial threat levels in a perceptual adversarial robustness model thus enhancing the detection of adversarial attacks (see section from pages 2-3)
Piegert and Laidlaw are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of adversarial attack detection.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Piegert and Laidlaw to use the LPIPS distance as the n-metric in Piegert. The motivation would be to improve the adversarial attack detection by measuring with a level that accurately reflects human perception and therefore improve the detection.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above Piegert discloses an abnormality score [s14 n metrics is calculated which quantify differences between the original image and potentially manipulated image, see paragraph 0089]
and as discussed above it would be obvious to use Laidlaw’s teaching of using LPIPS distance to classify the sample as clean or abnormal (see above cited section from pages 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Laidlaw discloses learn the model for classifying data into normal or abnormal, using the calculated LPIPS distance as an abnormality score (see section 5 which discloses perceptual adversarial training using the LPIPS distance).
Regarding claim 4, although not specifically specified what type of image is used for the adversarial detection it is well known that signs on roads captured by cameras are common instances where adversarial examples are found to which the Examiner declares official notice. Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to use the invention specified above for capture signs.
Claims 5-6 are similarly analyzed and rejected to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Piegert discloses acquiring a prediction class of the data to be detected (see S18, classifying the calculated metrics which come from the image, thus interpreted as prediction class of the data).
Regarding claim 9, Piegert discloses the detection device is incorporated into an autonomous vehicle (see paragraph 0070 copied above, a multicamera system in an autonomous vehicle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (note the 112 rejection of claim 8 must also be overcome).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN B STREGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669